STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V134, CI step into 1800, are you happy?

cherroy
post Aug 1 2013, 10:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 1 2013, 12:51 PM)
exactly.
it seems to me that they are trading according to categorization instead of fundamentally concern?
because if reit is consider higher risk than dividend stocks, then they should put dividend stocks within the bond/sukuk/fd category instead of reit.
and if reit is consider lower risk than dividend stocks, then it should be more tolerate than dividend stocks.
hmm.gif
Reit is lower risk than dividend stock generally.
because reit doesn't operate like ordinary business.

While reit has property as its backing.

It is just own the property and rent it out, similar to individual own a property and rent it out.

Business subjected to business risk generally which is more volatile.

Having said that, some dividend stocks, their business is stable, and less risky than reit, especially those old fashioned, necessity type of business nature.

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Aug 1 2013, 12:56 PM)
Generally speaking, a rise in interest rates is expected to cause a general fall in prices for all stocks, not just REITs. It's just that REITs are considered more vulnerable. Maybe because they are locked in to fixed long term rental agreements and so they're future income is more predictable (the exact same reason why they are considered more stable)?
It is not because reit is vulnerable or not.

It is about attractiveness of reit.
Reit needs to have some spread higher than bond, FD yield, out there.
Reit is always competing with bond.

Why invest in reit if reit yield is same with bond (that is less risky than reit)

There is no rise in interest rate, no central banks hiking rate at all.
But bond yield is rising across.
cherroy
post Aug 2 2013, 11:33 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Aug 2 2013, 11:25 AM)
Am I seeing shadows of the 1997 Asian financial crisis? Is this the beginning?
- high inflation >> high interest rate. Starting with Indonesia.
- currency devaluation.
- fund outflows.
I don't think so.

Situation is different.
Prior before 97 crisis.

1. Currency appreciation (RM2.50 : USD)
2. Massive trade deficit and current account deficit.
3. Low foreign currency reserves
4. Corporate and gov like borrow from overseas or foreign currency denominated.

cherroy
post Aug 2 2013, 11:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 2 2013, 11:32 AM)
hmm.gif for Asia market maybe, but US economy still in recovering..........good in prospect, low in interest

1997 and 2008 crisis both with high interest, ppl default the debt only trigger the bomb
Actually, it is not high interest that lead to both crisis. Both crisis did not start with high interest rate.
A 6-7% interest rate back then was a norm for Malaysia prior before crisis.
A 3-4% interest rate was average level for US prior 2008.

It is excessive borrowing, complacency lending practice that lead to the crisis.

cherroy
post Aug 2 2013, 11:44 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Aug 2 2013, 11:34 AM)
hi simplesmile,

Dr.M pegg our currency and remove rm100 bill from cirular..any more action taken by Gov??

Maybe N*jib will used the same as methology......??? else what he do?  i cant remember BNM action done during 97.

by the way 97, im still in secondary school.
The most important is do not let your currency freely trade outside your border that can be speculated easy by hedge fund or speculators that with come with billions of fund.

cherroy
post Aug 2 2013, 11:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Aug 2 2013, 11:40 AM)
sound like M'sia coming crisis same as US prime crisis ?
cheap loan and increasing amount debt, ..i thought BolehLand got alot rich ppl.
Malaysia household debt level although is high, but it is not that severe compared to subprime loan.

At least locally, banks do screen borrowers income before lending, and most mortgage given has property backing, and most do not give full valuation on the property.

cherroy
post Aug 6 2013, 03:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Madbull @ Aug 6 2013, 02:38 PM)
Yes..totally agree..price will move on speculations first before actually results..sometimes when the actual results out, the price will drop even if the results is good because everyone expected it and take profit..

my 1 sen opinion.. smile.gif
But if company announced generous dividend together with good result, then 99.9% price will shoot up. tongue.gif

cherroy
post Aug 14 2013, 06:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 14 2013, 05:30 PM)
one thing i learn in last 3 years: can't predict market.
when people predict gold will shoot up to the sky when Fed announced QEs, it didn't. In fact, it fell sharply.
when people predict severe inflation worldwide when Fed said non-stop QE, it only happened in few countries, even so it's under manageable condition, nothing serious. Commodities price still stay low, no flaming up like past QEs.
when people predict this round of highly uncertain GE result will kill the market sharply, it didn't, it just mildly corrected.
People said US is going to die from massive QE, and no, it doesn't. In fact, it recovers nicely.
Europe zone will break? No, it didn't happen. It is now even growing mildly.
China will die from bad debt? No, it doesn't. It's consolidating and progressing well in control.

conclusion, i give up predict market on stock trading. I'd rather stay with fundamentals and trade accordingly. I'd missed the big bull too many times, I learn my lesson. unsure.gif
QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 14 2013, 05:32 PM)
What are people predicting now?  laugh.gif
From about 20 years + experience in the market, I only knew most prediction/expectation gone wrong one.
And the more people predict it or expect it to happen, the least it can happen.

Nobody or little people predicted 1997 Asian financial crisis, prior before 1996.

Little people expect dotcom bubble burst in big way. I still remembered many said, if your company has no website, you have no future at that time. I was puzzled how can?
In the future everything online, ya, more online facilities, but still we go to supermarket to buy groceries after rise of dotcom decade ago.
Lot of dotcom company went burst instead of conventional old type business.

Little expect 2008 global financial crisis as well.

So the more people talk about, predict/expect, the least change it may happen.
Those "shock", "crash" in the market, always come in a surprise way.

Same with stocks, the more people rush into the same stocks, the higher risk of it crashing down afterwards. tongue.gif
See how nobody interested in reit few years ago.
But now a lot of people interested in reit, and reit crashing down. tongue.gif

In other world, mass decision a lot of time was at the wrong end one. At least from my observation/experience.
Just my lousy conclusion based on experience. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 14 2013, 06:46 PM
cherroy
post Aug 15 2013, 11:07 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 14 2013, 09:17 PM)
I start to suspect REITs' requirement to distribute 90% of their earnings are not so great after all. Yes, we get more dividend. But whenever a REIT plans to acquire new buildings, it needs to borrow from bank or issues new units.
It is considered great if one considers that company cannot "fake" the profit, when you need to distribute 90% of the profit made tongue.gif

Also profit accumulated in the company (if no distribute), can be wiped out quickly due to poor decision by management, new management, or the cash of company being channeled elsewhere.
While minority shareholders earn nothing even company has earned billions in previous decade.

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 15 2013, 09:50 AM)
Actually not all REITs are beaten down badly. Just a few of them dropping. But before they drop, they did hike up a lot too which can be handy for a capital gain in a short term.

But probably people couldn't brain it how REITs become a short term capital gain toy to play with.. Haha
Reit is not actually beaten down badly, it is just those previously had great run up to the upside, correcting back.
In fact, at current moment, most reit price still higher than price 2-3 years ago, or average price on longer term.
cherroy
post Aug 15 2013, 11:11 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Aug 15 2013, 10:43 AM)
tongue.gif  juz my opinion why Reits get so HOT

the time IGBreits IPO, CI already high as you said bullish.

I also afraid current stock , assuming Reits is defensive becoz yield.

doh.gif  July Uncle ben want tapering QE, increse their T-BIll higher..to prevent massive out flow moneyflies.gif MGS also increase the rate.

When come to Defensive yield- a mass move from reits to lower risk investment but can give the same yield of M-Reits.

reason preven ppl like me chasing stock for yeild....a great mistake....No point you dont agree.

I not making any money frm  sad.gif reits  sad.gif  vs  biggrin.gif stock  biggrin.gif ....as you said why chase low yield reits when stock perform much better?

You correct your point stock perform better, the time ppl case reits only for defensive as CI high.

whistling.gif    wub.gif love stock...
It is just previous hot money that flowing in, now flowing out.

Most stocks including reit still higher than about 1-2 years ago.

Reit is not spared from market risk, it is not a totally defensive (even bond nowadays is not that defensive anymore), but the so called defensive come from lease signed aka reit only concentrate on leasing out the property and collect rent, while ordinary business need to make business daily, whereby input cost, selling price can be vary each day, while may be exposed to poor corporate management integrity issue.

This is the difference.

cherroy
post Aug 15 2013, 05:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Aug 15 2013, 04:56 PM)
Lehman was rated AAA by Moody days before it went busted. same thing here? tongue.gif laugh.gif
Then why many so concern about Fitch negative outlook a few weeks ago? whistling.gif

US also no AAA already... but DJ and S&P made new high... tongue.gif
cherroy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Aug 15 2013, 11:06 PM)
In football, you don't really need a good defense, as long as you can outscore your opponent. You can leak as many goals but still win, if you score twice as many.
In stock market, once leaking, means capital gone, and once no more capital, you are out of the game.

You have 30k capital, you go offensive in the market, make mistake, lose 20%, means left 24K.
To make back 30K, you need to win 25% to breakeven. <--- remember just break even, not yet make a gain.

If second time, loose 20% again, means left 19.2K, to make back 30K, then need to make 36.2% to breakeven.
Mountain to climb.

The more correct scenario is, go offensive, but once leaking 2 goal, you need to score 3, just for a draw (not win).

A mistake may need 2 correct decision to cover back.

So either you avoid/eliminate to make mistake, or one is very good in offensive, and seldom make mistake.

cherroy
post Aug 16 2013, 11:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 16 2013, 08:24 AM)

It's such a generalisation and such a loose assumption that once you go offensive you would be making mistakes.
One can make mistakes anytime and anyhow.
They do not need to be on the offensive and defensive to make mistakes.
Once they fail to make proper assessments (ie being foolish) of their decisions, mistakes tend to happen and losses will be made
yawn.gif

Why not just bluntly say lose 50% which means left 15k.
To GET BACK the 30k capital, one needs to make 100% just to breakeven. 
Yeah, not even making a gain YET. laugh.gif

That's such a poor generalisation.
If you bluntly use a 20% cut loss scenarios, it doesn't even matter if you are offensive or defensive.
All I will say is HOW NOT TO LOSE MONEY like this.
Strongly disagree.
You need to qualify the strength/size of the mistake/correct decision without qualifying, you have made another poor generalised statement.
A smart investment decision (where one easily makes a ONE BAGGER) can easily cover up several small mistakes.
Conversely, one can have 10 investment success but if each success is small in size, all it takes is one foolish mistake to lose everything.

My few sen worth again.
Not mean to discourage people go for offensive, as said, if one is good, go ahead.
Just remind that stock market is about capital, once do not have capital, then already out of game.
And capital aka hard earned money is not easy to come by.

And market sometimes behave not as many predicting one.
Once mistake done, it can hugely affect one's capital.

Many do lose significant money due to offensive, and not everyone is good and smart in the market. In fact, most or many may be only herd follower.

Normally mistake can be costly (aka lose money is faster due to mistake) as compared to gain, although it is not a must. But experience tell me, a lot of time, loss can be faster than gain one.
Whether I have made poor generation on this, up to everyone experience.

Just serve reminder, if it is a poor advice, so be it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 16 2013, 11:01 AM
cherroy
post Aug 19 2013, 04:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 19 2013, 04:07 PM)
Indo bond lagi lausai than the stock market... yield on 10y govt securities jumped to 8.6%... sweat.gif

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Wait for double digit first? brows.gif
cherroy
post Aug 20 2013, 03:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 20 2013, 03:24 PM)
Don't worry bull always comes back.. especially when everyone has given up waiting for the bear market to end.  brows.gif

Anyway today's selldown is just a small blip...
Market just drop less than 10%, where can classify as bear.... tongue.gif

Only after drop more than 10~20%, then only we talk about bear. whistling.gif
cherroy
post Aug 20 2013, 03:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 20 2013, 03:30 PM)
Then in bear market don't buy... do what? Hibernate ah?  laugh.gif
Bear market also can make money one.

In fact, I find more fun in bear market,
Can collect good dividend yield stock. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Aug 20 2013, 05:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 20 2013, 05:09 PM)
Does insurance company had premium to insured a share price ?
QUOTE(felixmask @ Aug 20 2013, 05:19 PM)
bursa have..they call PUT/CALL option..aka warrant.
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 20 2013, 05:21 PM)
Warrant here works as insurance ??? Can kah ??

I want something like insured stock A above rm1 for 1 year.. got this kind of premium. .. ??
This only available for issuers, aka investment banks.

Retailers, may need to pay 10~30% premium to own those Put warrant.... whistling.gif

Put warrant exercise at RM1.00, if share doesn't go up more than Rm1.00, issuers pocket the issuing price... whistling.gif

That's why you see A~Z call warrant in the market. whistling.gif
cherroy
post Aug 21 2013, 10:58 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 21 2013, 08:42 AM)
FYI

Asia’s debt conundrum reawakens ghosts of 1990s crisis

http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/0/af96c30a-09...l#axzz2cYjnRNIk

Does not matter which side of the coin you believe in, interesting read.

I am more on the cautious side. I believe that  the past few years of growth was not on solid foundation but on QE $.

Cheerio.
I do think it is a bit over-cooked.
Fundamental at current moment is way better than prior 1997.

For me, media seems over-cooked a lot of thing nowadays, either over-optimistic or over-pessimistic.

Before 2008 global crisis, over-optimistic, nothing could happen, subprime is just small matter. But the real result, big shake up on financial.
Those believe continue to bullish, suffer.

When global crisis hit, over-pessimistic, like end of the world,
Those sell at bottom, make bargain hunter rich and gain 100%, 200% afterwards.

When Europe crisis hit, over-pessimistic, no future, Euro breakup etc.
But FTSE, CAC, Dax, all recover well nowadays, and not far from all time high.

So now talk about Asian financial crisis again?

Yes, Asian household debt issue is alarming, and could dampen the economy further, slow down, even a mild recession, but it is not a straight forward answer it must lead to crisis.

Just my cheap 2 cents.

cherroy
post Aug 21 2013, 12:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 21 2013, 11:59 AM)
Noted and thanks for the history 101. Ha.

Dr Neoh (ex MU) in his book (Stock Performance in M'sia & Spore) raised the observation that newspapers in this region were reluctant to raise negative economic news which might stir up panic though the news were true. I guess there was an unwritten rule for publishers from the govt not to stir up panic etc.

I think that unwritten rule is still here now as I heard some newspaper /magazine article writers are requested not to write on negative news of panic potential. They have to keep their license to operate. So, have to read and deduce in between the lines now. Ha.

Cheerio.
It is understandable.
Because over-stirring the negativity can cause panic to uninformed public.

Don't get me wrong, I am not saying media shouldn't report negative issue, but sometimes media should have some responsibility in not overly positive as well as negative in reporting.

Just like recent RM sliding vs USD to 3.30, if media report Rm depreciated 10% since hitting 3.00, and media report in big headline with title RM depreciated fast, and possibility lead to crisis, it may cause unnecessary panic factor to public (as most may not well verse with financial issue), which lead to various panic move by public (selling share, money outflow etc) causing economy standstill.

But in reality, it is more about USD strength, while RM vs other currency that actually not moving much.

Remember, financial system and economy, even business built on confidence.

See what happened when people lose confidence at height of 2008 crisis.
cherroy
post Aug 21 2013, 10:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Aug 21 2013, 08:37 PM)
wahhh... current account surplus very bad >_<" GDP also lower than expectation but ok la.. coz GE13... hope we can pick up in 2H, like what most economists say..
-----
yay to Cookie HupSeng!  wub.gif
yay to KLCC!  wub.gif

i love reading hupseng qtr report... 5mins kau tim~~ laugh.gif
I do not think second half will pick up a lot.

Export figure is still weak.
External environment is not that robust as China is slowing down.

There is a need to control the household debt rising which may cool down the domestic demand/consumption.

Gov need to shrink its budget deficit, so unlikely to spend big to boost domestic consumption, construction activities.

At least current account is still a surplus, so does trade surplus, although both have been shrinking significantly.
As long as the figure doesn't fall into deficit (significant) situation, RM shouldn't under huge pressure, so does BNM on interest rate front.
cherroy
post Aug 22 2013, 02:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 22 2013, 01:44 PM)
Scary chart of the day... looks like we back to 1997...

Last time we have huge trade deficit + current account deficit, low foreign currency reserves.

But at least now we just see shrinking trade surplus + shrinking current account surplus.

I do not know why the chart showing current account deficit.
As latest data show still at surplus.

Even for 2012, 2011, if not mistaken, it is still a surplus.
If not foreign currency reserves of BNM won't become more.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...p-Slightly.aspx
Data on Wednesday confirmed that Malaysia's current account surplus is evaporating fast, falling to 2.6 billion ringgit ($790 million) in the second quarter from 8.7 billion ringgit in the first three months and 22.9 billion ringgit before that, reflecting plunging exports and solid imports.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 22 2013, 02:56 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0524sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:13 AM