U Mobile Fan Club v2 - New UMI Plan!, Questions? Problems? Deals? Come here!

zangief
post Jun 30 2015, 02:37 AM

115 posts

May I know how is the coverage at penang? Especially at the areas around balik pulau, sungai pinang and teluk bahang? Thanks.
zangief
post Jun 30 2015, 12:58 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 30 2015, 12:22 PM)
Penang as in the island and surrounding Georgetown area should not have any problems.

I frequent the areas in question by zangief like balik pulau, sungai pinang, teluk bahang and Mainland Penang, then it is a different ball game.  wink.gif
Is it bad? That actually is my wife's hometown. It will be very inconvenient for us if no coverage at all when we balik kampong.

I'm at KL by the way. Just bought the prepaid UMI 20 for testing.

If the coverage is good here, I'll just switch to U28 when the prepaid expired.
zangief
post Jun 30 2015, 01:53 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 30 2015, 01:13 PM)
Balik Pulau town should be ok.
Wife's hometown is Balik Pulau town, correct?

How come need to get a prepaid line just for balik kampong? hmm.gif

Her home town at sg pinang.

Prepaid just for testing.. If coverage good then we go postpaid.
zangief
post Jul 21 2015, 03:16 AM

115 posts

Hi All,

A phone shop at my area would not process my MNP request from Maxis postpaid to U28.

Their reason is they did it few times before but all rejected due to owner still have outstanding fees to be cleared.

He asked me to convert my postpaid to prepaid at Maxis center. then only go to them.

Is this the standard procedure now?

2 years back I switch from Maxis to Celcom, then back to Maxis again (all postpaid) but didn't get this non-sense.
zangief
post Jul 21 2015, 08:26 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jul 21 2015, 07:27 AM)
Ask them which telco. Or u check one by one maxis and celcom which one blacklisted u.
I never been blacklisted.

What I meant was this shop owner said we cannot switch from postpaid of any telco, to Umobile postpaid.

Unless we cleared all outstanding fees with our existing telco and switch our line to prepaid. Only then we can go to them for MNP and keep our number.

This post has been edited by zangief: Jul 21 2015, 08:31 AM
zangief
post Jul 21 2015, 10:11 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 21 2015, 08:45 AM)
This is probably just his own policy, as he not able to check whether you've settled your bill and not worth his time to do for you, if got problem is your fault but he will have to mafan.

Why not just go directly to U? Or contact CnY Garage, he can do for you while you sit at home.
Ok, thanks.
QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jul 21 2015, 09:06 AM)
i also thought i nvr been blacklsit, some more all the telco i sign i opt fr auto debit using credit card. but in the end digi / umobile /celcom also blacklisted me when i want to mnp. i ask why, after that only found out that, the moment i mnp from telco A to telco B, yes that time to telco B is success as I still clean . But telco A no longer able to charge my last bill as i cancel subscription with them already. so credit card no much that transaction. thats consider a blacklisted. now when i want to mnp from telco B to telco C , telco C will not able to process it as they check the system say i still owe money at telco A....  doh.gif

so hv to walk in to their branch settle it and ask them print out the letter say i am clean if i want to mnp immediately. else i need to wait 24 hours at least to repeat the mnp.

thats my experience so far.
Thanks for the explanation. All my previous cancellations were done properly and I paid right up to the very last bill they sent. So I guess I don't owe them anything.
zangief
post Aug 5 2015, 07:18 AM

115 posts

Hi All,

I ported to umobile postpaid, U28 from Maxis on July 28th.

Bill came at 1st August, RM 46.80.

How come so expensive? I thought RM 28 + GST should not be more than RM 30 right?
zangief
post Aug 5 2015, 10:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 5 2015, 09:09 AM)
Read back a few pages and you will understand.

Also this is called billshock.
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 5 2015, 09:35 AM)
Umobile website stated clearly

During Registration : RM28 + GST = first month (full cycle month) subscription fees

Your first bill : The pro-rated month fees + 1 month advance access fees (deposit) + RM10 Stamp duty

example,

you activate on 15th July, this month will be pro-rated, will be charges (RM28+GST)/30*15days = pro-rated month usage fees

The RM28+GST during registration is advance month fees of your August.
It similar to Astro, unifi, telekom bill, on 1st Aug, you have to pay for August full month fees already.

In chinese we said, 一个月上期一个月按金(1 month advance fees and 1 month deposit)
I see, thanks for the explanation.

I remember I opt for e-billing too but I got charged RM 3.

I check thru the phone app and their webpage account setting but there is no way to verify this option nor letting me to cancel itemized billing...

0.0423sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:00 AM