How do I get a turbo system installation, On my KIA Forte?

OC4/3
post Jul 23 2013, 10:25 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 23 2013, 05:19 AM)
Honestly I'm pretty lazy to reply this as this clearly shows your lack in technical knowledge. But since it is already 5am in the wee hours and I need to waste some energy in order for me to sleep, here's my post.

What you need to know about pressure and density? Ideal Gas Law? Boyle's Law? Charle's Law? Seriously? And talking about intake, you say straight air intake won't draw in as much air as a 'bent' air intake? Those 4age's 1600cc are pushing more than 200hp with that setup and you're telling me it's not drawing enough air? Let's go to Jet engines then, direct ram air intake. Anything to say about that? It's still basically a 4 'process' engine as it still requires intake, compression, combustion and exhaust, just that it does it all at once. Air is sucked in direct from the atmosphere and it makes use of the ram effect at high speeds and altitudes.

You're saying the efficiency of a 2.0 NA will always be better than a Turbocharged 1.6L with the same power as a 2.0NA. Seems like you're missing the knowledge about volumetric efficiency here. Turbocharged cars will always be more efficient than NA engines as the turbocharger is harnessing energy from the exhaust which on an NA engine will be wasted, then using that energy and compressing air, forcing air into the cylinders, increasing it's volumetric efficiency. About FC, as long as you drive in vacuum during normal town drive your FC will remain the same or even better than when NA, and will definitely be better than one with a higher cubic capacity.

Reason we're comparing with a Vios is because the Vios is basically in the same category as a Forte, a basic everyday-drive point A-B car. If a Vios can be turbocharged, why not a Forte?

Yes I do know the function of a twin scroll and VGT, I'm just afraid that you don't. Seriously you're making a fool out of yourself saying 'wastegate-type' turbochargers are old school tech. ALL turbochargers used in petrol engines needs a wastegate else the boost level will just climb as the RPM increase until the engine kills itself from overboosting.

The way you're describing 'turbo lag' is as if you're describing a supercharger. Activates and deactivates? Bro, a turbocharger spins even when the engine is idling. When a turbocharger starts producing usable boost is a whole different thing, it doesn't 'activates' and 'deactivates'. Newer technologies can start producing usable boost at an earlier RPM than older turbo's with older technologies and hold that boost throughout a longer RPM range than an old-school turbo, but the way you describe it is totally wrong. What vents for low pressure and high pressure? All VGT does is changes the A/R ratio and exhaust flow in order to compensate for low-rpm and high-rpm driving thus creating boost at a lower RPM and then changing the nozzle angle to accomodate higher RPM operations. Some VGT Turbo's in Diesel applications do not require a wastegate as they don't rev that high anyways and does not produce that much gas flow but most petrol engines do. Volvo's VGT turbo's does have a wastegate built-in and a twin-scroll turbo definitely have a wastegate built in. They're taking technologies that had been long used in the aviation industry in jet engines and finally putting it to use in the automotive world.

For those who don't know what's VGT, HERE'S a simple description on what VGT is. For twin scroll, it divides the cylinder exhaust gas, thus seperating exhaust gas pulsations and improves the scavenging effect in a 4-stroke multi-cylinder engine. And yes there are also split to a small and large turbine for lower and higher engine rpm efficiency.

About your last paragraph, so basically a bolted-on turbo engine will die because it would choke the engine, eventhough with a turbo you're basically forcing air in? What a joke. I do agree that the wear and tear in a turbo engine would be slightly higher than an NA engine but with proper maintenance, both NA and turbo engines will last pretty damn long. What cleaning in specific are you talking about? Throttle body cleaning? top overhaul? Engine bay cleaning(LOL)?

Before you comment any further, do share what car are you driving and what car had you driven? Plus what had you modded on your car(or any cars) in that aspect? I see you have an atrocious reputation in AutoWorld forum i see rolleyes.gif

Anyways, good night.
Awesome post but i doubt the fella understand anyway laugh.gif
Nothing much to add
OC4/3
post Jul 24 2013, 10:57 AM

4,746 posts

LOL at carbon buildup part laugh.gif
If you whack your car at warmed up temperature,all carbon deposit will be cleared anyway tongue.gif
OC4/3
post Jul 28 2013, 02:00 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Jul 27 2013, 09:03 PM)
talk like you are an expert ohmy.gif
He is just making a fool of himself honestly sweat.gif
Dunno what's the problem with him,keep on bashing aftermarket stuff sweat.gif
Must be one of those people who just plain want OEM stuff for no good reason

OC4/3
post Jul 28 2013, 02:18 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 24 2013, 11:12 PM)
I doubt you know what pressure means and what purpose it serves in combustion engine. You don't know anything don't go and influence others to install turbo without consideration. You'll end up causing him killing the engine early and also causing him dearly should FC goes too high and his car lost resale value. Having wiring messed up could hardly get proper wireman to fix. Most of them can't fix, just to keep the electrical part barely functioning.

Yes, I owned and also maintained proper turbocharged engines and they come together with the SUVs, pickup trucks and cars. They were well made by Engineers that work for R&D in the respective brands, Ford, Hyundai, MMC, Toyota, Pug, etc.

Definitely not any Ah Beng with trial and error background that mod car like they think look like Need For Speed Underground or Fast & Furious means very good. They don't even know what pressure is. All they do, quote you custom ECU + intercooler + self made steel piping with style (not proper pressure calculation), normal wastegate turbocharger (prone to much lag), and have the diagnostic like machine to tell how much to boost. That's all. Nothing else, just tune according to how much the customer wanted. Then change large noisy & polluting exhaust. Final artwork, a car that would need to rev harder to move. Low end torque failed one.
WTF are you on about
Don't get why your fascination with stock parts??
Regarding stock part vs aftermarket parts,there is shit load of example but here's a few good one:
1.)Stock Conrod-Even stock conrod in legendary turbocharged engine like 4G63,2JZGTE can be bent with right condition(Situation that cause high fatigue) and aftermarket rod like Manley,Carillo is miles ahead
2.)ECU-Stock ECU really is far behind aftermarket ECU usually and can't be tuned so aftermarket ECU is consistently better(As good as your tuner is)
Some example of additional feature would be sophisticated TCS,WOT Shift Cut
With that said,some platform with good programmer do get the ability to modify stock ECU and get additional feature(Think of it as Android ROM flashing)
3.)Turbocharger-Toyota is notoriously known for badly matched turbocharger that is weirdly sized
All i can say,you are just a bit pile of wannabe who like OE parts for no good reason
If you want to preach your OE parts superiority,go away from this forum
For as long as you are here,people like mxsteven,Nightstalker1993 will loathe your presence in this particular sub forum

This post has been edited by OC4/3: Jul 28 2013, 02:19 AM
OC4/3
post Jul 30 2013, 01:27 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jul 29 2013, 11:55 PM)
What a bunch of modders that think those local modify workshop can come up with proper turbocharger that could generate optimum output, torque & FC? FYI, whatever those local modify workshops can do are limited to whatever custom kits they can bring in and tune from there. The piping are so badly done that they are not even as efficient as what car manufacturer can produce.

You can tune up the car to have more power but do not expect it to be as effective and efficient as those cars that come with turbocharger by default eg. Pug 508 1.6T, Mondeo 2.0T, BMW 2.0T, VW Passat 1.8T, etc. I call these cars that are sold with turbocharger well built with optimum efficiency. Optimum means able to focus on performance as well as FC & maintenance in long run.

Those owners who sent their non-turbo cars with NA engine to fit turbocharger at local modify workshops, those are nothing more than motorsport fun. In reality on FC saving or maintenance wise, they are nothing close to optimum.

Don't talk about Toyota, Honda turbocharger, they are not the best in this. You want to talk about efficient & optimum turbocharger, refer Ford, Pug, VW, BMW, Audi as these carmakers are more advanced in anyway. Japanese made are reliable but when comes to GDI engine, diesel engine, turbocharger/supercharger, NVH, handling and build quality, the conti are still ahead. Japanese made beat conti only in terms of sales, reliability & after sales service. They didn't beat conti in everything.
Post reserved for tomorrow
You have pretty flawed logic
Obviously you are a troll bait

OC4/3
post Jul 30 2013, 09:12 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Jul 30 2013, 08:35 PM)
IMO..why turbo in an auto transmission car?
Ehh you might not know,turbo help auto a lot also smile.gif
You get a lot more mid range torque which is good for AT car provided your turbo sizing and condition is ok
OC4/3
post Aug 1 2013, 05:11 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 31 2013, 10:45 AM)
back to the topic... so any good suggestion to plant in turbo for my Forte as well? I can't be losing out to a Dugong..
Find a shop that fabricate turbo kit and get a quote
For tuning wise,you can look into solution such as AEM FI6,EMS etc piggyback
Always remember,tuning is one of most important process for successful BOT smile.gif
Budget about 2k for tuning,5k or so for custom turbo kit
No need top shelf component,just make sure no notorious mistake is make and you are good to go
OC4/3
post Aug 7 2013, 12:21 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jayraptor @ Aug 2 2013, 10:26 PM)
AMG, Alpina, TRD, Mugen, AMS, etc, they are at least something like licensed modders in cooperation with carmakers. Therefore, these mods are professionally done as they done proper calculation and those air intake, exhaust, etc were done specifically for the make/models that they are made for.

We are talking about those who pull piping and install turbocharger, exhaust on their own here. If they only get 1 or 2 parts from TRD but the piping for air intake and exhaust are made of dunno where they get material, this is where the problem comes.

This is for those who still wanted to argue about ori Lancer GT '07-12 vs Inspira:
None of you bunch can tell the difference on the kerb weight Lancer GT 1385kg
compared to Inspira 16" rim 1335kg while with Inspira 17" rim + bodykit only at 1350kg. THis is not obvious enough on the difference. Stop taking the downgraded GT on website to compare. Who is the troll, you bunch ofcourse that rely so much on website. MMC technical department already hinted where the difference. If you bunch still unhappy and wanted to clarify further, check with MMC technical department. Why so afraid to check with them?
BTW,the point bring up on Lancer GT vs Inspira is regarding the ECU map
You can download ROM from both car,have correct definition and you can compare them in ECUFlash
In this case,it is exactly the same

OC4/3
post Aug 8 2013, 02:52 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Aug 7 2013, 07:40 PM)
he only sworn by VGT and twin-scroll turbos from the peugeot, bmw, VW, Audi and etc. he say the conti more advance. but he didnt know the subaru are using twin scroll too.  whistling.gif
Lancer EVO been using twin scroll turbo since 1997/EVO IV laugh.gif

OC4/3
post Aug 8 2013, 02:53 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Aug 7 2013, 07:35 PM)
yeah i agree bro, it's old and rubbish.

i only changed the downpipe+exhaust, air filter+inlet hose and with it's stock ECU just remap with openECU together with the stock turbo...only manage to get 316whp/45kg torque from 250whp/36kg torque...really RUBBISH la!!! yawn.gif  cry.gif
V7/V8/V9 STI??
Fairly impressed biggrin.gif
Almost on par with EVO IX already (Basic mod in both case)
Self tuned??

OC4/3
post Aug 8 2013, 02:55 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Aug 7 2013, 07:40 PM)
he only sworn by VGT and twin-scroll turbos from the peugeot, bmw, VW, Audi and etc. he say the conti more advance. but he didnt know the subaru are using twin scroll too.  whistling.gif
VGT mostly used on diesel application
Only gasoline application i am well aware of is Porsche 997.1 Turbo
Wonder why no other manufacturer/turbo maker offer this
Will certainly be interesting
OC4/3
post Aug 9 2013, 01:46 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Aug 9 2013, 12:33 PM)
i think borg warners turbos are VGT too. mostly on golf gti, audi, focus st and etc.
vgt is good due to the variable vane in it for low end torque. but torque come too early isnt a great thing either. you lost your top end. golf gti lost their breath after 5k rpm. ntg is perfect, vgt is more expensive too, and this variable vane ought to get stuck by exhaust carbon, especially diesel engine.
Nope,K03/K04 does not come in VGT form for petrol application that i aware of

OC4/3
post Aug 12 2013, 04:02 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Aug 12 2013, 10:52 AM)
V8 STi but that was long time ago laugh.gif

tuned by my mechanic...
So what you drive now?