Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Why engine die when the car stop at traffic light, help

lavendershuin
post Jul 20 2013, 12:47 AM, updated 5y ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 120

Joined: Jun 2013
I am driving VIOS Manual Type J. Each time when I stopped my car at traffic light or caught in jam, my car engine will gradually die. I have to press the accelerator pedal prevent the engine stop. Anyone know what's the reason? how much of the repair?

This post has been edited by lavendershuin: Jul 20 2013, 12:48 AM
monkeybar
post Jul 20 2013, 12:51 AM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 547

Joined: Jan 2012
From: Jenjarom


dont nid repair just nid to adjust~
go shop tell ur situasi to them, there will know how to adjust it...
i forgot what it call already... sweat.gif
adjust only dont nid repair

This post has been edited by monkeybar: Jul 20 2013, 12:53 AM
lavendershuin
post Jul 20 2013, 01:04 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 120

Joined: Jun 2013
QUOTE(monkeybar @ Jul 20 2013, 12:51 AM)
dont nid repair just nid to adjust~
go shop tell ur situasi to them, there will know how to adjust it...
i forgot what it call already... sweat.gif
adjust only dont nid repair
*
Thanks. What to adjust? roughly how much for this minor adjustment? hmm.gif


AlexLee277
post Jul 20 2013, 02:55 AM

♥♥♥♥제시카♥♥♥♥봄이♥♥♥♥
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,179

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Somewhere on Earth



possibly vacuum leak? hmm.gif
better do a check up at workshop.
:3mushy:3
post Jul 20 2013, 06:41 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,510

Joined: Apr 2008
Happened to me once (different car), changing the plug coil solved the problem.
hakimlaw
post Jul 20 2013, 06:47 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 229

Joined: Jan 2009
From: Ganu Kite..............


QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 20 2013, 06:41 AM)
Happened to me once (different car), changing the plug coil solved the problem.
*
This... smile.gif
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 09:01 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(lavendershuin @ Jul 20 2013, 12:47 AM)
I am driving VIOS Manual Type J. Each time when I stopped my car at traffic light or caught in jam, my car engine will gradually die. I have to press the accelerator pedal prevent the engine stop. Anyone know what's the reason? how much of the repair?
*
O2 sensor dead. Common problem for Vios.

My friend stalled when traffic jam, luckily replaced under warranty. 2 O2 sensors around RM1,200 if replaced at Toyota.
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2013, 09:05 AM

Riding couple
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,873

Joined: Jan 2007
From: KL Malaysia


impossible! vios god car, how can it stall? impossible.








» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 20 2013, 09:06 AM
Daniel John
post Jul 20 2013, 09:25 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 38

Joined: Jul 2006


is it hybrid and running on eco mode?
lavendershuin
post Jul 20 2013, 09:36 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 120

Joined: Jun 2013
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 20 2013, 09:01 AM)
O2 sensor dead. Common problem for Vios.

My friend stalled when traffic jam, luckily replaced under warranty. 2 O2 sensors around RM1,200 if replaced at Toyota.
*
ahhh wahhhh minor adjustment need RM1200 cry.gif
dstl1128
post Jul 20 2013, 09:58 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,409

Joined: Jan 2003
Another possible scenario is you have just change the battery, which will have weird idling (almost die or just die). Just about one or 2 or 3 drives it will back to normal.

That's the problem with modern cars - sensors everywhere.

dares
post Jul 20 2013, 09:59 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(lavendershuin @ Jul 20 2013, 09:36 AM)
ahhh wahhhh minor adjustment need RM1200  cry.gif
*
Keyword here: "Replaced at Toyota"

If you car is out of warranty, you can get it diagnosed at Toyota SC, but replace at outside workshops which should be much cheaper.

Oh also it could be another sensor which is at fault, the MAF sensor, which is also RM600++ at Toyota SC.
danabu
post Jul 20 2013, 10:11 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 383

Joined: Dec 2011
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 20 2013, 09:01 AM)
O2 sensor dead. Common problem for Vios.

My friend stalled when traffic jam, luckily replaced under warranty. 2 O2 sensors around RM1,200 if replaced at Toyota.
*
must be kidding toyota got no common problem. all the common toyota problem is because of the owner.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 11:20 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(danabu @ Jul 20 2013, 10:11 AM)
must be kidding toyota got no common problem. all the common toyota problem is because of the owner.
*
That is to say, the only common problem the Vios has are owner problems rclxms.gif

No owner = no problem

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 20 2013, 11:21 AM
Tidor
post Jul 20 2013, 11:39 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 26

Joined: Nov 2004


what is ur RPM meter (located beside speed meter) indicate when your engine idle? if less than 1 then maybe need to go shop to adjust the engine timing.. adjust timing usually free.. low engine timing will also cause it to die at traffic light if u did not press acc pedal..
winkiedilwy
post Jul 20 2013, 11:47 AM

Imma farting carrots.
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,226

Joined: Oct 2010
From: Place known for existence of men.



QUOTE(Daniel John @ Jul 20 2013, 09:25 AM)
is it hybrid and running on eco mode?
*
lol........... you thought start-stop function meh?
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 11:55 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(Tidor @ Jul 20 2013, 11:39 AM)
what is ur RPM meter (located beside speed meter) indicate when your engine idle? if less than 1 then maybe need to go shop to adjust the engine timing.. adjust timing usually free.. low engine timing will also cause it to die at traffic light if u did not press acc pedal..
*
Vios dugong has drive-by-wire throttlebody. You can't adjust the idling like a cable-driven throttlebody.
Daniel John
post Jul 20 2013, 12:01 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 38

Joined: Jul 2006


QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Jul 20 2013, 11:47 AM)
lol........... you thought start-stop function meh?
*
owh vios no this function aaa? blush.gif sorry...cos i tot vios no problem one..
Alan
post Jul 20 2013, 12:04 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 401

Joined: Jan 2003
if it is ignition coil/spark plug, the engine will vibrate abnormally even at rpm >1.2k.
if crankshaft positioning sensor dead, need to press hard on accelerator, the rpm will raise up but engine no torque (from my experience).
If it just dead on idling, then could be vacumn leak, or fuel pump... i think.
Also check oil/water/temperature if they are in normal.

Bring to service center to check all the sensors.

This post has been edited by Alan: Jul 20 2013, 12:04 PM
TechHub-Asia
post Jul 20 2013, 12:09 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 84

Joined: Oct 2010
QUOTE(Alan @ Jul 20 2013, 12:04 PM)
if it is ignition coil/spark plug, the engine will vibrate abnormally even at rpm >1.2k.
if crankshaft positioning sensor dead, need to press hard on accelerator, the rpm will raise up but engine no torque (from my experience).
If it just dead on idling, then could be vacumn leak, or fuel pump... i think.
Also check oil/water/temperature if they are in normal.

Bring to service center to check all the sensors.
*
Nice explanation, thanks bro... smile.gif
DoomCognition
post Jul 20 2013, 12:20 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 225

Joined: Nov 2010


Paging viosTRD

This post has been edited by DoomCognition: Jul 20 2013, 12:26 PM
sanadi
post Jul 20 2013, 01:13 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 4

Joined: May 2012
Could it be simply caused by dirty, oily throttle body?
kadajawi
post Jul 20 2013, 01:25 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 525

Joined: Jan 2009


QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Jul 20 2013, 11:47 AM)
lol........... you thought start-stop function meh?
*
Manual start stop function lah. Engine stops itself, but owner has to start again.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 01:30 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 20 2013, 01:25 PM)
Manual start stop function lah. Engine stops itself, but owner has to start again.
*
laugh.gif At least it is half-decent then

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 20 2013, 01:53 PM
MR_alien
post Jul 20 2013, 02:47 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,049

Joined: Oct 2007
From: everywhere in sabah



my opinion is the RPM is too low that the engine die
i dn't know abt vios
but my dad's waja last time got this problem...the RPM is too low
he took to workshop, they adjusted it...thn its gine
MR_alien
post Jul 20 2013, 02:49 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,049

Joined: Oct 2007
From: everywhere in sabah



QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Jul 20 2013, 12:20 PM)
Paging viosTRD
*
biggrin.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
inb4 vios best car in the world
inb4 toyota engine will not die in traffic light
inb4 isolated case
inb4 driver's fault, not the car

winkiedilwy
post Jul 20 2013, 02:58 PM

Imma farting carrots.
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,226

Joined: Oct 2010
From: Place known for existence of men.



QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 20 2013, 02:49 PM)
biggrin.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
inb4 vios best car in the world
inb4 toyota engine will not die in traffic light
inb4 isolated case
inb4 driver's fault, not the car
*
inb4 no buy TRD Sportivo spec
winkiedilwy
post Jul 20 2013, 03:06 PM

Imma farting carrots.
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,226

Joined: Oct 2010
From: Place known for existence of men.



I think it's kinda common for the new 4-speed gearbox.

My dad's Camry also like that. Rpm go super low then raise back again when come to a stop. But not so serious until engine stop.

TS u can try to shift to N first before the car stops.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 04:17 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(viosTRD @ Jul 20 2013, 03:29 PM)
Yes. Must be this. Go to adjust it. If still cant solve check your spark plug.
*
Yes mr. Genius. Do drive your dugong to any outside workshop and ask the mechanic to adjust the idling RPM for you, then come back here and tell us he whack your head with a spanner or a hammer.

Dugong uses drive-by-wire throttle control, the only way you can adjust the idling RPM is to tweak the ECU. The only Vios that can adjust idling RPM old-school style with a screwdriver is the old gen Vios, which uses cable-driven throttle.

lulz
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 04:34 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(viosTRD @ Jul 20 2013, 04:29 PM)
Adjust is for ts easier understanding dude. Who dont know new vios use ecu. Adjust/tweak also see how u look at it only dude.
*
Old and New Vios also use ECU.

Old Vios has cable-driven throttle, therefore you can send to outside workshop to adjust idling RPM.

New Vios (dugong) use drive-by-wire throttle, therefore outside workshop cannot adjust the idling.

Understand the difference?
unitron
post Jul 20 2013, 04:56 PM

W1(R)3d
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,181

Joined: Jan 2003
From: In the shadows behind you


QUOTE(dares @ Jul 20 2013, 04:34 PM)
Old and New Vios also use ECU.

Old Vios has cable-driven throttle, therefore you can send to outside workshop to adjust idling RPM.

New Vios (dugong) use drive-by-wire throttle, therefore outside workshop cannot adjust the idling.

Understand the difference?
*
Sorry... from what I know there is nothing to adjust. Problem is elsewhere.

What do you adjust for cable driven throttle?
- The throttle opening ?? it should be the IACV that control amount of air going in right?
- The TPS sensor position ?? unless something was changed at the TB, the TPS sensor should not be touched.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 05:08 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 20 2013, 04:56 PM)
Sorry... from what I know there is nothing to adjust. Problem is elsewhere.

What do you adjust for cable driven throttle?
- The throttle opening ?? it should be the IACV that control amount of air going in right?
- The TPS sensor position ?? unless something was changed at the TB, the TPS sensor should not be touched.
*
In the TS's case the problem memang is elsewhere, I suspect the O2 sensors as his case is similiar to my friend's.

For cable throttles, there is a screw on the throttle body that directly adjusts the throttle valve opening when idling.
unitron
post Jul 20 2013, 05:42 PM

W1(R)3d
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,181

Joined: Jan 2003
From: In the shadows behind you


QUOTE(dares @ Jul 20 2013, 05:08 PM)
In the TS's case the problem memang is elsewhere, I suspect the O2 sensors as his case is similiar to my friend's.

For cable throttles, there is a screw on the throttle body that directly adjusts the throttle valve opening when idling.
*
O2 sensor faulty normally got check engine light.... plus bad fuel economy. Have to scan for fault code and monitor closed loop feedback with OBD2 scan tool to check.

Never worked on a Vios engine.. but normally throttle valve is fully closed during idling for cable driven TB. Air metering in to keep engine running in idle is control by a separate IACV.

Very weird that Vios doesn't use similar setup with IACV but got screw to adjust throttle valve directly for cable driven.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 05:51 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 20 2013, 05:42 PM)
O2 sensor faulty normally got check engine light.... plus bad fuel economy. Have to scan for fault code and monitor closed loop feedback with OBD2 scan tool to check.

Never worked on a Vios engine..  but normally throttle valve is fully closed during idling for cable driven TB. Air metering in to keep engine running in idle is control by a separate IACV.

Very weird that Vios doesn't use similar setup with IACV but got screw to adjust throttle valve directly for cable driven.
*
My guess is O2 sensor faulty will only throw up CEL if it is not responding. If it is feeding bad data to the ECU, the ECU won't know anything is wrong. My friend didn't encounter CEL also until he completely stalled.

the idling screw serves as some sort of easy override on top of the IACV control. This is not limited to just the old Vios, most cable driven TBs have this.

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

EDIT: my mistake, it doesn't adjust the throttle valve directly, but rather the opening of an alternate air flow route.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 20 2013, 05:56 PM
unitron
post Jul 20 2013, 05:55 PM

W1(R)3d
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,181

Joined: Jan 2003
From: In the shadows behind you


Ah... ic ic... there is another separate path for the air... adjusting screw does not mess with the throttle valve position.
dares
post Jul 20 2013, 05:57 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jul 2011
QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 20 2013, 05:55 PM)
Ah... ic ic... there is another separate path for the air...  adjusting screw does not mess with the throttle valve position.
*
Yep, edited my above post to mention that, my mistake blush.gif

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0813sec    2.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 06:29 AM