blacktrix
post May 16 2006, 07:27 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Have you checked out the Zoom B2.1u???
http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/products/b21u/index.php

It's resonably priced (should be about 500 ringgit range), it performs quite well, has most of the effects that you will need to play around AND has a USB interface to record to your computer.

Or if you don't like Zoom, you can try out Digitech's BP80 or BP200 products. Doesn't have a USB plug, but according to some, performs much better compared to the Zoom.... SHOULD be around the same price range.

But if you REALLY have cash to splurge on, Check out the Digitech BNX3.... http://www.digitech.com/products/bnx3.htm
blacktrix
post May 16 2006, 09:15 PM

13,063 posts

If you're talking about GUITAR effects...... I think my first pedal was the Zoom 505, 2000 limited edition silver one..... Then added on a GCB-95 Dunlop wah (Got it for my 21st Birthday).
I then got the GFX-5, and added in the ZW-44 and now, the ZW-45.

I think you can get the B2.1u at Chambers in Sungai Wang or Bentley.

Also.... since on the subject of Pedals..... Dunlop FINALLY came up with a Slash Wah!!!! http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=pr.../p_and_e_detail

Looks REALLY killer and would be a good alternative to the Crybaby from Hell or the Wylde Wah.....

blacktrix
post May 16 2006, 09:37 PM

13,063 posts

Simple. get the ZW-44..... smile.gif
blacktrix
post May 17 2006, 02:19 PM

13,063 posts

I'm a heavy Wah abuser......
So much so, I now have 3 kinds of Wah......
A Wah from from GFX-5 (Almost never use), my GCB-95 Dunlop Wah (my work horse for 3 years and counting), and my brand spanking new Wylde Wah (EXCELLENT Metal/Funk wah)......

Get the G2.1u with the expression pedal..... not only can it act as a wah, but you can use it to control the volume, tremolo effects and all kinds of crazy stuff.....
blacktrix
post May 18 2006, 07:26 AM

13,063 posts

Got the Wylde wah from Bentley last Saturday...... last one there according to them.
blacktrix
post May 18 2006, 06:55 PM

13,063 posts

Yes it can be used, but the frequency isn't as low as a wah that is made for the Bass, so you can't really hear the wah effect as much......

Why not get the Dunlop 105Q Bass wah? http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=pr.../p_and_e_detail

Also, since on the subject of Dunlop pedals, they just released The Blowtorch, A 3 band EQ Overdrive/Distortion pedal........ looks and sounds killer......

http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=products/pip&id=263

And the Digitech Distortion factory........ not as fantastic to me. I prefer The Weapon instead.....

blacktrix
post May 19 2006, 06:19 AM

13,063 posts

Both tongue.gif

Honestly....... my perfect setup would be a 2 FX-loop system...... switchable using a Tonebone Loopbone......(http://www.tonebone.com/tb-loopbone.htm)

One loop will lead to either a Pod XT Live, Boss GT-8 or a Vox Tonelab SE, with a seperate Crybaby from hell/Slash Wah (Something that's customizable) and then the other will consist of the Zakk setup......which is the ZW-45 Wah, Rotovibe, ZW-44 Overdrive, EVH Phase 90, EVH Flanger, Octave and a Chorus pedal........

And then the signal will output to a JCM800 2203x (or ZW model) with the FX loop in the rear....... either that or a Marshall Mode4.....
blacktrix
post May 21 2006, 09:54 PM

13,063 posts

No. It's quite simple really...... a Multi-FX unit with a Wah goes through one channel on the ToneBone pedal..... and my Zakk Attack effects loops goes through another channel.....

The ToneBone basically allows you to have 2 effects chains to switch from, and outputs them to one amp.....

So I will have all the units right where I would normally have my pedals.... only they will be slightly angled........ will draw a diagram when I have the time.
blacktrix
post Nov 29 2006, 05:04 PM

13,063 posts

The Boss ME-50 IS a great unit..... perfect for people who want just multi-FX without Amp modelling.....

Hope your new ME-50 comes in soon man! In the mean time, why not post pics of your current setup on the flash us thread!
blacktrix
post Nov 29 2006, 05:45 PM

13,063 posts

Well, I'm happy with my Vox Tonelab SE, Wylde Wah and Wylde Overdrive...... but I DO want to get a Digitech Whammy next year..... sigh...... that means I have to go Ang Pow collecting..... dammit!
blacktrix
post Nov 30 2006, 04:59 PM

13,063 posts

First things first..... the Boss ME-50 only produces effects...... not amp modelling..... So if you are looking to plug in your guitar and make it sound like going through a JCM800..... you're outta luck.

The GFX-3 does support some form of amp modelling, but the quality of effects can't compare to the ME-50.

BOth of them are different units for different purposes.
blacktrix
post Dec 2 2006, 01:49 AM

13,063 posts

Before you do, please give the Vox Tonelab SE a try man....... I was a loyal Zoom follower, but after turning to the Vox......... man.... it opened up my eyes.
But yes...... the Zoom 9.2tt DOES have some impressive features on it's own also.......
The final decision boils down to you, but give the VOx a run first.
blacktrix
post Dec 3 2006, 07:24 PM

13,063 posts

WOW..... you really WERE left out...... that post was waaaaaaaaaaaay back in May.... Before alot of cool stuff!!!!

I just realized...... this year, my whole guitar collection grew significantly!!!!

Added in the Wylde Wah, Epiphone Zakk Wylde Les Paul, Jackson RR3, Vox Tonelab SE......
*gasp*
blacktrix
post Dec 3 2006, 07:34 PM

13,063 posts

Not rich..........
Opportunist. Right place at the right time.......
blacktrix
post Dec 4 2006, 04:43 PM

13,063 posts

Coowie..... Where did you get your Danelectro man?
Cheap pedals, surprising tones.........
blacktrix
post Dec 4 2006, 05:30 PM

13,063 posts

If you play metal and have a little cash left over, highly suggest the Crybaby From Hell wah...... great customization and looks freakin' bad ass as well.
blacktrix
post Dec 4 2006, 06:30 PM

13,063 posts

Cliff Burton?? Ooooooooooh. Bassist.

In that case, you'll have to go for Dunlop's Bass Wah, the 105Q.

http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=pr.../p_and_e_detail

I would always recommend a dedicated Bass Wah for bassists. Like I said before, the Wah frequency for a guitar Wah isn't low enough to be picked up by the Bass.

And if you're on a spending spree... would suggest the Blowtorch also.

http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=products/pip&id=263

I heard some good reviews about it....... but might not be to everyone's taste.

0.0208sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:07 AM