Investment ONE COCHRANE RESIDENCES [MRT PROPERTY], Next to IKEA and Ikano Megamall + Hotel

stephdreamcloud
post May 15 2020, 10:13 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(hazwan_zohdi @ May 9 2020, 04:21 PM)
Logic or not can fetch more than RM3k rental in jalan cockrain?
if can survey the area rental online, it's 3K+

advantage of OC is low density.
but like any good projects that's selling at fair price/below market price, it's fully booked already.
good thing is, can still join waiting list la.
stephdreamcloud
post May 23 2020, 08:52 AM

97 posts

Things to consider while considering this project:

stephdreamcloud
post May 23 2020, 09:22 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 23 2020, 01:01 PM)
Exaggerated

1) I live near this area and it’s hard to get rent even past RM3k in current situation.

2) Why would anyone go for One Cochrane when you can have relatively better developments in Maluri like Velocity, UNA, Laville, Mira just one stop away?

3) One Cochrane isn’t pedestrian friendly. Distance to walk to MRT is relatively far (non-covered for now) and you’re risking getting
a worse deal since there’s a plot right next to it which might be phase 2 AND is nearer to MRT.

4) Maintenance fee last I checked was prohibitive. Have they revised it downwards from RM0.55 psf yet?

5) I don’t like the developer profile and backers at all. The main con is a Boustead subsidiary which is majority owned by LTAT. You can google LTAT or Boustead to know what kind of position they’re at.
Thanks for sharing your insights.
There’s no doubt that LTAT is facing some impairment but this isn’t coming from their properties division alone. It’s also coming from their heavy machineries and plantations. It would be complicated to only judge it from one angle. They have been reporting growing revenues despite that and are paying dividends still.
The MRT is about 3 minutes walk away. This is quite a healthy distance.

Sure #2. I guess everyone can do their own research and make price comparison.
stephdreamcloud
post May 23 2020, 09:26 PM

97 posts

Also, last I checked, OC is priced very competitively (also considering its free maintanence fee for first 2 years and attractive rebates), it has in fact offered one of the best deals in the area. Not trying to exaggerate but talking based on numbers n prices that I have compared. Also, considering the potential rental growth and property demand in the area once trx is completed next year. It looks promising.
stephdreamcloud
post May 24 2020, 02:00 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 24 2020, 01:28 AM)
1) Boustead paid zero dividends for FY19 - https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/bous...clean-its-books

2) Fire sale for parts of Jalan Cochrane asset -https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/boustead-puts-jalan-cochrane-land-sale

3) MRT is most definitely not a '3 minute' walk away. The residential area for One Cochrane is recessed into the plot of land, behind the huge car park area. So is the MRT entrance. I'd say a 'healthy' 10 minutes brisk walk, rain or shine, is closer to the mark.

4) People don't own properties for only 2 years. And you'd be naive to think developer hasn't priced in this additional cost. Additional 'rebates' are usually priced in as well (otherwise first buyers would be disgruntled). Lowest nett price was around 830k (type A) when I surveyed late last year. Has this changed?

I'm curious on how you do your analysis. Mine basically says One Cochrane is a white elephant. Not close enough to walk to TRX so have to drive or take MRT. But if driving better take Continew since cheaper. If purely MRT better take Maluri area since got refurbished AEON and Sunway group facilities within walking distance. Unless you think having Ikea across the road is a heavy premium worth paying ?
First of all, I have to admit that I haven’t studied much of boustead financial numbers in detail. However last I can recall is that dividend is not the only way to gauge the financial health of a company especially a huge conglomerate like boustead.U can see a lot of growth companies don’t pay dividend and that doesn’t mean that they are good or bad. It’s just their decision to reinvest back. Also at times like this i can’t say it’s unwise not to fix their cashflow and operation health first. Beside the news that u posted, there are several good news like growing revenue, reduced operational cost that should be take note of too. For a property company to make money they have to spend money to develop and only see revenue starts coming in from the sales of property. You can see that they are more good news coming up especially on Palm oil since it’s coming back up again that would benefit the company compared to previous year. Again all these are fluid factors and shouldn’t be valued from one angle only.

Also, on the maintanence cost, it’s wiser to look at it at a wider perspective instead of ringgit and cents to other projects. In this instance, Maintenance fee is a function of density/facility and potential capital growth. I'm ready to bet the additional RM1k/year in maintenance fee for possible 0.5% better capital appreciation (eg RM45k/year). Again, this is highly subjective to what do you want from purchasing this property. If want cheap maybe this is not the one. If want value per ringgit invested, its worth thinking. I would rather choose higher potential return than cheap investment. Just like picking stocks. Of course everyone has their preference. But if I know I’m getting a good growth stock at under market value that has high potential to grow/ appreciate further, I would get it.

Also FYI, OC development has garnered an award for Best Transit Oriented Development (Future) from iproperty.com mainly contributed by its features of superior connectivity and proximity to conveniences and kL city centre. (This can be looked up and checked).
stephdreamcloud
post May 24 2020, 08:02 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ May 24 2020, 05:42 PM)
I think we all know that. My point was to illustrate that there are far better projects within/near the area that is cheaper to maintain in the long run that doesn't come with the risk of an impaired developer profile. Do you think the high asking price for One Cochrane is justified? If so, why?
they are offering rebates btw. that would bring down their cost psft lower a lot. however, these are group buying rebates. normal walk in or published rate is higher.
stephdreamcloud
post May 25 2020, 02:35 PM

97 posts

Actually their sales are doing well at least for this year. I’m not sure about previous, really. But they do have impressive / established track record.

Anyone who’s still interested can still pm me.
Not here to convince anyone but sharing what I know. And yes, like shared above by others, not many units left.

And I agree, have to do due diligence before purchasing. It’s not something I would agree on to be buying hastily.
stephdreamcloud
post May 26 2020, 09:43 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(DesRed @ May 25 2020, 10:31 PM)
If you meant prior to this year's sales package, it's performance is quite sad. I remember seeing 6-7 of the largest unit taken up, but the rest of the chart is completely devoid of stickers.

It's as if either Boustead isn't in a hurry to sell the units in this project or they have something else planned for it. Glad to hear that there's some movement after so long and about to be topped off soon.
Thanks for the info!
yes, glad too. because based on analysis comparing to nearby projects, it would have been weird if it cant sell well, because comparatively it wins in terms of pricing, freebies & rebates,density & projected appreciation too.

stephdreamcloud
post May 26 2020, 11:15 AM

97 posts

https://youtu.be/oUECX1mZOmY
stephdreamcloud
post May 26 2020, 10:49 PM

97 posts

Maintanence fee shouldn’t just be seen from an apple to apple comparison at least in an investor point of view. Have to factor in facilities and density - as to why it’s charged. Boustead has won several awards for their previous projects. I’m sure they won’t wana risk it and need to uphold their reputation. Nonetheless, I’m not here to convince la. Everything can be searched online these days. My POV.
stephdreamcloud
post May 26 2020, 10:51 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(cy91 @ May 26 2020, 12:18 PM)
FR help sold a lot of units
Indeed.
He has valid reasons n studies to support also. Factor in jobs opportunities and below market value, possible rental return.
stephdreamcloud
post May 27 2020, 08:23 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(al_madd @ May 26 2020, 11:32 PM)
how come one coch become below market value?
Considering after rebate, they are.
stephdreamcloud
post May 27 2020, 02:20 PM

97 posts

Have only a few units left on hand 😆 unless don’t mind to join waiting list.
stephdreamcloud
post May 28 2020, 11:55 AM

97 posts

So far I haven’t gotten any news yet. No announcement yet tho.
stephdreamcloud
post May 29 2020, 07:15 AM

97 posts

Had a look yesterday on rental fetch rate in the area.. user posted image
stephdreamcloud
post May 29 2020, 08:06 PM

97 posts

ok i should provide more complete infos. so here it goes, check them out , for those who wana do own research.

Projects nearby to compare, current value (take note on sqft)
https://www.iproperty.com.my/sale/klcc/all-...operty=Continew

https://www.iproperty.com.my/sale/all-resid...ial/?q=Velocity

after looking at the numbers, i felt that the price of OC is more fair, if intend to do investment, keep and sell for capital gain. again im not doing recommendation, my pov.

Rental potentials: (check out the median, average or which ever way u prefer) for me, i won't look at too low or too high (some even goes up to 4k, i prefer being more realistic but not pessimistic)

https://www.iproperty.com.my/rent/all-resid...ial/?q=velocity

https://www.iproperty.com.my/rent/kuala-lum...nway%20Velocity

of course, these are completely different projects. but even property gurus use nearby projects to compare rite.

tbh, due to personal preference, i wont buy for own stay la. i will buy for investment, because of the upcoming trx. also, it's no my preferred area - more to further away from city the better type innocent.gif
all the best and happy analysing. hope this helps.

for those who pm-ed, to be fair, i did provide more detailed analysis because some are P&C and only for serious investors.

stephdreamcloud
post May 30 2020, 11:30 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(lowyatlau @ May 30 2020, 10:33 AM)
Anyone can share their smaller layout size again at here? As too long already can't really recall what is the size of smaller there.

Hope this helps
stephdreamcloud
post Jun 2 2020, 01:38 PM

97 posts

I do agree on ur points especially especially on doing ur own judgement, taking theories and concept while formulating what works for ourselves especially how he does his analysis (even his book shared more genuine insights). And I have to say all these can’t be mastered within short period of time but through trial and error and experience.

Do own homework, make own judgement, but then don’t be too pessimistic or clouded by others criticism. Keep researching. But don’t forget to take action too. Because good opportunities don’t wait for anyone.
stephdreamcloud
post Jun 3 2020, 07:41 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 2 2020, 03:45 PM)
This webpage doesn’t indicate when was it updated. I checked through the stats on this kpkt. A lot of stats outdated. Most recent also up to year 2015 😰
stephdreamcloud
post Jun 3 2020, 06:47 PM

97 posts

The data is not updated. As we know sometimes it takes even up to few years for land and survey to capture sales also no? So I believe it’s lagged

0.3781sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:16 AM