Banks still havent came back to me for my second housing loan. Its already a week.
V12 - Property prices discussion, For non "UUU" and "DDD" campers only...
Jul 31 2013, 01:30 PM
352 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Banks still havent came back to me for my second housing loan. Its already a week.
Aug 2 2013, 10:41 PM
Rental are really crazy..some places listed as higher than another place with facilities..rental look like its going down..
Aug 3 2013, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(chengcheng @ Aug 2 2013, 10:52 PM) yup apartments listed higher or similar rental to a condo. or that the rental within the same building differs widely. so some rental rate is likely to go down. those enter late might not be able to pay their monthly repayment then. |
Aug 5 2013, 01:06 PM
So prices going up or down? Asking prices seems still going up but in my case bank appear stricter in processing my second loan.
Aug 5 2013, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(Anon_1986 @ Aug 5 2013, 02:27 PM) Prices will continue to go up because of momentum, but the current cycle seems to be running out of steam. I hear on the grapevine that subsale volume is slowing, and this indicates that rising asking prices are not being accepted by subsale buyers. New launch prices are still increasing thanks to easy financing by panel banks, but it seems that bank policy in general is getting stricter. My preferred bank, of which I am a so-called "premium customer", refused to approve a mortgage for me notwithstanding that the loan is only at 70% margin and is a mere 2x my gross declared income. Reason given was inter alia that the selling price was "too optimistic". I knew that of course, but wasn't really bothered as I could afford it. Ultimately though I was forced to use the developer's panel bank who apparently had no problems with the selling price. Yup I dont mind if my financing is slashed even to 70 percent as I really think I cud afford it and the price I locked in is still slightly high but not too bad compare to the current asking price. But I do have to admit that my finance is in need of slight reorganisation but shouldnt be a problem as I just sold one of my apartment. Guess I will have to ask for extension from my seller and see how it pans out.I suspect that the system of "panel banks" cozying up with developers to offer loans is a potential moral hazard risk, as there seems to be pressure to approve ultra-optimistic valuations, and approve buyers more easily in order to get more panel work. |
Aug 5 2013, 02:53 PM
Aug 5 2013, 03:00 PM
Anyway from my experience selling it is not that the buyer did not accept the asking price. Its just that bank wont give valuation and so buyer has to top up their own money. Like for example buying 200k apartment bank valuation is only 120k. Then buyer will have to top up 80k. But if buyer have 80k they would be in position to buy even for a property that is 800k! So doesnt make sense to buy 200k property! But at the same time undercon for similar size is selling at says 300k but with less entry which also doesnt make sense. I for one will go for the 200k but I wont be able to get finance! In the end somethjng will have to give in!
Aug 5 2013, 07:56 PM
Agreed. Still uncertain which way this is gonna go. Plus govt intervention and outside factors also play roles. But of course some people cant see shades of colours they just want to see black or white..
QUOTE(Anon_1986 @ Aug 5 2013, 05:48 PM) I wouldn't categorise myself as down camp, as I don't think my views on the property market are so simple as to be capable of being categorised into a simple "up" or "down". I like to think of myself a realist who attempts to estimate risk and act based on facts, logical analysis and intuition instead of emotions and oversimplified heuristics. If you read my post history over the past year, you will notice that I never agreed with the DDD camp that the bubble will burst any time soon. Instead, I maintain that our property market is showing the classic signs of a bubble, and appears to be supported by signs of a growing debt bubble across Asia fed by an exodus of hot money from developed economies. Nevertheless, based on my research into property bubbles around the world, I have concluded that the outcome of our bubble is still uncertain at this stage, and in fact there is even a risk that it may grow further. Currently, I find the property market to be at a medium to high risk stage due to increasingly poor fundamentals, but due to my increasing income, I need to hedge some of my cash in assets other than cash as I cannot allow all my income to enter FD. Although cash is king in the event of a crisis, I do not wish to hold too much cash as I had expected the MYR to weaken. Putting too much cash in the KLCI also has its own risks for other reasons. which I shall not go into here. In my view, the property market is not necessarily doomed to crash as my expectation of interest rates rising in anticipation of inflation may be defeated due to policy changes which are inherently unpredictable. For instance, the Australian property bubble which started collapsing in 2008/2009 was saved by major government intervention, and it then started growing rapidly again. Ideally, I would prefer if BNM and other central banks and governments would always act rationally, but I fully expect they may end up act irrationally for political purposes. Consequently, I would not recommend anybody to exit the property market completely so long as mortgage debt levels remain low relative to income, and so long as residential property makes up only a small proportion of total investment exposure. I fully understand if you wish to take a different approach towards investing, i.e. by leveraging up on the property market. As I had noted earlier in this forum, it is a depressing fact indeed that many Malaysians have no access to capital, and have little prospect of gaining wealth aside from gambling their futures taking on high levels of debt. That to me is a major risk factor as well, as the residential property market is now overflowing with unsophisticated investors who are leveraged to the hilt, pushing our household debt levels to about 85% of GDP. My personal (and admittedly limited) observations in Malaysia and elsewhere shows me that the level of financial knowledge of the average Malaysian investor is shockingly low relative to those in other countries. An economy is only healthy if wealth gains comes from productivity and value-add, rather than asset inflation and credit expansion. Relying on asset inflation as an investment strategy is inherently unsustainable if this inflation is not backed up by growing yields, but many of our market participants do not have the capacity to appreciate this. |
Aug 8 2013, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(bababanana @ Aug 8 2013, 01:44 PM) wonder any chinese pantang on buying house on ghost month? lol..when is this ghost month? I might need to ask for extension from my seller..still cant secure my financing..shud get it lah if during ghost month..sign snp consider ? what's why alot new project launching postponed to sept already |
Aug 16 2013, 05:30 PM
ok got my loan approve but 70 percent only for 2nd loan..price higher than what I wanted but lower than the current asking prices..so go ahead and buy because its gonna be UUU or abort because its gonna be DDD?
Aug 16 2013, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(AmayaBumibuyer @ Aug 16 2013, 05:32 PM) oh just saw another advert with better location but a leasehold..the current one that I have a booking is a freehold...phew!! some of the advert I monitored has shown slight reduction in asking prices..but a unit that I actually went to see like two weeks ago is now asking for more! lol! |
Aug 17 2013, 05:58 PM
Ok Im going in. Signed the loan offer. So now Im vested..BBB baby!
* word of caution 1)Im buying subsale as I found prices of undercon sky high 2) Im not buying high end.. Up up up..please.. |
| Change to: | 0.0416sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:16 AM |