Any1 providing Student WebDesigning?, RM100-RM200 with Flash?

Stupid Khor
post May 19 2006, 07:09 PM

276 posts

tables in firefox can't exceed 100% width,
check out the javascript and test in firefox,
you will understand why...
it's not a problem of coding,
but a problem of browser support...

well, trying to redesign using flash,
will work in most browsers in next version...

ps... off topic edi... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Stupid Khor: May 19 2006, 07:10 PM
StonerJuan
post May 21 2006, 01:35 PM

309 posts

Khor preety cool stuff you hve there.
etsuko
post May 22 2006, 12:18 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

it's weird seeing JSscript and STYLEs contained in the BODY tag. LoL!
Stupid Khor
post May 22 2006, 08:25 AM

276 posts

to StonerJuan: Thanks... blush.gif

to etsuko:
hehe... Javascript in body is usually used to generate an amount of html using a few words of script, if you've looked at the source of content.html... try the following address to view it (the whole address including 'view-source:')... tongue.gif

view-source:http://maxis.communities.com.my/sites/cyyuhua/data/home/content.html

if you are talking about the main page, I would have to tell you this is due to the limitation of that server... the index page is not fully editable, it only allows us to edit the body part, so the only way to customize it is to use javascript & css in the body... well, I guess I'm the first one who did this in that brand of web host engine... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Stupid Khor: May 22 2006, 08:47 AM
eddymohd
post May 22 2006, 12:12 PM

18 posts

i think this is cause by unsupported browser. Do note that IE have some tags which aren't standard. Thus, this will only works when view in IE... since most of the normal surfers are using IE.. this does not be a big issue BUT as a web designer, you need to think outside the box. What if i don't have IE?
t3ch
post May 22 2006, 12:19 PM

Validating
296 posts

happy to see lot of talented designer here
Stupid Khor
post May 22 2006, 12:38 PM

276 posts

to eddy:

I know I know... well have you tried to make a table with "200%" as its width? you won't get a 200% width table in Firefox! and for Opera, the table width couldn't exceed 2300% (or something like this)... unless I do it in Flash, or I won't be able to achieve that effect using Javascript... rclxub.gif

i've tried a lot of methods, but they all only work in IE... besides this effect, I have to make the skinning function too, it's our plan to show off our skills on coding in that competition, and what should we do? abandon that design? no, there's a time limit! and we have spent so many days to write the code, we still have games to design too... at last, no choice, we could only restrict its usage on the other browsers... cry.gif

btw, the competition has ended, the SPM exam has passed, and now we have some time to redesign it... I've decided to make it in Flash, 'coz it's cross-browser and I don't really need to show my skills on coding anymore... hehe... will post here when I finished my design... laugh.gif
luv4life
post May 23 2006, 10:29 AM

128 posts

Can see your website?
animaster
post Jun 15 2006, 02:57 PM

Hi there !, i'm a amature in this field but several time doing some cd rom presentation for my friends' presentation assignment, may be i can help you ???
as i have alot of time aftetr office hour, i think i can redesign you web pages in flash. what i know is the design layout, not the complicated script in flash.

interested ???

mclelun
post Jun 15 2006, 05:47 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(animaster @ Jun 15 2006, 02:57 PM)
Hi there !, i'm a amature in this field but several time doing some cd rom presentation for my friends' presentation assignment, may be i can help you ???
as i have alot of time aftetr office hour, i think i can redesign you web pages in flash. what i know is the design layout, not the complicated script in flash.

interested ???
this guy started this thread 1 month ago, and I believe he already complete the website by himself. too late biggrin.gif
TSminde
post Jun 15 2006, 10:19 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

no la...in fact im still waiting from ikrams blue print >.<~
mclelun
post Jun 15 2006, 10:50 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Jun 15 2006, 10:19 PM)
no la...in fact im still waiting from ikrams blue print >.<~
from other thread, i see you really want to learn and do it yourself.

so why not continue learning? good for you also, got a new skill after finish this website. biggrin.gif
junkieG
post Jun 16 2006, 01:51 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

mak aih, melampau sangat text ko tue ko embosskan...cuba kurengkan sikit biar nampak camm x melebih-lebih macam org baru tau guner psd...

imho

(erkk komen aku utk signature ko tue)
R-K-F
post Jun 18 2006, 10:57 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Stupid Khor @ May 22 2006, 08:25 AM)
.. I guess I'm the first one who did this in that brand of web host engine... laugh.gif
Not really. I was "forced" into joining the same- lame contest (Maxis Cyberlinq) last year, and yep, managed to use all my own code for it instead of the supplied "CMS". Didn't join in the end because it's an effing waste of time.

Edit: Nevermind. I just remembered I posted an entry about the competition last year.. I even linked to your winning site, said it was the nicest, haha. gj biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by R-K-F: Jun 18 2006, 10:59 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Jun 21 2006, 09:22 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Stupid Khor @ May 22 2006, 08:25 AM)
hehe... Javascript in body is usually used to generate an amount of html using a few words of script, if you've looked at the source of content.html... try the following address to view it (the whole address including 'view-source:')... tongue.gif

Having JavaScript in body isn't really a good practice... it makes your code pretty hard to maintain.. that's why ASP.Net seperates code from presentation in 2 sections.. if you want content in your page, you could always either use .innerHTML, or call a function from the location where you want your stuff to appear..

QUOTE(Stupid Khor @ May 22 2006, 12:38 PM)
to eddy:

I know I know... well have you tried to make a table with "200%" as its width? you won't get a 200% width table in Firefox! and for Opera, the table width couldn't exceed 2300% (or something like this)... unless I do it in Flash, or I won't be able to achieve that effect using Javascript... rclxub.gif
I don't really get it.. why would you want to specify a table width THAT wide??
TSminde
post Jun 29 2006, 04:16 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

finally paid ikram ^^ !! waiting him to on9 now rclxms.gif
cypher
post Jun 29 2006, 04:37 PM

CYPHER - CRAPPY SPEAKER
2,118 posts

btw, css will fix the problem ...

wonder why firefox cannot 100% in width

This post has been edited by cypher: Jun 29 2006, 04:50 PM
animaster
post Jul 4 2006, 08:29 AM

welldone ikram !!!

you make it, man. as i'm trying so hard to finish my blueprint rclxms.gif
sorry 'minde' cos can't propose my blue print earlier than expected. maybe next time . . . wink.gif
POYOZER
post Jul 4 2006, 04:07 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

nice website u got there
POYOZER
post Jul 4 2006, 04:17 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

look like ur class got ur own forum
so can outsider join spamming there?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top