Bathroom Renovation Request, Quotation

TSspcollections
post Jul 11 2013, 11:48 AM, updated 13y ago

42 posts

Hi Hi,

If I want to renovate my bathroom as per below picture, may I know how much will this cost me ?
Btw, i'm staying in the condo 4th floor.

Thanks a lot!!!

Currently my toilet as per below:

This post has been edited by spcollections: Jul 11 2013, 01:48 PM
PitzaHuat
post Jul 11 2013, 03:09 PM

69 posts

Small job. Call me to get quote.
matthewctj
post Jul 11 2013, 10:39 PM

1,304 posts

1. Hacking away old tiles.
2. Determine if you want hot water piping, either boiler type or instant type. You can use a mixer with boiler type.
3. Purchase the correct offset WC and a basin (cost which you can get yourself). Same goes with bath accessories like towel holder, mirrors, shower fittings.
4 Screed and waterproofing.
5. Change your window
6. Laying new tiles (tiles you can buy yourself and know the cost)
6. Change your ceiling.
7. If space permit, you can box up your pipes.

Noregrets
post Jul 11 2013, 11:50 PM

1,124 posts

Your bathroom size looks too small to have the same thing.
The 2 pipes will be a problem.
It will cost about RM 5k to remove tiles, buy tiles, install tiles, water proof, piping and toilet fittings.
I am using the same rusty color tiles for my bathrooms estuary wall.
You can get it from any Niro dealer.
Or go to Apex at Jalan Ipoh they same but Some China brand.
There is also a silver version of the rusty look tiles.
I have bought for my new house so if you want to look at the color let me know and I will take a photo for you.
TSspcollections
post Jul 12 2013, 11:28 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(sekkee @ Jul 11 2013, 11:50 PM)
Your bathroom size looks too small to have the same thing.
The 2 pipes will be a problem.
It will cost about RM 5k to remove tiles, buy tiles, install tiles, water proof, piping and toilet fittings.
I am using the same rusty color tiles for my bathrooms estuary wall.
You can get it from any Niro dealer.
Or go to Apex at Jalan Ipoh they same but Some China brand.
There is also a silver version of the rusty look tiles.
I have bought for my new house so if you want to look at the color let me know and I will take a photo for you.
Thank you thank you... actually it doesn't need to be 100% same.. I wan similar design which is simple and nice. share your pic ya!!!

jagjag
post Jul 12 2013, 11:31 AM

537 posts

I have done this before n cost me ard 2K for labour only to remove and install new tiles and all the fittings...( no more contact with the contractor ..Sorry ) For the tiles and sanitary wares..it is up to your preference and u can get it estimated with all the price available to you anywhere...
sovietmah
post Jul 12 2013, 11:34 AM

2,243 posts

it will cost bout 4K for the:
1. Water Proof Plaster Ceiling
2. Wall Tiles and workmanship
3. Water Proofing the floor and tiles
4. Change ur bathroom door
5. Change position of piping, now the toilet bowl and sink seems located oppositely in new design.
6. Hide the 2 big at corner pipes.

Other stuff
1. Toilet Bowl
2. Ventilation System (I seems saw a ventilation system on the side there)
3. Sink and the aluminium cabinet (not cheap here)
4. Rain shower
5. Shower Screen probably needed to divide ur bath area and toilet bowl
6. Towel hanger, clothes hanger, misc stuff
7. Don't forget lighting is important as well

Total : 8K at least my point of view.
TSspcollections
post Jul 12 2013, 11:42 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Jul 12 2013, 11:31 AM)
I have done this before n cost me ard 2K for labour only to remove and install new tiles and all the fittings...( no more contact with the contractor ..Sorry ) For the tiles and sanitary wares..it is up to your preference and u can get it estimated with all the price available to you anywhere...
too bad cry.gif
TSspcollections
post Jul 12 2013, 11:44 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jul 12 2013, 11:34 AM)
it will cost bout 4K for the:
1. Water Proof Plaster Ceiling
2. Wall Tiles and workmanship
3. Water Proofing the floor and tiles
4. Change ur bathroom door
5. Change position of piping, now the toilet bowl and sink seems located oppositely in new design.
6. Hide the 2 big at corner pipes.

Other stuff
1. Toilet Bowl
2. Ventilation System (I seems saw a ventilation system on the side there)
3. Sink and the aluminium cabinet (not cheap here)
4. Rain shower
5. Shower Screen probably needed to divide ur bath area and toilet bowl
6. Towel hanger, clothes hanger, misc stuff
7. Don't forget lighting is important as well

Total : 8K at least my point of view.
4k is include the accessories right?

BTW, I wanna change my both toilet... if 4k without accessories 2 bathroom cost me about 10k... rclxub.gif
sovietmah
post Jul 12 2013, 11:46 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(spcollections @ Jul 12 2013, 11:44 AM)
4k is include the accessories right?

BTW, I wanna change my both toilet... if 4k without accessories 2 bathroom cost me about 10k...   rclxub.gif
Of course 4K not include those accessories.
4K means wet work only, if you want i can PM my main contractor, his price is reasonable.
I means 1 toilet = RM8K minimum. For sure you don't want all low end stuff right.
At least some 1x2 tiles, Rm500-700 toilet bowl, and good sink.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jul 12 2013, 11:47 AM
Noregrets
post Jul 12 2013, 06:41 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(spcollections @ Jul 12 2013, 11:28 AM)
Thank you thank you... actually it doesn't need to be 100% same.. I wan similar design which is simple and nice. share your pic ya!!!
Here you go.
For master I am going with the silver one for feature wall whilst the other walls will be concrete look tile.
For 2nd bathroom I am going for the rusty one with cream for the other walls.
The tiles should be up within 2 weeks and I can take a pic and you can see if you like the color scheme.
I don't know if it comes up nice or not though based on visualization in my mind it should fit into my minimalist requirements.
Might not be everyone's taste though.

y4ng
post Jul 13 2013, 12:43 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

Builders Hardware Kepong, Zean Lim aka zheilwane, for all your toilet stuff! he carried 5 floors (cos mine apartment, no lift) 2 WC and few more other things haha!

cheaper tiles u can go for white horse!

saw the pic, no place to put shampoo, soap etc. i forgot to add that so very mafan my sink area full =\

good luck!
TSspcollections
post Jul 15 2013, 05:19 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(sekkee @ Jul 12 2013, 06:41 PM)
Here you go.
For master I am going with the silver one for feature wall whilst the other walls will be concrete look tile.
For 2nd bathroom I am going for the rusty one with cream for the other walls.
The tiles should be up within 2 weeks and I can take a pic and you can see if you like the color scheme.
I don't know if it comes up nice or not though based on visualization in my mind it should fit into my minimalist requirements.
Might not be everyone's taste though.

So how much do you estimate for 1 washroom? Gonna renovate the whole house with limited budget but i really can not tahan with old bathroom if wanna move in.. shakehead.gif
Noregrets
post Jul 15 2013, 08:08 PM

1,124 posts

I budgeted RM 10k to 12k for master and 2nd bathroom and RM 5k for guest bathroom.
For master and 2nd bathroom, I redo all the plumbing. I also replaced and moved the WC location. Mostly Niro tiles. Toto sink, WC, taps, floor trap and other fitting. Panasonic heater. Also glass wall and door to separate the shower area from the rest of the toilet.

For guest bathroom, it is smaller and I use Johnson Suisse items so a lot cheaper. Only changed the water piping and did not move or change WC piping. Used Firenze tiles and Panasonic heater.

I don't know the final cost yet and above is just what I budgeted. Work is on going and will complete within 6 weeks.

Noregrets
post Jul 15 2013, 08:12 PM

1,124 posts

Here's a picture of my current house master bathroom which I paid about RM 8k a year ago. Using all cheap and don't know what brand items.

My current house 2nd bathroom which I paid about RM 5k about 2 years ago

In short you can do it the cheap way or expensive way.
Be careful with choosing cheap sink as it stains easily and impossible to wash because sediments eats into the sink.
If you buy the WC to fit into the roughing distance of your existing WC, you also save hacking and piping money.
However do not save money on water pipes. Change it now.
Using shower curtain instead of glass also saves cost but shower curtains look messy.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by sekkee: Jul 15 2013, 08:18 PM
alvin2912
post Jul 19 2013, 01:27 AM

355 posts

Hi all! Oh my goodness...I was just thinking of redoing both washrooms at home, but looking at these prospective pricings, I might need to save up a bit more! LOL!
Noregrets
post Jul 20 2013, 07:26 AM

1,124 posts

Need some advise here.
I need to water proof the bathroom.
It is only the floor of should I do it for the walls as well. If I have to do it for the wall is it full height ?
Does it matter if the bathroom is on the ground floor or first floor ?
housemom
post Aug 18 2013, 06:38 PM

I renovated 3 bathrooms early this year in old housing estate. One of the reasons is the water/moisture seepage through the tiled walls to plastered/painted walls in bedrooms and one bathroom the water was leaking to kitchen ceiling downstairs. So I got the contractor to apply waterproofing to floors and also up to 1.20m (about 4'0") high all round the walls before doing the new tiling. I had ugly patches on the bedroom walls before, had to repair those too. Now everything ok. Did it for ground floor bathroom too, for good measure.
healthy-living
post Aug 5 2014, 01:54 PM

22 posts

Need advice on the quotation I got from a contractor to renovate my condo bathroom.

Bathroom1 size 8x5x7.5 ft
Bathroom 2 size 8x4x5.5 ft (not fully to top)

Include:
-hacking old tiles for floor and wall
-supply of 1x2ft tiles
-tiling floor and wall
-waterproof
-change WC and basin (workmanship)
-conceal existing water heater

Exclude bathroom accessories, ie basin, WC

Total price is RM8k

Is this price reasonable? Have I missed out anything that I should get the contractor to do? Appreciate all your valuable advice.

SUSkimsim
post Aug 5 2014, 03:03 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Ha ha malaysia toilet reno from 5-8k only...

My S'pore flat per toilet quote around 5k SGD and without basin n toilet bolw sad.gif

Pretty pricey to do reno in s'pore

0.0286sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:43 PM