Headaches after Deadlift

TSdecypher
post Jul 9 2013, 01:25 PM, updated 13y ago

低头族
864 posts

I'm currently following a routine that encourages high number of reps for beginners.

One of the movements that I do is the deadlift. I progressed from 50kg to 70kg (total weight on both sides of the barbell) this week, and I have been feeling a mild headache since. The last few lifts at 70kg were difficult. Several times I felt like I was about to black out after letting go of the barbell. I thought it was just due to dehydration and exhaustion. So I cut short my workout and rested.

Fast forward 2 days later I am still feeling the same mild headache. I am not taking any painkillers... but it is pretty annoying during work. I have a workout session tonight, and I am unsure if I should go, or will some cardio + stretching will help alleviate the pain.

BTW my body weight is about 105, so 70kg is almost 70% of my bodyweight. While I am happy at the moment for the "achievement", the headaches have really got to go.

Does anyone experience the same problem? Headaches that linger after straining the body.
pakdamek
post Jul 9 2013, 01:30 PM

646 posts

I had the same problem during squats.....maybe it's a blood flow thingy.....donno la...
RyoKenzaki
post Jul 9 2013, 01:39 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Did u breath properly while lifting?
alien9
post Jul 9 2013, 01:44 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

Do you breath while doing 12 reps of deadlift? I'm sure you will pass out if you try to do all 12 in one breath.
TSdecypher
post Jul 9 2013, 02:24 PM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
Did u breath properly while lifting?
QUOTE(alien9 @ Jul 9 2013, 01:44 PM)
Do you breath while doing 12 reps of deadlift? I'm sure you will pass out if you try to do all 12 in one breath.
Yes, I inhaled/exhaled deeply between every lift. After a lift I don't like to just "let go" of the barbell but slowly put it back to starting position. Maybe it's just me, I don't like the sound of weight plates clanking each other.

I am also sure if I do all 12 in one breath... I will pass out. Thing is, there are moments when I feel I have taken enough rest between reps (in the middle of a set), and went on like 2 or 3 lifts at one go (breathing, of course), but usually after one lift I must step off and walk a bit to stop the dizzy spell. I should have stopped at that point I think... but I was like "one more lift... one more lift"... and here I am nursing a headache.

EDIT: You know what, I cannot confirm if I breathed properly for all 12 lifts. I may be too excited and lifted twice or thrice in a row. My bad, should take it slow. So I will watch my lifts for now.

Thanks!

EDIT2: I've decided to go to the gym later. This time I'll take it easy. Fingers crossed! Also tonight MUST SLEEP EARLY to be well rested for tomorrow.

This post has been edited by decypher: Jul 9 2013, 05:32 PM
kubuk
post Jul 9 2013, 07:33 PM

497 posts

Breathe. Just rest lah. Don't take the no pain no gain thing too seriously. Relax. And feel your lift. What I do is brace my core. When I lock out then I breathe out. And I still can feel dizzy at times. But that's normal.
VaLeNrUdOn
post Jul 10 2013, 10:43 AM

166 posts

Can you share your pre work out diet?
TSdecypher
post Jul 10 2013, 10:49 AM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(kubuk @ Jul 9 2013, 07:33 PM)
Breathe. Just rest lah. Don't take the no pain no gain thing too seriously. Relax. And feel your lift. What I do is brace my core. When I lock out then I breathe out. And I still can feel dizzy at times. But that's normal.
Breathing is essential. Lesson for me.

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Jul 10 2013, 10:43 AM)
Can you share your pre work out diet?
I usually eat fruits, like banana or apple before workout. I haven't gotten accustomed to eating anything else, but am open to suggestions.
mikehuan
post Jul 10 2013, 10:57 AM

6,160 posts

i sometimes almost black out too lol. but no headaches so i cant really comment. usually the i psych myself out when that happens. deadlifts are as much of a mental game as well for me
GameFr3ak
post Jul 10 2013, 11:13 PM

3,849 posts

Same as my last case. It's called Exertion Headache. My case it was caused by fatigue and lack of breathing.
TSdecypher
post Jul 11 2013, 12:08 AM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jul 10 2013, 10:57 AM)
i sometimes almost black out too lol. but no headaches so i cant really comment. usually the i psych myself out when that happens. deadlifts are as much of a mental game as well for me
I remember a quote from Arnold about squatting until he passes out... I took it to myself as inspiration and went for it. I'm all for pushing limits...

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 10 2013, 11:13 PM)
Same as my last case. It's called Exertion Headache. My case it was caused by fatigue and lack of breathing.
Same case as me, bro. Lack of breathing is my mistake.

This post has been edited by decypher: Jul 11 2013, 12:09 AM
VaLeNrUdOn
post Jul 11 2013, 09:42 AM

166 posts

Could it be the pre workout diets? i use to have this 'strength' issue when lifting. starts by feeling weak, then forcing myslef...then i'll get dizzy, then nauseated, then wanna blackout.
now i put in 1 cup oats and 5 eggs pre work out. felt much better. biggrin.gif
TSdecypher
post Jul 11 2013, 10:05 AM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Jul 11 2013, 09:42 AM)
Could it be the pre workout diets? i use to have this 'strength' issue when lifting. starts by feeling weak, then forcing myslef...then i'll get dizzy, then nauseated, then wanna blackout.
now i put in 1 cup oats and 5 eggs pre work out. felt much better. biggrin.gif
It is possible as well, as I am not eating absolutely right before my workouts. I usually go to the gym right after work, and sometimes on the way I eat some fruit and rely on that dose of fructose (that rhymes, lol). I will google a bit for good pre-workout meals... or maybe search the stickies for more info.
hanselm
post Jul 11 2013, 07:19 PM

i just take a serving of whey preworkout. drink plenty of water, the effects are far too advantageous to be concerned about going to the loo too often
GameFr3ak
post Jul 11 2013, 10:19 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(decypher @ Jul 11 2013, 12:08 AM)
I remember a quote from Arnold about squatting until he passes out... I took it to myself as inspiration and went for it. I'm all for pushing limits...
Same case as me, bro. Lack of breathing is my mistake.
It could be that or fatigue. I slept for over 13 hours on the next day. And went squatting again without any issue.
Rapidknight
post Jul 12 2013, 03:16 PM

377 posts

i experienced this as well, while i was pushing myself to the limit on chins up. I suggest you only do light workouts for a while. Mine was gone after a few weeks.
KingArthurVI
post Jul 14 2013, 11:09 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,124 posts

I used to experience this nauseous feeling whenever I do pull-ups or deadlifts, but as I get used to doing them more and more often, the feeling goes away. Just remember to breathe, drink small sips of water every now and then, and focus by looking into the mirror or something. Also, for deadlifts, I like to pause at the top and contract my back a bit, taking in a quick breath as I do that, and slowly lower the weight back onto the floor again. smile.gif
TSdecypher
post Jul 15 2013, 11:04 AM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(hanselm @ Jul 11 2013, 07:19 PM)
i just take a serving of whey preworkout.  drink plenty of water, the effects are far too advantageous to be concerned about going to the loo too often
Nice suggestion, but I prefer taking fruits for now. Whey could be good to "fill me up" because fruits do not give me the "feeling full" factor.

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 11 2013, 10:19 PM)
It could be that or fatigue. I slept for over 13 hours on the next day. And went squatting again without any issue.
I slept a whole lot the next day as well. Got home from work at 6. Slept at 7pm until 1am. Then 3am to 12pm. 13 hours?

QUOTE(Rapidknight @ Jul 12 2013, 03:16 PM)
i experienced this as well, while i was pushing myself to the limit on chins up. I suggest you only do light workouts for a while. Mine was gone after a few weeks.
Thanks, mine was gone after the long slumber. I was "back in action" yesterday and had a great day in the gym.

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jul 14 2013, 11:09 PM)
I used to experience this nauseous feeling whenever I do pull-ups or deadlifts, but as I get used to doing them more and more often, the feeling goes away. Just remember to breathe, drink small sips of water every now and then, and focus by looking into the mirror or something. Also, for deadlifts, I like to pause at the top and contract my back a bit, taking in a quick breath as I do that, and slowly lower the weight back onto the floor again. smile.gif
Hey I do that too! I don't believe in dropping the barbell like that. I also like to pause at the top and stay there for a second or two, before slowly going back to starting position. Going up is easy, putting it back is difficult! Works my back, so gotta be careful not to injure it.
deserte4gle
post Jul 16 2013, 11:52 PM

breath from ur "stomach" not from ur "chest"... always keep ur abs tight...n dun forget about when to exhale n inhale thingy... proper breathing will avoid having a red face when u lift the weight up/down on deadlift....
TSdecypher
post Jul 17 2013, 12:35 AM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(deserte4gle @ Jul 16 2013, 11:52 PM)
breath from ur "stomach" not from ur "chest"... always keep ur abs tight...n dun forget about when to exhale n inhale thingy... proper breathing will avoid having a red face when u lift the weight up/down on deadlift....
Yes, I follow this breathing method. Stomach expands when I inhale, compresses when I exhale.
deserte4gle
post Jul 17 2013, 01:54 AM

try to go for 'proper' massage.. it cud be due to ur nerves on the back of ur neck were too 'tight'( according to the masseuse).... i had encountered the same problem last time ... what i did was i went for massage n started doing stretching before exercise( i did the traps stretching), n everything went well... or just take a week off to stabilize ur nervous system... basically u need to try an error which one will overcome ur problem.... i dun think theres an exact answer for any questions about bodybuilding coz our body is diff.... its all about trying an error which one works best for u...
zulayuka
post Jul 17 2013, 11:03 AM

29 posts

I think with your deadlifts you need to be very careful of how you lift.
Many people try to push too hard on higher weights and thus losing their form.

Next time you deadlift make sure your not using any of your upper body strength. It is difficult to realize but many people do this to help buffer the weight. This causes your neck muscles and traps to contract while you lift and it might be the cause to your headaches.

when you deadlift do you feel your nape area tensing too much. then you might have to fix that part as it will strain you upper body and you will feel dizziness and headaches.

TSdecypher
post Jul 17 2013, 02:30 PM

低头族
864 posts

QUOTE(deserte4gle @ Jul 17 2013, 01:54 AM)
try to go for 'proper' massage.. it cud be due to ur nerves on the back of ur neck were too 'tight'( according to the masseuse).... i had encountered the same problem last time ... what i did was i went for massage n started doing stretching before exercise( i did the traps stretching), n everything went well... or just take a week off to stabilize ur nervous system... basically u need to try an error which one will overcome ur problem.... i dun think theres an exact answer for any questions about bodybuilding coz our body is diff.... its all about trying an error which one works best for u...
I do feel a bit of a sore neck (and tight as well), but I am putting the blame on my pillow. Switching pillows as we speak, hopefully it will solve the sore neck problem. Else I may have to inquire around for massage. Totally agree that there are no exact answers due to the difference in body condition (or body as a whole). But I did a sleep-athon and it sort of cures the headache. I did a 50% bodyweight deadlift yesterday, and I am feeling alright today.

QUOTE(zulayuka @ Jul 17 2013, 11:03 AM)
I think with your deadlifts you need to be very careful of how you lift.
Many people try to push too hard on higher weights and thus losing their form.

Next time you deadlift make sure your not using any of your upper body strength. It is difficult to realize but many people do this to help buffer the weight. This causes your neck muscles and traps to contract while you lift and it might be the cause to your headaches.

when you deadlift do you feel your nape area tensing too much. then you might have to fix that part as it will strain you upper body and you will feel dizziness and headaches.
When I deadlift, I don't use my arms to drag the barbell up. I just grip the barbell (mixed grip, usually left under, right over) and... use my legs and lower back (actually more lower back, than legs) to get up. My lower back gets sore before anywhere else. I gather that my lower back is weakest.
bonzaimy
post Jul 24 2013, 01:39 AM

1,009 posts

I sometimes too get a headache. A few times get a migraine. And I realize this is because I'm using my neck muscle when lifting (i know sound weird but hope u get the point). There's a time when I start to lift, I suddenly get a migraine and my neck hurt for about two weeks. What you can do is, try go to old traditional massage or try cupping.

Oh ya.When I said that I had a migraine, the guy eho do the cupping check my body.He said the headache is because I lift something heavy but not in the correct form. After the cupping, body feel so light and no more problem when lifting.But I still do cupping once in every 3 month.
siew14
post Feb 2 2014, 11:59 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(Rapidknight @ Jul 12 2013, 03:16 PM)
how many weeks , can you please more specific?

i m having this problem, the headache come randomly , and especially if i tilt my head forward (look at the ground). Its been a week though. sad.gif

QUOTE(deserte4gle @ Jul 17 2013, 01:54 AM)
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jul 24 2013, 01:39 AM)
I sometimes too get a headache. A few times get a migraine. And I realize this is because I'm using my neck muscle when lifting (i know sound weird but hope u get the point). There's a time when I start to lift, I suddenly get a migraine and my neck hurt for about two weeks. What you can do is, try go to old traditional massage or try cupping.

Oh ya.When I said that I had a migraine, the guy eho do the cupping check my body.He said the headache is because I lift something heavy but not in the correct form. After the cupping, body feel so light and no more problem when lifting.But I still do cupping once in every 3 month.
hello, before you go for a massage/cupping, do the headache come randomly? or just during your workout? Its been a week for me, yet the headache comes randomly or when i tilt my head forward for quite sometime. and took how long for you to recover?

0.0296sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:26 AM