Drums Drum lesson, How much does it cost?

TS.:DaMan:.
post May 11 2006, 11:49 PM, updated 20y ago

255 posts

Hi i'm looking for a drum lesson but i don know how much it cost for a beginner...
darkages
post May 11 2006, 11:56 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Moved from E.Essential
pizzaboy
post May 12 2006, 09:15 AM

9,495 posts

Bentley has right?
Where u located?
They're not cheap for sure, which is why I bought a metronome, isolation headphones and an mp3 player to just play along with teh song.
Xero
post May 12 2006, 11:14 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(.:DaMan:. @ May 11 2006, 11:49 PM)
Hi i'm looking for a drum lesson but i don know how much it cost for a beginner...
Rm90-100 at Guitar collection, RM 90-120 at Mahogany (SS2), RM85-120 at Euphony Musical Centre (Ikano), RM 90-120 at Yamaha (1 Utama)...other places of Yamaha I dont know how much.

Exact price I dunno man. but I think Guitar collection should be the cheapest. Euphony isn't Rm85 I think, they are quite expensive i think, not sure.

This post has been edited by Xero: May 12 2006, 11:16 AM
post May 12 2006, 01:33 PM

255 posts

I'm around PJ area..Mahogany is quite near to my place..so is around 90-120 standard price huh...so what about drums? i think around 1.5k but u need to have sound proof for your room rite?
TheWhacker
post May 12 2006, 01:42 PM

3,914 posts

QUOTE(.:DaMan:. @ May 12 2006, 01:33 PM)
I'm around PJ area..Mahogany is quite near to my place..so is around 90-120 standard price huh...so what about drums? i think around 1.5k but u need to have sound proof for your room rite?
Why not you try going to Mighty Music. They have thier own music Academy which gives lessons on almost every instrument. I been there alot of times, thier drums used by students are Pearl and Tama drum sets.

More details about Mighty Music, check out the Music Shops & Jamming/Recording Studios, From Penang down to Sabah ..... thread.

For Mahogany, I think the fees are expensive .... i'm shocked that you stated only Rm90 - 120. Maybe they went down price coz no students, i'm not sure .. but last time i think it was around Rm200+-. Their drumming equipment are top class thumbup.gif ...
angelfish84
post May 12 2006, 07:47 PM

191 posts

sweat.gif so expensive in KL wahhh..
last time i learnt for rm40 a month only...gr1. tongue.gif

post May 12 2006, 09:30 PM

255 posts

omg...RM200? that is really expensive..but mayb their lesson r top too i guess??so anyone recently learn durm?
justinckl
post May 13 2006, 05:21 PM

81 posts

bentley is charging RM90

This post has been edited by justinckl: May 13 2006, 05:22 PM
post May 14 2006, 12:44 PM

255 posts

where is this bentley? hopefully is around PJ

TheWhacker
post May 14 2006, 12:48 PM

3,914 posts

QUOTE(.:DaMan:. @ May 14 2006, 12:44 PM)
Music Shops & Jamming/Recording Studios, From Penang down to Sabah .....

rolleyes.gif
Xero
post May 14 2006, 02:36 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(.:DaMan:. @ May 14 2006, 12:44 PM)
it's in Bukit Bintang KL
xinxinzz
post May 19 2006, 07:04 PM

40 posts

HI..I hav a grade 8 certificate in Trinity Rockschool Drum and ABRSM Piano.I'm a guitarist too.But I'm mainly specialised in drumming.
I play a large variety of songs ranging from pop, rock and mostly fusion jazz(check out harvey mason, dennis chamber, they r my heroes)
Generally, I teach rudiment exercises alot to ensure u get the appropriate strokes on hands and legs.And of course songs....If u r interested to take up Rockschool syllabus I''m ready to teach too!
The lessons will be conducted in my house!So fee would be alot cheaper than others..Rm80 per month for 1 hour per week.
If u r interested to hav lessons from me please sms to 0162826182 or email to xinxinzz@hotmail.com

This post has been edited by xinxinzz: May 22 2006, 09:52 PM
echobrainproject
post May 19 2006, 09:06 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(xinxinzz @ May 19 2006, 07:04 PM)
The lessons will be conducted in my house!So fee would be alot cheaper than others..Rm80 for 1 hour.

whoa thats freakin expensive for just an hour! shakehead.gif
tytons
post May 22 2006, 03:27 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(.:DaMan:. @ May 12 2006, 09:30 PM)
omg...RM200? that is really expensive..but mayb their lesson r top too i guess??so anyone recently learn durm?
actually not really top...i think its cos of their name only..plus depends whos ur tutor..i got a crap guitar teacher there...tho he has the qualification but hes not so willing to teach...my 1st teacher was better...just tat hes also stingy when he knew i was gonna stop...haha..so yea if u dun like the teacher in 1st few months..dont bother stayin long..i regret wasting more then 6 months in mahagony...sucked my cash dry.

HI..I hav a grade 8 certificate in Trinity Rockschool Drum and ABRSM Piano.I'm a guitarist too.But I'm mainly specialised in drumming.
I play a large variety of songs ranging from pop, rock and mostly fusion jazz(check out harvey mason, dennis chamber, they r my heroes)
Generally, I teach rudiment exercises alot to ensure u get the appropriate strokes on hands and legs.And of course songs....If u r interested to take up Rockschool syllabus I''m ready to teach too!
The lessons will be conducted in my house!So fee would be alot cheaper than others..Rm80 for 1 hour.
If u r interested to hav lessons from me please sms to 0162826182 or email to xinxinzz@hotmail.com

wah..u charging uk rate ar?plus ur more expensive then uk rate lol...here only about 64 ringgit per hour.. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by tytons: May 22 2006, 03:29 AM
xinxinzz
post May 22 2006, 09:53 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 19 2006, 09:06 PM)
whoa thats freakin expensive for just an hour!  shakehead.gif
sorry,..i typed wrongly...it should be rm80 per month and 1 hour per week.
neugenics
post Jun 25 2008, 10:53 AM

34 posts

Yeah its better if you can find someone who teaches privately coz usually its far cheaper and they teach alot more indept. Ppl from yamaha and all though are qualified and experienced are constrained to the syllabus given by the school itself..therefore you'll be learning at the pace set for you and not on your on. Basically if you're a prodigy or smtg and learn pretty damn quick, their just gonna slow you down.
I have a friend staying in taman desa whose been giving private lessons for drums for over 2 years dy. He used to teach at mahogony last time as well. I think he charges RM 100/ month and one hour for a class also. So yeah 25/hour. Anyway here's his no. 012-3853717 if you guys interested.
lordie
post Jun 25 2008, 11:06 AM

942 posts

private 1 to 1 tutors are good. my drummer also gives out drum lesson in singapore. but he is full time drummer lah and run his own drum studio and he is specializing in metal drummer ;pp

his profile is here - http://www.myspace.com/halim_

This post has been edited by lordie: Jun 25 2008, 11:18 AM
xmsa666
post Jun 25 2008, 12:43 PM

39 posts

No chance you could just stick with drum synths instead , I think that is the most cost efficient way to fly smile.gif
eddyeddy
post May 16 2013, 08:15 PM

18 posts

Theres drum lesson available around cheras for RM95/month, 30minutes per week
Interested can pm me
ciwi1166
post May 18 2013, 12:12 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

good to see many emerging drummers.. thumbup.gif

but ts u should consider the price for long term also.

the fee will definitely increases when ur skills do.. smile.gif most schools do this.
bshen92
post May 18 2013, 06:24 AM

~
522 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ May 18 2013, 12:12 AM)
good to see many emerging drummers..  thumbup.gif

but ts u should consider the price for long term also.

the fee will definitely increases when ur skills do.. smile.gif most schools do this.
TS could be a professional session drummer already considering how old this thread is.
ciwi1166
post May 18 2013, 08:44 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(bshen92 @ May 18 2013, 06:24 AM)
TS could be a professional session drummer already considering how old this thread is.
yeah i believe so.. icon_rolleyes.gif

but someone just bumped up this thread, might be useful for beginners.
RamSatesh
post Apr 15 2014, 03:49 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ May 18 2013, 09:44 AM)
yeah i believe so..  icon_rolleyes.gif

but someone just bumped up this thread, might be useful for beginners.

wanna learn drums too,leaving at Jalan Ipoh,Kuala Lumpur,some help?

mroctopus
post Sep 5 2016, 01:54 PM

232 posts

yahama tesco kepong charge rm150 per month. 1 year 45 lesson. music school holiday and public holiday is not replaceable. ithink it is expensive.
shadowmania
post Jan 5 2018, 10:40 AM

93 posts

how much is drum lesson nowadays and any recommendation for music school in PJ especially ?
Kaka23
post Feb 24 2018, 04:06 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(shadowmania @ Jan 5 2018, 10:40 AM)
how much is drum lesson nowadays and any recommendation for music school in PJ especially ?
you have found your drum lesson?

0.0223sec    1.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:15 PM