PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside

Rusty Nail
post Jun 7 2006, 01:15 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

The savvy is slow to build speed? in what sence? I've floored the savvy and reaching over 100km/h in less than 25-ish seconds everytime without fail. ofcourse, i was drag racing with that car on the highway, so gearshift is at above 4k rpm.
As for city driving wise, it's quite manageable since it's small and very responsive. however, the stiff clutch and gear stick may be a turn off for smaller, weaker-at-the-upper-body people and sometimes can be a nightmare during jams.
The only complaint is i cannot force this car to slide on dry road. >.<

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Jun 7 2006, 01:16 PM
Rusty Nail
post Jun 7 2006, 02:26 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(khizer982 @ Jun 7 2006, 01:59 PM)
You just demonstrated my point. It has power, but you really need to hit the pedal. Sebsequently when you hit the pedal like that the noise level would be high, which is not the ideal thing for city driving with all the noise pollution.
Again, however, it depends on the persons preference. Some people enjoy having to hit the pedal hard and the roar of the engine. Feels more macho. Some people whats a quite ride.
True! The gear is a nightmare during jams. Maybe you can solve this by buying the AMT version.Cost more money though sad.gif
i finally got your point there. biggrin.gif at first i was thinking of something else laugh.gif

QUOTE(Pro-MX)
huh? slide as in drift on dry road? explain more plz
slide, it's drift-ish but less much less control. sliding the savvy is possible on wet roads, though most of the time resulting to under steering. on dry road however, the car is so stable and has lots of traction till it's very difficult to slide the car even with the help of handbrake.
Rusty Nail
post Jun 21 2006, 11:43 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

not to bash, but to share something.

it appears that the gear knob is infact plastic coated in metalic paint which comes off after some time of use. sweat.gif
Rusty Nail
post Jun 22 2006, 09:51 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Jun 22 2006, 11:09 AM)
that is one dirty gear knob..  shocking.gif
guess the owner didnt take a good care of that car huh?
not dirty, it's the paint coming off, thus exposing the cheap plastic part.

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jun 22 2006, 11:28 AM)
This is one of the reason I fear of buying Proton, cheap plastic everywhere eventhough Gen2 Hi-line/Neo seems like a sweet deal.
perodua cars also suffers the same fate sad.gif

QUOTE(eone @ Jun 22 2006, 04:22 PM)
i drove my bro's savvy MT

what i can comment is.. pickup a bit laggy, clutch a bit stiff, breaking too sensitive (got EBS???), looks cool with R3 kit, rock steady when speeding, engine sound not nice, good handling, roomy..
well, i just so happen to like sensitive brakes. smile.gif
Rusty Nail
post Jun 23 2006, 05:14 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

^Oh... that dirt... laugh.gif yeah, it's been sometime since the car was properly cleaned, besides, it's much harder to remove dirt dtapped in the carved number gear knob.

Sweet mod drool.gif
Rusty Nail
post Jun 24 2006, 11:09 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 24 2006, 10:02 AM)
Still people complaining about hard plasics...

I recently had the chance to drive in estima and Honda crv year 2003....same plastics eveyw..the plastic panels in the crv creak and rattle like there's no tomorrow although it barely reaches 100k km..

Look at new Civic..full of hard plastics also...even the most exp cars use the same materials beneath the nice misleading touch ups and finishings..

Car manufacturers ese days need to use this kind of recycyclable plastics to mantain complience with environmental laws.. if you miss the smell of vynil finishing just head to used car dealers.
yes i do agree that recycled materials aren't as nice as virgin ones, but that shows the limits of their chemical engineering capability. if they could add some vinyl based bonding agent into their plastic, i'm sure the chemical and physical properties will be as good or even better than virgin vinyl plastic. (but such bonding agents don't come cheap)
besides, vinyl plastic can be recycled too.
Rusty Nail
post Jul 26 2006, 01:11 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(soggie)
Well, say as much as you want, the sales figure of Savvy still isn't doing it's "potential" any justice. So what's the real problem? Public perception/assumption? I'm guessing it's called Proton Reputation.

With the new management hopefully things will get better.
^you don't need to guess, it's already a fact. Remember the senseless bashing of the savvy even before it was launched, heck I was even part of the mob.

Its reputation only got worse when they decide to use beige and a mix of other random color for the interior of the car. Many car buyers buy cars for looks, company reputation and second hand value (especially typical "Chinese"). They'll give squat about car handling and performance as long as the car looks fugly to them.

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Jul 26 2006, 01:11 PM
Rusty Nail
post Jul 31 2006, 05:49 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

17" on a savvy? that's just plain insane even with super low profile rubbers.
Rusty Nail
post Aug 14 2006, 10:56 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 14 2006, 10:38 PM)
renault engine confirm got problem later on....put AMT...going to be bad to worst in five years time.........the reanult enjine drinks more fuel than any other proton.....this is from myvi,perdana,accord and renault same owner...>>> rclxms.gif arsenal..i think so far.....myvi is the better than renualt 1.8 (injection) many many times...
compairing 1.8 with 1.3
that's so 'smart' of you
Rusty Nail
post Aug 15 2006, 06:56 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 15 2006, 05:52 PM)
4. sufficient space (i hope)
if compared with cars like kelisa, yeah i'd say sufficient space. don't get me wrong, my sister do have a savvy and i'm not bashing it. it's just relativity when it comes to space. some view it as sufficient while other sees it as little.
Rusty Nail
post Aug 28 2006, 09:51 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

he shouldn't have smoked the rear lights. other than that, it looks acceptable.
Rusty Nail
post Sep 20 2006, 10:53 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

now, that's what the savvy interior should be like

I really hated that original beige interior.

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Sep 20 2006, 10:53 AM
Rusty Nail
post Sep 21 2006, 10:04 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

it still can't beat the Neo laugh.gif tongue.gif
same corner, same speed the savvy has more body roll compared to the neo. plus not to mention the tendency to loose traction of the rear tires if the corner is too sharp and entery speed too fast.

it's not an apple to apple comparison though tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Sep 21 2006, 11:28 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

not only is the body of the savvy tough, the paint finishing is equally tough as well. my sister had her savvy's bumper scratched by me in both occations (just woke up, and was quite blur) with my old kembara and neo and the paint on the savvy is still intact and paint transfer is from the other two cars. scratch mark is there, but atleast the paint still stays.
Rusty Nail
post Oct 28 2006, 11:59 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

not bad, but the spoiler extension kinda spoil it. i don't see the need of double spoiler.

Rusty Nail
post Nov 1 2006, 03:10 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

hehe.. maybe he terperasan? laugh.gif tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Nov 22 2006, 12:43 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Nov 22 2006, 12:40 PM)
cheers !
spot on brother .
really , we should bash proton but not the cars .
on what grounds?
Rusty Nail
post Dec 1 2006, 03:07 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

hmmm.... i wonder what other small cars do those ausies import. personally, i feel that the reverse visibility of the savvy can be improved.
Rusty Nail
post Dec 5 2006, 05:58 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

i doubt it's hypermount.
he post different. with facts.
Rusty Nail
post Dec 5 2006, 09:51 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Ah Beng @ Dec 5 2006, 09:27 PM)
Does sales figures show the car is good???
really good point.
luxury cars don't sell that much compared to mass produced cars.

not that savvy is a luxury car anyway...

just curious, what's the sales figure?

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Dec 5 2006, 09:52 PM

0.1800sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:07 AM