Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v4

ywyap
post Dec 19 2013, 04:42 PM

35 posts

Hi all sifus, got few question to ask regarding perfect grade painting.

1)usually how do you all paint your pg inner frame?isit ok if I skip the seam line removal step and straight go primier and airbrush?
2)for inner frame part do we assemble first then only apply primier or primier first then only assemble the part.

Hope can get some help from you all.thanks
ywyap
post Mar 3 2014, 07:23 PM

35 posts

Hi all sifus,mi need some advice form you all.notice that my kits paint being easily scratch off be it acrylic or enamel paint.i try to use less thinner portion and the result is still the same.could this be due to I don't apply primer?any other method or paint you all can share with me?thx
ywyap
post Mar 24 2014, 11:24 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(ascentic @ Mar 24 2014, 09:44 AM)
Guys, If I wanna do priming.. using airbrush, may I know what's the Ratio?
I'm using 1200 surfacer to do priming. Please help, thanks.
I am newbies in ab and I use thinner to primer 3:2 ratio.usually the outcome will be like milk texture.hope this helps.
ywyap
post Mar 24 2014, 11:26 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Mar 24 2014, 11:21 AM)
isit possible to hand painted?
all i see tutorial for airbrush
Hi I think is possible.saw some tutorial in YouTube a guy and painted mg sinanju to make it looks like metallic color.the method he use is to paint layer by layer.
ywyap
post Jun 26 2014, 02:44 PM

35 posts

hi all sifus,is the step below correct if iwant to get sinanju metalic red kind of finishing?

mr.hobby primer 1000->tamiya silver->Tamiya clear red->clear top coat

also how to get the metalic kind of feel like below pic?

ywyap
post Jun 26 2014, 04:05 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Jun 26 2014, 03:59 PM)
clear red tak cantik.
better guna Mr. Color GX202 Metal Red

the more clear red u coat, the more darker, if coat little it look like orange red. mean, one part color dark, one part color light..tak balance.

when color after top a clear gloss, it becum dark also.

Ok. my suggestion only. ya
meaning primer straight skip to metalic red then clear top coat bro?

I am doing ab for volks FSS dark knight and want to get the same effect as attach pic actually. biggrin.gif
ywyap
post Jul 1 2014, 05:14 PM

35 posts

Thanks for the suggestion bro.

BTW i often saw ppl mention about polishing model kits,how do we do that actually and what tools are required?
ywyap
post Sep 15 2014, 10:16 AM

35 posts

dont forget nail clippeer.that is a god tools for removing nub.
ywyap
post Oct 27 2019, 01:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(strikepcw @ Oct 25 2019, 11:36 AM)
Yes, a very small O-ring also can be at nozzle itself too, and some airbrush had it at back cap meets the body also.

it should be safe if just clean the cup, needle, nozzle cap and nozzle. and spray out the paint.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi sifu, if you, which brand/kind of paint will you use/mix to achieve the gold like below?

tried mr color gold, its too dark and brown
tired mr metal color gold, its too light and 'white'

besides, do u top coat on metallic or metal paint? gloss, flat, semi?
if gloss, it will become shine and feel so toy.
if flat?
if semi?
if no topcoat, it really oxidize and affect the paint after long time? 

Attached Photo is from internet.
My 2 cents, paint with a base of gloss black then silver, then finish with a layer of clear yellow mix with gold Color.

0.0397sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:04 AM