Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v4
doket
Apr 16 2021, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(ben_ang @ Apr 16 2021, 08:58 AM) u are talking abt using lacquer as base and enamel layer on top, then remove the top enamel layer using thinner rite? if yes, then zippo lighter fuel should be fine enough to remove the enamel layer, it wont remove the lacquer base layer, since the fuel is not strong enough to remove lacquer base paint. how bout if acrylic paint as base and acrylic on top? i only have acrylic paints...
doket
Apr 16 2021, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(ben_ang @ Apr 16 2021, 03:46 PM) nv actually tested b4, but heard they say is not recommended, most of the time they will apply a clear coat b4 the enamel, and it need to be fully cured only apply enamel paint on top. coz enamel is stronger, the thinner inside might actually eat through if acrylic not cured enough or apply too thick enamel. based on wat i understand.  oh i see. i am new here. no wonder, i ever finish apply acrylic paint on my tank model and after that apply a bit tamiya extra thin cement want to glue it to other part and the paint went off... beside, i just learning. so 1st i dont know what kind of paint i should buy. i just buy pre-thin acrylic paint coz they are easy to get. i dont know how to mix my own paints... This post has been edited by doket: Apr 16 2021, 08:25 PM
doket
May 2 2021, 02:28 PM
hi, sifu, can i mix lacquer and acrylic paints? like primer with lacquer grey then base with acrylic ?