Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v4

blueric94
post Nov 21 2013, 04:22 AM

85 posts

I've done TAMIYA TOYOTA 86 recently in 2 days and spend not more than RM50 for all the tools and accessories rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
blueric94
post Nov 21 2013, 09:51 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Nov 21 2013, 08:29 PM)
Guys, may I ask some technique regarding spray?

Let's say I wanna achieve a darker tone of same color. (i.e, red and dark red)

For the dark red, can I simply spray a layer of dark grey on it, then spray over the same red to achieve darker red?

Thank you in advance!
No, that wont work.
Most of the sprays usually not transparent, so no matter what colour you use for the 1st coat, when it dries and you spray for 2nd coat, all you see will only be the 2nd coat colour, it will cover totally the 1st coat colour..
I dont think there is any way you can achieve what you want by using spray can, so what you can do is to buy that specified colour, or use hand panting n mix the colours. tongue.gif
blueric94
post Nov 21 2013, 11:58 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Nov 21 2013, 10:35 PM)
Thanks man, BTW the reason for my question is this:

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Also thanks blueric94, you got me. (Yes lazy me are planning using spray can tongue.gif )
im not sure what king od spray paint you use, what i said was based on normal spray can cost around rm6-7. why dont u that on a piece of plastic n see the result biggrin.gif

QUOTE(shauno @ Nov 21 2013, 10:10 PM)
disagreed. base color will definitely influence how the top color will turn out. that's why people do pre-shading.  whistling.gif

Vorador, yes it will work. for a better effect, use a white base for the lighter/brighter red, and grey for a darker red.
In my opinion(still based on normal spray can, without any aid of professional tools), your 2nd coat will either thick enough to fully cover the 1st coat, or thin enough to let the 1st coat appear partially, but not uniformly, it means the 1st coat is visible with different intensity on different area. I dont think there is any way u can ensure the exactly thickness of the paint when using spray can hmm.gif
blueric94
post Nov 22 2013, 11:59 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Nov 22 2013, 12:44 AM)
I wanna use gundam spray can & tamiya spray can.  hmm.gif
yea what Noysan said is correct, expect that result only when you have an air brush biggrin.gif
you better take the proper steps, its totally unworthy if you spoil the appearance of the parts just becz a bit of laziness tongue.gif
blueric94
post Nov 23 2013, 12:28 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Nov 22 2013, 02:25 PM)
Thanks for the advice! But air brush expensive and hard to maintain... sad.gif

nvm let me think abt it biggrin.gif  Consider I will definitely do post shading, so I guess it doesn't matter?  hmm.gif
Since you are going to do post shading anyway, why dun u just try and see whats the result on a piece of plastic 1st biggrin.gif
blueric94
post Nov 28 2013, 12:59 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(rthm93 @ Nov 27 2013, 10:20 PM)
Hi guys, juz started painting not too long ago.
How is the effect of tamiya acrylic chrome silver?
Possible to make it shiny until i can see my own reflection?

FYI, im going to paint my HG red frame's katana wif it using my cousin's AB
I suppose hand painting will be hard to achieve what u want. To make it as shiny as mirror, you will need an extremely smooth and flat surface. that means not even one brush stroke or uneven paint should be present. I suggest u use air brush or spray, then it will be easy to make it shiny.
blueric94
post Dec 8 2013, 01:10 AM

85 posts

Im wondering which process takes so long to complete a kit @@
i took only one day to complete aoshima FC. Mayb Im lacking of professional tools thats why lack of detail and thas why so fast hmm.gif

blueric94
post Dec 8 2013, 01:02 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 8 2013, 10:34 AM)
No la, I take slow time to build so that I won't finish up backlog too fast and keep buying. A way to save money. tongue.gif
Nice. If the paint can keep for few months and still watery, this is a good news! rclxms.gif  Thanks master Khai62
Looking forward to your kit, rmb to share here rclxms.gif
blueric94
post Feb 23 2014, 07:29 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(vkcy @ Feb 18 2014, 02:30 PM)
I'm using the anchor spray paint.
anchor has this prob faced by me too.. when just sprayed, it is smooth n shinny.. when it dries, it becomes what u showed in 2nd picture..
blueric94
post Aug 20 2015, 04:28 AM

85 posts

Need experienced senpai guide here.
Attachment is the recent resin figures i done assembling n painting, by using only art acrylics and motor spray.
I encountered a few problem:
1) Motor spray/General spray (RM6-8 each) cant stick to resin? (When i sprayed it, the paint behaved like water dropped onto oily surface, but I already washed them with soup before spraying)
2) There is no way to paint perfectly (or look as good as results of airbrush) if use normal spray n no use airbrush?
3) How to mask an area without getting the paint on masked area go off when removing masking?
4) The orange like color in the pict is what i bought "candy yellow" but the color shown on can (yellowish shinny gold) is so different from what the result is. Or do i miss top coat or anything? (I did spray 2K clear coat on it d)
5) Anyone use art acylics on models b4? If yes please guide me how to get the surface smooth with brushing.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

blueric94
post Aug 20 2015, 09:34 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(stevenlaw188 @ Aug 20 2015, 08:10 AM)
i'm not senpai but can give you some answer.
1. you need primer/surfacer before you spray color on plastic/resin figure.
2. compare to airbrush, normal spray might have bigger nozzle and for can spray (any type), due to the air pressure inside the can changed when you start spraying, you might get uneven result. but still can get a good result if you spray a layer (about 30cm distant according to instruction) and let it dry and spray another layer again and so on.
3. make sure the paint dry before you mask an area and use proper masking tape.
4. for this i'm not sure, maybe is the paint quality, or the color before you spray the "candy yellow" that make the result different.
5. for brushing, to get smooth result you need retarder mild, add to the paint, it slow down the paint dry time, don't try to paint the area with one thick layer, paint it with thin layers.
Here is most of basic plactic model/resin skill you can refer, but i only have chinese version. If you can't read chinese try to figure out from the picture.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-t-fL1rhn...iew?usp=sharing

I also refer to this MIKU build progress most the time:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-t-fL1rhn...iew?usp=sharing
Thanks! will try the method from the manual notworthy.gif
blueric94
post Aug 21 2015, 12:38 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Aug 21 2015, 10:41 AM)
most of the cases for can spray ended up watery on plastic surface is due to paint is too thin because not shake well enough.

other factors would be spraying under non sunny day (yes cloudy and rainy does plays an important role) Also dip spray can in warm water before spray.

As for prime or no prime for my airbrush case no problem also even without washing the parts (for recent bandai kits, but might have paint flaky and peeling off if multi layer paint does not dry totally)

as a rule of thumb try on plastic spoon 1st, the safest way to learn, previously i skip this test and learn my lesson the hard way, spoiled one of my kits and nearly spoiled my other kit that i have invested enormous effort in...
so for your reference:

too watery - paint not thick enough (shake well for your case)
too sticky paint wont lay flat - too thick (i dont think you will have this case unless the spray can manufacturer lost his mind and inject more paint per can)
Those are some helpful tips, but i thk i did good enough to take care of those. The 1st time i sprayed on it, when i see how it became, I oso tot the same, mayb the spray was not well shaken but when i tried it on another surface it spread just fine. And I do it under sunlight too, so i guess the problem occurs on the resin surface itself. But all the time the toughest part for me is spraying an extremely small part which spray can which i believe only 10% of the paint sticks, the others 90% go wasted.

0.0398sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:35 PM