Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

mybanana
post Oct 9 2013, 09:37 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Holiao909 @ Oct 9 2013, 08:21 PM)
Speaking of which, the thing in this industry is that most of the companies have a selective preference towards UTP and UTM graduates. Which is sometimes very hard to comprehend. I personally do not like how UTM is grading their students. There's no bell shape curve; exams are pretty easy; most of the students scores exceptionally well if you care enough to put it a fair amount of effort.

Now, what i am trying to say here is that their graduates are no better than graduates from other universities who score a cgpa of 3.5 and above. In fact, some of UTM graduates are so terrible in interviews and their high cgpa certainly does not reflect the amount of theoretical knowledge they had (well, not surprisingly). So the question is, why are they given all the opportunities? I.e interviews and stuff. Why are the students from other unis are being ignored especially those who worked their ass off to beat the bell shape curve and ended up having a cgpa of 3.6-3.7. Are we not human? Do we not deserve an equal opportunity at least for an interview?

Thank you UTM for swamping the market with thousands of 3.8-3.9 students every year.
luahan perasaan pulak ke? laugh.gif
mybanana
post Nov 13 2013, 11:15 AM

44 posts

Hi all,
Does anybody here have working before with MMHE?
or know about MMHE?

Me got the job offer, but.....heard some negative feedback about MMHE.
hmm.....
mybanana
post Nov 13 2013, 08:33 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Nov 13 2013, 02:06 PM)
MMHE is Malaysia's top shipyard and it is alluded to be world class yard with experience in building world class structures like SSPC FPS Gumusut Kakap, SSPC TLP Malikai. It has a subsidary of MISC and Petronas.
Salary is top of the range if you know how to negotiate.

A lot of benefits and rewards if you know the way.
thanks for the input bro...

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Nov 13 2013, 02:16 PM)
Yes, I heard also they don't have much project after most of it have taken by TTHE or Sapukencang.
Some rumors said might be thousand of employees will receive the VSS soon due to project not too much.
I heard it too....but not really sure how true it is.
Their current project now is Tapis EOR rite?
Some more they secure new EPCIC project, JV with Technip for Blok SK316.

mybanana
post Nov 13 2013, 11:12 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Nov 13 2013, 10:23 PM)
Come on la...i work for a shipping company and based at MMHE for 1 year now. The culture in MMHE is bad to the bone. There are scrapping off the bottom of the barrel. Now no more new job except Malikai and those lousy marine repair/ship drydocking work which will never turn a profit.

MMHE don't respect client....their customer. Also the corruption in this yard is like cancer. Buy safety sign for ship order from Greece. Just imagine. Pasar mlm also jual safety sign...u buy from Greece.

Many contractor now facing bankruptcy. No more job. MMHE also dont pay contractor payment. Even rental car given to Shell, MMHE dont pay then car rental company tarik the car...ekeke. This what happen. I work there 1 year already maa...
QUOTE(New Klang @ Nov 13 2013, 10:54 PM)
rclxub.gif  shakehead.gif  yawn.gif
I appreciate both of your input.....but, aiyooo...which one is reliable now? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Im in midst either to accept or not offer from MMHE
mybanana
post Nov 18 2013, 08:19 PM

44 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by mybanana: Nov 18 2013, 08:24 PM
mybanana
post Nov 18 2013, 08:24 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(ak101ss @ Nov 18 2013, 07:48 PM)
Guys sorry to intrude, don't know where-else to ask. From what I know is that on Nov 21-22 in UTM, O&G Festival 2013 is happening, major O&G players will be attending.

But what I want to confirm is that has anyone heard about SapuraKencana having a walk in interview on Nov 23 in Thistle Hotel JB? Asking here cause not sure if rumor or true. Thanks.

I'm a fresh grad from Electrical background trying to dive into O&G field. Currently in Semicon Manufacturing field.
https://www.facebook.com/skpetrobhd/posts/711330005545751
mybanana
post Nov 19 2013, 09:08 PM

44 posts

Dear all,
By considering unpredictable economic situation next year, which expected (probably) economic down turn.....

do you think it wise for me to jump new company?

Currently working at very good company (largest o&g contractor in Msia, u know what company) with permanent position.

But the new offer, in term of amount was good but small company which might be tough. Future project looks promising for a few years.
mybanana
post Nov 20 2013, 03:34 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Nov 20 2013, 10:35 AM)
by new company u mean the one a big group is going to together?  icon_idea.gif
no la..just small company but have good future project.
mybanana
post Nov 25 2013, 11:22 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Nov 25 2013, 11:11 AM)
DESB staff detected  tongue.gif
DESB tu apa?
mybanana
post Nov 26 2013, 11:02 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(afrodizziact @ Nov 26 2013, 10:59 AM)
Currently working with an MNC in the telecommunications industry, dealing with contracts. Looking to jump ship as I feel that I am underpaid and undervalued, based on my capabilities and qualifications. Furthermore, I do not see any chances of progressing in my career in the current organization. This is my first job and I have been working for 2.5 years.

I understand that the discussion in this thread is mainly related to jobs on the technical side, but are there any industry veterans here who can provide additional information on the commercial aspects of the O&G industry? Also, if I were to be still interested in dealing with contracts in my next job, is the O&G industry a good one to be in?

I apologize in advance if this has been discussed before; I may have missed it.
What is your background? Current position now?
mybanana
post Dec 30 2013, 06:06 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(f10 @ Dec 30 2013, 04:31 PM)
Hi guys,

i have been a lurker for a few months now. Just asking if there are any vacancies for a Contracts Exec or project/Cost Controller position available in any companies. My current contract is gonna end in a couple of months and the company has not won a big project to retain all staff. So looks like im going out. FYI i have been involved with the Gumusut Kakap Project for 1 and half years. Do let me know if anything pops up. Thanks.
Which company you working b4? Petra?
mybanana
post Dec 31 2013, 01:11 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(f10 @ Dec 31 2013, 12:34 PM)
Not petra but sapura acergy
Have you look on internal advertisement in SKPB? That position have vacancy.
Lumut also have vacant.

mybanana
post Mar 6 2014, 11:25 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Logitech1026 @ Mar 4 2014, 10:49 PM)
Hi guys, I am an ex-employee of SapuraKencana Bestwide (3 years of service). I am writing this to inform everyone who wants to join about pros and cons. Most of my friends currently inside is dying to get out, they have to serve 3 months notice period or pay it off (trap)  mad.gif

As the name suggest, this is a subsidiary of SapuraKencana Petroleum Bhd. This subsidiary oversees the engineering and project management of Kencana EPC team.

The Pros :

1. Lots of projects (CPP and Riser Platforms) & project tender
2. Office in Publika  drool.gif  rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif

The Cons :

1. Below market salary for local engineers
2. Bad management system
3. No reward for performing staff
4. Very high turnover rate
5. Office politics (Inter-department and Intra-department)
6. Not as well established as other consultancy
7. Lip service to retain staff
8. No career prospect
For anyone who is thinking of joining this company, please consider twice. Oil and Gas is not everything unless the pay is good / career prospect is there.

Cheers.
QUOTE(jkkt87 @ Mar 4 2014, 11:46 PM)
i am the one who struggling inside now.
hmmm...I heard all subsidiaries in SKPB which under Kencana (KHL, KPW, KBW) pay a low salary.
Is that true Kencana Bestwide now flooded with expat from India?

mybanana
post Mar 7 2014, 09:02 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 6 2014, 04:20 PM)
My contract with EMEPMI sudah mau habis. Project nearly completion. Gotta secure other job cepat2.
Weii...ada lg kosong x? share la ngan aku.. laugh.gif
mybanana
post Mar 25 2014, 04:47 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 25 2014, 01:12 PM)
Anyone attending OTC today? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Uikk...ingatkan under petrofac dah... laugh.gif
Im attending on Thursday.
mybanana
post Mar 30 2014, 09:47 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Mar 28 2014, 09:48 AM)
aiyoo... saperlah yang buat stability calculation nie.. MMHE? Need to ballast all the way if maintain the current condition..
mmg calculation error ke?
sapa oic dia? during load out camno?
mybanana
post Apr 2 2014, 04:46 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(syafiqyusof @ Apr 2 2014, 04:21 PM)
Afternoon everybody,
been here for some time behind the curtain, hee
thank u to those active members who kept posting useful info and replying to us, newbie.

my boys and i been looking for job for the past 3 months since business in the company has slowed down and they are taking away one after another of the benefit the offered. the company also downgraded us. i see that they actually want to sack/cut us off.
we chase all the big player,
applied any vacancy offered,
even graduate position,

well, result?
one of the boy got an offer from UWM as equipment E,
i got offer for mech design E,
and the rest are still waiting,

im not happy with design E, but for same reason above, im leaving,
on the same time, still looking for job
im actually prefer to had mechanical position, more to site, doesnt matter if offered entry level pos in ong.

so if you guys know any company hiring, pm me,
or if your guys want to hire mechanical fitter, supervisor, engineer, let me know as well, i can recommend the best in my department, hehehe

btw im from where tapis-r tilted.
last week OTC, didn't throw your CV arr?
SKPB under fabrication HUC quit selow woo this year project..
mybanana
post Apr 10 2014, 09:19 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 10 2014, 12:04 AM)

agak2 brapa gaji boleh demand ni? sweat.gif
mybanana
post Apr 10 2014, 01:39 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 10 2014, 09:47 AM)
Aku pun tak tau nak cakap berapa banyak brows.gif PM me
PM utk gaji laugh.gif
mybanana
post Apr 29 2014, 02:21 PM

44 posts

bagus la ko ni yakup..
hidup yakup... biggrin.gif

0.0580sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled