Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

jimbet1337
post Mar 9 2014, 02:54 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(deShinyDevil @ Mar 9 2014, 02:52 AM)
lets say if i work in the oil and gas industry for sometimes, i have to work in o&g for the rest of the day? will there be any career prospect if i decided to migrate to say electronics manufacturing in penang?
Why would you want to 'downgrade' ? blink.gif
jimbet1337
post Mar 17 2014, 01:25 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Mar 17 2014, 12:19 AM)
that's not true if you're in the Client's side..bonus is 6 months average...thats why ppl still enter....hoping to gain experience and finally move on to bigger better companies...
Agree. Company like Kencana HL, Bestwide, MMC, RNZ etc would pay peanuts for fresh grads but they provide priceless experience as you go on. Equip yourself with all ammunitions for around 3 years and it's time to jump to another company.

Yeah, operator/client is a different thing though tongue.gif
jimbet1337
post Mar 17 2014, 01:46 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Mar 17 2014, 04:53 AM)
is it a big surprise getting 1 months bonus?? coz i know the companies ive been with pays just that as an annual bonus. smile.gif (put client aside tho)
Yeah, 1-month contractual bonus or some ppl call it 13th month bonus. It's stated in the offer letter that the employee is entitled to get it every year. Normally it's disbursed in December. So, December salary is like x 2. Company making profit or not, they need to give you tongue.gif

Another one is performance bonus. Varies every year depends on performance of the employee but mainly the performance of the company itself. 1, 2, 3 months .. 6 months etc.
jimbet1337
post Mar 17 2014, 02:33 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(fafaliq @ Mar 17 2014, 02:29 PM)
There's a difference between operator n client? I thought it is the same thing.  sweat.gif
Oh yes, client=operator.

I was talking regarding the difference of client/operator bonus vs consultant/fabricator bonus.

Sorry for the confusion.
jimbet1337
post Mar 30 2014, 09:50 PM

meh
2,669 posts

It has been 2-3 days already. Anyone at MMHE can confirm what's the latest situation of that Tapis-R/Black Marlin?
jimbet1337
post May 4 2014, 09:39 PM

meh
2,669 posts

Speaking about consultant.. Leighton Offshore, OPE & Ranhill Worley are laying off their staff due to corporate acquisition/restructuring & no new projects awarded.

Feel bad for those affected.
jimbet1337
post May 5 2014, 10:54 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ May 5 2014, 09:59 AM)
Too bad RWorley had to scale back its size due to its inability to secure projects in recent years.

As for Leighton Offshore and OPE, I've always wondered why they would want to operate in Msia in an already crowded O&G engineering field.  hmm.gif
About that... Amec also making a comeback with Larastia after a failed stint with MMC.

I'm quite surprised that Mustang also survives until now without major projects secured.

p/s - sorry, didn't noticed there's new version already tongue.gif TS should lock this topic.

0.0189sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:04 PM