Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

jay
post Oct 12 2013, 12:38 AM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(lordzarx @ Oct 11 2013, 10:56 PM)
Hi, I might be your senior. I graduate from UMP back in 2012. For your info, there is a lot of our super senior currently in the OnG industries. Yes it's true our uni is consider a new uni, and our chance to get a job in this field is slim compared to big uni such as UTP,UM,USM,UTM,UiTM, but if it's your "rezeki" is there, than no one can take it.

I have one friend's who finish his diploma in chemical eng currently is doing internship at Petronas Kerteh under INSTEP. I'm also currently trying to get a job in this field last time I take a short course of Process Instrumentation & Control Technology under PSDC. A few of my classmates got a job in OnG industries after joining this short course. The key is always keep trying, but if you got big "cable" than it's a different story.
hi lordzarx, i wan to ask your opinion on path way to oil and gas industry, for a IPTA graduate with electrical degree, is it suitable to join INSTEP? I see from its website written for Diploma intake for 1-year programe?
or the Process Instrumentation & Control Technology under PSDC is more suitable?? hmm.gif
jay
post Oct 15 2013, 12:51 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 15 2013, 11:59 AM)
Bro....if you are planning to further your study i.e 2nd degree or Masters etc, I can't really comment as I don't know if there is such specific course offered.

What I had mentioned earlier just one of the career focusing on the deepwater field. If talking about 'deepwater' itself, it is too general. It can be deepwater drilling, deepwater pipeline installation, deepwater platform or wellhead,  and etc. It is also which area are you interested in whether doing design & engineering, construction,installation, commisioning, operations etc...

And as mentioned above, there are A LOT OF companies out there that provide services or doing business in deepwater field. Whether Malaysian companies, international companies based in Malaysia, as well as international companies oversea. Some of the international companies in Malaysia not only doing job for Malaysia water but also oversea, I know Aker Solution Malaysia currently doing job for Brazil Operations, SBM Malaysia doing FPSO Angola or Australia, Technip has sent some of the teams to Korea shipyard and etc..
Latest news about Technip in Rigzone:

www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/129585/Technip_Bags_Subsea_Gig_for_Delta_House_Field
For drilling, there are operating companies that doing planning for deepwater drilling, drilling companies doing drilling as per programs (here we are talking about Subsea Engineer), service companies (Slb, halliburton, BH, Weatherford etc) that provide drilling tools, ROV company that constantly monitor the riser,subsea BOP and wellhead, Drilling and Well Control Equipment Manufacturer (GE, NOV, Cameron, Aker) that also provide field service engineer and specialist onboard of drilling rigs.
Here is one of the programme that I think might be helpful to know better about the Subsea Engineer's work. In US, they have one-year program for the candidates to become Subsea Engineer.

http://www.moduspecacademy.com/we-provide/...l-equipment.htm
one year only? from other field oso can become subsea engineer? rclxub.gif
jay
post Oct 15 2013, 01:23 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 15 2013, 01:21 PM)
At West Engineering/ModuSpec (not under LR), they have one-year program and maybe after that become junior Subsea Engineer. I was informed that the program will load the candidates with A LOT of information and hands-on on real well control equipments from various makers. I dont know the background of the candidates.
In my company, we have 2 to 3-years program of Subsea - Engineer Trainee.
your company still wan fresh grad? drool.gif
jay
post Oct 15 2013, 10:43 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 15 2013, 01:29 PM)
Now, it is more towards to nationalization. We dont have many deepwater rigs in Malaysia water. Try to look for all drilling contractors website....
can give few examples of drilling contractors?? rclxms.gif

jay
post Oct 16 2013, 09:12 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 16 2013, 08:52 PM)
For example. Taken from maersk drilling website

We Offer
A unique opportunity for a clear career progression in a global setting of highly advanced technology. During your traineeship, you will be mentored with professional support and guidance and you will receive assessment feedback after each trip offshore. It is anticipated, that you become a fully competent Assistant Subsea Engineer and will be ready to progress to become a Subsea Engineer, if you are a high performer.

Key Responsibilities
Every year, we start a team of approximately 10 trainees from all over the world. The training consists of practical on-the-job training and theoretical intervals. During the first 12 months you will undergo training to attain a Subsea Well Control at Supervisors level, specialist Hydril training and Moduspec training. Your practical training will be offshore onboard our floating rigs, where you will be going to where the Subsea action is happening. During the accelerated training period you will be required to work uneven and unpredictable work schedules to ensure you get the maximum exposure to learn the equipment. Once graduated as Assistant Subsea Engineer after 12-14 months (depending on proficiency), you will continue and complete your Moduspec modules and at the same time be assigned to one of our offshore units.

Who we are looking for
You should be committed and have loyal work ethics combined with a desire to progress and excel in all that you do.

You should demonstrate a willingness to be accountable and take on major responsibilities.

You should hold a B.Eng. degree as a minimum, i.e. in Marine Engineering or similar.

You should have at least 2 years offshore experience in a technical role.

You need to be proficient in English.

You need to be computer literate and have the ability to write reports.
denmark only? anyway thanks for the tips
jay
post Nov 6 2013, 10:48 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(evolance7 @ Nov 6 2013, 08:24 PM)
Keep trying. I am using my Electrical Eng. Diploma to get a job in this field. Will be reporting for duty at Labuan this December after 2 month wait since the first interview. Just keep trying. Some company will give you a second chance for interview from what I have seen.
can I ask wad job title do you get when u join in the field?
jay
post Nov 8 2013, 08:00 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Nov 8 2013, 01:33 PM)
Nope, its not hard if you keep trying. No problem landing a job here with chem background.

Internship experience in OnG is nothing to me. I seek people who are eager to learn.
I'm willing to learn flex.gif take me!! fresh grad trying to join in OnG here notworthy.gif
jay
post Dec 8 2013, 07:18 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Dec 8 2013, 05:54 PM)
Seriously top up and get degree. Cos your personal reasons << missed opportunity as a FE.

FE is so big different- gaji and progression way different. Then again, if you really mati2 don't have choice then FS not bad... bersyukur...
normally how long does it take for SLB to contact me if I applied the FE position through the website?

anyone gt direct email? notworthy.gif
jay
post Dec 8 2013, 07:39 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(lifeisgoood @ Dec 8 2013, 07:33 PM)
Hey man,just curious.When did you apply? your major ? are you a freshie ?
yea freshie here, i applied back in october icon_question.gif u frm SLB? ?
jay
post Dec 23 2013, 07:50 AM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 23 2013, 02:55 AM)
agreed lmao. unless u want demote urself well. schlumberger is a rather on the superficial, yes u may have benefits of a top tier company, training and stuff, but essentially, it's really just mudlogging. it's better to apply for mwd/lwd especially haliburton and baker. seems to have vacancies.
is haliburton n baker taking fresh grad??
jay
post Feb 15 2014, 01:12 AM

Legendary
904 posts

hello seniors, i was offered interview for INSEP program for instrumentation. Just wan to ask whether the program is worth it anot?
currently employed but thinking want to drop everything and go becoz better future? needs to noe whether the risk im taking (being unemployed again) is worth anot
jay
post Feb 15 2014, 01:57 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(lifeisgoood @ Feb 15 2014, 10:24 AM)
hey jay, you got any reply from SLB?
nope most of the oil company i applied rejected me cry.gif
jay
post Feb 15 2014, 04:11 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(lifeisgoood @ Feb 15 2014, 03:39 PM)
probably under KIV if haven't reply?
nope got email me saying sorry u r rejected all that
jay
post Feb 17 2014, 07:47 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(Fame2163 @ Feb 17 2014, 11:04 AM)
PSDC Kuantan?  hmm.gif

Im going as i am currently unemployed.
yea too rush for me if they inform me b4 cny i will go as well
jay
post Feb 20 2014, 06:12 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(roronoa @ Feb 20 2014, 01:36 PM)
hi all,

i have  an interview with technip asiaflex soon as project engineer.may i know what should i prepare and what should i expect?
wow congrates rclxms.gif
u enter as fresh grad??
jay
post Feb 20 2014, 06:52 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(roronoa @ Feb 20 2014, 06:44 PM)
nope,i have been working for a while..but abit new to technip.so would like to get some advice here
previous job as wad? mind to share?? wanna build my profile to enter OnG company oso notworthy.gif
jay
post Mar 11 2014, 01:11 AM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(Zeu's @ Mar 10 2014, 08:34 AM)
from the star last saturday..fresh grad should grab this opportunities.. brows.gif

http://www.prodigymalaysia.com
when they will send the Ability Test?? i keep on refresh my email but yet no send me cry.gif i wan in Oil n Gas so bad
jay
post Mar 11 2014, 01:18 PM

Legendary
904 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Mar 11 2014, 08:43 AM)
Hi are you a fresh grad or experienced personnel trying your luck in the OnG industry ?
I consider myself fresh grad, u gt way to enter OnG?

0.0617sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:32 PM