Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

empire23
post Jun 26 2013, 05:24 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Quick question, anyone here know anyone from Boots and Coots?

I'd really like to know what knowledge and experience goes into well killing.
empire23
post Jun 26 2013, 07:34 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 26 2013, 07:28 PM)
firefighting for sure. u need to see halli abt it smile.gif
I got a few friends in Halli, Sperry, KBR and so on but none are in depth with blow off control which Boots and Coot specialize in.
empire23
post Jun 26 2013, 07:47 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 26 2013, 07:37 PM)
I see. no idea too. doing this for project? wink.gif
Nah, just looking for areas to branch into and get a little idea of how things work. A little bit of everything makes a good engineer.

Plus I have my BOP course at UNSW coming up so it might be useful to know a little more.
empire23
post Jun 26 2013, 08:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 26 2013, 08:03 PM)
Have you sit for the well control course? It would help a little bit on the few method of well killing operations...

I never heard of the operating companies here called the Boots and Coots personnel to kill the wells, not on our rigs here..
I think Boots and Coots will only kill the hardest to kill wells and the most major of blow offs.

In the words of my American colleague, you call them, ask them for how much they want, they give you a bill with many zeroes on it and then you thank them for accepting the job.

Sitting for well control in August. Production schedule and tax time makes things problematic when asking for a week off.
empire23
post Jun 27 2013, 09:32 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 26 2013, 08:48 PM)
why oes tax get involved? hmm.gif ada kena mengena dgn lhdn? also where are u taking ur well control, wch comp offering also is this renewel or new?i got a few quotes but dunno wch one to choose. smile.gif
Tax is involved because the ATO gives out refunds around July and because of new regulations by government I cannot claim more than 2k AUD in self education expenses unless they are salary packaged.

Well control at UNSW. They're the best here in Australia and for 3000 AUD you cover both IADC and IWCF certs.
empire23
post Feb 23 2014, 06:11 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(thahirah @ Feb 20 2014, 03:17 PM)
Anybody here heard of UGL?
My interview will be tomorrow, most probably will be a part of a Transportation and Installation contract..

happy.gif if  im not wrong T&I is one part of EPCC right?
UGL is a multinational Aussie firm. Only their Energy and Resources arm does OnG mostly. They also manage quite a few minesites up here near Ruby Jo.

If you're in T&I you're probably going into UGL Infrastructure.

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Feb 22 2014, 11:33 AM)
Guys, Im representing very junior engineers in the O&G contractor industry. Any idea what certificates that are useful for us? Company sponsoring programme fees anually biggrin.gif
O&G? The simplest is BOP (IADC WELLCAP) I guess.
empire23
post Mar 19 2014, 05:38 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Mar 17 2014, 11:45 PM)
is it really that good to be or join the client/ operator?
Well you get to be demanding and push contractors around?

What's better than that?! laugh.gif
empire23
post Mar 20 2014, 04:03 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Mar 20 2014, 12:49 AM)
Lol yea definitely..  biggrin.gif been learning from my bosses phrases like "by crook or by hook, you must get this done" doh.gif

But if still inexperienced, can still get cheated by contractors if not cautious  sad.gif
Being in a large contractor, that's what we get a lot of the time and a lot of pointless requests as well.

But being in a contractor firm does have several advantages especially if they're big and you've stayed long enough. WFT and Halli constantly move their employees around for training and cross section experience. So you're never really tied in to one project, get to travel, make a lot of connections and learn a lot.

Contractors are one of the best places to start off your career if you want to rise the ranks fast.

Don't worry about being unexperienced, if anything happens just blame the contractor for being sneaky tongue.gif

This post has been edited by empire23: Mar 20 2014, 04:04 AM
empire23
post Mar 20 2014, 02:53 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Mar 20 2014, 06:00 AM)
WFT you mean wetehrford?, if yes then man they stopped doing it long time. now its a cutthroat thing between dept. staffs movement is seen as other dept trying to whisk/steal their personnel, not growth/progression.  sad.gif
Not so long lah, up until late 2012 they were still sending people around and back to Texas for training.

But under their new APAC management who are ex-Schlumberger, they're now cutting costs and counting profit per employee and telling employees under the old contract to bugger off while hiring new people who will accept the new terms.

They called me up and offered me a 2/1 roster with a package of 100k dollars a year and on 12 hour days about 2 months back. But no completions bonus, 2 weeks off a year only and no health cover. Wasn't a good deal.
empire23
post Mar 21 2014, 07:05 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(vanc3 @ Mar 21 2014, 06:12 PM)
I plan to study master at UK but i dont know what course will increase the chances for me to get into ONG. What course should I choose? more to engineering or management?????I finished my Degree in mechanical engineering.
I still cant decide to work onshore or offshore???
All comments are welcome....Cheers
If you want to get in the most useful thing is experience.

Second most useful thing would be a useful cert like CSWIP.

0.0562sec    3.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:17 AM