Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream
acgerlok7
Jul 2 2013, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 1 2013, 12:25 PM) They have been saying this ever since the oil shock of 1973 which was 40 years ago ..... some people who were worried then, are now retired and the use of fossil fuel is more prevalent than before. I am not saying that it is good for the planet but looking at it pragmatically, there is currently no energy source that are so ingrained, with all the easy transportation and infrastructure in place like the fossil fuel ..... you will retire in the future and they will still be thinking about how to replace fossil fuel. well said bro... the only viable renewable source i see coming up is biomass...others all still very expensive, and of course geopolitics landscape is going to influence the energy industry big time. I dont forsee USA/Russia giving up O & G for an epic "reform " and approach towards renewable energy.
acgerlok7
Jul 17 2013, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 17 2013, 01:22 PM) I have accepted the provisional offer (pending medical and employment visa) .... end of this year, if everything goes well, I will give notice to my current company. As for the current package .... it's not 7 digit. It will be when my kids go to boarding school (that alone is a quarter of a million ringgit a year that the company will pay). Ohhh omputih kat sini pun sama ... they talk cock in meetings with the bosses but when it's the time to deliver those shit they promise, nothing beb .... also be careful with your presentation. Never ever give them the powerpoint or word document. They will take it as their own and sell them al over the place in the company. I got bitten once, never again. Now I watermark all my slides, and then I convert everything to PDF and secure that PDF file with No copying and No printing .... Hmm...bro... working with arrogant omputih can be quite a pain in the ass too i suppose? And woah... stealing ideas, mereka malas nak fikir ke? atau saje cemburu dengan other people's ability. I think that if constructive discussion and exchanging ideas is fine, but if they take someone else's sweat and blood and c*ck about it, then that is too much to stomach.
acgerlok7
Jul 18 2013, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Beckupp @ Jul 17 2013, 05:56 PM) It is not cemburu tapi quick ways to get up... and the bangang thing is, the mgmt knows abt it but fasal yg tu omptih, dia sembah lagi... tu la realiti...  Thts the thing...mgmt shud b independant in their thinking.. dun depend too much on omputih, mcam smua yang dieorg ckap btul je, klau ayik percaya kat org dia, later wrong or right the mgmt also dunno how to judge... in the end subordinates the ones that suffer as a result of that. .
acgerlok7
Jul 23 2013, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(mekboyz @ Jul 23 2013, 03:40 PM) Guys how do I apply to schlumberger? I did apply online on their website last week, then today I got a reply stating "Your application has been reviewed but we regret that we do not have an opportunity available that fits your qualifications and our staffing needs." I am a fresh grad in E&E engineering. I applied for the Field Engineer position means tak kena bro. Most likely their vacancies for e & e( instrumentation based) engineering already being filled up.
acgerlok7
Aug 6 2013, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 6 2013, 02:57 AM) when I was in FSO SEPAT project, there is one PETRONAS engineer... sooo cun one.. because of her, everyday I go on-board to update her on the progress..  its been 6 years I used to wear boiler suite in yard, now need to dress like Ryan Gosling.. For sure, play hard to get.. ha ha ha..  haha...abgkik... who knows with your experience + charisma and $$$ salary, you will now become the David beckham in the O n G industry , charming all the girls.
acgerlok7
Aug 8 2013, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 6 2013, 02:57 AM) its been 6 years I used to wear boiler suite in yard, now need to dress like Ryan Gosling.. For sure, play hard to get.. ha ha ha..  Btw, abgkik, are u a marine engineer by profession?
acgerlok7
Oct 4 2013, 11:36 PM
its better if you do ur degree in pettroleum engineering or chemical engineering ...its easier to get into O &g with these two major.
acgerlok7
Oct 5 2013, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(E Crew @ Oct 5 2013, 01:22 AM) hmm weird  i thought petroleum geoscience is suppose to be easier since it's in the exploration phase (upstream) ? am i wrong ? Geology is a very niche area....while in petroleum/chemical engineering, you can have many specialisation within, and surely demand for tht in upstream sectors are much much more.
acgerlok7
Oct 8 2013, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(E Crew @ Oct 6 2013, 10:40 PM) Hello azraeil, my diploma was in mechanical engineering.Recently UTP has opened for registration but they do not offer petroleum engineering and only offer petroleum geoscience.I was in doubt whether is this a good bet or not as it's a very niche area.I am afraid that it would be difficult to get a job in future.In this situation,what would be your advise to me ?  if outdoors is your cup of tea and you love rocks/history of our planet earth, then go for it.  UTP itself is already a branded name, dunno why people kept saying even monash msia, notts msia more "prestigous" than UTP, all utter nonsense.
acgerlok7
Oct 8 2013, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(FortNil @ Oct 8 2013, 06:54 PM) Can taiko taiko brief me about this 2 positions in oil n gas, client side.. Drilling EngineerProject Engineer career prospect, pay, etc etc... also known as money engineer...haha...what i heard from sifus is that drilling engineers command the highest pay in O & G sector, albeit one subsector of petroleum engineer.
acgerlok7
Oct 10 2013, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(E Crew @ Oct 10 2013, 12:54 AM) Dont know if mechanical engineering base is even relevant to petroleum geoscience or not...  If dapat mechanical engineering, do tht bro...i think mech engineer is one of the most versatile discipline in the engineering field... cos when come to think bout it, everything related to mechanics, klau tak da mech engineer, no BMW, no fan, no air cond, no car and of course no petrol also... on a side note, is UTP open for application atm?
acgerlok7
Nov 6 2013, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 4 2013, 05:23 PM) any chance you will be able to do a masters degree in petroleum engineering with your 2.80 CGPA? if you can, then you should consider doing a masters degree and study like hell to get 4.00 CGPA when you graduate. that way will increase your chance of being offered a job as a petroleum engineer working as reservoir engineer. you can explain to the would be employer that you were having too much fun partying during your undergraduate days that it affected your studies and hence your low CGPA, and you have since "repented" and have worked hard for your masters degree and hence you manage to score a perfect CGPA (or near there). recently i gave the same advice to two fresh graduates with 3.10 CGPA to take up a masters degree in their field. they were unsuccessful to obtain employment in the companies of their choices. now they working their asses off to get their masters degrees with flying colours.  Nice... a master degree would be just nice to top up what he needs...  Bro...since you are in the industry for so long, what preferable GPA owuld you recommend for us to maintain( of course i know as high as possible haha) but the rough range.. in order to get into companies like even Sapurak Kencana or Petronas for that matter?  And how is the demand for Petroleum Geoscientist in the OnG industry now? All i hear is engineer here and engineer there.... hardly hear anything bout GEO people.
acgerlok7
Nov 6 2013, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(heliosi @ Nov 5 2013, 12:29 AM) Ah I totally forgot about the alternate route of grad school. The earliest I could finish at UTP (they don't seem to specify a minimum CGPA requirement) would be 1.5 years, but who knows how industry employment will be like then? People keep talking about an economy bubble burst. Our national oil reserves are falling faster than it's being replenished. Other MNCs may follow Newfield in exiting Malaysia to concentrate on their shale assets elsewhere. All this combined with the generally agreed on fact that Masters' holders have less job opportunities than degree holders (the "overqualified applicant" argument), I think I'll take my chances gaining valuable O&G experience during the 1.5 years, even if it's non-engineering related. Dude, have you considered applying to Uzma?  as far as i know, this company does employ fresh grads for PE majors... the boss himself is a PE major from USA . Maybe can try giving a shot.. since thier client base are all big shots also ie. Petronas, Emepmi, Talisman etc etc.
acgerlok7
Nov 19 2013, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(sugarbun @ Nov 18 2013, 08:38 PM) Hello, I have my geology degree in 2011. I applied for mud logger position in Schlumberger and was interviewed in April. Unfortunately, I did not succeed in the interview. Does anyone know what other companies also have mudlogger position in Malaysia? Right now, I am desperate to get in the field I studied in. It has been 2 years since graduation and still zero experience in geology. It seems like a waste of time and money with this degree. I am taking other unrelated jobs just to survive. MInd sharing where you did your degree? locally or overc?
acgerlok7
Nov 20 2013, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(sugarbun @ Nov 19 2013, 07:35 PM) Thank you for your suggestion carloz28 and ch_teo. I will try to contact the companies. acgerlok7, my degree is from Canada. I did not do any internship while in university. That is why so hard after graduation. Even in university, it was not easy to know where to find company for internship. To add to that, they need high gpa too which I do not have. I see, are you from Alberta Uni or Calgary...planning to apply there as well....as far as i know, Canada is now only booming for their O & G sector...maybe if you are financially viable, try aim for a master's degree to see if you can get in...cos i dont think its a problem finding a job provided you know how to network.
acgerlok7
Nov 22 2013, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 20 2013, 02:52 PM) Try Uzma as well. They have the GRE group and who knows. Usually for GPA, they give a lot of leeway for Geology Degree holders (I'm talking about PETRONAS by the way) but then again, that was several years ago. Maybe their benchmark has changed. Hmm...bro azraeil, any idea why is that so ar? Cos i knw in terms of difficulty, Petroleum engineering is definitely much more challenging academically compared to geology...could it be the very low take up rate of that degree?
acgerlok7
Nov 24 2013, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 24 2013, 01:22 PM) Supply and Demand is one thing (as you mentioned, not a lot of students take Geology degree and it is required for you to have a Geology degree to become a Geophysicist/Geologist etc etc). Petroeluem Engineering can take PE students and also Chem Eng. students as reservoir engineers. And looking at rocks for 4 years is no fun so getting a good grade is tough ... or maybe a lot of the geologist had too much fun going out for field trips for every geology classes (I know my dgeree mates did in the US .... some of them took the degree because they get to go out and drink beer all night with the Prof in those field trips ....) wow...what an eye opener...hahaa... i guess smtimes mayb they main until terlupa diri tho  and congrats bro on being 16th year in this industry now... its already tough enough to take up the courage to study geology, more courage to finish and ace the degree, but surely it takes a legend to be working in the industry for 16 years!
acgerlok7
Nov 26 2013, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Zara Anbalagan @ Nov 25 2013, 10:37 AM) Hi ,try Uzma and Dayang Enterprise ,they are growing and have received new contract . You can view their new positions by end of this week on our website. Petrojobsasia.com ,you register here and start applying for jobs soon after you found it published. Thank you! does dayang and companies like scomi employs geologist in the first place?
acgerlok7
Dec 18 2013, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 17 2013, 02:23 AM) is geology a niche applicable to downstream positions ? cuz i had no luck for upstream in almost all of the "appliable" O&G companies with subsurface services.  are u a geophysics grad?
acgerlok7
Dec 21 2013, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(elijah3art @ Dec 18 2013, 10:48 PM) geology major lo. so few vacancies these days for geology grad. z its hard to get into OnG generally...how ur other uni mates doing? did they get into OnG too? if they can get in, im sure it wont b a problem for you??