Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

E Crew
post Jul 1 2013, 12:51 AM

179 posts

a quick question, how secure is O&G industries in future like in 10-30 years time ?
since scientist has been trying to replace energy source from petroleum to hydrogen and the hybrid car we always heard of.
Please advise icon_question.gif
E Crew
post Jul 1 2013, 01:12 PM

179 posts

Well then I will assume that as a positive feedback from you..thanks so much. Cause I am doing diploma in Mechanical Engineering now and having internship and gotta choose my path later on for degree.If I were to go for O&G which field would you suggest me. Petroleum engineer, petroleum geoscience, or just mechanical engineering ? hmm.gif
E Crew
post Jul 1 2013, 11:35 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 1 2013, 02:18 PM)
All the degrees you mentioned are needed in the industry though for PE and PG, the demand is much higher as not a lot of people are taking this degrees so the competition to get a job is much less as compared to mechanical engineering.
Since it's so specific to only oil and gas industry and sounds like company's assets...just wondering are they more highly paid comparing to mechanical engineer? hmm.gif
By the way are you working in o&g industry too? smile.gif
E Crew
post Jul 11 2013, 12:54 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 11 2013, 01:24 PM)
Both of you... don't expect people to spoon-fed.. Please refer to previous thread V3 or V4 and get the information from there.. Not sure what is Surveying Sc course is all about so can't advise much, can advise if similar to Quantity Survey (QS). As for Civil, subject static, solid mechanic, structural are in your course, so you can venture to structural engineering.. 

As for conclusion, if you are fresh graduate with flying colour result + good SPM result.. chance to enter oil & gas as graduate trainee or junior is high.. if not, you need to join oil & gas/Sub-con, gain your knowledge and experience, before join big player..
I wonder people still looking at SPM results ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by E Crew: Jul 11 2013, 12:57 PM
E Crew
post Jul 11 2013, 01:45 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 11 2013, 02:22 PM)
History of your excellently maybe...  wink.gif
haha maybe...are you in O&G industry also ? smile.gif

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 11 2013, 02:26 PM)
hmm i think some still ask for it, i was asked for it when i joined the mnc comp im at now.
mind telling which company are you in now ? biggrin.gif
if that's the case then it's a bonus for me in future... rclxm9.gif

E Crew
post Jul 11 2013, 03:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 11 2013, 03:12 PM)
yup... kuli only... wink.gif
really or not? brows.gif
What type of kuli? biggrin.gif
E Crew
post Jul 11 2013, 04:35 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jul 11 2013, 04:40 PM)
EPCC FPSO...  sweat.gif
Owh well I guess you are being handsomely paid...haha
Got 5 digit per month? biggrin.gif
E Crew
post Jul 11 2013, 09:37 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 11 2013, 06:20 PM)
Errkkk ... bro .. insyaallah. Now aiming for 7 digit annual salary for my next opportunity ... hopefully everything goes well.
wow, that's huge bro.Can i ask which university did you graduated from and are you from mechanical engineering also ? sweat.gif
by the way, I wish you best of luck with your new target smile.gif
E Crew
post Jul 13 2013, 12:26 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 13 2013, 12:16 AM)
Bro Azraeil, are you coming back to Msia for that luxurious 7-digit annual salary? smile.gif

Ps: how's ramadhan over there this year bro? fasting time got longer & longer eh?
where is he right now ? blink.gif
E Crew
post Jul 26 2013, 03:20 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 23 2013, 01:58 AM)
Err, I think you misunderstood me, I went to a US University and when we say major, it means that's the area you are studying for a degree. So if you have a degree in PE, then your major is PE, my Major or my degree was in Geology etc etc ....
Bro azraeil,you are degree holder? or did you do master as well? blush.gif
E Crew
post Jul 27 2013, 09:21 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 27 2013, 05:03 AM)
I have a BSc.
Cool..bro,do you mind sharing some of your career stories like where do you work before working in Saudi arabia and which university did you graduated from ? I believe this sharing could be some inspiration to people who want to join this industry perhaps blush.gif
E Crew
post Aug 2 2013, 10:04 PM

179 posts

what actually does client mean in this topic ? is it the support team like Schlumberger ?
E Crew
post Aug 3 2013, 02:51 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Aug 3 2013, 01:01 AM)
Oil company/operating company..i.e petronas,shell etc...
Oic...thank so much for reply..actually what are the pros and cons working for the support company and client? Anybody? hmm.gif

E Crew
post Aug 5 2013, 05:39 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 4 2013, 11:54 AM)
In Malaysia.. Main Client is Petronas.. And follow by Profit Sharing Company like Murphy Oil, Shell, Talisman, Petrofac, Newfield, Nippon Oil, Carigali Hess.
Thanks for the reply bro.actually I am kinda interested in OnG industry and considering taking up petroleum engineering for degree later on and I am from mechanical engineering course.but there are several types like drilling engineer, production engineer,reservoir engineer,well engineer and etc.I have got no clue on which to join..
Do you or any other sifus mind giving me some advise ? Erm like which 1 has better career prospect or enhancement icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
E Crew
post Aug 14 2013, 10:41 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cnoe @ Aug 13 2013, 10:28 AM)
I had been applying for oil and gas jobs since 2009 until now no success, 20++ interviews but no success. one of the company i've interviewed this HR gave me advice to get a strong endorsement a.k.a 'cable besor' so chance u get employed higher and brighter. aiyooo
It's not what you know, it's who you know.That's how it works wink.gif
E Crew
post Aug 24 2013, 01:08 AM

179 posts

I got a friend who has been working in OnG industry for decades and retired last year.Then recently he sign a contract with exxonmobil for 2 years as consultant.When I asked him how much he is paid, he refuse to tell me sweat.gif .Any sifus here can estimate his pay ? brows.gif
E Crew
post Oct 4 2013, 11:13 PM

179 posts

Greeting to all sifus, I would like to ask whether is it a smart move to continue my degree in Bachelor of Petroleum Geoscience ? as I have just completed my diploma..gonna need some advise from you guys..
E Crew
post Oct 5 2013, 01:22 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Oct 5 2013, 12:36 AM)
its better if you do ur degree in pettroleum engineering or chemical engineering ...its easier to get into O &g with these two major.
hmm weird hmm.gif i thought petroleum geoscience is suppose to be easier since it's in the exploration phase (upstream) ? am i wrong ?
E Crew
post Oct 6 2013, 10:40 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 6 2013, 01:47 PM)
What was your diploma in? If it's in Geoscience then continue with that, if not, maybe you can also look at Petroleum Engineering.

Demand for both are the same.
Hello azraeil, my diploma was in mechanical engineering.Recently UTP has opened for registration but they do not offer petroleum engineering and only offer petroleum geoscience.I was in doubt whether is this a good bet or not as it's a very niche area.I am afraid that it would be difficult to get a job in future.In this situation,what would be your advise to me ? sad.gif
E Crew
post Oct 8 2013, 11:48 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:05 PM)
if outdoors is your cup of tea and you love rocks/history of our planet earth, then go for it. smile.gif UTP itself is already a branded name, dunno why people kept saying even monash msia, notts msia more "prestigous" than UTP, all utter nonsense.
Right...does petroleum geologist get to go offshore as well? smile.gif

0.0548sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:57 PM