27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V24, WARNING on POST 1 DMF2 / DME6

TSjoytest
post Jun 29 2013, 10:48 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Ok... tongue.gif

TSjoytest
post Jun 29 2013, 11:09 PM

13,188 posts

Well, for those clamoring for more mAh....

This
http://www.seidioonline.com/samsung-galaxy...3ssgt2kx-bk.htm

and this
http://www.seidioonline.com/samsung-galaxy...y45ssgt2-gy.htm

Should give you nice protection with 4500mAh..

Yes I am completely not a footy fan tongue.gif

TSjoytest
post Jun 29 2013, 11:49 PM

13,188 posts

Some info on Car Chargers (I'm just browsing for a good one)

The link is to the product but what is interesting is from the posted comment I reproduce here. It shows some insight into how USB chargers work with devices
http://www.amazon.com/PowerGen-2-4Amps-cha...S/ref=pd_cp_e_1

This post has been edited by joytest: Jun 29 2013, 11:50 PM
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:17 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sacremento @ Jun 30 2013, 12:12 AM)
Just noticed that rumours about Samsung  phones having flexibly screen was since they introduced the galaxy devices. But not even one has them. I doubt note 3 will have it.
That's right. I'll just wait till some more concrete news comes along. I would think it should be 6" at the very least. Now with Sony having shown their hand, and HTC upcoming, it depends on what kind of USEFUL innovation Samsung would want to bundle in.

We know it will come with the S-Pen. Beyond that, we can speculate that they should have LTE as standard, and hopefully 32Gb as standard too. Perhaps an entry price of RM2199 tongue.gif
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:22 AM

13,188 posts

A little bit of astronomy news, geek stuff, but the moving gif brings the idea to life. I had known a little about this but never saw an illustration, and this is good.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/107117483540235...sts/3XdNekwLHbd

Wall of text explanation:

TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:28 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:20 AM)
Price would probably be the same if there are no heart-pumping new hardware feature.
LTE will definitely be as a standard but I think it's gonna stay at 16GB.
SPen means we can't expect the device to be very slim.
Personally, I DON'T WANT the device to be very slim. I find it very hard to accept functional tradeoffs in the name of design.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:35 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:30 AM)
irregardless of the slim design, people will buy all sorts of cover to protect their devices, hence slim has no longer a meaning here laugh.gif
No, the point with a slim design is the manufacturing tradeoff. A 7mm Note 3 is likely only going to have a 3300mAh battery at best, and god knows what other hardware needs to get sacrificed at the altar of anorexia.

For me, slapping on a proper casing is a given but the device should not be any less functional because some idiot designer decided it so.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:41 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:38 AM)
trade-off between design and practicality
Weapons are the best examples of well designed functionality. Nothing in the design is non-functional. Even the color scheme is functional.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 12:43 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 30 2013, 12:40 AM)
actually I like the idea of the SBH52 bluetooth headset. NFC activation of BT pairing is superb and holding a "chewing gum" bar for long conversation would definitely ease a lot of trouble laugh.gif
I participate in LONG conversations .... and you should know that our telcos have a kill switch at 90mins to avoid excessive phone bills.

You DO NOT WANT TO HOLD anything in your hands when you are in a long call unless you are talking to your SO. It is very tiring to hold something to your ears that long. A standard wired headset or BT headset will do just fine.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 01:16 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jun 30 2013, 01:10 AM)
A good read to clear misconceptions on mobile phone batteries.
http://gizmodo.com/how-to-take-care-of-you...ght-w-513217256
Excellent post. Will add to post 4 under Useful to know.

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 30 2013, 01:15 AM)
joytest it says no no to wireless charging laugh.gif
vmad.gif vmad.gif just when I had started to enjoy it.......... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by joytest: Jun 30 2013, 01:19 AM
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 01:31 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 30 2013, 01:27 AM)
Until today I have no idea how to shoot nice photos with my Note II. I basically gave up on it. Some say Note II produces nicer photos than S2 but based on my own experience, my Note II's photos are not anywhere like my friend's S2.

Even my aunt also has issues in snapping nice photos on her S3.

rclxub.gif

I'm not sure what exactly is the issue, played with the settings but seems like nothing works well. The only reason I could think of is most of the time I shoot indoor.

These days I have no choice but to bring my 5D+L lenses for my travels (even though a short one), Note II just doesn't do any justice for me. laugh.gif

In short, I'm noob. laugh.gif
Indoor shots tend to suck. My outdoor pics nice or not ? tongue.gif

I think you need to hold the phone very steady for indoor shots otherwise blur pics result. Trying to take pics of your niece all the time?
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 01:38 AM

13,188 posts

Some indoor pics

TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 01:48 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 30 2013, 01:44 AM)
Indoor photos require good natural lighting. The flash is hopeless.
If that's the case, I might move to the dark side. laugh.gif
What is the dark side? CM10 ?
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 01:53 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 30 2013, 01:49 AM)
My own definition, anything that is not TW based. tongue.gif
CM is not TW based right?
Yep. Cyanogenmod. Now with all the baked in Department of Paranoia fixes.

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jun 30 2013, 01:50 AM)
So based on the article, it is nt a good idea to drain the battery to a low level ie: 10% and charge it to 100% full?
Our master sklchan had already warned never to bring it to less than 10% or 5%. I suspect he is into embedded device programming or some kind of Electronic or Electrical Engineer. So we follow the good master's advice, as also verified by the article.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 02:04 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jun 30 2013, 01:52 AM)
Those are some pretty steady shots at low ISO

Flash is essential in low light conditions. Look at these two shots. Dark, blurry and noisy.

The cave shot was taken without flash.

Here is one with flash.

TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 02:06 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 30 2013, 02:05 AM)
It is sungguh menggeramkan. laugh.gif
Sometimes just want to take some acceptable quality of food photos using my phone, that also disappoints me. laugh.gif
Eh see the food pic I posted..... drool.gif
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 02:13 AM

13,188 posts

Owwwhhh... yeah I know. Well, I'm not picky about pics ....

here's a night shot from the well known hilltop mamak in Cheras:

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jun 30 2013, 02:12 AM)
I'm expecting the Sony XZU to be better than our Note 2
Wouldn't the Nokia N8 or PV808 STILL mop the floor with any of the current crop of phone cameras?

This post has been edited by joytest: Jun 30 2013, 02:14 AM
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 02:27 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Jun 30 2013, 02:24 AM)
true
If you read my response to superman, my concern is that the slimness of the device, which is something we cannot change, would have caused a loss in functionality.

The thickness of the casing is irrelevant if the slim device has lost too much functionality.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 02:34 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jun 30 2013, 02:31 AM)
Alrite. Last post for the night.

How's my battery life? 70% of usage time on 3G

Nice .... I need to swap back to normal rooted stock already .....

Good night for me too.
TSjoytest
post Jun 30 2013, 10:45 AM

13,188 posts

For those inclined to perform hardware DIYs (great to pair up with Android devices)

http://www.adafruit.com/ask

Weekly episodes on engineering and DIY....cool

They have 1 distributor in Malaysia in or near PG and a Hackerspace (community) in KL

27 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:15 PM