3,542 posts

Version 1: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/545818
Version 2: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2419732

Japan Travel Info- Updated by moderators:

1. Transportations

- Japan Rail Network, maps & fare: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2019.html
- Train Schedule: http://world.jorudan.co.jp/norikae/cgi-bin...in.cgi#L_Kekka3
- Cheap 5 days unlimited ride via "Seishun Juhaici kippu" ticket (But no Express/Bullet train) http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2362.html
- JR Pass for those want to go major cities cheaply using Sinkansen http://www.japan-rail-pass.com/train-japon/?ap=j0095g
- Haneda Limousine Bus (Keihin Kyuko) for those reaching late night @Haneda - http://hnd-bus.com/route/nightmorningbus.html
- How to get to Tokyo after midnight:
http://jprail.com/travel-informations/how-...town-tokyo.html (Others pls google)

2.Learn Simple Japanese:
http://japanese-phrases.sakura.ne.jp/

3. General Sighseeing & Attractions:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e623a.html

-Tokyo Disneyland ticket price: http://www.tokyodisneyresort.co.jp/en/ticket/index.html

4. Hotel Booking Websites
(Please compare 1st)

http://www.agoda.com/asia/japan/tokyo.html
http://www.asiarooms.com/en/japan/tokyo.html
http://ms.hotels.com/?dateless=true (Probably the cheapest to Japan?)
http://www.booking.com/index.html?aid=3096...CFUd66wodUklQNQ

VISA application:

Starting July 2013, Malaysian are exempted from visa requirement.. Waiting for the official announcement:
Relaxing of Visa Requirements for Malaysia and Thai Nationals
1. On June 11 The Government of Japan announced that, Malaysia and Thai
nationals traveling to Japan for a short-term period will be exempted from
visas.
2. As this new measure will start within summer season (in coming months),
the effective date of the implementation and the length of stay without visa
will be announced soon. (For those who plan to visit Japan in the near
future, please keep in mind of the starting date of this new measure. The
Embassy of Japan will not return visa fees for all visas that have been issued
before the effective date of implementation.)

http://www.sg.emb-japan.go.jp/visa_malaysi...i_nationals.pdf
http://www.clickworkz.com/edm/JNTO/pressre...EDM1/index.html

5. More great info compiled from this thread:

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 3 2012, 11:45 AM)
Going to Kamakura is very easy and very cheap.  and very direct ~~
First you go to Tokyo Station...which just near to your HOtel.
Then Take Yokosuka Line (Dark Blue) all the way down to Kamakura Station.
Journey take around 2 hour plus.  WIll crossing through Shinagawa Station then pass through Yokohama then pass through Ofuna then arrive.

To Nikko:

First from Tokyo Staton taking Yamanote Line to Ueno Station.
At Ueno Station Taking Utsunomiya Line (Orange) to Utsunomiya Station.  
After Arrive Utsunomiya Station then change to Nikko Line to Nikko Station. (Nikko Line Terminal Station)
Journey taking 1 hour 20 minute - 30 minute.
- Nikk0 2 days pass from Asakusa Stn - Railway - Bus & entrance available here: http://www.tobu.co.jp/foreign/pass/w_heritage_pass.html

To Hakone (Best view of Mt Fuji)
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 13 2012, 11:03 AM)
Want see Good View of Mt Fuji without going Shizuoka......then just go Hakone

Seriosly stimix...spent 2 day 1 night at Hakone will never regret!!!  Hakone just 1 hour 30 minute away from Tokyo Shinjuku Station only.
Take ropeway go up to Owakudani...try the Dark Egg!!....hahaha.   Owakudani is the place to see Mt Fuji and snap Mt Fuji Picture. 

After Owakudani...take Rope way down to Lake Ashi.......Here also perfect place to snap whole Family Picture that you will never forget rest of life.
What view can more perfect than this in Japan?

Buy the free pass from Odakyu line @ Shinjuku stn - counter inside Odakyu Mall http://www.odakyu.jp/english/deels/freepass/hakone/

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 5 2013, 10:24 AM)
As you can see Tokyo Metro / Subway are private company and Toei Asakusa + Toei Oedo Line also private company.  mean your JR rail Pass are very useless in Tokyo too....except riding Yamanote Line.

Even I got JR raill pass in Tokyo I have to Top up my Suica card // Pasmo card........Solution of this JR Raill pass holder in visiting Tokyo.

Or

I just plan visiting Tokyo only...and I dun have JR rail Pass.........I am Heavily using Suica / Pasmo card for all my trip.......
Here is the Today Free Tips!!

[[Tokyo Combination Ticket]]   One Day Pass  brows.gif  brows.gif

It cover JR line (Yamanote) , Toei Line , Tokyo Metro Line within Tokyo region

http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/ticket/value/1day/index.html
More tips
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=51856595

6. Budget Cheap Food Guide

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 26 2012, 11:17 AM)
Budget Food Guides for those kiasu & kiampsiap travelers  rclxms.gif

Morning/Quick lunch/Dinner

Just buy those cup noodles from nearby 7-11, Family Mart, Lawson or even Aeon Superarket (I found AEON giving the most competitive rate but they are not 24hrs)
This cup noodle cost 168yen but there are smaller cup oodle too selling ~ 100yen till 250yen

Also for those wanna meal on the go & dunwan restaurant food, also can buy thoe Bento set & heat-up there instantly & eat inside those convenient shops. Well price are almost similar to the real stuff selling in those budget chain restaurants that I ate (Check after this post). The price of cold /non-heated bento set from 300-450yen:

Proper Lunch/Dinner

Shinjuku -For Noodles & small choices of rice. Try Sanko Near Shinjuku Post Office & beside the Oval high rises district. This is like no frill concept. You can choose plain Udon & thereafter choose the tempura as topping. Or you can choose set.. You can even get the rice wth mince pork for only 200yen here!!
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...%26prmd%3Dimvns

Shibuya/Harujuku & probably more areas, For cheap rice, try this yummy rice..damn shiok  thumbup.gif  I luv thos rice restaurant.. cheap & yummy for sure  rclxms.gif
http://www.sukiya.jp/

In Akihabara (And probably more branches) - My 1st proper Tokyo lunch, I just walked along Akihabara main st & found this Komoro Soba. price from 330yen and I choose the 330yen for sure haha..Damn shiok too and surprisingly now only I know they also opened in Manila!!  blink.gif
http://www.microsofttranslator.com/BV.aspx...iv%2Findex.html

The common Food vending machine either outside or inside the restaurant - This one Komoro Soba in Akihabara

7. Easy to find halal or pork free food in Japan?

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Jan 4 2013, 11:02 AM)
Halal food in Japan? Everywhere got! But don't expect Jakim logo lah.  smile.gif

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Jan 8 2013, 03:01 PM)
'halal' ... because there's no certification. one thing about a traveling muslim is that, you spend time looking for 'halal' outlets, and when you get there, you see 'halal' inscriptions, some quranic verses on the walls, maybe a pic of mecca. and in many cases there's also a bar with beers and hard liquors. so you just have to trust these guys, right, because there's no way to confirm it. like this 'halal' restaurant in danang (vietnam) -- the counter has a pic of jesus on the cross, so i asked, are you a christian operating a halal restaurant? yes, he said, but all my stuff come from a halal supplier in saigon!

obsession with 'halal' foods can sometimes take the fun out of traveling. so take it easy lah. as for me, during my travels (esp. to odd places) as long as i see rice, bread, pasta, fish, eggs, vegies, i deem them all 'halal'. of course no need to check out the kitchen lah. take the journey from lhasa to everest base camp in tibet, say -- all stops are at decrepit, dark eating places, which only serve every known body part of a yak. so how? smile.gif
8. Travel to Osaka via Kansai - Connecting Station at Namba:

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 8 2013, 09:00 PM)
There are 2 train going Kansai Airport.   Nankai Airport Express or JR Haruka Limited Express.   Since you got JR Rail Pass then used JR Haruka Limited Express.
This Picture will make you easy understand

9. Nagoya Guides

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 24 2013, 10:38 PM)
Merry X'mas & Happy New Year.

Nagoya Airport, a.k.a Chubu (( Japanese like to call it)) // Central Japan International Airport.
Why call it Chubu?  As you can see Nagoya City was located in middle of Japan. 

History Part:
Before Year 2005.  Nagoya City was serve by an Airport call Komaki Airport.  Today Komaki International Airport been renamed to Nagoya Airfield already.  Komaki International Airport was serving Nagoya as Major Airport since 1944 until 2005.

Why need Chubu?  Because Japan law.  All in land Airport have to stop operation after 10pm.  Komaki Airport was build in land , Middle of Nagoya city. Due to Noise pollution, Airport have to stop operation at 10pm.  This also heavy effect those long route International flight into Nagoya.
While Nagoya also Japan major heavy industrial located such as Toyota & Mitshubishi heavy Corp. 
The Plan of Chubu been started.  Nagoya need a 24 Hour Airport with very big cargo Airport to shipped out those Toyota component & Mitshubishi heavy component by air .  Only choice was build on Sea.

Access to Chubu:
Train
The Central Japan International Airport Station connects directly to the Access Plaza. Barrier-free access is available between the airport station and the Passenger Terminal Building.

Fastest way to Chubu was using Meitetsu Airport Line a.k.a U-Sky limited express.  From Chubu to Meitetsu Nagoya train Station (JR Nagoya Station just nearby)  just need 28 Minute.  Every next train gap was 30 Minute.
Since is run by Meitetsu Company so JR Rail Pass are invalid.
Price are 1200Yen Reserved Seat per way.
First train run at 07:00 & last train are 22:07

What Happen If I arrived late?  There was a Limited Express from Chubu to Nagoya City.  Not as fast as U-Sky. the Travel time are 35 Minute.  Cost are 850 yen per way.
The Last Limited Express train Leaving Chubu are 23:31

Limousine Bus:
Airport buses arrive at the first floor of the Passenger Terminal Building. The only way to get to the airport bus boarding point is via the Access Plaza.
*Please note that the bus stops for boarding airport buses are different from the stops used for getting off.
* Bus Stop #6 are going Nagoya Downtown
From Chubu to Nagoya downtown need 76 Minute.  Price will be 1000Yen per way. 
Last Bus Leaving Chubu to Nagoya Downtown are 23:15

Taxi:
Taxis that come to Central Japan International Airport arrive at the first floor of the Passenger Terminal Building.
The Taxi Information Counter is located on the second floor of the Access Plaza, and the taxi pickup point is located on the first floor of the Access Plaza.
From the Arrivals Lobby (second floor of the Passenger Terminal Building), take the connecting passage to the second floor of the Access Plaza, and then take the elevator or escalator to the taxi pickup point (first floor of the Access Plaza).
Price: Approx 14,500 yen ((From Chubu to Nagoya Station))  Approx 47 Minute ride
Inside Airport:
4 Thing you cannot Miss in Chubu Airport.  Chubu Airport 4F are most important part of this Airport. 
- Chubu Sky Deck: Free access.  180 degree view of Airport and Runway.  300M long walkway.
- Japan Only Airport Onsen.  1000 yen for each Entries.  Naked requires.  Soak in Onsen while waiting your Next flight.  What can better than this ?  brows.gif  brows.gif
- Chubu Airport most famous Tontakshu // Fried Pork fillet.  Shop lot No.5  ((Personal Highly recommended))
- Chubu most famous chicken wings.  Shop lot No. 50  ((Personal Highly recommended))
This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 25 2013, 09:45 AM
TSstimix
post Jun 14 2013, 07:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Opss forgotten about the latest visa requirement. Updated
TSstimix
post Jun 15 2013, 06:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Jun 14 2013, 07:59 PM)
Bro, comfirmed ?? When it starts to be in effect??? biggrin.gif  September ? Or June? hehe
Heard on Radio news just now. not really started. M'sian govt & Japanese Govt is working out the neseccary to abolish this.. damn hv to change the 1st post info again
TSstimix
post Jul 8 2013, 11:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Casanova_Ash @ Jul 8 2013, 09:38 PM)
Hi All,

I was just wondering. I'm planning to trip to japan probably in January or February 2014.

Purpose: To enjoy the cheap seafood & variety of seafood available. ( which will cost us a bomb to enjoy in Malaysia )

I know that there are areas in Japan which are labelled as "Fishing Villages/Towns" where seafood there is as cheap as alchohol in Langkawi.

Where the residents eat crab & lobster like we eat roti canai or nasi lemak.

( Based on information seen through various documentaries & food shows. )

Unfortunately, I forgot the names of these areas....

Anyone know of the places I'm talking about?

And are they easily accessible to tourists?

Another reason I want to go to Japan ( preferably not in the cities, but more towards the countryside ) is to stay in an authentic Japanese Inn/Resort.

Where you get to fully experience their culture & style of true relaxation.

Any suggestions as well to where I can go?
Thread merged. I find the price of Japanese restaurants in M'sia much cheaper than in Japan haha
TSstimix
post Jul 10 2013, 10:41 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 10 2013, 09:23 AM)

Got.  Coway & Panasonic got sales this kind of toilet.  More info ask Stimix  he is Coway version
Walao eh.. u stalked and rembered me bought coway bidet seat blink.gif shocking.gif
TSstimix
post Jul 11 2013, 08:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(LittleStrawberry @ Jul 11 2013, 12:07 PM)
Hi, I am going to Japan on december this year(my first time) and i have few questions to ask, hope that all sifus can guide me. Thanks in advance.

1. i will reach Haneda Airport on 29 dec at 11.30pm in Japan by AA. I found that it doesn't work on monorail and subway in japan as all close by 12midnight. i have searched the late night limo bus and found that only certain routes on certain hotels. I plan to stay in Horidome villa(5 min walk to Ningyocho Station--Hibiya Line). Can anyone suggest me how to get there during midnight? if can avoid taxi, it's better cuz wanna cut cost.

2.I plan to go to Osaka Universal Studio. so, i found that if taking Nozomi shinkansen will be around  14,000yen per trip. but if i purchase Japan Rail Pass which stated is unlimited rides(7days), i can't take Nozomi as it's not cover by Japan Rail Pass,so i need to take hikari which the Japan Rail Pass covered. It yes, it's still worth it to purchase the Japan Rail Pass,right?

3. i will be going to hakone for mount fuji view. will it be nice during december?It's stated in hyperdia by SHINKANSEN KODAMA and Hakone Tozan Railway. Is these cover by Japan Rail Pass?

4.i will be visiting places like shibuya, shinjuku, akihabara, meiji shrine, tsukiji market, asakusa area, is this cover by Japan rail pass?

Hope someone can guide me here as I am quite confusing with the route that cover by Japan rail pass even though have read on website. Thanks in advance first and hope someone can help me. Thanks a lot and appreciate it.
There have Midnight buses to TCAT terminal which is just ~800m away from Horidome Villa. Yeah I stayed there last time. I managed to catch the last cheapest bus to TCAT and thereafter just walk another 800 to the hotel.. Under the cold weathwer, walking 800M is easy biggrin.gif .. If u miss this last bus, they still have Midnight surcharge buses to lotsa destination for sure but you will be paying extra-lah. Do check pg1 for mignight buses

As to the JR Rail.. There are many MRT operators in Tokyo.. atleast 6 or probably more..Your JR Rail only valid for those lines under JR Rail networks.. (You have to google which one).. you cannot use it on other private operators for sure.. This is the bad thing about taking MRT in Tokyo.. this reminded me of the previous KL LRTs where different operators & diff lines, you have to exit & buy new ticket

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 11 2013, 08:25 PM
TSstimix
post Jul 22 2013, 03:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnn I thought the Hakone free pass only available from Odaiba Mall @ Shinjuku? I dun think you can buy from Odawara stn.
TSstimix
post Jul 23 2013, 11:34 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 23 2013, 09:41 AM)
Hakone Pass sold in Shinjuku Station [[Information counter]]
Can buy with 3900 Yen per Ticket.  This pass will not included the train to Shinjuku.

Shinjuku Hakone pass will be 5000 Yen
Odawara Hakone pass will be 3900 Yen
OK, human nature clarified earlier. However, the info counter in Shijuku stn kenot speak England wan.. He will point-point a piece of paper map leading to another counter inside Odaiba Mall where you can buy the freepass. doh.gif Well, I did but the mall still close at 8:30am and only open at 9:30am.. So no choice using my pasmo prepaid card going all the way to Hakone & up to the black egg volcano. - Total return cost per pass without the free pass & using the pasmo card ~ Y6300 /pax..sumore on super slow train esp after Odawara stn all the way to the ropeway sad.gif
TSstimix
post Jul 23 2013, 12:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Jul 23 2013, 11:43 AM)
I bought my Hakone Free Pass at Odakyu Center, Shinjuku station and the staff spoke English
Odakyu Sightseeing Service Center
Yes this the one.. Typo error on the Odaiba Mall but Odakyu Mall. The counter staff at Shinjuku kept on saying.."me no english" go here- go here showing the english counter inside Odakyu mall.. I confused pulak wth Odaiba island blush.gif ..Odaiba & Odakyu almost similar sounding to me paisehh blush.gif

The problem is you can't catch early train if you just walk in to the counter in Odakyu mall bcos the mall still close early Morning. Either way, hv to buy a day earlier

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 23 2013, 12:10 PM
TSstimix
post Jul 29 2013, 02:42 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Jul 29 2013, 12:15 PM)
so any news on the above? what happen to those who was suppose to travel all those dates? just curious. And i though airline company not suppose to do this kind of cancellation?
Not the 1st time AAX did this. Last time there did the same by cancelling London, Paris & Delhi routes due to those countries hiking up the landing fee/taxes and fuel cost. Normally they will refund for sure but not sure credited back or by way of future redemeble vouchers
TSstimix
post Aug 5 2013, 02:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Aug 5 2013, 01:01 PM)
They also have in Busan, SKorea. So I can use my membership when I go Busan end of this month. biggrin.gif
Btw in Japan, they are always located near train stations, so very handy, just walk to hotel from train.
No wondder sound so familiar... Me also thinking of booking Toyoko Inn in Stn 2- Busan end of the year biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Aug 23 2013, 03:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(alan_kong84 @ Aug 23 2013, 12:29 PM)
brader... When la... not Where la...
Yaloh... last month check RM1 - Yen31 lik tat... now Yen29 d...
No one can predict unless you are expert in FOREX trading.. Even those in FOREX trading also can get their hand burnt.. Anther way you have to ask those time travelers from the future and visiting us right now to check what will be the best time to buy biggrin.gif

Honestly eventhough the yen already up slightly compare to ~ Jun this year, the rate still consider dirt cheap if you want to compare what I got early 2012.. That time 100yen ~ RM3.9 or on the other way RM1 ~ 25.5yen. smile.gif
TSstimix
post Sep 5 2013, 11:11 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If the day ticket going till Nikko & Hakone much better hehe...Well I dun think so liao unless Hakone & Nikko part of Tokyo Metropolitan area??

Anyway.. that great tip of the day pinned to 1st pg

This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 5 2013, 11:20 AM
TSstimix
post Sep 20 2013, 07:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 20 2013, 12:20 AM)
and i thought a normal sweater will just be sufficient
The fleece sweater only can sustain temperature above 10C. Once temp dropp to 5C and below, you really need down jacket.. The uniqlo light down jacket posted by mat sputnik one of the best.. I got it for ~RM249
TSstimix
post Oct 7 2013, 03:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Oct 7 2013, 02:01 PM)
Thanks bro..

i think i will drop the plan to kyoto and instead i will go to Nikko.

I found this on the web on how to go to nikko from yokohama

http://www.nikko-jp.org/english/access/train.html

What is the difference between the JR LinEast and the Tobu Line?
It cost about 3300 yen ( per person from yohohama to Nikko ) and  2500 from Nikko to asakusa(where i will be staying in tokyo) which is ok for me.

Anybody here can recommend me a nice cheap guesthouse/ hotel in nikko for 2 night? where me and my wife could stay in? i googled and could not find a reasonable one.

Need some help me thanks. smile.gif
On how to goto Nikko already posted on pg1. There are package deal by Tobu line going there and a dedicated station just beside the river cruise terminal direct to Nikko from Asakusa.
TSstimix
post Oct 7 2013, 04:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Oct 7 2013, 04:45 PM)
Thanks bro!!

last question, is it worth to stay there for 2 nights or should i just stay in tokyo and go there for a day tour?

I have still not booked my hotel yet, either to stay in tokyo or nikko.

Any cheap guest house i to recommend in Nikko?
Depending on you. If you want to visit just Nikko -Shogun shrine & temples, day trip will do but if you want to enjoy some of the best Onsen/ hot spring, can stay overnite. For me due to the time constraint, I choose only day trip. Nothing is cheap in Nikko. Even the ramen/Udon soup per bowl already 1000yen biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 10 2013, 03:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

As any other world metros.. rules of thumb- No Metro after Midnight and most probably last train 1/2 hrs b4 Midnight & 1st train at 5am
TSstimix
post Oct 15 2013, 10:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Earthquake in Japan is so common and even earthquake as strong as 6.3 as what I experienced last year.. Non of the Tokyo folks running out from the buildings and none of the buidings in Tokyo suffered serious damages even at this scales. rclxms.gif

I'm the only guest there that day running down to the lobby blush.gif doh.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 16 2013, 02:51 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Oct 16 2013, 10:39 AM)
So earthquake & typhoon expert brader, what should we do when there are tyhoon or earthquake happen while we are in Japan?? If brader stimix running around & the rest of Japanese people seems cool about it?
For EQ, just stay still inside your room & cover under the tables. biggrin.gif You wil look stupid if you run out to the street or even to the lobby. The receptionist actually Lol at me last time but assure me it's ok.. No one panics or running around the city at magnitude 6.3! Imagine at this magnitude in Indon or any 3rd world countries.. you will see casualties liao
TSstimix
post Oct 18 2013, 11:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Oct 18 2013, 10:12 PM)
27 reasons why we should all move to Japan.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleyperez/27-rea...-japan?s=mobile

Haha.. Now I know why Regentcid so furious me buying normal kitkat in Tokyo rather than special flavour biggrin.gif

0.0494sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:55 AM