End

VinluV
post Jun 16 2014, 12:04 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Jun 13 2014, 06:11 PM)
I think im the only baba with  IK + black + aughild combo
Not in hardcore. In HC everyone tries to use blackthornes.
But yeah in sc your barbar is overtoughen
gh0sty
post Jun 16 2014, 07:12 AM

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 15 2014, 10:35 PM)
i r in need of sensei advise for my gear on my male barb Guts

moogle#6806
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Moogle-6806/hero/318789

This is a build i copied from a top barb on americas.

Previously i noticed he used hex pants and used the set swords for a rend with WW + IK pet build. But that was back when Rend was op until the recent patch that fixed it.

So i noticed he switched back to this build i am not using.
I've been stacking phys element in my gear. And my 2nd weapon i use the sunkeeper for elite dmg bonus.

I had some raekor gear lying about so i'm using that for set bonus. Yes i know i could instead use aughilds here for chest and shoulders, but honestly i'm not really bothered, as this is my alt. So i rather just use set pieces.

So any tips here to improve my build doh.gif ??? it just doesn't seem that i am doing much damage currently. Is it because i didn't stack hota yet ? also do i enchant rings with CDR or the usual chc with CHD ?

For paragorn skill do i prioritize maxing cdr before attack speed for this pet build ?
Currently loving my IK/EQ Barb... My CDR is around 40% and leap takes about 4-5secs for recast.. With lutsock boots... I'm basically jumping everywhere... EQ-Molten Fury gives me anywhere between 1mil-23mil per tick and it ticks alot ... And with permanent CoTA-Together As One, my survivability increases by ten-fold...

Here is my HC Barb
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/CrankyM...2/hero/33629497

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2014, 09:37 AM

4,473 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 16 2017, 11:41 AM
silic0sis
post Jun 16 2014, 10:25 AM

37 posts

Can try my fire eq leap setup, I use 4 piece earth + unity + soj + cindercoat, no fury spender.
Or alternatively swap unity for rorg and use hexing pants.

earthquake, cota, leap, battle rage - marauder's rage, wotb, sprint
Passives use ruthless, brawler, boon of bul-khatos, rampage

Try get cdr on shoulders, helm(socket), and your offhand weapon.
Offhand reroll the damage range to cdr on sankis or devastator cause this build damage only based on mainhand. You can get 1 more cdr slot if you want, but you have to either give up 40-50 crit dmg (gloves/ring) or 700+ vit (gloves).

These are the stats you want on gear:
earth helm - str, vit, crit, socket
earth shoulder - str, vit, cdr eq damage
cindercoat - str, eq damage, fire damage, 3 sockets
earth pants - str, vit/resist, 2 sockets - best if can get str+vit+resist, but pants often have retarded rolls
earth gloves - str, vit, crit, crit damage - can trade vit or cdr if you want
belt - harrington's, str, vit, ar, life%
sunkeeper mainhand
sankis or devastator with damage rolled of for cdr in offhand

I use sunkeeper + sankis personally and sometimes swap sunkeeper to devastator for act5 mobs that take longer to kill, swap back to sunkeeper for elites.

Play style, alternate between wotb and cota for elites. Usually I try use wotb when the elites are surrounded with alot of other mobs and cota when the elites are alone.
With my setup, elites die in the first leap rotation when I wotb or cota or use harrington's.
For cota, you should snapshot the weapons, swap to fast mainhand dagger and echoing fury before you use cota, got quite big damage difference. For rift guardian, I save wotb and cota when I know rg is about to spawn, then I swap weapons, use wotb then use cota.
RG ussually dies before my cota unsummons.

I tried alot of different setups and I feel this is the fastest clearing, I do about 7ish min rift runs on barb. I used hota setup originally but after earthen might nerf, felt like too much fury issues. You would prolly have to change battle rage to some sort of fury gain skill like warcry or charge and you'd lose 25% damage. Hota probably does less then 25% of eq damage anyway, so I felt better to get battle rage and get cota.
Tried seismic slam also, too much fury issues.

But imo., just play crusader much better, clears rifts in like 5mins solo lol, I swapped to crusader also already.

This post has been edited by silic0sis: Jun 16 2014, 10:57 AM
huoshenfeng124
post Jun 16 2014, 10:28 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2014, 09:37 AM)
so things glove chc chd str. do i go ias or cdr then  hmm.gif
ok that sounds interesting..... combo leap with immortal king pet i assume ?

So fire spec ? does that mean using mage fists then and cindercoat ? (i got those 2 items). But then again when i normally IK's i use theo gloves, any point in this case ?
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/12427752975

bro try this builds , I try combo mine with BT sets for better survivability swapping fire amulet in between fight with cameo amulet altho i alter a few skills to suits my playstyle.
ALeUNe
post Jun 16 2014, 10:33 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(huoshenfeng124 @ Jun 16 2014, 10:28 AM)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/12427752975

bro try this builds , I try combo mine with BT sets for better survivability swapping fire amulet in between fight with cameo amulet altho i alter a few skills to suits my playstyle.
IMO, HOTA is too melee... I meant it's too close range.

I think SS is better than HOTA.
2 reasons.
It delivers same or better damage than HOTA with the right gear (i.e. strongarm bracers).
It hits more targets and wider areas.

P/S
For reference, my so-so geared barb hits 30m with SS (without strongarm bracers). That's almost the same damage with HOTA.
A well geared barb can hit 50m with SS.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jun 16 2014, 10:46 AM
silic0sis
post Jun 16 2014, 10:47 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 16 2014, 10:33 AM)
IMO, HOTA is too melee... I meant it's too close range.

I think SS is better than HOTA.
2 reasons.
It delivers same or better damage than HOTA with the right gear (i.e. strongarm bracers).
It hits more targets and wider areas.
That post is from like 2 months ago. If you watch the video in that post, he takes quite awhile to do that rift, and the rift boss takes him like 2.30 mins or something lol
moodswingfella
post Jun 16 2014, 12:52 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2014, 09:37 AM)
so things glove chc chd str. do i go ias or cdr then  hmm.gif
ok that sounds interesting..... combo leap with immortal king pet i assume ?

So fire spec ? does that mean using mage fists then and cindercoat ? (i got those 2 items). But then again when i normally IK's i use theo gloves, any point in this case ?
well if u want to play Ik pet build, stack IAS. But in my case I dont bother IAS so much cuz Thasker n Theo almost solved attack speed issue thumbup.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2014, 01:16 PM

4,473 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 16 2017, 11:41 AM
moodswingfella
post Jun 16 2014, 01:26 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2014, 01:16 PM)
so ias does affect the pets  hmm.gif ?
yup. u can hold dagger in your main hand and cast CoTA to snapshot. then change back to your preferred weapon. but when u got TnT, u wont bother to do that.
ALeUNe
post Jun 16 2014, 01:45 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jun 16 2014, 01:26 PM)
yup. u can hold dagger in your main hand and cast CoTA to snapshot. then change back to your preferred weapon. but when u got TnT, u wont bother to do that.
Does it snapshot? Didn't know it. laugh.gif

Let's say I use Pig Sticker on my MH, does it mean the macai will have damage bonus against beasts and humans?

P/S Even only attack speed is snapshot, it is still awesome.
Imagine, Dagger + legacy EF (+0.25 ASPD).
Will test it tonight. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jun 16 2014, 02:00 PM
VinluV
post Jun 16 2014, 02:00 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 16 2014, 05:45 AM)
Does it snapshot? Didn't know it.  laugh.gif

Let's say I use Pig Sticker on my MH, does it mean the macai will have damage bonus against beasts and humans?
Nope. Pig Sticker doesn't affect followers/pets.
Only things that affect followers/pets when they appear.
ie- equip tall man finger, cast CoTA, unequip tall man finger. Of Course this has been fixed.

Snapshot works with leapquake build as well.
Select earthquake with the rune, cast leap & your leapquake will have rune effect.
ALeUNe
post Jun 16 2014, 04:58 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jun 16 2014, 01:26 PM)
Nice. Tested and it worked.
With dagger and legacy EF, attack speed at 2.60.

If you have fire build, magefist is better than tnt since attack speed can be snapshot. thumbup.gif
silic0sis
post Jun 16 2014, 07:30 PM

37 posts

If I'm not mistaken, only weapons work for atk speed snapshot. Could be wrong though.
ALeUNe
post Jun 16 2014, 08:32 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(silic0sis @ Jun 16 2014, 07:30 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, only weapons work for atk speed snapshot. Could be wrong though.
Yes, only attack speed snapshot.
No difference on damage (at least what I saw on screen).
silic0sis
post Jun 16 2014, 11:28 PM

37 posts

I mean only weapons work for atk speed snapshot, I think you can't snapshot tasker. But I might be wrong not sure.
gh0sty
post Jun 17 2014, 08:20 AM

Need some advice here from barb sifus... Are frostburn gloves any good? Recently found a pair a few days back and kept it in my stash... I know it was a rare drop but haven't got around thinking of using it... Was browsing thru the US forums and read some cold barb build...

Looking at my current setup now (IK/EQ leapquake), was thinking of swapping my mote gloves with frostburn, and of coz to get the mote bonus, I would have to sacrifice my aughilds (shoulders/bracers) with mote shoulders and either a strongarm bracers or reapers wraps...

How good are frosties? Is it worth the change??

Side note : I'm also using a default cold dmg 2hd IK Wep (coincidence?) which would trigger frosties. I am still a fire build considering earthquake - molten fury is mainly why leapquake build even existed... I will still maintain my fire gears for damage and only to add in frosties for its freeze effect...

Edit : after carefully reading the frostburn properties (Your Chill effects have up to a 34–45% chance to Freeze instead of Slow) does it mean tht I would need skills that chill mobs in order for the frostburn to proc? I have to switch my earthquake from moltenfury to chilling earth rune?

This post has been edited by gh0sty: Jun 17 2014, 08:43 AM
amiranna
post Jun 17 2014, 08:45 AM

699 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Jun 17 2014, 08:20 AM)
Need some advice here from barb sifus... Are frostburn gloves any good? Recently found a pair a few days back and kept it in my stash... I know it was a rare drop but haven't got around thinking of using it... Was browsing thru the US forums and read some cold barb build...

Looking at my current setup now (IK/EQ leapquake), was thinking of swapping my mote gloves with frostburn, and of coz to get the mote bonus, I would have to sacrifice my aughilds (shoulders/bracers) with mote shoulders and either a strongarm bracers or reapers wraps...

Side note : I'm also using a default cold dmg 2hd IK Wep (coincidence?) which would trigger frosties. I am still a fire build considering earthquake - molten fury is mainly why leapquake build even existed... I will still maintain my fire gears for damage and only to add in frosties for its freeze effect...
for me forsty barb only good at party.. not much damage, but good as crowd control..

combine frostburn + Rimeheart + azurewarth and MOTE build + Avalance

get 40-50% reduce cooldown.. you will get infinite ice drop laugh.gif
moodswingfella
post Jun 17 2014, 12:22 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Jun 17 2014, 08:20 AM)

Edit : after carefully reading the frostburn properties (Your Chill effects have up to a 34–45% chance to Freeze instead of Slow) does it mean tht I would need skills that chill mobs in order for the frostburn to proc? I have to switch my earthquake from moltenfury to chilling earth rune?
when u leap with cold rune (perma frost, IINM), u confirm will freeze all mob within the radius. so the proc from frostburn is like non existent. But u will get additional cold% from frostburn which is good thumbup.gif
gh0sty
post Jun 17 2014, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jun 17 2014, 12:22 PM)
when u leap with cold rune (perma frost, IINM), u confirm will freeze all mob within the radius. so the proc from frostburn is like non existent. But u will get additional cold% from frostburn which is good  thumbup.gif
Meaning I would have to change all my fire gear an stack cold just to make use of frosties cold% dmg?? That's just crazzziieeee !!!! lol

Thought I could maintain a fire barb + freezing effect... Oh well...

135 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:10 AM