Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 01:24 PM

6,112 posts

We're linked to Kevin Gameiro again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%A9vin_Gameiro

Doesn't have an impressive goals to games ratio but it's likely because he plays in the hole behind the likes of Zlatan Ibrahimovic. Seems to be able to play anywhere in the front line which suits us. Not sure if we need another forward at this time though. We've already got Aspas, Suarez, Sturridge and Borini on our books. Also, Luis Alberto can play up front if required. Maybe it's a sign that Suarez's departure is imminent.
Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 01:28 PM

6,112 posts

Talk about pressure. Aspas gets the fabled no. 9 jersey previously worn by the likes of Torres, Fowler, Rush and Ian St. John. On the other end of the spectrum, we have El-Hadji Diouf, Djibirl Cisse and more recently, Andy Carroll.

Mignolet gets no.22. I'm assuming this means Brad Jones keeps his no.1 jersey.

http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-new...t-squad-numbers?
Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 01:37 PM

6,112 posts

Pretty much echoes my sentiments. Expectations need to be managed.

http://www.footballfancast.com/premiership...ecting-too-much?
Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 01:47 PM

6,112 posts

Simply because of new management? Whatever the case, I'd like our fortunes to be in our own hands, and not our rivals.
Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 02:32 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Jun 28 2013, 02:03 PM)
After a long hiatus I'm back! With not so good news though:

http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1485829/...and-off?cc=5901
I've already mentally prepared myself for live after Suarez just as I have for life after Carra cry.gif

To put a positive spin on it, we'll be getting a healthy profit for a player who gets himself banned for a third of the season and brings about a lot of negative publicity to the club. At 26, he is an adult and should conduct himself as one. Biting an opponent isn't just wrong, it's juvenile. Joey Barton may be a prick but at least he fights like a man. That being said, he is without a doubt one of the most talented forwards in the world right now and we will miss his ingenuity and guile, not so much his goals because with the attacking talent we've signed so far, the team should be able to make up for it. We ended the season well despite Suarez's absence. Didn't lose a single game.

Duke Red
post Jun 28 2013, 04:13 PM

6,112 posts

It isn't exactly a straightforward deal especially since it was discovered that Mkhitaryan isn't fully owned by Shakhtar. The club had already put in an offer and was awaiting his arrival for a medical when the complication arose.
Duke Red
post Jun 29 2013, 07:55 AM

6,112 posts

Not sure how true this is but it is from the Independent.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/footbal...an-8679525.html
Duke Red
post Jun 29 2013, 07:56 AM

6,112 posts

Conflicting reports coming. This article also mentions what was reported in The Independent.

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2013/06/repor...ikh-mkhitaryan/?
Duke Red
post Jun 29 2013, 08:02 AM

6,112 posts

Rob Jones rates Kelly highly as well. Special praise coming from one who could arguably have been our best rightback ever if not for injury.

http://www.thesportreview.com/tsr/2013/06/...elly-rob-jones/?
Duke Red
post Jun 29 2013, 08:08 AM

6,112 posts

Keisuke Honda is said to be available for a cut price £5 million. We've been eyeing him for some time now but interest in him cooled after an impressive World Cup in South Africa. Despite not getting past the group stage of the Confederations Cup, Japan won many admirers with their attacking style of play and a Honda was at the centre of this. £5mil for a 27 year old in his prime? Worth looking at.
Duke Red
post Jun 30 2013, 02:10 PM

6,112 posts

I'm pleased with the signing of Mignolet. First step in attempting to rectify our defensive woes from last season. Made less errors than Reina did last season despite his goal being a shooting gallery. Hope he has a bright start or he'll incur the wrath of gloomy, naysaying fans. At the very least he will provide stiff competition for Pepe. It has been an eternity since we've had a strong no.2.
Duke Red
post Jun 30 2013, 02:33 PM

6,112 posts

Really doubt Mignolet will be bothered by what posters in LYN have to say about him. Kopites are generally a patient lot and I'm sure The Kop will stay supportive for as long as humanly possible. How else would the likes of Camara, Biscan and Meijer been cult heroes?
Duke Red
post Jun 30 2013, 08:08 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 30 2013, 03:20 PM)
3-5-2 may be a suicide tactic.

Little team play well with this kind of formation, and can leaking goal easy especially in EPL, as it may not able to cope with opponent attacking fullback. As nowadays, fullback in EPL a lot of time, doing lot of overlapping and attacking opponent.

Good defence is the priority if want to be at top.
The team at top of table often have good record of goal scored against.

3-5-2 against weaker team may be, but a big no against good team.

Isn't it last years Liv has poor record against top half of the team generally?
The 3-5-2 formation can be effective depending on the personnel you have at your disposal. It is effectively a 5-3-2 when teams are defending as the 3 central defenders are usually flanked by 2 wingbacks, not wingers. Kenny and Rodgers to a degree did toy with this formation as we had the right personnel and it sorta worked. Enrique and Johnson while not in the mould of Cafu are equally adept at going forward as they are defending. The drawback is that neither are as disciplined as the great Brazillian and they often get caught out of position.

This formation was also more popular back when team played sweepers, effectively the deepest of the 3 centre backs. The role of libero or sweeper was played to great effect by the great Franz Beckenbauer and the mercurial Franco Baresi. The sweeper needs to be good at playing the ball and passing it. The other centre backs are encouraged to push forward. These days you don't get many central defenders who are good on the ball and adept at going forward. Daniel Agger is probably the only defender we have that comes remotely close to being a libero.

The 3-5-2 is actually deployed to protect against counter attacks because the team plays with 5 defenders. With the advent of the defensive midfielder who can slot in between the two centre backs, and the extinction of sweepers, this formation is used much less these days.
Duke Red
post Jun 30 2013, 08:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 30 2013, 03:20 PM)
3-5-2 may be a suicide tactic.

Little team play well with this kind of formation, and can leaking goal easy especially in EPL, as it may not able to cope with opponent attacking fullback. As nowadays, fullback in EPL a lot of time, doing lot of overlapping and attacking opponent.

Good defence is the priority if want to be at top.
The team at top of table often have good record of goal scored against.

3-5-2 against weaker team may be, but a big no against good team.

Isn't it last years Liv has poor record against top half of the team generally?
The 3-5-2 formation can be effective depending on the personnel you have at your disposal. It is effectively a 5-3-2 when teams are defending as the 3 central defenders are usually flanked by 2 wingbacks, not wingers. Kenny and Rodgers to a degree did toy with this formation as we had the right personnel and it sorta worked. Enrique and Johnson while not in the mould of Cafu are equally adept at going forward as they are defending. The drawback is that neither are as disciplined as the great Brazillian and they often get caught out of position.

This formation was also more popular back when team played sweepers, effectively the deepest of the 3 centre backs. The role of libero or sweeper was played to great effect by the great Franz Beckenbauer and the mercurial Franco Baresi. The sweeper needs to be good at playing the ball and passing it. The other centre backs are encouraged to push forward. These days you don't get many central defenders who are good on the ball and adept at going forward. Daniel Agger is probably the only defender we have that comes remotely close to being a libero. Problem is he isn't a particularly great defender and being the last man, the sweeper needs to have an excellent reading of the game. Agger is more suited to playing on the left of a defensive trio, allowing him to roam forward knowing he's got a man playing behind him.

The 3-5-2 is actually deployed to protect against counter attacks because the team plays with 5 defenders. With the advent of the defensive midfielder who can slot in between the two centre backs, and the extinction of sweepers, this formation is used much less these days.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 30 2013, 08:17 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 30 2013, 11:59 PM

6,112 posts

Great deal of pressure on the new lads to deliver especially if Suarez and Pepe leave. Still I think it's important to be supportive of the lads even if they don't meet expectations early on. They won't be there first and they certainly won't be the last. What matters to me is that they try. Igor Biscan wasn't blessed with talent but he played on inspite of the criticism and he won many admirers because of his attitude. Erik Meijer was another who showed great heart even if it was during a reserve game. Some people look beyond ability. Now where is that walking stick of mine?

The glass is either half empty or it's half full. Applies to just about everything, including football players and managers.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 1 2013, 09:58 AM
Duke Red
post Jul 1 2013, 10:12 AM

6,112 posts

So now Wigan want Jay Spearing who incidentally, was Bolton's player of the year after we shipped him out on loan. Tough nut that one, but not technically gifted enough to play pass & move football. I'd opt to keep him because for starters, he isn't going to fetch much. Also, he isn't earning much and he's a good option to have on the bench especially when we are being pressed back and we need someone to hound opposition players. However he's not getting any younger and first team football is a must for him at this point of his career.

Wigan are also targeting Scott Carson, another former Liverpool man. Tipped for bigger and better things during his youth (still only 27 though), but never lived up to his early promise. Like Chris Kirkland, he was tipped to be England's future no.1 at the time. Now worth only $750,000. 9
Duke Red
post Jul 1 2013, 11:07 AM

6,112 posts

Andy Carroll may not be someone you'd want to see start for Liverpool but he's definitely a bloke I'd want to go out on a drinking binge with.

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/andy-c...its-las-4751364

Good ol'Andy. Just 36 hrs before his medical with West Ham.
Duke Red
post Jul 1 2013, 11:19 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Jul 1 2013, 10:53 AM)
I would love to but other than Toure and Magnolia I have absolutely no idea about the others. I think Toure will be a natural fit into the system as he used to play in a pass and move team in arse. He should make our movement from the back more swiftly and faster.

Magnolia, not sure he's getting a chance but he's a very good competition to Pep.

I personally hope Aspas will shine while combining with Suarez and sturridge. And I am looking forward to him leading the line upfront alone if Danny and Luis are out or combining with Fabio borini or Yan Yan if he comes.
I've never judged a player solely on watching youtube videos. In fact, I seldom watch youtube vids of players. Based on report cards, they seem to possess the right attributes. Toure is a stop gap measure brought in to bring some experience at the back. No great expectations on his shoulder.

In terms of Mignolet, here's where he may struggle. Playing a high defensive line means the keeper will be required to play the ball with is feet rather frequently. Mignolet's passing accuracy isn't anywhere near Pepe's. Also, I'm not sure he's as adept as Pepe at rushing off his line to clear impending danger. He's a keeper who is used to staying on his line but to his credit, he does have good reflexes. He's 6'4" is Mignolet and he needs to come off his line more.

Can't comment on the likes of Aspas and Alberto as I've never watched either of them play, less so Alberto who has very little top flight experience. All I can say for certain is if they try their best in Liverpool red, I'll always be willing them on, even if the fall short in talent and ability. I support the jersey first and the player second.
Duke Red
post Jul 2 2013, 03:57 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(moodswingfella @ Jul 2 2013, 03:33 PM)
wat de fak did he think?!?!?! he think skahtar donetsk is good ah?!?@!@ They play in Siberian League can laa tapau small2 team?!?!?!  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

''Lucescu" (Skahtar boss) can understand the urge to leave to go to a club that surpasses Shakhtar" but says Anfield giants don't qualify (for Mkhtaryan)

compare and underestimate us somemoreee?!?!  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

“I can understand the urge to leave if he has a chance to go to a club that surpasses Shakhtar, like Barcelona or Real Madrid, but not many clubs are beyond our level - not clubs like Liverpool or Tottenham.

sos ---> http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/tra...-warned-2016987
Unless I'm mistaken, he's indicating that whilst Shakhtar are consistently in the Champions League, we are not. I think we need to come to terms with the fact that we are no longer giants.

However, one needs to consider that Anfield is still one of the most famous stadiums in the world and Liverpool are giants compared to Shaktar in terms of commercial value and appeal. To boot, the Premier League is light years ahead of the Russian league commercially speaking.
Duke Red
post Jul 2 2013, 04:01 PM

6,112 posts

The Liverpool Echo is reporting that the deal for Mkhitaryan is done and both clubs have settled on a $25 million pound transfer fee. Expected to be unveiled in 72 hrs pending a medical. Good news.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/footb...ur-mill-4799477?

Why are we still after Thomas Ince?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0460sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:01 PM