Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

jtl
post Jun 26 2006, 04:22 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(Suet @ Jun 26 2006, 02:43 PM)
Hi all, would like to ask about doggy food. My mongrel is so thin, I wanna feed him more hehe. Um, someone recommended Royal Canin. They really don't come cheap haha but for me still okay cause I want to see Caltex healthy. smile.gif

What's a next best substitute if I don't see Royal Canin at some shops?
Try Innova Evo. But thats even harder to find than Royal Canin. Where are you located, Suet?
jtl
post Mar 29 2007, 04:50 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Mar 29 2007, 04:43 PM)
haha, i'm gonna feed her later around 6pm see if she eat.
Have you dewormed her? Puppies below 3 months should be dewormed every 2 weeks and thereafter every 3 months
jtl
post Apr 5 2007, 11:58 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(t3ngt3ng @ Apr 5 2007, 09:13 AM)
any pet shop provide affordable grooming services? can giv some suggestions? The Pet Family full grooming is 90-160 wor..so expensive
t3ng t3ng, where are you located?

jtl
post Apr 5 2007, 01:46 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(t3ngt3ng @ Apr 5 2007, 01:16 PM)
i stay at ara damansara. which is very near to ss2, kelana jaya..those places. if got reasonable grooming service i can go further doesnt matter..as long as in pj area..pls giv some suggestions k? thanks
I am in Sunway. We do grooming here too but we charge RM80 for full groom. If you want cheaper, you can try Lee Pet in Pudu. I think they charge RM70. Not too sure. Can call them and ask. smile.gif

jtl
post Apr 5 2007, 02:24 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(t3ngt3ng @ Apr 5 2007, 02:18 PM)
oo..rm80 for full groom is ok ar. u hav any contacts? included styling n clipping the front hair ar?? Pudu is too far ler..
You got PMed smile.gif

jtl
post Apr 19 2007, 11:09 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Apr 19 2007, 10:32 PM)
Hmm, how much is the norm here per jab?
It's about RM40 for the 6in1 jab
jtl
post Apr 29 2007, 03:53 PM

788 posts

Today a toy poodle (4 months old) came in for grooming and he was seriously UNDERWEIGHT. So, we asked the owner what she was feeding. Here comes the sickening part. She said she was feeding dog food but she gave very little. So, we asked why and she was told by the breeder to control the dog's feeding if she wanted the dog to remain small!!!!

For those of you who want to have really small dogs, please please please please do not limit the dog's food just because of that. It is downright cruel and will cause serious health problems. Please don't be blinded by your desire to have small and cute dogs.

Puppies must eat puppy food and must be fed with sufficient food. There are some breeders who also recommend that in order for puppies to maintain their size, they should be fed with adult/maintenance food. This will stunt their growth and it is NOT right!

Please remember that they are dogs and cannot tell you that they are hungry or that they are not growing well. They depend on their owners to take care of their needs.

This post has been edited by jtl: Apr 29 2007, 05:24 PM
jtl
post Apr 29 2007, 07:25 PM

788 posts

My hubby said the exact same thing about African children. Hopefully after we educated her, she will feed more. When I bathed the dog, I could feel all its bones. So sad.....

She feeds her dog 3 spoons a day. In addition to supplements, my 6 month old toy poodle eats 1 and a half cups of Canidae a day and a half boiled egg every other day!

Then she asked "Eh, why my dog's fur and skin so terrrible ah?" Haiyo, not enough food, hence not enough nutrition, ma the fur terrrible la.

I really hope that the next time the dog comes for grooming, the dog has put on more weight.

This post has been edited by jtl: Apr 30 2007, 12:49 AM
jtl
post Apr 29 2007, 11:20 PM

788 posts

Nowadays people seem obsessed with small dogs. Sometimes, so bloody irritating. Yesterday, I had a customer asking me whether I had small small shih tzu and when I asked her how small, she opened both her arms to show about 4 inches long. I was like huh? I told her don't have and I told her that if she found a shih tzu that size, that dog would have serious health problems. She said, it's ok, as long small. OMG!!! What are people thinking????? Like crazymouse said, want so small, get a hamster la!

It's days like these that I wonder what the world is coming to.

jtl
post Apr 29 2007, 11:40 PM

788 posts

Kelly, my overweight chihuahua. Hahahaha. She use to have gastric and sensitive stomach problems, so the vet said to free feed her. After free feeding her on Eagle Pack Holistic Duck (suppose to be for dogs with sensitive stomachs) for a couple of months, she just piled on the pounds sweat.gif so now she is on controlled feeding - fed twice a day. If she doesn't finish her food within 15 minutes, it's taken away.

Here's a picture of her in her 'Fish'.

This post has been edited by jtl: Apr 29 2007, 11:53 PM
jtl
post Apr 29 2007, 11:59 PM

788 posts

Kelly also use to shed like crazy. She stopped when I fed her Addiction Vegetarian but I so kesian her eat vegetarian food, so now I feed her EP with salmon oil. Still sheds but not as bad as before la.

On another note, I appreciate that you don't simply pet strange dogs (although Kelly would love it la - she very very manja wan). I always feel that people should ask before they simply pet dogs - what if the dog is aggressive and bites the person. Then become whose fault?? Believe or not, there are plenty plenty of people who touch stranger's dogs without asking. I understand if the dog is running free outside but if the dog is leashed or cordoned off, I think it's only right they ask - just my two cents thought la.

This post has been edited by jtl: Apr 30 2007, 12:01 AM
jtl
post Apr 30 2007, 07:16 PM

788 posts

Thanks White Palace.
jtl
post May 1 2007, 05:16 PM

788 posts

No problem la. Use to it....so many dogs pee and poo here hahahaha That's why got tissue standby all the time.
jtl
post May 18 2007, 10:19 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ May 18 2007, 02:51 PM)
btw, i might have another silly question to ask.  Anyone of u here have an indon maid at home?  How u manage to leave the dog alone with the indon maid then?
Because if not mistaken indon maid don really like dogs rite?  Any ideas?
IMHO, it is not right to say that Indonesian maids do not really like dogs. Personally, I feel that it is a racist remark to make - but that's my personal opinion. But I do realise that you were asking a question, wanting to learn and did not assume, so for that, I take my hat off to you.

Anyways, to generalise a nationality like that is like saying all Malaysians are cheaters (just because a local taxi driver fleeced a foreigner) or that all Malaysians don't like dogs. A foreigner may meet a Muslim Malaysian and find out that it is against his religion to touch a dog's saliva. Would it be right for the foreigner to conclude that all Malaysians are like that?

Not liking animals, be it a dog or cat is a personal thing and has nothing to do with the nationality of the person. Therefore, some Malaysians, Indonesians, Americans, etc do like dogs and some don't.

Really not trying to tell anyone off here but sometimes it is in forums like these that we need learn. smile.gif

On another note, crazymouse is right. Treating a maid like one of the family makes a huge difference. It would be good for people to remember that they are humans too. They feel emotion, humiliation and pain too - they just have not had the same privileges as some of us. Sorry for the rambling but I am sometimes so disgusted at seeing some people treat their maids so horribly. They scream and yell at them in public and I always feel that the screamers are the ones who are uneducated.

This post has been edited by jtl: May 18 2007, 10:31 PM
jtl
post Jun 4 2007, 11:31 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jun 4 2007, 10:09 AM)
Ok ok, I'll increase the amount gradually like last time changing from nutriedge to blackwood. Anyone else use Eagle Pack ah??seems like all go for orijen liao.......
I use Eagle Pack. I like it
jtl
post Jun 8 2007, 04:06 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jun 8 2007, 03:55 PM)
Wah, onli RM20+...if not mistaken i purchase RM30 -RM35, forgot the exact figure.
But the petshop still earn alot leh......where else got this product ah? Seems like in US quite famous also, and i think for budget users like me good also.
Quality not bad, and can dilute many times, haha.......but not all from the series. SOme only can dilute 1:10, some 1:15, some 1:32.....have to read the instructions.
Where else can get ah..........Seapark there expensive lah.
Kelco will be the same price anywhere in Malaysia. Seapark is the distributor, so I don't think you will get it cheaper anywhere else.

Need to take into account that shipping and taxes cost a lot of for imported goods to be brought into this country and they would need to add that cost into the shampoo. That's probably why you find it cheaper online.
jtl
post Jun 11 2007, 11:37 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 11 2007, 11:09 PM)
any1 noe where 2 buy cheap greenies? genuine greenies.. teenie size..
Most pet shops sell Greenies wat. Buy the 16oz value pack la. More worth it ma
jtl
post Jun 12 2007, 12:24 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 12 2007, 12:01 AM)
how much is 1 normal packet usually?
RSP for 16oz is RM69.00. Some petshops give discount
jtl
post Jun 12 2007, 12:41 AM

788 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 12 2007, 12:36 AM)
ya..n i'm looking 4 da best deal..
i noe they don come cheap cos they hv been chewing away my rm69 4 a week..
you are giving them a whole bag a week???
jtl
post Jun 13 2007, 12:12 AM

788 posts

Actually, should blend the vegetables as dogs cannot digest whole vegetables. Raw is fine but just need to blend. Also, if one intends to go BARF, one should ensure that all ingredients make for a balanced meal.

0.0514sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:44 PM