Android Tablet Recommendation, List of sellers too!

dragontongue88
post Dec 18 2013, 09:06 PM

360 posts

Hi guys, appreciate some recommendation.

Looking for a tablet:

1. Brand: Any, may prefer China brands due to their cheaper price.
2. Budget: Below RM 1000 if possible, the cheaper the better. tongue.gif
3. Specs: Nothing specific. Preferably large screen size so easy to type.
4. What you need in the tablet: Going to use it mainly for work, emails and communication. Needs 3G, for internet connection on the go. Oh, good battery life is a plus as well.

So far for my search, I've found some China-made models, called PIPO M7 Pro, and a larger one called PIPO M9 Pro. Any comments guys? Any better ones around the same prize?

Thanks all.

dragontongue88
post Dec 20 2013, 09:33 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Dec 19 2013, 11:43 AM)
Below 1k and 3G?

Some ALL IT brances are clearing their Asus Nexus 7C stock.

Less than 1k, definitely brows.gif

Last I saw was RM700+ iinm.
Thanks for the reply. rclxms.gif The Nexus 7 is definitely very attractive, price cheap and can consider branded as well. Only downside is the screen size only 7 inches. Just a bit on the smaller side when it comes to tablet. A pity Nexus 10 don't have 3G. sad.gif

Do you have any experience with China tablets like PIPO, bro? I've noticed they have a few tablets with 3G around RM 8xx-9xx that has 9 inches or 10 inches screen. Only worry is the quality of those China tablets. Do you think it is better to go with the more guaranteed quality of Nexus 7 cellular but smaller screen size, or is it better to go with those China tablets with bigger screen size? hmm.gif

Thanks. notworthy.gif
dragontongue88
post Dec 20 2013, 09:24 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Dec 20 2013, 09:42 AM)
I have tried a few chinese tablets, with mixed feelings.

If you can DIY and dont care about warranty, then china tablets should be fine for you. If not, better stick to well known brands than Chinese brands with dubious warranty and even worse build quality..
Maybe it is better to up my budget a bit, and go for a known brand. Did some snooping around in garage sales, saw a seller selling the older generation Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 inch at Rm1099. Not sure if have stock, but if around that price maybe can consider. I'll have a look around. Anyway, thanks for the advise bro. notworthy.gif

dragontongue88
post Mar 5 2014, 11:38 AM

360 posts

Dear sifus, it's me again. Last time ask for recommendation, but end up didn't buy, spent the budget already. sweat.gif

Looking for something a bit different from my previous requirements this time:

Budget: 600 to 1000
Brand: any brand
Criteria : 7 inch phablet, must have 3G (LTE is a bonus but not necessary). Preferably with voice call capabilities. (I don't plan to use this phablet to make any calls, but prefer to be able to use in emergency. However, do suggest those without voice call as well, I'm considering them as well.) Decent camera is a bonus. smile.gif
Usage : email, sms, whatsapp, dealing with documents like doc, excel or pdf.

So far my search came up with Asus Fonepad 7, wonder if the sifus here can recommend any alternatives or perhaps give some opinions on the Fonepad 7. I think the Fonepad 7 is better than the Galaxy Tab 3 7.0. hmm.gif Looking for something that is value for money.

Thanks a lot. notworthy.gif
dragontongue88
post Mar 7 2014, 09:29 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Mar 6 2014, 02:34 PM)
Take new version..

tab 3 7.0 lite rm6xx ori set  icon_idea.gif
Thanks for the suggestion. The Fonepad 7 does seem to be better than the Tab 3 Lite in various specs though, for around similar price.
dragontongue88
post Mar 7 2014, 06:31 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 7 2014, 09:39 AM)
Same thought here, I would stay away from all Samsung Low and Mid spec devices. Go for Fonepad 7. Not sure the new 7HD will do better or not.
Thanks for the suggestion. I'm leaning towards the Fonepad 7 at the moment. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dragontongue88: Mar 10 2014, 09:29 AM
dragontongue88
post Mar 10 2014, 09:32 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(l.k.y @ Mar 8 2014, 10:33 AM)
is that this ASUS Fonepad 7 Dual SIM (ME175CG)

https://www.asus.com/Tablets_Mobile/ASUS_Fo...#specifications
I think that's the dual sim version. I'm looking at the single sim one, this one:
http://www.asus.com/Tablets_Mobile/ASUS_Fonepad_7_ME372CG/

Any recommendations between buying from directd and satu gadget dot com guys? I enquired with both of them, their prices are very similar.
dragontongue88
post Mar 10 2014, 11:56 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 10 2014, 10:23 AM)
I think either one will, do they offer the same period of warranty? Just bargain for the cheapest price if you don't need any freebies from them.  hmm.gif
Thanks for the reply. I think the warranty should be 1 year provided by Asus, I'll clarify with them and ask if they are giving any freebies. tongue.gif
dragontongue88
post Mar 14 2014, 08:53 PM

360 posts

I bought my Fonepad 7 already, the 16 GB version. thumbup.gif Price given here as reference to others who are interested in this phablet as well, I bought it for RM 678.

Ok going to rant a little bit, I bought it from Satu Gadget Dot Com, they were quite fast in dealing and posting. But a bit unhappy they didn't gave me the free gifts they promised and more importantly they sold me the screen protector for Asus Memo Pad HD 7. mad.gif I asked if they had screen protector, they say they have it but they didn't tell me it was for Memo Pad HD 7. It can cover the whole screen but it is quite big, so it touches the rough surface at both edge of the Fonepad 7. The screen protector can't stick there properly since that part is not smooth. mad.gif

0.0398sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:15 PM