Hi Perfomance ram for k7, thinking to run at 2-2-2-11@240++

TSskydna
post May 4 2006, 01:28 AM, updated 20y ago

236 posts

cause want to playing now days on9 game thinking to change the ram to 1gb
now i am using kingston hyperx DDR333 ultra low delay ram(2-2-2-5)
(if change to 2x512 value ram fell like down gread)
so now day wht ram can run 2-2-2-11(2-3-3-11 oso can) at hi fsb ?(like 250mhz)
cause i have a unlock 1700+ rclxm9.gif
si fu here pls gv me some comment...... icon_question.gif

kulus
post May 4 2006, 01:31 AM

|||||||||||
904 posts

if u want ur ram timing at 2-2-2-5 and 250 Mhz, i think only BH-5 chip can do that.. but u need ultra vdimm lol
TSskydna
post May 4 2006, 01:33 AM

236 posts

but i heard some ppl say the new BH5 not work well at NF2 board oo
almostthere
post May 4 2006, 02:17 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

BH5 regardless old or new will not work well on nF2 if you plan to run it double sided dual channel. Only works best if single sided dual channel or double sided single channel (1t Clocks Per Command drive) and you will need to mess with alpha timings. Best tool would be tictacs nf2 tweaker. I see your using an Ultra Infinity, if you need the modded BIOS (Which do help OC'ing bandwidth) PM me ur e-mail and I'll send to you my whole collection

A good guide for the good ol' nF2 UI's : http://www.logan.eclipse.co.uk/dfi_ui___lpb_faq.htm

nF2 tweaker and miscellanous nF2 related downloads: http://www.logan.eclipse.co.uk/downloads.htm
TSskydna
post May 7 2006, 01:27 AM

236 posts

so if i buy a pair of twinmos speed premium 2x512 which using new BH5
i just can run in single channel with 1t timming
or dual channel 2t timming

cause really think to overclock more before change to other system
and TCCD really hard to find now days with low price
soulfly
post May 7 2006, 10:52 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

even if you get TCCD.... that wont solve your problem as nF2 hates any double sided RAM if you want to run it dual channel or 1T
Cyclone87
post May 7 2006, 11:21 AM

1,254 posts

I suggest you get Something Like UCCC 512mbx2. It is single sided ram.And even the timing is loose. 8-3-3-3.0..when you dual Channel on K7...it will give u up to 95-96% bandwitdh efficiency which will beat BH5 at 5-2-2-2.0 which giving u 93% at single channel. IF dual u get 96%. I personally tested it. So i guess your best ram for your budget is UCCC.
TSskydna
post May 7 2006, 12:51 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ May 7 2006, 11:21 AM)
I suggest you get Something Like UCCC 512mbx2. It is single sided ram.And even the timing is loose. 8-3-3-3.0..when you dual Channel on K7...it will give u up to 95-96% bandwitdh efficiency which will beat BH5 at 5-2-2-2.0 which giving u 93% at single channel. IF dual u get 96%. I personally tested it. So i guess your best ram for your budget is UCCC.
emm...but i dun think tat UCCC can beat BH5 at super pi
and i find tat UCCC on 512mb per stick
hard to find also
just see before corsair value got UCCC at 1gb stick

or buy just buy BH5/TCCD 2x512 and running in single channel 1t
and 2t at dual channel
will the result batter?
or if i plug 2 stick duoble side ram with single or double channel
the system will not boot or crash in windows?

Cyclone87
post May 7 2006, 02:53 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(skydna @ May 7 2006, 12:51 PM)
emm...but i dun think tat UCCC can beat BH5 at super pi
and i find tat UCCC on 512mb per stick
hard to find also
just see before corsair value got UCCC at 1gb stick

or buy just buy BH5/TCCD 2x512 and running in single channel 1t
and 2t at dual channel
will the result batter?
or if i plug 2 stick duoble side ram with single or double channel
the system will not boot or crash in windows?
In K8 Athlon64..definately BH5 pwn it due to higher memory bandwidth efficiency due to Tight timing. Anyway..on K7..it different story. Since UCCC can do 260-270FSB easily at low vdimm. And yet...you can dual channel the UCCC easily and bring up the bandwidth efficiency above what a BH5 can offer u.

512x2 BH5 at DDR500 5-2-2-2.0 Single Channel 1T will give u around 3700mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 BH5 at DDR450 5-2-2-2.0 Dual Channel 1/2T will give you only 3400mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 UCCC at DDR500 8-3-3-3.0 Dual Channel 1T will give u up to 3800mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 UCCC at DDR500 8-3-3-3.0 SingleChannel 1T will give u up to 3400-3500mb/sec bandwidth.
If you can get ur Barton run at DDR540-550 on UCCC dual channel...i guess BH5 will be totally pwn by it by 10-15% performence margin.

Believe it or not..try it yourself. That what i can help u based on my experience. I already retired K7 for almost 1/2 years. rclxm9.gif
Running Dual Channel 15-5-5-3.0 with 1/2T on K7 offer performence greater then 5-2-2-2.0 Single Channel 1T. It because under DC the extra bandwidth in too big for the K7 Archtitecture to handle and hence it will use it to squeze the ram to perform at higher efficiency up 95-96% under any timing.

This post has been edited by Cyclone87: May 7 2006, 02:56 PM
TSskydna
post May 7 2006, 04:51 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ May 7 2006, 02:53 PM)
In K8 Athlon64..definately BH5 pwn it due to higher memory bandwidth efficiency due to Tight timing. Anyway..on K7..it different story. Since UCCC can do 260-270FSB easily at low vdimm. And yet...you can dual channel the UCCC easily and bring up the bandwidth efficiency above what a BH5 can offer u.

512x2 BH5 at DDR500 5-2-2-2.0 Single Channel 1T will give u around 3700mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 BH5 at DDR450 5-2-2-2.0 Dual Channel 1/2T will give you only 3400mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 UCCC at DDR500 8-3-3-3.0 Dual Channel 1T will give u up to 3800mb/sec bandwidth.
512x2 UCCC at DDR500 8-3-3-3.0 SingleChannel  1T will give u up to 3400-3500mb/sec bandwidth.
If you can get ur Barton run at DDR540-550 on UCCC dual channel...i guess BH5 will be totally pwn by it by 10-15% performence margin.

Believe it or not..try it yourself. That what i can help u based on my experience. I already retired K7 for almost 1/2 years.  rclxm9.gif
Running Dual Channel 15-5-5-3.0 with 1/2T on K7 offer performence greater then 5-2-2-2.0 Single Channel 1T. It because under DC the extra bandwidth in too big for the K7 Archtitecture to handle and hence it will use it to squeze the ram to perform at higher efficiency up 95-96% under any timing.
ooo really thx si fu
so i think going to low yat to search for 512mb x2 of UCCC

0.0169sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:44 PM