Do Chinese men still pay girl's family a dowry?, Bride price to be more accurate.

funnybone
post Jun 5 2013, 01:11 PM

1,040 posts

Do we have to give? I've allocated about RM30K for this. If don't have to I can use the money to buy some electronic gadgets brows.gif
funnybone
post Jun 5 2013, 01:54 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(TheOwl @ Jun 5 2013, 01:52 PM)
RM30k should be enough for everything bcs the angpows will help you pay for the dinner. Today's young people don't understand the role of the angpow in a wedding. It's to help one family celebrate the marriage of their child. So it's a community effort. People are actually paying for their dinner and relatives/friends who are rich will give more than the actual price of the dinner to help out with other expenses like liquor etc.

I think if you're a man your parents must at least ask her parents,maybe through somebody. Do not take things for granted or your parents could lose face. Tolong give them face and make them proud.
Means I still have to hold on to the money. Can't get some gadgets then unsure.gif
funnybone
post Jun 5 2013, 02:06 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(TheOwl @ Jun 5 2013, 02:03 PM)
Yes,you had better to be on the safe side. Buy after the wife is safely in your bed hahaha
Hehe..right on thumbup.gif

0.0148sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:56 AM