Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V3, Kernel & Wakelock issue on LTE !

KennyKB
post Jun 4 2013, 02:50 PM

1,765 posts

It's not just the time spent to learn how to root, you also have to learn how to unroot if you need warranty and that can be scary. What happens if your phone is not in a condition to allow you to unroot? Btw, has anybody tried to claim warranty from Samsung with a rooted phone? I've heard some users say they don't really care but can't confirm this.

KennyKB
post Jun 4 2013, 10:06 PM

1,765 posts

Doesn't the S4 LTE version come with only 4 cores? What a shame!
KennyKB
post Jun 5 2013, 01:57 PM

1,765 posts

So why do you want 40Mbps and what can you do with it on your mobile? Download a HD movie and bust your quota before you even finish? Stream video? But you can already stream video with 3G speed. Surfing, messaging and emailing is not going to make any difference. Don't get me wrong, I think faster speed is good but not if you have to pay a premium for a speed you do not need. Or is this a case of having bragging rights?

KennyKB
post Jun 5 2013, 03:02 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(yccheah1989 @ Jun 5 2013, 02:53 PM)
hello, wanna ask that where is the nfc chip in S4? is built in the phone or the back case like note 2? thanks
It is built into the battery...to encourage you to use Samsung battery.

KennyKB
post Jun 5 2013, 05:23 PM

1,765 posts

Guys, how much free space does your 32GB S4 have?

KennyKB
post Jun 5 2013, 06:11 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 5 2013, 06:06 PM)
Very nice, and with full flagship specs ....... worth getting ....
Will it survive a drop?

KennyKB
post Jun 6 2013, 06:02 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 6 2013, 11:52 AM)
Why do people dislike physical / capacitive button? I think having physical buttons gives you 100% screen real estate instead of losing 80 pixels or so for the buttons.
Physical buttons can wear out if pressed frequently like iphone's home button.

KennyKB
post Jun 8 2013, 11:01 AM

1,765 posts

Just read a report that the S4 Active will be sold at the same price as the regular S4. Is water and dust resistance worth giving up the AMOLED screen and 12MP camera for LCD screen and 8MP? Furthermore nothing has been said about impact resistance to drops. Hmm...something to think about.

KennyKB
post Jun 10 2013, 12:33 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jun 10 2013, 11:59 AM)
how to monitor? any apps?
There is nothing wrong with your phone. Even if you leave it to charge overnight it can still drop to 98% or 99% while on the charger because it stops charging when full and doesn't start charging again until power drops below a certain level.

KennyKB
post Jun 10 2013, 05:45 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(R3turn @ Jun 10 2013, 05:07 PM)
I just tried to figure how to configure the gmail sync.. cant find it
The GMail app is push email by default. No need to configure the sync schedule. You should get the email when it arrives or just a few minutes delay.

KennyKB
post Jun 13 2013, 03:53 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jun 13 2013, 03:40 PM)
rm1749 can get already.octa version
AP set?
KennyKB
post Jun 15 2013, 01:43 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jun 14 2013, 05:34 PM)
I can believe all other drop test, shake test or whatever until waterproof test. Samsung didn't even mention it, does it apply to Korea S4 only or a hidden feature?  hmm.gif
The waterproof test is for the S4 Active. It is clearly stated in the pop up caption.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Jun 15 2013, 01:54 PM

KennyKB
post Jun 16 2013, 06:44 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Jun 16 2013, 05:56 PM)
Hmm I dun se3 any HDR for video r3cord.And the moved app to sd.do v need to install the apps?sorry fo4 noob question
HDR means combining photos at various exposures to get an overall better exposed photo for highlights and shadows. There is no such thing as HDR for video recording and there is no move to SD card facility for S4 at the moment until Samsung release an upgrade.
KennyKB
post Jun 18 2013, 10:20 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:06 AM)
Guys my screen just cracked is there warranty for it? And how much is the repair cost?
How did you crack your screen? With casing or no casing? Just interested to know how tough/fragile the S4 is.

KennyKB
post Jun 18 2013, 10:30 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:22 AM)
my phone drop from my working desk.. it dive to the floor.. im using s view cover only.. no scratches or dent thats really surprise me but the screen cracked that make me down
Tough luck bro. Maybe this extreme shock case would have saved your S4.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Jun 18 2013, 10:30 AM
KennyKB
post Jun 18 2013, 12:37 PM

1,765 posts

Hey guys, any idea when Google map turn by turn navigation will come to Malaysia? Singapore already has this since Nov 2012. Google has also released their navigation app for ios. So iphone users are having better features from Google maps than Android users? Kind of like treating your step son better than your own son huh?

KennyKB
post Jun 18 2013, 01:33 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(blacksunday @ Jun 18 2013, 01:20 PM)
did you have to install kies software onto your lappy before use?
Connecting to a WiFi hotspot has nothing to do with Kies. If you are tethering via USB cable you may need Kies but not too sure about this.

KennyKB
post Jun 18 2013, 02:41 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Jun 18 2013, 02:28 PM)
http://support.google.com/gmm/bin/answer.p...n&answer=172221

Nope. Maps are pushing the latest interface (the one that they show in I/O) out to all countries, Turn by Turn navigation to third world countries are the least of their concerns. We are able to use the new Maps Beta, but turn by turn navi isn't available yet so it's gonna be pointless.
Thank you for your information. There are some very obscure countries on the list including Kenya, Senegal and Ivory Coast but not Malaysia. They may not even heard of Malaysia. Looks like a long wait.
KennyKB
post Jun 19 2013, 11:30 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Jun 19 2013, 11:23 AM)
Its not only with Samsung, its with every phone lol..
Except for iphones which are sold at list price from launch to end of model life. I think it is Apple which keeps the price of smartphones high. Other manufacturers just price their flagships slightly below the latest iphone 16GB. If you compare the price of smartphones with other electronic items like LCD TVs, PCs and laptops, RM2200 for a smartphone has very little justification.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Jun 19 2013, 11:34 AM
KennyKB
post Jun 19 2013, 01:33 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Jun 19 2013, 01:22 PM)
3G set, as per his thread.
Lazada.com.my selling 16GB I9500 SME for RM1828

0.0272sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:00 PM