Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V3, Kernel & Wakelock issue on LTE !
joytest
Jun 18 2013, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(ahodil @ Jun 18 2013, 12:08 AM) Yeah, idk why people are making fuss over it ... Coz 38-40 degrees FEELS VERY HOT compared to normal body temp. It's like a high fever. However, once you have an app or widget that can tell you the exact temperature, then it's no big deal. Computers need numbers to be helped.
joytest
Jun 18 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(HaN18 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:15 PM) Went to SC.. They charge RM580 for the infamous gorilla glass.. Damn!! I thought gorilla glass is very strong buy why they crack easily !! They are replacing the entire screen assembly. IINM the glass is bonded to the screen, so you cannot just replace the cracked glass. Did the RM580 include labor as well?
joytest
Jun 18 2013, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jun 18 2013, 09:11 PM) My data is surfmore75 and over limit will throttle the speed. Furthermore I am angry is that my limit is rm200. How the h*ll it can got over to 1000/- ++. Surfmore 75 should not suffer from excess data charge, since any plans with more than 1Gb data are now "unlimited" but throttled. You should ask for your itemized bill, even if you have to pay RM10 this round if you didn't enable it earlier.
joytest
Jun 18 2013, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 18 2013, 10:18 PM) future proof, although might need to wait for a long time...and new snapdragon 800 chipset For this one, by that time it will be Snapdragon 1400 with LTE AAA+ and I'm not sure if bolehland would even have full regular LTE coverage.
joytest
Jun 18 2013, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(ayed08 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:42 PM) SO if im on surfmore75,actually my data plan is unlimited right?only if finished 5gb quota,speed will be slow right?but still can use data plan without any extra charges? That;s what Maxis SMS-blasted all their customers sometime earlier this year.
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(soul_fly9900 @ Jun 19 2013, 01:48 PM) Guys, is there any big problem with S4 that cause the sudden price drop? Was looking to buy Note 2 for my wife and noticed that can already get S4 if add another RM150 or so. For the S4 3G, I suppose a sudden drop in demand due to availability of the LTE model. And furthermore, Samsung lost USD20b in share value over the last month or so due to lower forecasted sales vs "analyst expectations". On top of that, there's credible competition from the Sony XZ and HTC 1. All that being said, Note 2 is in a different category of device geared towards productivity. If you don't use the S-pen at all, then take the S4. Note 2 battery life still tops anything below 3500mAh in battery size, meaning EVERY PHONE except for the Huawei Ascend Mate.
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jun 19 2013, 03:02 PM) Now Maxis One Club also got special deal for Samsung S4 LTE. RM999 contracted with TalkMore78 + 6GB Data (RM98 p/m) for 24 months. 178 x 24 = 4272 Phone = 999 Total = 5271 Outright = 1999 Surfmore 75 x 24 = 1800 Estimated call amount 50 x 24 = 1200 Total = 4999 Of course your call amount (incl sms) is variable, but with all the IP telephony and IP messaging, I would expect call charges to be low.
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jun 19 2013, 03:51 PM) Include in :- Suka suka Overcharge bill from maxis = rm1000. So did you get that sorted out? They actually charge your data usage then they knock it off, so as someone said to you earlier, it could be from the data charge before they knocked it off. Tell us what happened.
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(weileong @ Jun 19 2013, 04:32 PM) i regret signing during S3 launching for MOC RM999 which VP 50+ RM68 (3GB) data X 24 months...the contract end till 1st June 2014 and now S3 not even worth RM1k.. So any telco contract for 24 months for me is not worth unless user not really upgrade their device every year  50+68 is reasonable since it should fit in with fairly normal usage patterns, and 3Gb can get used up within 1 month. You could take the 68 as the top up payment, since you are going to have to spend between 30-50 to maintain a postpaid line anyway. 50+68 x 24 = 2832 Phone = 999 Total = 3831 Phone outright 1999 (at that time) calls 50 x 24 = 1200 Total = 3199 but no data ??? That MOC plan last year was worthwhile.
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 05:12 PM
Soyacincau article earlier today. I think someone has posted it? Nvm, here it is again. Massive price cuts.... http://www.soyacincau.com/2013/06/19/samsu...ive-price-cuts/
joytest
Jun 19 2013, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(yvliew @ Jun 19 2013, 07:46 PM) Kernel & Wakelock issue on LTE just saw this. what is the problems ?? I guess if you don't have the problem, you don't. That guy was saying he had 50% drain in a few hours, so he was advised to check his wakelocks.
joytest
Jun 21 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(ahodil @ Jun 21 2013, 08:32 PM) im waiting for pure vanilla rom.. actually.. and i dont really know how to root (ive read twice but still cant get into it..) Rooting is simply enabling a software switch that opens all locks on your phone.
joytest
Jun 21 2013, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(ahodil @ Jun 21 2013, 08:42 PM) i know that, just i guess i have no courage to do it.. Technophobia ....
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jun 22 2013, 10:32 AM) A piece of advice bro. Think first before posting and write something meaningful.
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(666devil @ Jun 22 2013, 11:11 AM) 1 question : is posting useless stuff as bad as spewing posts who screw anybody to show how clever 1 is, for intention of increasing post count and ask ppl to see his accumulated stars? This is a public forum, so anyone is free to state opinions, so differences do happen. Just don't deteriorate into a flame war bringing on the mods. Seeing different opinions is educational, and sometimes you get to see the patently absurd for a good laugh.
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(aqblood @ Jun 22 2013, 01:46 PM) Is Custom ROM always better than stock Rom? The best answer ever: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « It depends.
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(aqblood @ Jun 22 2013, 02:37 PM) Omega / Wamnam / Crash ROM, in your opinion which is better? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Epic answer is epic.
Please refer to the most epic answer ever already. Seriously. ROM usage patterns are highly individual. If you like TW stuff, stay with TW based ROMs. If you like to be bleeding edge and can stand losing some TW functionality, go CM/AOSP. Be prepared for worse battery life as ivanchin said. I do not have an S4 but like to kpc off and on.
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 22 2013, 11:37 PM) You are right. I registered 2 Samsung smartphones myself by emailing the same details to ewarranty.sme@samsung.com instead of a 3rd party. Then I got back the confirmation sms from Samsung. How difficult is that? You don't need to be a Samsung dealer or agent to e-register your warranty. If you think it is better to give your imei to a stranger for something which takes no extra effort to do yourself then go ahead. It is nothing with being paranoid or VIP. The fellow may be sincere or not, you don't really know for sure but if you have given him your imei and phone no., sleep well. Just hope that in future nobody clone your phone and sock you with a big bill. AFAIK you cannot clone your SIM with just the IMEI. Even if they did clone your IMEI, the telco reads secure information off your SIM before allowing you to call.
joytest
Jun 22 2013, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(666devil @ Jun 22 2013, 11:50 PM) Crazy price. Satu gadget already selling ori lte 32gb set at rm2199. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2253918Good price. Samsung is in trouble now. I'm feeling a little sad for Samsung, but I'm happy as a consumer...
joytest
Jun 24 2013, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(carbike @ Jun 24 2013, 09:05 PM) if running on custom rom no point juga. To flash stock roms/kernel still require microusb port Airdroid? Wifi File Explorer? Wifi file transfers without using your micro usb. You can even download ROMs and kernels and flashable zips directly on your device. Android gives you more ways to skin a cat than some other closed platform. This post has been edited by joytest: Jun 24 2013, 09:12 PM