V11 - Property Prices Discussion, Intelligent debates only pls

KLsooner
post Jun 12 2013, 10:34 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(JudgeDredd @ Jun 12 2013, 08:47 AM)
Sorry to bump in here. Have been observing the progress of this thread a few hot topics. Realised something important but forgotten and not sure who voiced it out. Living in a few million worth of bungalow feeling proud and sound. Buying few hundred thousand condos flip here and there and calling poor buyers like us water fishes.

No doubt sounded very successful in a way if don't compare to those silence readers who might be even more successful (usually many won't talk too much if really successful, some who needs more attention and recognision will make some noise).

However, I believe property is a rich man game. When you look at the example above, rich people living in multimillion bungalow and buying cheaper properties worth few hundred thousand to flip to those poor working people and after being sold the property and pocket the profit, poor buyers are to be labelled water fish. So its no doubt rich gets richer and poor gets poorer.

What to do, poor guy like me have to just stand behind some ego rich guy smelling fart. However, I believe 1 day poor guys can make it to the elite group too but will make sure if I make it, I will never call poor guys water fish.
1. Basically any one can be called water fish regardless he is poor or rich.
2. If poor guy shouldn't be labelled as water fish so would calling a rich guy water fish make sense?
3. If neither poor nor rich guys should be called water fish, then on who we should call water fish?
4. A rich guy flipping the few hundred k house after some remarkable mark up to a guy who can afford the price, can we say the guy is poor?

KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 10:32 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 10:18 AM)
You rent a house before? I've been renting for my first 3 year in Klang Valley. Things which you can't do or wouldn't do..

1) renovate your house. No KC. No expensive furniture. No nice decoration in your home.
2) If you want to install an aircond.. You need to find a unit which most likely to cost more than your installment at the end of the day.. Rent the expensive unit for the rest of your life meh?
3) If 1 year you spend RM13.2k in rental.. In 10 years you are leaking RM132k to someone's pocket. That's IF.. and ONLY IF.. the fellow does not raise the rental. I've leaked RM36k to someone sad.gif
4) Borrowing at a young age for 35 years loan is most likely cheaper as compared to renting. Not all the time.. Most of the time.. Renting a double storey landed would be even better.

Things which is good..

1) You do not need to pay cukai pintu.
2) You do not need to pay maintenance
3) You do not need to worry about the condo when it have issues like land soil corrosion.. Cracking condos... water leaking and so on so forth.

It has it's pros and con.. but definitely I would not want to leak RM132k in 10 years time to someone else pocket.
Blaaader, there is a cost of borrowing if you buy your own property, instead of paying to the landlord, you are paying to the bank. If your rental is below 4% of the cost of the house, it is better rent. There is a risk also your property price may come down in future if you buy at the wrong time at the wrong place.

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Jul 15 2013, 10:41 AM
KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 10:41 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 10:38 AM)
Blader amacam you calculate one.. The interest you pay to the bank spread out in x number of years.. The money you pay to the HOUSE owner is purely CASH.. The property prices have a chance of shooting up or down but at the same time it would mean the rental will be going up or down as well la.

You rather take RM1.5k to pay the owner instead of paying the bank when the property is under your name????
Did you realise for a 400k loan over a 30 year period, after 10 years of repayment of 2k each month amounting to 240k over 120 months (10 years), you still owe the bank 320k?

Then you will come cry that bank sucks all your bloody money, 160k to the bank, 80k to the principle.
And that is just cost of interest alone, provided historically low interest does not go up, + all the cukais, maintenance and etc, the cost to own is much higher. Do the math carefully.

I am not discourage you to buy but buy within your means. The money you pay to bank also CASH, blaader.

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Jul 15 2013, 10:57 AM
KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 11:08 AM

737 posts

Blaader,
You misread my post completely, in your case, the rental fetch a handsome return of >7%. So it is better to buy than rent.

I am saying if it is <4%, meaning lower than bank interest at this moment, it is better to rent.

Mind to tell me where you live now? I want to buy a unit for investment.
KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 12:55 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 11:22 AM)
Blader... I dorwan to take the rental yield to talk about it leh.. Even if renting for RM1.1k as compared to installment I still don't think it's worth it, that's just me. If I can afford RM1.1k i'll still find away to save up the money and buy a place. Anyway my current unit is Puri Ayu Condo in Batu 3 shah alam. 1 unit rented out at 1.4k while staying in another.. Shifting out soon after I get the Keys for Koi Kinrara most likely 4 months time.
Blaader,

My neighbour house rented out to a family for 900, bare unit, she works in singapore, market price 550-600k. Does it make any sense to buy it if you are staying there?

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Jul 15 2013, 12:58 PM
KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 01:55 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(mashimoro85 @ Jul 15 2013, 01:28 PM)
problem is now days, most men can't afford to provide roof on their own without help.. so women has to worry as well  sad.gif
rclxms.gif
thumbup.gif
KLsooner
post Jul 15 2013, 02:20 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 01:59 PM)
I like the term Blaader haha.

Anyway which area was that? landed property right? In some places like Malacca or smaller towns like Kapar and so on.. Yeah... rental is much adviseable man.. Take for example Kuantan. A new house in Air Puteh cost RM480k.. but if you rent a double storey 20x70 in that area.. It's just RM650.. For such cases renting is definitely better la.

Can't argue much about that.
Blaader, you haven't tell your place where 250k apartment can rent out for 1.5k. PM me la I wanna invest.
KLsooner
post Jul 16 2013, 10:28 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 15 2013, 03:03 PM)
Wei Kawan.. Already mentioned up there la. go check back my post. Anyway my condo here you can't find anymore @ 250k and 265k la. You are 18 months late. lol
I think I missed your reply. Ok the one in Bt3.

Check in iprop, where got 265k anymore, all 300k+. You sudah untung besar

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Jul 16 2013, 10:48 AM

0.0451sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:56 PM