> PayPal terminate payments service in Malaysia

TSeverest
post May 29 2013, 01:04 PM, updated 13y ago

123 posts

Dear Customers,

As PayPal focuses on our business strategy of enabling secure and convenient commercial transactions in Malaysia, we regret to inform you that the Personal Payments service will no longer be available in Malaysia from 4 June 2013. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

PayPal’s mission is to connect merchants of all sizes to millions of consumers around the world, creating more economic opportunities for individuals, businesses and communities. As such, we would like to assure you that you will still be able to use PayPal for commercial activities. For example, you can still shop and pay with any local or overseas PayPal merchant and receive payments for sale of goods and services from any local or overseas buyer with a PayPal account.

We have created this webpage to address concerns and questions you may have. You can also contact our customer support team by logging into your PayPal account and clicking on ‘contact us’ at the bottom of the page.

The success of PayPal depends on the success of the community. We thank you for your ongoing support in enabling more secure commerce anytime, anywhere and any way.

Sincerely,

The PayPal Team

https://www.paypal.com/my/webapps/mpp/personal-payments-faq

This post has been edited by everest: May 29 2013, 01:07 PM
seiluen
post May 29 2013, 01:05 PM

550 posts

Means we cannot use PayPal anymore ?
aku_dia

1,043 posts

WHATTTTTTT!!!
SUSmarumaru

189 posts

sigh must be cause of all the scammers
nazq

dead inside
1,180 posts

A bit confused about "Personal Payments"
SUSsfx3000
post May 29 2013, 01:06 PM

46 posts

Not paypal's fault. This is Malaysian government involvement, just like in SIngapore.

They want to be able to track all financial exchanges.

They can't if you pay each other through paypal.

Government/Bank Negara wants to know every transaction.

To prevent tax evasion issues.
pineapplegrenade
post May 29 2013, 01:07 PM

Kena sanction lor. But nvm, not a big problem anyway.
ghoss
post May 29 2013, 01:09 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(nazq @ May 29 2013, 01:05 PM)
A bit confused about "Personal Payments"
Personal payment is like , I pay/transfer to another normal user . If use to buy things still can.

Aiya...this one can be easily avoid la ~

Just use the merchat tools and ask people to make payment there.
un.deux.trois

679 posts

QUOTE(sfx3000 @ May 29 2013, 01:06 PM)
Not paypal's fault. This is Malaysian government involvement, just like in SIngapore.

I concur. If it is due to credit card fraud, they would have discontinued the service to merchants as well.
SUSMrUbikeledek

580 posts

QUOTE(sfx3000 @ May 29 2013, 01:06 PM)

Sorry boys and girls, tax evasion is a privilage for the cronies only.

This post has been edited by MrUbikeledek: May 29 2013, 01:09 PM
k-prince
post May 29 2013, 01:10 PM

so i can still sell and pay for stuff on ebay rite?
DarkEmotion88

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

still can use paypal to pay online overseas merchant like ebay and stuffs but can't use the "personal payment" to transfer money. Can still use paypal to pay overseas ppl using the services and goods option.

This post has been edited by DarkEmotion88: May 29 2013, 01:10 PM
SUSsfx3000

46 posts

Yes can still buy things using paypal, just did it yesterday.

The key is personal payment, notorious tool for money laundering and tax evasion.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 29 2013, 01:11 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

nice move... no lesser paypal scam in malaysia
funnybone
post May 29 2013, 01:11 PM

1,040 posts

Farking shit...........have to redeveloped programs catering for paypal brows.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post May 29 2013, 01:12 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(sfx3000 @ May 29 2013, 01:10 PM)
Yes can still buy things using paypal, just did it yesterday.
The key is personal payment, notorious tool for money laundering and tax evasion.
personal payment means payment/transfer to another personal account registered in MY that is not merchant account.
amidamaru
post May 29 2013, 01:13 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(seiluen @ May 29 2013, 01:05 PM)
Means we cannot use PayPal anymore ?
PayPal’s mission is to connect merchants of all sizes to millions of consumers around the world, creating more economic opportunities for individuals, businesses and communities. As such, we would like to assure you that you will still be able to use PayPal for commercial activities. For example, you can still shop and pay with any local or overseas PayPal merchant and receive payments for sale of goods and services from any local or overseas buyer with a PayPal account.
Xploit Machine
post May 29 2013, 01:13 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,257 posts

corporate still can .. just individual services discontinued
k-prince
post May 29 2013, 01:16 PM

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ May 29 2013, 01:13 PM)
corporate still can .. just individual services discontinued
this i damn emo now, dafuq man now i can't receive money liau nor pay to other people overseas liau. cry.gif

This post has been edited by k-prince: May 29 2013, 01:16 PM
seiluen

550 posts

QUOTE(amidamaru @ May 29 2013, 01:13 PM)
Mech Warrior 6

343 posts

about bloody time for them to cancel usage in malaysia...!!!
WaCKy-Angel
post May 29 2013, 01:19 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Mech Warrior 6 @ May 29 2013, 01:16 PM)
about bloody time for them to cancel usage in malaysia...!!!
Cant agree more to that.

Too many scam already.
Mech Warrior 6
post May 29 2013, 01:23 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 29 2013, 01:19 PM)
Cant agree more to that.

Too many scam already.
yup. when i try purchasing online years ago..like back in early 00's...i often see they dont receive credit card from malaysia...and upon inquiry only i found out about the many scam, missing parcels, claim and re-claim and etc....

so i really pity those ppl....

but luckily i work in MNC (US Based), so use company email to communicate..see big MNC name...says ok! no problem.. lol
k-prince
post May 29 2013, 01:24 PM

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 29 2013, 01:19 PM)
Cant agree more to that.

Too many scam already.
how about genuine individuals who just wanna make money selling stuff but not scam?
and similarly wanna pay indviduals overseas
can't receive payment means no money

This post has been edited by k-prince: May 29 2013, 01:25 PM
eszol
post May 29 2013, 01:25 PM

rules aren't always right
1,252 posts

damn it!

now i know i can't use gmail to transfer money using my google wallet
SUSLeprodige
post May 29 2013, 01:25 PM

196 posts

Buying things online from oversea small business can be really troublesome now doh.gif
Sadistic Reaper
post May 29 2013, 01:31 PM

47 posts

Oh thank God, i was almost having a heart attack reading the title, and thinking i can't shop to pay using paypal. Luckily it didn't affect the shopping and payment there.
Irzani
post May 29 2013, 01:36 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Will I be able to send personal payments to other PayPal users living outside of Malaysia?

No, unfortunately you will no longer be able to make personal payments to users both in Malaysia and overseas.
Demmm ... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
alien3d
post May 29 2013, 01:43 PM

3,740 posts

thanks bn..
eaglehelang
post May 29 2013, 01:47 PM

1,075 posts

Alamak, means I cant sell stuff on ebay to overseas people.
s1nn3r
post May 29 2013, 01:48 PM

Humility makes us real
759 posts

QUOTE(everest @ May 29 2013, 01:04 PM)
Dear Customers,

As PayPal focuses on our business strategy of enabling secure and convenient commercial transactions in Malaysia, we regret to inform you that the Personal Payments service will no longer be available in Malaysia from 4 June 2013. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We have created this webpage to address concerns and questions you may have. You can also contact our customer support team by logging into your PayPal account and clicking on ‘contact us’ at the bottom of the page.

The success of PayPal depends on the success of the community. We thank you for your ongoing support in enabling more secure commerce anytime, anywhere and any way.

Sincerely,

The PayPal Team

https://www.paypal.com/my/webapps/mpp/personal-payments-faq
cry.gif doesnt look good...
buysellaccount
post May 29 2013, 01:48 PM

127 posts

too much money laundering here.
mobileapps
post May 29 2013, 01:52 PM

546 posts

still can cash out to our debit card, ok la
mobileapps
post May 29 2013, 01:54 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(k-prince @ May 29 2013, 01:24 PM)
how about genuine individuals who just wanna make money selling stuff but not scam?
u can still sell stuff with paypal.

u can still pay to individual overseas. just that the individual need to issue you an invoice, and u pay with credit card, not existing credit in paypal.

existing credit need to cash ALL out now. no more value to put it there
rockstar_
post May 29 2013, 01:58 PM

413 posts

so, i cannot buy used products from ebay??
hunt2sp
post May 29 2013, 02:00 PM

Always Somewhere
772 posts

blame nigerians lorr...they reside here to scam internationally & we get all the blame...
idoblu
post May 29 2013, 02:05 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

FAQ
Q- Will I still be able to receive personal payments from other PayPal users outside of Malaysia?
A- You can still receive funds sent from other PayPal users outside of Malaysia, consistent with the availability of this PayPal service in the country where the user is located.

Full FAQ

How do they differentiate between personal payment and payment for goods and services?

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 29 2013, 02:11 PM
SmartGuy1990
post May 29 2013, 02:08 PM

127 posts

aiks~
jAkUn
post May 29 2013, 02:11 PM

326 posts

byk sgt scam kat malaysia ni..
barang sampai, once received goods, filed refund from paypal. PROFITS!!
IluvProton
post May 29 2013, 02:13 PM

143 posts

palpay pokai liao?
SmartGuy1990
post May 29 2013, 02:14 PM

127 posts

anyways, just done withdraw all $$ transfer to my Maybank liao after see this news~ LOL
thelonely
post May 29 2013, 02:16 PM

basically cannot do 3rd party transfer via paypal anymore
jep
post May 29 2013, 02:17 PM

1,182 posts

damn..for me it means..can't transfer money to my cuz in the states for them to buy stuff for me..shitsss
Vanillababy
post May 29 2013, 02:21 PM

Malaysia linked to world’s largest money laundering scheme, NYT reports
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...me-nyt-reports/

maybe that decision has something to do with this rclxub.gif
PzGman
post May 29 2013, 02:26 PM

Private Pilot
828 posts

Ebay purchases and other such merchant transactions aren't affected. Cool. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PzGman: May 29 2013, 02:31 PM
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 02:27 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 29 2013, 01:12 PM)
personal payment means payment/transfer to another personal account registered in MY that is not merchant account.
Personal payments are not tied up to type of accounts. So its the same regardless of Personal/Premier/Merchant accounts.

Not much difference between personal payment or commercial payment, except the nature of payment and that for commercial payment, seller always bear the fees. For personal payments, either party can choose to bear the fees.

There's not much effect of the abolishment of personal payment I guess. In early days of paypal, personal payment free of fees but since then they have made them subject to fees as well.

Let's recap the fees structure:

Personal payment
- Using Paypal credit: Free if between MY account, 3.9%+somefixed fee if international transfer --> either party choose to pay
- Fund from card: 3.4% (My-MY transfer) or 3.9%+fixed fee (International transfer) --> either party choose to pay

Commercial payment
- Always free as buyer = sender
- For seller or recipient of fund: - Free if buyer sends using Paypal fund, My-MY only. If buyer send money using card, 3.4% for local transfer, 3.9% for international transfer. <-- this fees can be discounted for merchants.

So what's the effect of personal transfer being discontinued? Nothing IMO laugh.gif
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 02:31 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(jep @ May 29 2013, 02:17 PM)
damn..for me it means..can't transfer money to my cuz in the states for them to buy stuff for me..shitsss
Just pay using the commercial option then. The fees will be deducted from the money sent. Just make sure you add enough to cover the fees if you're the one who agree to bear it.

Even better in this case because since your friend is a 'seller' now, you can open dispute and request refund from paypal in case your friend didn't deliver the stuff brows.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post May 29 2013, 02:34 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(k-prince @ May 29 2013, 01:24 PM)
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ May 29 2013, 01:47 PM)
Alamak, means I cant sell stuff on ebay to overseas people.
Can, if either party has Merchant account.
SUSdantck
post May 29 2013, 02:37 PM

1,004 posts

means can use visa ...?
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 02:37 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 29 2013, 02:34 PM)
Can, if either party has Merchant account.
Nothing to do with merchant account la doh.gif ~
WaCKy-Angel
post May 29 2013, 02:46 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(PetomJL @ May 29 2013, 02:27 PM)
Personal payments are not tied up to type of accounts. So its the same regardless of Personal/Premier/Merchant accounts.

Not much difference between personal payment or commercial payment, except the nature of payment and that for commercial payment, seller always bear the fees. For personal payments, either party can choose to bear the fees.

There's not much effect of the abolishment of personal payment I guess. In early days of paypal, personal payment free of fees but since then they have made them subject to fees as well.

Let's recap the fees structure:

Personal payment
- Using Paypal credit: Free if between MY account, 3.9%+somefixed fee if international transfer --> either party choose to pay
- Fund from card: 3.4% (My-MY transfer) or 3.9%+fixed fee (International transfer) --> either party choose to pay

Commercial payment
- Always free as buyer = sender
- For seller or recipient of fund: - Free if buyer sends using Paypal fund, My-MY only. If buyer send money using card, 3.4% for local transfer, 3.9% for international transfer. <-- this fees can be discounted for merchants.

So what's the effect of personal transfer being discontinued? Nothing IMO  laugh.gif
QUOTE(PetomJL @ May 29 2013, 02:37 PM)
Nothing to do with merchant account la  doh.gif ~
Correct me if im wrong.

Personal payment = directly send money to another paypal account
Commercial payment = buy item via paypal check-out eg. Groupon/online purchase

Meaning i will not be able to send money to your account, unless u have a website that uses paypal check-out (which requires merchant account)

I have a Personal account. Does the removal of the Personal Payments service mean I will not be able to send payments for items I want to purchase?

Regardless of whether you have a Personal, Premier or Business account, you will continue to be able to shop online and use the PayPal services for the commercial payment of goods and services. Only the Personal Payments service has been discontinued.
Will it be possible for me to send payments to a merchant for a purchase of goods and service?

Yes, you can make payments to merchants in Malaysia as well as in other countries for the purchase of goods or services.

SUSON-LINE
post May 29 2013, 02:53 PM

17 posts

So after 4th June 2013 we can't withdraw any Paypal credit back into our local bank account?
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 02:55 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 29 2013, 02:46 PM)
Correct me if im wrong.

Personal payment = directly send money to another paypal account
Commercial payment = buy item via paypal check-out eg. Groupon/online purchase

Meaning i will not be able to send money to your account, unless u have a website that uses paypal check-out (which requires merchant account)
Nope. Even personal/premier account also have option to generate invoice/request payment without invoice. Take a look at your paypal account if you have one.

I've sent commercial payment (NOT personal payment) and paid sellers overseas although the seller only use personal account.

Merchant account is meant for sellers with large volume of sale, because they get discounts option for paypal fees.
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 02:59 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ON-LINE @ May 29 2013, 02:53 PM)
So after 4th June 2013 we can't withdraw any Paypal credit back into our local bank account?
Just read the FAQs. Other services are not affected, only you cannot use personal transfer option anymore.

One implication of personal transfer not available is to curb transfer / 'selling' of paypal funds among paypal accounts I guess.
SUSs2peMocls
post May 29 2013, 03:02 PM

672 posts

I think this is also for people who sell Paypal money through other channels, it denies Paypal off their revenue and they butthurt.
PetomJL
post May 29 2013, 03:17 PM

52 posts

This is off topic but while I'm at it, I recently discovered a way to save a bit from Paypal's conversion rate when dealing with international transfer/payment (we know paypal rates always kinda higher than most banks' rates) : http://lifehacker.com/5957808/avoid-paypal...e-little-option

I've tried this recently and saved about RM8 for a RM300 worth of transfer.

yeezai
post May 29 2013, 03:20 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

why kenot money laundering ka
TSeverest
post May 30 2013, 12:04 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 29 2013, 02:13 PM)
palpay pokai liao?
No
k-prince
post May 30 2013, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(mobileapps @ May 29 2013, 01:54 PM)
u can still sell stuff with paypal.

u can still pay to individual overseas. just that the individual need to issue you an invoice, and u pay with credit card, not existing credit in paypal.

existing credit need to cash ALL out now. no more value to put it there
wahlau eh... thanks mate. i faster transfer out before all money gone
k-prince
post May 30 2013, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(PetomJL @ May 29 2013, 03:17 PM)
This is off topic but while I'm at it, I recently discovered a way to save a bit from Paypal's conversion rate when dealing with international transfer/payment (we know paypal rates always kinda higher than most banks' rates) : http://lifehacker.com/5957808/avoid-paypal...e-little-option

I've tried this recently and saved about RM8 for a RM300 worth of transfer.
does this apply to ebay? my question may be noob abit but i know u're a helpful girl. thanks
PetomJL
post May 30 2013, 10:20 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(k-prince @ May 30 2013, 09:22 AM)
does this apply to ebay? my question may be noob abit but i know u're a helpful girl. thanks
Yes it should apply whenever you make a payment in a foreign currency. Example:

If you use paypal's conversion, they will deduct RM293 from ur card (see the red line). But using your own bank's conversion rate, it may be lower (I made payment of same amount few days ago and my bank (maybank) charged RM283 or so).

To change this, click on the 'Conversion Options' in red circle there, and choose to be billed in seller's currency (which means your bank will do the conversion). (Read the link that I posted before).

Hope it helps. smile.gif
k-prince
post May 30 2013, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(PetomJL @ May 30 2013, 10:20 AM)
Yes it should apply whenever you make a payment in a foreign currency. Example:

If you use paypal's conversion, they will deduct RM293 from ur card (see the red line). But using your own bank's conversion rate, it may be lower (I made payment of same amount few days ago and my bank (maybank) charged RM283 or so).

To change this, click on the 'Conversion Options' in red circle there, and choose to be billed in seller's currency (which means your bank will do the conversion). (Read the link that I posted before).

Hope it helps. smile.gif
Osem. Thanks so much, Petom!! smile.gif

0.0243sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:52 AM