10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v3, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

gark
post Jun 10 2013, 11:06 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 10 2013, 11:02 AM)
doh.gif

Always start with a Target Allocation
e.g. 50% equity, within which 10% Malaysia, 10% Asia Ex-Japan, 30% global + 50% bond

If equity dropped, e.g. to 40% of your portfolio
Malaysia become 9%, Asia Ex-Japan 7%, global 24%

U take out money from bond to top up on equity funds to make it become
50% equity, within which 10% Malaysia, 10% Asia Ex-Japan, 30% global + 50% bond again
I.e. u will top up most on global, a bit on Asia Ex-Japan and a little bit on Malaysia

That's the basic.
My balancing is less rigid, depending on bullishness, i do alter the bond %... laugh.gif Bit more difficult, so don't follow.

During super bear period, my bond can go to 0% one...

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 11:08 AM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 11:15 AM

12,534 posts

Here is some quotes of trying to time the market...

"Far more money has been lost by investors preparing for corrections, or trying to anticipate corrections, than has been lost in corrections themselves."- Peter Lynch

"I can't recall ever once having seen the name of a market timer on Forbes' annual list of the richest people in the world. If it were truly possible to predict corrections, you'd think somebody would have made billions by doing it." - Peter Lynch

Peter Lynch is one of the best fund managers which has beat the S&P for 20 straight years.
"'Market timing' is unappealing to long-term investors. As in hunting deer or fishing for rainbow trout, investors have learned the importance of 'being there' and using patient persistence -- so they are there when opportunity knocks." - Charles Ellis

"The only value of stock forecasters is to make fortune-tellers look good." - WB

"Do you know what investing for the long run but listening to market news everyday is like? It's like a man walking up a big hill with a yo-yo and keeping his eyes fixed on the yo-yo instead of the hill." - Alan Ebelson
This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 11:16 AM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 11:20 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 11:19 AM)
doh.gif  i was planning to hv a return of 8+4% pa
the 4% was to be reloaded into the portfolio to cater for the inflation...8% is the annual expense...
any way for a portfolio to do that? icon_question.gif
Can... take more risk loh... heavier allocation for higher risk equity whistling.gif

But crash and burn if you are unlucky.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 11:21 AM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:30 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 11:32 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif the Burning has already started...my FSM portfolio is now -1.7%, the worst is AGE - 3.3%

thanks i do agree to what was posted by
Pink Today, 10:54 AM
Having sifu Unker gark in the thread is truly refreshing and educational  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Pffft.. only -1.7% only ah? tongue.gif

I won't care much until it drop at least 10% lar... seems like you are emotionally not suitable for investment.

I would STRONGLY suggest you sell all of your UT and place in FD. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 12:30 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:31 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 10 2013, 12:00 PM)
In times like this, I rely on AmDynamic Bond to keep the ship afloat biggrin.gif
Am Dynamic is facing bonds selldown headwinds... wink.gif It will not repeat it's past good performance like 1-2 years back.

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 12:32 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:33 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 12:31 PM)
just a note; of all the 14 funds i hold since May 2013....all are in "RED" Except Hwang Sel Opportunity fund +0.3%..
Please sell all your UT and place it in FD. The way you look at short term gains, you are not suitable for higher risk investment.

Sell down until you can sleep better. wink.gif Why lose sleep over money....?

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 12:33 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:36 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 12:34 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif i am in for the long haul...FD is not the way to go...not enough for the +4% inflation target-lah.
IF you are really on the long haul, why you bother/worried/emotion with a measly 1% loss within 1-2 months?. doh.gif

Cakap tak serupa bikin... tongue.gif

I really think you should switch all to FD.. otherwise you cannot stomach the ups and downs and get emotionally upset once the REAL downturn emerges. Otherwise facing -30% loss, you go jump from building how? So better switch to FD.... it might save your life...

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 12:40 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 12:43 PM)
thks for the concern bro,..i still managed to survive, had my funds dropped to - 50~-80% in 2001..got 1 until the Fund mgr had to close the fund and return me the $$....i think can stomach the pain for 3 to 4 yrs if it starts to drop to day and i would not be touching any of the funds.he-he icon_rolleyes.gif
If the funds takes 5-8 years to recover.. can you take the emotional hit that long? Or can you survive that long with less income? Do you dare to put more in during a severe downturn?

These are things to be consider when preparing the portfolio allocation.

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 12:52 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 12:55 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 12:52 PM)
yes,...i observed that most of the time,..the U shape mkt drop ....drop from top down to up again is > 4years.
past performance may not be repeat.i know, but at least there are records.
what is your opinion on that U/V shape?
No one can predict future, and past patterns are not necessary can repeated again. So I don't.

Maybe there is a downturn coming, maybe not, who knows? For all we know there is a black swan event happening right now and maybe a nuclear rocket from north korea is heading to USA right this minute?

Just allocate a comfortable portfolio based on your needs. No point worrying what might or might not happen. tongue.gif
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 03:06 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 10 2013, 02:22 PM)
hmm.gif sell the bond use the $$ eat...when finish sell the balanced funds use the $ eat, eat, then sell the worst performing Eq funds, eat eat eat, then sell all the rest, eat eat eat lor. if finish, go to mountain plant veg illegally ..ha-ha.....
like what sifu gark quoted:
"Just allocate a comfortable portfolio based on your needs. No point worrying what might or might not happen"
just hope that my choice of portfolio can withstand some not headwinds but tornadoes without MUCH damage. in the meantime will continue to see this threads for postings and advise. Keep up the good work....you guys are so nice...can share and teach what you 've learned notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Rather than eating into your investment, generate the earnings and eat from that lah. Like that the funds will never finish.

I allocate 4% withdrawal rate for my FUTURE retirement funds, when i decide to stop working and eat off my savings. When near to retire already probably will slowly convert to 80% in bonds at that time... even IF market stagnant, still take me 25 years to consume all.. can live that long kah? laugh.gif

You don't want to end up in situation all your retirement fund go kaboom when you do not have other income.. tongue.gif

Take risk when you are young, protect your nest egg when you are old... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 03:08 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 04:53 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Jun 10 2013, 04:11 PM)
is there anybody here ever experience/or doing CUT-LOSS for UT investment?
i wonder in which point we should exercise cut loss or decide to hold in rain and shine
Read back a couple of pages.. on cut loss...
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 05:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 10 2013, 05:35 PM)
It's a PDF file, right?

Just read the relevant sections for the fund, no one ask u to read everything laugh.gif
When i first start to invest.. i read everything, every page, cover to cover... sweat.gif

Prospectus
Annual financial statement
Quarterly report
Factsheet
Morning star
Lipper

now lazy already

look at factsheet, Lipper and & MS only icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 05:50 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 05:53 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 10 2013, 05:50 PM)
Even akauntan also don't read each and every word of the Anal Report that we do ph34r.gif
Tat time when i first invest in UT.. year 2002.. I am still noob, UT not popular mah...and no forum guide like now... sweat.gif So no choice lah.. have to learn. Also that time, don't know got Lipper and MS online... sweat.gif

I think i read like 40 prospectus & financial statement before i bought my first UT fund.. that time paying 6.5% fee... doh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 05:56 PM
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 05:57 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 10 2013, 05:54 PM)
I only read latest Financial Statements, Fact Sheet and glance thru the Prospectus. No need read each and every section and paragraph geh ma doh.gif
Say already mah.. tat time still noob mah... blush.gif

I actually walk to PM HQ office and ask to buy UT with cash in hand.. all the receptionist look confused and ask who is my agent...i say don't have.. they look even more confuse and then let me buy through the counter under PBBank as agent... laugh.gif
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 07:06 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jun 10 2013, 07:04 PM)
I have a question, do you guys normally fling your units before distribution ?
Why on earth you want to do that? rclxub.gif It's the same left pocket to right pocket....
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 07:17 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jun 10 2013, 07:13 PM)
Just a thought  laugh.gif Feels like transferring my units from maybank to FSM bah. Thinking of any feasible way to maximize gain.  sweat.gif
Just request a unit trust transfer to FSM... no need to sell. They can transfer provided they have the same funds...no need pay 2x management fees.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buysell/transferIn.tpl?

Isn't this simpler...?
gark
post Jun 10 2013, 07:43 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(foxxy @ Jun 10 2013, 07:34 PM)
*&*@#$ maybank doesn't allow. Only option is to sell and buy back at fsm. Maybe I'll go on with this step, since it's left to right pocket I guess, not sure about the dividend thou. Btw, terima kasih ya Pak !  laugh.gif
Then just leave it there lah... you already paid the sales fees wat. For new purchase buy from FSM only...If you need to reduce exposure, then priority sell those units at Maybank. Slowly finish sell lor.

I don't know about FSM Malaysia, FSM SG allow you to 'nego', selling the funds not carried by them by another distributor and re-buy a similar fund in FSM without sales charge (waived), provided the amount is the same. tongue.gif

If your amount substantial no harm, can ask the CS...

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 10 2013, 07:48 PM
gark
post Jun 11 2013, 10:07 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 11 2013, 07:36 AM)
Japan stock market went down 20 years ago and did not go back up until recent movement with Abenomics policy.
Yeah.. at the peak.. Japanese stocks were PE 50x, selling at 20x book value if you buy then of course you deserve your loss as you are buying due to greed. wink.gif

If you invest, make sure you do your research first. Similar as if you bought at KLCI peak of 1997, or Nasdaq peak of 1999 you will need >10 years to recover those money.

Never time the market, buy according to valuation.

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 11 2013, 10:08 AM
gark
post Jun 11 2013, 01:37 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Jun 10 2013, 10:34 PM)
Gark, your sg funds not koyak ah? Mine all koyak be it equity or bond, but I holding for long term lah. Unless koyak till tak nampak muka.
Of course there are reductions, but not significantly koyak lah. I don't really look at short term profit. tongue.gif
gark
post Jun 12 2013, 10:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 12 2013, 08:41 PM)
I think we should be aware of the US Fed action. Since they reluctant to introduce another QE, there are chances they will raise the interest rates.

If raise interest rate, those bond spread heavily on US treasury will be hit. But how about asian bonds? we feel bonds are safe for few years already because rates are low.
Asian and US bonds has been dropping like flies since last week lar...... interest rate did went up already due to bond selldown.

A little bit late to the news. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 12 2013, 10:14 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:31 PM