Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V23, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

arslow
post May 27 2013, 06:07 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ May 27 2013, 06:01 PM)
I think low energy bluetooth is part of Bluetooth 4.0 which is available on Note 2.  unsure.gif
Nope, only android 4.3 will start supporting it. Or maybe samsung has made their own drivers for it. Not sure, but its not available on AOSP.

Btw, things are not looking good for the note 3. Suddenly a HTC one phablet is looking more and more interesting... http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=61267
arslow
post May 27 2013, 10:49 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 27 2013, 06:34 PM)
Eh? But then is the Note 2 LE enabled? I just had a quick browse thru the wikipedia entry...used to be called Wibree, I recall that name. There was another called Zigbee, but after some re-reading, it's for low power wireless meshes and different from Wibree/BLE.

It will be an interesting future, where your devices can spy on help you with a host of sensors.

BTW which post were you referring to on the Beyond3D forum?
http://www.theverge.com/2013/5/15/4334882/...thin-two-months

So , maybe samsung has made it available themselves, can't really confirm as I don't have any bluetooth LE device.

lol, I thought the copy url function on tapatalk would actually link the page Im on, turns out it doesn't doh.gif

it's post #537 and after that, basically discussing about the heat issue and how samsung screwed up something huge kernel side.

oh yeah biggrin.gif

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...atalk.tapatalk4

stuff like this reeeeeeally make my day!!
arslow
post May 27 2013, 10:54 PM

3,544 posts

[quote=joytest,May 27 2013, 09:44 PM]
hmm.gif due to fried EMMC?

you can say its something like Samsung has patched the exploit which makes it work...Ok, maybe thats not a correct explanation, but im sure you get what I mean

ant00 3 hours SOT with 50% left on AOSP...thats really awesome sinec on TW i usually get 4 hrs by 50%. less than 2.5 hrs would be unacceptable. btw, I don't think only disabling Talk gave you that batt life right? tongue.gif

[quote=joytest,May 27 2013, 10:54 PM]
I bought Tapatalk HD and migrated whistling.gif the apk to the Note 2 which works. whistling.gif

Yes, I saw the heating and scaling discussions. Well, I do really like the active digitizer ... anything else without it is not a valid comparison tongue.gif HTC had the Flyer with a stylus but it was completely half baked with a lousy resolution and no good native apps or OS support. A device with a large screen seriously begs the use of a stylus to complete the whole migration away from paper. I'm using a lot less paper nowadays.

[/quote]

Oh no DPI issues? nice thumbup.gif

honestly, the only reason I would go for it is the GORGEOUS screen, and also usable speakers. and that same screen, but the size of the note 2's screen...drool.gif
If it has a microSD slot, sure grab tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 27 2013, 10:57 PM
arslow
post May 27 2013, 10:59 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 27 2013, 10:56 PM)
Who's stalking who aarrrr ????  laugh.gif 

I think the term is "bromance" arrr?????
ant00 is missing alex's constant quoting of his replies although it has nothing to do with what he's about to say blush.gif
arslow
post May 28 2013, 02:04 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ May 27 2013, 11:02 PM)
I have done a few things but i think my increase battery life comes from a few things or combination of it that i have carried out over the weekend
1) My main suspect is changing my default launcher from Buzz to Launcher 8. I think i got too many widgets on Buzz or maybe Buzz Widget itself could be battery consuming
2) Changing my default governor back to pegasusq
3) Further tweak auto brightness curve.
4) Disabling google location and talk and talk services
5) Disable unnecessary tasker profiles related to location.
6) Freeze a bunch of un-used apps.
oh yes, brightness curve. I also noticed quite a big diff in SOT between 10% brightness and 30%. MIght wanna do that soon, but Im sure its only possible with AOSP right?
arslow
post May 28 2013, 09:55 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ May 28 2013, 07:38 AM)
Yup only aosp. You can save alot of juice especially if your outside. I never needed full brightness even on hot sunny days.
Might try out dual boot this weekend. But it seems like devil's implementation of it is not as great as siyah. Hopefully it doesn't have any sever issues. Wanna run PA tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 28 2013, 09:56 AM
arslow
post May 28 2013, 09:34 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 28 2013, 04:26 PM)
Sadly even LTE has got so many variations. IIRC, Qualcomm was the one that had some all-in-one LTE modem catering for all bands. Or was it Samsung's Exynos??? Bad memory....
RF360 by qualcomm
arslow
post May 29 2013, 10:22 AM

3,544 posts

Damn! this year's IFA is on Sept and not August!!!
Would be awesome if HTC announces their phablet on the same show tongue.gif

But it will most probably be overshadowed by the note 3 then. releasing it earlier however will most probably limit it to S600 rather than S800. How i wish the Tablet Z has front facing speakers cry.gif
arslow
post May 29 2013, 10:36 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 29 2013, 10:34 AM)
All phablets to date have one vital missing ingredient - the active digitizer and stylus. They are simply bigger screens, maybe a bigger battery that's it. All the new models are intensely anorexic that's why they can't last long enough.
yeah, a HTC phablet will most probably have 3000mah and that's it. I wouldn't even dream for it to have an active digitizer and stylus lol.
arslow
post May 29 2013, 12:02 PM

3,544 posts

Wanamlite 3.0, awesome batt life for close to 3 months ready thumbup.gif

btw, Intel bought over the GPS division of ST-Ericsson. Wonder what are they using on their current phones though
arslow
post May 29 2013, 12:15 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 29 2013, 12:06 PM)
3.0? why no update to 3.7?  blink.gif
lol, all new samsung firmwares are just the same thing la, and at least with this old one I'm not experiencing any batt drain tongue.gif

oh ya, something for you...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1529715

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2213945

This post has been edited by arslow: May 29 2013, 12:15 PM
arslow
post May 29 2013, 12:37 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 29 2013, 12:27 PM)
The 2nd link performs a similar function like Tubemate?
yup, but unfortunately that hideous looking Tubemate works much more reliably...

Im using this now

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2137743

But its only a downloader...at least it looks great and works really nicely
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 11:01 AM

3,544 posts

So in the end is the HTC one that got the 4.2.2 update and not the note 2 or s3 haha.
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 12:00 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Jun 2 2013, 11:15 AM)
S3 leak is out for quite sometime.  Official is out soon.

Still on carbon rom now,  doesn't bother about stock already..
I thought you were saying the stock leak 4.2.2 had awesome batt life? hmm.gif
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 12:23 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 2 2013, 12:19 PM)
Don't know coz some have said that their expensive SP's are con jobs. I personally won't pay rm40 for a 3"x6" piece of plastic.

arslow the HTC one hasn't gotten 4.2.2 and even the news stated no launch date. At least Note 2 did get 4.1.2 very shortly  and we can use 4.2.2 on aosp already. I think s3 and note2 will probably be the first non nexus devices to get 4.2.2. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Mike has released ARHD based on 4.2.2 for the One, but apparently its for the developer edition, which obviously works well with the normal one too nod.gif

pretty surprising that Samsung is taking so long to release 4.2.2 for the s3. If for the note 2, its understandable, but the s3 should have gotten it. The leak seems to be working well so I guess stability is not an issue anymore but porting the s4 apps to s3 is the one consuming lots of dev time I guess doh.gif

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 2 2013, 12:21 PM)
Haha. True story. That's the reason why I'm looking for glass type of SP actually. But it's kinda hard to find them. Even spigen does not produce them.  hmm.gif
Quite happy with my RM20 SP which I got from directD laugh.gif

Just need to wipe every few days to eliminate that rainbow thingy

This post has been edited by arslow: Jun 2 2013, 12:28 PM
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 07:28 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 2 2013, 06:37 PM)
No, I'm not artsy haha
BTW

I'm seriously thinking of getting a wireless charging kit.

LG WCP300 + tag

http://list.qoo10.my/item/LG-WCP-300-WIREL...R-THE/410031573
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/QI-Wireless-Powe...=item20d0425a6c

Has anyone bought from Qoo10 before?
And transferring a 1.5Gb ROM file to the class 10 Sandisk is only giving me 8Mbps transfer  unsure.gif
note 3 should have usb 3.0 brows.gif( at least that should increase transfer rate to internal SD)
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 07:38 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 2 2013, 07:33 PM)
Is that part of the S600/S800 spec? I recall the Exynos 5x series was supposed to have USB 3 as well.

But this will mean a new connector standard coz USB 3 has 10 pins or something. There will be some dismay due to the connector change. Unless they can use the same micro USB connector.
both the exynos octa platform and S800 should support usb 3.0 natively, not too sure about the connectors though hmm.gif

(but yeah, usb 3.0 definitely requires more pins, but they might implement a port like those available on external HDDs, where it supports both usb 3.0 cables and 2.0 nod.gif
arslow
post Jun 2 2013, 08:34 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 2 2013, 08:03 PM)
For all sifus and everyone .... and of course all those who gripe about lag...

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Galaxy-S4-E...parison_id43554

Comments:
29. polrt posted on yesterday, 09:41 6 18
It does not matter, it would still LAG. lol
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeKoJfuiy_Y

51. cripton805 posted on yesterday, 11:06 9 2
Do your homework before you comment on something you dont know anything about. Thats a transition animation. You can make it slower or faster on developer settings. Naturally its on default. Which is 1x. Can you do that on the iPhone or Windows phone? I figure you cant since you didnt know you can control that with an android.

103. vincelongman posted on yesterday, 19:07
Did you even watch the video you posted?
Because in the video the guy turns off the transition animation and then there is no lag whatsoever, every app opens instantly and same with lockscreen.
Also you can make the animation faster as well, like cripton805 said on default its 1x, you can also set it to 0.5x, so it would be twice as fast.

=======================

Has anyone tried changing the Transition settings? What were the results?
======================
I thought that was on the A type ports and not the micro B type ports. Have u tried using a USB 2 micro USB cable on a USB 3 HDD? I haven't and never thought of trying either..... hmm.gif
valid point. But the thing is, Im still holding on to my usb 2 500gb ext HDD, waiting for 2TB ext HDD to drop to 300 or so tongue.gif

Went and do some reading, so although all the new chipsets support usb 3.0, micro usb 3.0 would consume more power, and eMMc speeds are not that fast yet....so I don't think the note 3 will have it...

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 2 2013, 08:22 PM)
Micro USB with 3.0? Definitely a new connector type, hence new cabling possibilities again.
But why would you need the USB 3.0 speed on a smartphone? Would not be a selling point.
Maybe when the whole world uses 3.0 that would probably be the time you'll see smartphone with 3.0 biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by arslow: Jun 2 2013, 08:35 PM
arslow
post Jun 3 2013, 11:42 AM

3,544 posts

Cortex A 12. An answer to the power hungry A 15?
Too bad its only gonna be available a year from now.
arslow
post Jun 3 2013, 11:58 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jun 3 2013, 11:56 AM)
http://www.sammobile.com/2013/05/30/samsun...ent-soc-future/

poor exynos chips... big little sucks

snapdragon for me!

else intel!
Note 3 s800 thumbup.gif

Quick charge 2.0 will allow us to charge our phones in 100 minutes biggrin.gif

0.0481sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:13 PM