4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Project : Proteus, Switch 810 / acrylic tube :UPDATE 19/10

TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 04:51 AM, updated 13y ago

526 posts

at first i was hesitant to start this worklog cause i was afraid it wasn't gonna get any views or feedbacks, but meh, posting anyways. got inspired from all the great modders here biggrin.gif

so first of all, the project name, i got no ideas for a name so i just googled sea monsters names, since this project will be a black/blue theme, i thought Proteus would be a cool name thumbup.gif

some of the work has already begun, so i'll be posting some pics and explain what i've done so far.

Hardware list :

Processor: Intel core i5 3570k
Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Ram: Corsair vengeance 4gb x2 (8gb)
GPU: xfx amd 6950 2gb
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3k 120gb
HDD: 1TB WD, 1TB seagate
PSU: Coolermaster Silent Pro M700
Casing: NZXT Switch 810

Hopeful hardware upgrades in the near/distant future: tongue.gif

RAM: Corsair dominator platinum
GPU: AMD 7950/7970/8xxx or Nvidia 670/770

Watercooling: (Before)

XSPC Raystorm
EKFC 6970 en WB
BlackIce GTS360 & XSPC RX240 RAD
XSPC Dual Bay Res
Swiftech MCP355 pump
Feser compression 3/8 5/8 fittings
Mayhems Ice White Pastel Concentrate

Project ideas & planning:

- acrylic tube paired with bitspower multi-link c47 fitting
- acrylic mid plate & panels
- cable sleeving
- since im a newbie and have no modding experience whatsoever, mods will be built around the case, not so comfortable cutting up the case into pieces

Pics of my setup before starting this project, please forgive the poor quality, taken from my nexus 3, crappy camera.

before disassembling

This post has been edited by najmul: Oct 19 2013, 03:23 AM
TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 04:51 AM

526 posts

some stuff i got from :
- A.P.E.S (Bitspower multi-link black sparkle c47, bitspower tank z-multi 250, crystal link tube for reference)
- irienaoki (2m acrylic tube)
- Specialtech UK (multi-angled fittings, 90' fittings, extension fittings, ek-ddc x-top v2, xspc pump mount)
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

the fittings i ordered from specialtech weren't all a match, it was the only way i could keep the cost down. phobya fittings are extremely cheaper than compared to bitspower. to match it all i spray painted all the fittings.

user posted image user posted image
did a bit of filing and sanding

after painting (matte black fittings) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by najmul: May 25 2013, 05:21 AM
TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 04:52 AM

526 posts

disassembled the rig, even took off the sabertooth shield thingy tongue.gif , drained the loop
the hoses as u can see, are cloudy, and completely useless now

This post has been edited by najmul: May 25 2013, 01:20 PM
TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 04:52 AM

526 posts

now for the acrylic tube, at first i was planning on bending the tubes using a heat gun which you may notice from pics above tongue.gif , the first 2 tries really made me realize what a noob i was at this.
1st try i melted the tube doh.gif , 2nd try i got the tube to bend 90'', but not perfect. 3rd try i got the tube to bend exactly how i wanted it to be, but when i fitted it to the loop, it didn't look so good to me.
so i mixed and matched some fittings to try a more straighter loop and this is how it turned out:

cutting the acrylic tube with a hack saw

the left is the crystal link tube, on the right is the tube i cut and filed to fit the multi-link fittings.

pleased with the way it looks so far, also made some markings with tape for the pump mounting

so change of plans, no tube bending, only straight cuts. now i dont have enough fittings for this config, so for the tube part of this build have to put on hold cry.gif , ordered more fittings from specialtech uk, should arrive within 10 days times

This post has been edited by najmul: May 25 2013, 10:09 PM
ValityMental
post May 25 2013, 08:09 AM

I live my own life.
1,298 posts

Good luck on this project. Bookmarked.
SoLeHuDDiN98
post May 25 2013, 09:20 AM

279 posts

Great, good luck biggrin.gif
TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 02:01 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ValityMental @ May 25 2013, 08:09 AM)
Good luck on this project. Bookmarked.
thanks, i appreciate it thumbup.gif
TSnajmul
post May 25 2013, 02:05 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(SoLeHuDDiN98 @ May 25 2013, 09:20 AM)
Great, good luck biggrin.gif
thx bro! biggrin.gif

new updates:
- rig disassembling, draining
- acrylic tube work
infernoaswen
post May 25 2013, 11:45 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

awesome! another switch 810 build rclxms.gif
TSnajmul
post May 26 2013, 12:29 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ May 25 2013, 11:45 PM)
awesome! another switch 810 build  rclxms.gif
haha yeah biggrin.gif been following your balrog worklog for a while, love your lighting acrylic panels drool.gif
infernoaswen
post May 26 2013, 12:38 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ May 26 2013, 12:29 AM)
haha yeah  biggrin.gif  been following your balrog worklog for a while, love your lighting acrylic panels  drool.gif
thanks blush.gif first time making it also, not prefect though, might need to adjust here & there...exams coming near...will probably continue working on it end of next month smile.gif
TSnajmul
post May 26 2013, 08:31 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ May 26 2013, 12:38 AM)
thanks  blush.gif first time making it also, not prefect though, might need to adjust here & there...exams coming near...will probably continue working on it end of next month smile.gif
good luck with your exams and your project bro. looking forward to seeing new updates thumbup.gif
TSnajmul
post May 26 2013, 08:35 PM

526 posts

drilled holes for the pump mount, and cut some acrylic tube for the top radiator to connect to the top of the res. again, sorry for the crappy quality

ayidafiq
post May 27 2013, 02:45 AM

highballers
739 posts

rclxms.gif impressed. keep it up
abidgreen93
post May 28 2013, 08:20 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ May 25 2013, 04:52 AM)
now for the acrylic tube, at first i was planning on bending the tubes using a heat gun which you may notice from pics above tongue.gif , the first 2 tries really made me realize what a noob i was at this.
1st try i melted the tube  doh.gif , 2nd try i got the tube to bend 90'', but not perfect. 3rd try i got the tube to bend exactly how i wanted it to be, but when i fitted it to the loop, it didn't look so good to me.
so i mixed and matched some fittings to try a more straighter loop and this is how it turned out:

cutting the acrylic tube with a hack saw

the left is the crystal link tube, on the right is the tube i cut and filed to fit the multi-link fittings.

pleased with the way it looks so far, also made some markings with tape for the pump mounting
so change of plans, no tube bending, only straight cuts. now i dont have enough fittings for this config, so for the tube part of this build have to put on hold  cry.gif  , ordered more fittings from specialtech uk, should arrive within 10 days times
NICE ONE! Wait how you cut the acrylic tube? Use what?
TSnajmul
post May 28 2013, 08:35 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ May 28 2013, 08:20 PM)
NICE ONE! Wait how you cut the acrylic tube? Use what?
Thanks! i just used a hack saw to cut the acrylic tube, and then filed the edges to fit the bitspower c47.
abidgreen93
post May 28 2013, 08:37 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ May 28 2013, 08:35 PM)
Thanks! i just used a hack saw to cut the acrylic tube, and then filed the edges to fit the bitspower c47.
The bitspower C47/48 and bitspower crystal link APES got sell ah?
TSnajmul
post May 28 2013, 08:41 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ May 28 2013, 08:37 PM)
The bitspower C47/48 and bitspower crystal link APES got sell ah?
yeah, i got it from APES, but i had to order from them, it took about 1-2 months. not sure if they still have them in stock.
abidgreen93
post May 28 2013, 08:42 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(najmul @ May 28 2013, 08:41 PM)
yeah, i got it from APES, but i had to order from them, it took about 1-2 months. not sure if they still have them in stock.
Oh.. shakehead.gif 1-2 months WOW. K thanks for the info smile.gif
TSnajmul
post May 28 2013, 08:48 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ May 28 2013, 08:42 PM)
Oh..  shakehead.gif 1-2 months WOW. K thanks for the info smile.gif
no problem. if u want it faster u should get it from specialtech or performance pcs. specialtech uses royalmail international airmail with tracking, usually arrives within 10 days thumbup.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:03 PM