Anti-Spyware
TSshockw@ve
Apr 29 2006, 09:29 AM, updated 18y ago
d[-_-]b
Anti-Spyware ( LYN official software poll results & comments) Bold: freeware Note: Installing additional Anti-Spyware or Anti-Trojan is usually safe for all users. To avoid having multiply real-time protection enabled, always unselect start with system startup, disable shields, guards or any other real-time protection features. Some security softwares are just not compatible with others while others may have high system requirements to run them. Always check the software vendors homepage for system requirements and compatibility issues. If you have anything else that you would like to add to this list, please reply to this thread. This post has been edited by fariz: Jul 29 2008, 09:04 AM
SUSsynz
May 3 2006, 12:25 AM
Webroot Spy Sweeper Homepage: http://www.webroot.com/consumer/products/spysweeperDownload: http://www.webroot.com/consumer/downloadsThis post has been edited by fru!tlo0p: May 3 2006, 12:31 AM
sakuraguy
May 3 2006, 12:28 AM
Yah! .. my best choice im using it a year plus ..AD AWARE SE is the best
samurai1337
May 3 2006, 12:35 AM
@_@
QUOTE(fru!tlo0p @ May 3 2006, 12:25 AM) Entry added, thanks
sakuraguy
May 3 2006, 12:47 AM
SUSsynz
May 3 2006, 12:50 AM
eTrust PestPatrol Anti-Spyware Sunbelt CounterSpy Trend Micro Anti Spyware McAfee Anti Spyware
sould b consider...
amenlo9
Jun 6 2006, 01:47 AM
ryant3
Jun 29 2006, 12:51 AM
hihihehe
Jul 5 2006, 08:59 PM
y i dl all those anti spyware need to purchase to remove the spyware?is it got another spyware tht no need to purchase to remove the spyware?
Anderson
Jul 5 2006, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 5 2006, 08:59 PM) y i dl all those anti spyware need to purchase to remove the spyware?is it got another spyware tht no need to purchase to remove the spyware? Not all anti spyware program is free. Ad-Aware personal edition is free, don't need to purchase to remove the spyware. This post has been edited by Anderson: Jul 5 2006, 09:23 PM
hihihehe
Jul 6 2006, 01:26 AM
i tot ad-adware is for protect the advertisement pop up only?not to protect the trojan,spyware etc.
jon89
Jul 6 2006, 01:34 AM
huh? Ad-Aware is a spyware protection software....if u wanna block those lousy + annoying ad pop-ups, try using Mozilla Firefox browser....neva eva use IE...
stsh90
Jul 7 2006, 11:19 AM
yea. Mozilla Firefox is highly recommended (by me  ) i tried spyware doctor before.. quite good, but bad thing is no $$ to buy. hmm.. i agree. ad-aware's the best
pjiis
Jul 9 2006, 04:09 AM

QUOTE(amenlo9 @ Jun 6 2006, 01:47 AM) this is a good software which is differ from other where it pbserve and guard our pc and alert us when the culprit want to attack and execute and modify our OS....
babymage88
Jul 25 2006, 09:56 PM

Have anyone here tried a-squared it remove Trojan , Dialer and Spyware... Here the Link http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free/
zenix
Sep 26 2006, 03:32 PM
perhaps we should open another thread just for FREE antispyware applications.
SUSsynz
Sep 26 2006, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 26 2006, 03:32 PM) perhaps we should open another thread just for FREE antispyware applications. Specify those are free within the list wouldnt be better?
neozero
Sep 26 2006, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(fru!tlo0p @ Sep 26 2006, 03:38 PM) Specify those are free within the list wouldnt be better? great idea... that would make life easier
natakaasd
Sep 26 2006, 03:52 PM
Anybody going to do that? I guess I shall start it off...
Ad-aware SE Personal -- FREE Spybot Search & Destroy -- FREE A-squared Free Edition -- FREE (The name says so already) Bazooka Scanner -- FREE Spyware Blaster -- FREE (Unless you want Automatic Updates...)
geforce1982
Sep 26 2006, 03:56 PM
Ok, I have been doing this researches for quite some times and trying many spyware remover softwares before. My recommendation is installing zone alarm anti spyware and ad-adware SE together at one time. This 2 spyware removers are the best now.
Besides that, install McAfee SIteAdvisor in order to guide u from surfing the net and preventing you from entering some dangerous websites. I had one bad experience before where I entered a website that I thought I can get my spyware software there. Who knows my pc get hijacked and whenever I tried to online, my ip will redirect to its website.I downloaded its so called spyware removal and in fact, my pc get infected by 70++ of viruses and 70++ malware!! My pc hang. I have forgotten the website url. Anyway, McAfee SiteAdvisor is one of my recommendation.
The following websites are free virus or spyware scanners.Hope it helps.
a) www.pandasoftware.com (Find activescan) b) www.kaspersky.com (find virusscanner) ==kaspersky is popular now although sometimes there might be some fake alarms. c)www.housecall.trendmicro.com====pc cillin d) security.symantec.com. find virus scanner as well=====norton.
For service pack 2, they require u to download active x into your pc before the scan starts. So, enable your active X and let them install some small size files into your pc first.
Gd luck. )
This post has been edited by geforce1982: Sep 26 2006, 03:57 PM
geforce1982
Sep 26 2006, 03:59 PM
spyware search&destroy v1.4 is no longer updated since year 2005. So they might not be able to clean the recent spywares.
Correct me if I'm wrong. thanks.
zenix
Sep 26 2006, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(fru!tlo0p @ Sep 26 2006, 03:38 PM) Specify those are free within the list wouldnt be better? would be great if we're just listing but aren't the antispyware programs listed above by ranking of some sort?
jacklsw86
Oct 2 2006, 08:02 AM
ad-aware also recently no updates for quite some time already. no more spyware attacks?
natakaasd
Oct 3 2006, 07:42 PM
It is not that the program can't clean new spyware. If you notice, spyware and adware "births" have greatly reduced. Of course there is no need to update the program, only the definition files. Phishing and Pharming is the current trend. LOL.
natakaasd
Oct 3 2006, 07:47 PM
On the post by geforce1982, you can only utilize Active X if you are using IE. So, be careful when surfing using IE. It is known for all sorts of exploits, especially using Active X. Please watch out for BOGUS SITES.
keith_hjinhoh
Oct 3 2006, 08:35 PM
Prevx is a good Malware protection software  Lots of them discuss it over wilder security forum... http://www.prevx.com/
SUSRaikkonen
Oct 4 2006, 03:34 PM
This ad aware, good in protecting or destroying? It seems when used to destroy Spy/Malware...it's not that good. I did scan a few times...the spy/malware stayed there and did not go away.
eXPeri3nc3
Oct 4 2006, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Oct 4 2006, 04:34 PM) This ad aware, good in protecting or destroying? It seems when used to destroy Spy/Malware...it's not that good. I did scan a few times...the spy/malware stayed there and did not go away. Did you update it to the latest definition?
SUSRaikkonen
Oct 4 2006, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 4 2006, 03:37 PM) Did you update it to the latest definition?  I did.
uzairi
Oct 4 2006, 10:24 PM
I use both Ad-aware Personal Edition and Spybot S&D because some of them cannot detect certain spyware so need you'll need both software to ensure you're free from spyware.
eXPeri3nc3
Oct 4 2006, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Oct 4 2006, 04:53 PM) That's weird... Ad-Aware never fails me.
SUSRaikkonen
Oct 5 2006, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 4 2006, 10:50 PM) That's weird... Ad-Aware never fails me.  I guess you're lucky. Just formatted my hard drive  crap...got hit again. when off the firewall...got 62 spam already when scanning with ad-aware format again i guess. Now, off the firewall  what the he77 is this: This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Oct 5 2006, 12:25 AM
zenix
Oct 13 2006, 10:57 AM
NATS firewall don't help much either.
eXPeri3nc3
Oct 14 2006, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Oct 5 2006, 01:14 AM) I guess you're lucky. Just formatted my hard drive  crap...got hit again. when off the firewall...got 62 spam already when scanning with ad-aware format again i guess. Now, off the firewall  what the he77 is this:  L2m? My god. Wait. Please download Adaware SE and install it if you don't have it already. Make sure it's the newest version and check for any updates before running it. Go to this Site to get the plug-in for fixing VX2 variants. Also make sure to Customize the settings in Adaware for better scan results. Run the scan and fix everything that it finds.
Asus W3V
Oct 14 2006, 05:22 PM

try this spyware doctor 4 www.pctools.com
you can pm the code for full version to remove the threats
try it and you will discover many spywares that are not detected by windows defender
zenix
Oct 15 2006, 10:26 AM
Anyoe tried the products from Ahn Labs? The salesguy said its the best in Korea and used by TMNET. Its an antispyware and antivirus combo.
eXPeri3nc3
Oct 15 2006, 03:12 PM
Done a quick googling about Ahn Labs, seems like they have Security Response too... http://info.ahnlab.com/securityinfo/virus_search_eng_new.jspHmm, quite detailed. It looks interesting to try, too bad I'm not at home.
zenix
Oct 16 2006, 03:00 AM
i want some RL experience on it. i know the online facts and whats in the magz. coz i know the local distributor personally. but want a cheap and okay alternative for my company. dowan some pariah thing loh. never reli see this in the market b4 so abit worried. but the big 3 antivirus companies are getting abit too much with their pricing
eeynhoj
Oct 31 2006, 11:44 PM
hi..need some help.. i used Ad-aware Personal Edition to scan my drives and 170 files detected.. but how to remove those quarantined files?? thanks..
natakaasd
Nov 1 2006, 07:43 PM
They are backup copies. Look for an icon that looks like a "LOCK". Remove the files in there to remove Quarantined files. Cheers!
For Raikkonen's case, I think you should get CWS Shredder and Kill2Me to remove the CoolWebSearch and Look2Me malware. Good Luck!
TSx
Nov 2 2006, 03:27 AM
natakaasd
Nov 6 2006, 10:49 AM
Ewido Anti-Malware is now AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5
adrian_huen
Nov 28 2006, 02:16 AM
i wana ask..which one is better?... Ad-Aware SE Professional or Ad-aware 6
udang
Nov 28 2006, 02:40 AM
how 'bout spyware blaster?? is it gud 'o' not..?
sori..im juz a newbie all 'bout dis spyware n malware..;P
This post has been edited by udang: Nov 28 2006, 02:41 AM
natakaasd
Nov 28 2006, 11:14 AM
Spyware Blaster is only a protection, not a cure. But then again, I would highly recommend it. Very good!
eXPeri3nc3
Nov 28 2006, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Nov 28 2006, 03:16 AM) i wana ask..which one is better?... Ad-Aware SE Professional or Ad-aware 6 Both are the same, but professional edition provides more functions.  And SpywareBlaster is good! No questions asked.
zenix
Dec 18 2006, 03:10 AM
http://www.sophos.com/products/free-tools/...ti-rootkit.htmlDunno in the correct segment or not. This is an Anti Root Kit s/w
super macgyver
Dec 18 2006, 01:15 PM
the strongest is spware doctor & spy sweeper.
mtrans
Dec 22 2006, 01:00 AM
now i'm using spyware doctor latest version take only 7-10 minute on custom scan before that i use webroot spysweeper but it takes 30-60 minute for full scan.
SUSsynz
Dec 22 2006, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(mtrans @ Dec 22 2006, 01:00 AM) now i'm using spyware doctor latest version take only 7-10 minute on custom scan before that i use webroot spysweeper but it takes 30-60 minute for full scan. Newer version of SS has improved with it's scanning speed, personally i can notice the difference This post has been edited by fru!tlo0p: Dec 22 2006, 01:16 AM
eXPeri3nc3
Dec 22 2006, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 18 2006, 02:15 PM) the strongest is spware doctor & spy sweeper. Are you sure?? o_O
SUSsynz
Dec 22 2006, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 18 2006, 01:15 PM) the strongest is spware doctor & spy sweeper. spyware doctor is no longer powerful... fyi, both of it had come out with av lately
tps18489
Dec 24 2006, 10:07 AM
Hello guys. I'm currently using Outpost Firewall Pro. It has a built-in spyware protection. The problem is that is it possible to use two antispyware in a computer? I also have Windows Defender installed. Can I use both at the same time? If not, which one should I uninstall? Thanks.
eXPeri3nc3
Dec 24 2006, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(tps18489 @ Dec 24 2006, 11:07 AM) Hello guys. I'm currently using Outpost Firewall Pro. It has a built-in spyware protection. The problem is that is it possible to use two antispyware in a computer? I also have Windows Defender installed. Can I use both at the same time? If not, which one should I uninstall? Thanks. For anti malware softwares, there should be no problem having more than one.
tps18489
Dec 24 2006, 10:33 AM
Oh. Just now Windows Defender attempted to do some changes to Outpost but it was blocked by Outpost. Is this situation okay?
super macgyver
Dec 25 2006, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(fru!tlo0p @ Dec 22 2006, 10:37 AM) spyware doctor is no longer powerful... fyi, both of it had come out with av lately then wat u suggest ler?
natakaasd
Dec 25 2006, 12:35 PM
My opinion: Use Combos for Anti-Malware. The good old Spybot S & D, Ad-Aware & Either One of these:
1. AVG Anti-Spyware 2. Super Anti-Spyware 3. Spyware Doctor (I personally haven't used this in years...) 4. Spysweeper (Also another Long-Time-Never-Use)
Cheers!
super macgyver
Dec 25 2006, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 25 2006, 12:35 PM) My opinion: Use Combos for Anti-Malware. The good old Spybot S & D, Ad-Aware & Either One of these: 1. AVG Anti-Spyware 2. Super Anti-Spyware 3. Spyware Doctor (I personally haven't used this in years...) 4. Spysweeper (Also another Long-Time-Never-Use) Cheers! u currently using which antispyware? y the3th & 4th not good mer?
natakaasd
Dec 25 2006, 09:36 PM
Problem is 3rd and 4th option... Hard to say (You get what I mean... cr@ck issue =.=) So, I no longer test them... I used to use them when they first came out. Free versions then...
My current Combos?
AV: NOD32 + AntiVir + Avast
AM (Anti-Malware) [hehehe...]: AVG Anti-Spyware + Spybot S&D + Ad-aware + A-squared Free + SpywareBlaster
Firewall: Nvidia Firewall (Came with MOBO) + Zone Alarm 6.1 Free
Cheers!
eXPeri3nc3
Dec 25 2006, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(tps18489 @ Dec 24 2006, 11:33 AM) Oh. Just now Windows Defender attempted to do some changes to Outpost but it was blocked by Outpost. Is this situation okay? Windows Defender ah?  Hmm... Allow the modification done by Windows Defender. If not sooner or later you'll face conflicts.
super macgyver
Dec 26 2006, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 25 2006, 09:36 PM) Problem is 3rd and 4th option... Hard to say (You get what I mean... cr@ck issue =.=) So, I no longer test them... I used to use them when they first came out. Free versions then... My current Combos? AV: NOD32 + AntiVir + Avast AM (Anti-Malware) [hehehe...]: AVG Anti-Spyware + Spybot S&D + Ad-aware + A-squared Free + SpywareBlaster Firewall: Nvidia Firewall (Came with MOBO) + Zone Alarm 6.1 Free Cheers!  3 AV + 4 AS? i dun even install AS into my system after having kaspersky with me now.  coz it can scan most of the risky spyware which i think is enough for my system as long my pc is runing fast & BT is smooth too.
natakaasd
Dec 26 2006, 11:36 AM
HAHA. Now you are really freaked out by the number of security software I use. I test for secure and stable combinations of software. So, you will get mad amounts of security software, like the one in my main rig.
In fact, having Kaspersky alone is more or less safe. I can vouch for that. but then again, Kaspersky is a heavy duty program, so having lighter ones like Spybot and Ad-aware to remove the nasties, and AVG Anti-Spyware (ahem...) to clean the rest up.
Anybody who is really eager to test combos, you can use mine. It has been tested for 6 months, without a glitch. Cheers!
super macgyver
Dec 27 2006, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 26 2006, 11:36 AM) HAHA. Now you are really freaked out by the number of security software I use. I test for secure and stable combinations of software. So, you will get mad amounts of security software, like the one in my main rig. In fact, having Kaspersky alone is more or less safe. I can vouch for that. but then again, Kaspersky is a heavy duty program, so having lighter ones like Spybot and Ad-aware to remove the nasties, and AVG Anti-Spyware (ahem...) to clean the rest up. Anybody who is really eager to test combos, you can use mine. It has been tested for 6 months, without a glitch. Cheers! IT sure do waste a lot of time for daily scaning then in ur case.
LittleGhost
Dec 27 2006, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 27 2006, 09:58 PM) IT sure do waste a lot of time for daily scaning then in ur case.  he does that for a living. It's his job.
natakaasd
Dec 28 2006, 09:07 AM
LOL. Do that for a living? I thought you knew me better... Haha.
I don't do daily scanning anymore. I scan once a week or so (vice versa). Anyway, why panic when you adopt safe surfing habits? Cheers!
super macgyver
Dec 28 2006, 09:09 AM
yup, agree tat, surf net with smart, i only scan for virus every 2 month with kaspersky for spyware & trojan.
id86
Jan 20 2007, 04:57 PM
when i go to class or go outside,i will leave my comp run scanning.save more times.usually got a few spywares and trojan.still free from virus
quintessential
Jan 22 2007, 05:15 PM
speaking of webroot spysweeper, the particular company used to develop a pop-up blocker, anti-spam and windows cleaner. now, only antispyware in their product. its been a while since i've visited webroot website.
id86
Jan 22 2007, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(quintessential @ Jan 22 2007, 05:15 PM) speaking of webroot spysweeper, the particular company used to develop a pop-up blocker, anti-spam and windows cleaner. now, only antispyware in their product. its been a while since i've visited webroot website. a few review about this product.maybe you can desribe a bit about it.
xiong
Jan 25 2007, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Oct 5 2006, 12:14 AM) I guess you're lucky. Just formatted my hard drive  crap...got hit again. when off the firewall...got 62 spam already when scanning with ad-aware format again i guess. Now, off the firewall  what the he77 is this:  been using spyware terminator all the year..personally like bout this program because easy to scan and very fast ..but the bad is this spyware terminator doesnt tht strong like others ..i tried to compared two anti spyware programs and the abilities of spyware terminator not tht well ..its jus shows up sum risky files ..not all it shows up ..although i did a deep scanning..last time my pc infected by riskware / spyware and formatted ..the spyware terminator was on it didnt auto detect..so lousy de....after all ..i prefer all in one security program like zone alarm ..etc..better alot..save the ram space ..dont need run two or three security programz ..
id86
Jan 25 2007, 02:48 PM
ad-aware is good protecton software.most recommended to all users. besides,use not very much memory in deep scanning
jimmythw
Feb 2 2007, 01:17 AM
AVG Anti-Spyware FreeAVG Anti-SpywareParetoLogic Anti-Spyware ParetoLogic Anti_SpywareXoftSpySE Anti-SpywareXoftSpySE Anti-SpywareXOFTspy Portable Anti-SpywareXoFTspy Portable Anti-SpywareThis post has been edited by jimmythw: Feb 2 2007, 01:21 AM
natakaasd
Feb 2 2007, 01:58 PM
Is this an additional entry/entries? Like I told tan_pang the other time, no point just posting it here if no Mod sees it. PM the mod. It will be added at the Anti-Malware Section. Cheers!
id86
Feb 2 2007, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Feb 2 2007, 01:58 PM) Is this an additional entry/entries? Like I told tan_pang the other time, no point just posting it here if no Mod sees it. PM the mod. It will be added at the Anti-Malware Section. Cheers! what do you mean by that?i dont get your word i think this is Anti Malware section right?
Foxngn
Feb 3 2007, 03:21 PM
which one of the anti-spyware got those online shield protection?
OKLY
Feb 4 2007, 09:48 AM
The Penguin Vader
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 3 2007, 03:21 PM) which one of the anti-spyware got those online shield protection? I'm using Ad-Aware SE Professional and it has real time protection.
natakaasd
Feb 5 2007, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(id86 @ Feb 2 2007, 08:51 PM) what do you mean by that?i dont get your word i think this is Anti Malware section right? Well... I meant the Front Page, 1st posting (maintained by shockw@ve). Cheers! (Never realized that I was so ambiguous)
id86
Feb 6 2007, 02:18 AM
ohh...ok,now i get it QUOTE(natakaasd @ Feb 5 2007, 10:42 AM) Well... I meant the Front Page, 1st posting (maintained by shockw@ve). Cheers! (Never realized that I was so ambiguous)  do you refer to Ad-Block,function in Ad_Aware? QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Feb 4 2007, 09:48 AM) I'm using Ad-Aware SE Professional and it has real time protection.
id86
Feb 20 2007, 07:55 PM
Im using AVG AntiSpyware now... esy and powerful.another reliable program
Daniel89
Feb 26 2007, 02:58 PM
Is Registry Mechanic good ? Because i couldn't use the Smart Update it will have a error which is The subscription status is invalid.Please contact support  .Currently i using Ad-Aware SE Personal,Spybot Search&Destroy and Registry Mechanic only.Can recommed me any nice anti-malware/spyware software ? Is Spyware Doctor good ?
natakaasd
Feb 27 2007, 03:32 PM
Spyware Doctor is OK. If you are considering GOOD AM Software, give AVG Anti-SPYWARE a try.(NOT AVG Anti-VIRUS) It has the EWIDO Scanning Engine, which was also a superior AM Scanning Engine.
Registry Mechanic problem, I have no experience in using it. Thus, I can't help you. Cheers!
id86
Feb 27 2007, 11:00 PM
AVG Antispyware is ok.im also recommended it...
by the way, i never faced the problem in Registry Mechanic. usually no update required. im do the update about once a month and when updating, no problem occur.
Daniel89
Feb 28 2007, 03:40 PM
I see ok thanks for the reply
id86
Feb 28 2007, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(Daniel89 @ Feb 28 2007, 03:40 PM) I see ok thanks for the reply  If you still have problem in Registry mechanics, try reinstall it back using different setup files. maybe it could help.
momokabuto
Mar 7 2007, 02:39 PM

Spyware Doctor is heavy running on pc. i tried AVG spyware b4, but now i using spyware terminator. have any guys tried it b4? have any comment about it?
havuk
Mar 8 2007, 03:42 PM

Few years ago people will always recommend ad-aware & spybot but since they have become too popular, malware writers have targeted these specific programs; making it the norton/mcafee of the malware protection world. Personally I have good results with WebRoot SpySweeper and Spyware Doctor but these two are commercial products. One of the best free malware protection I come across is AVG Anti-Spyware. Despite the name, it can also find and remove trojans. But some of us needed more protection because we always visit some dangerous websites (hacking, porn, warez) that we needed a real-time malware protection. Windows Defender is an easy to use program but it only runs in XP & Vista. Thanks to Spyware Terminator, Windows 9x user can also benefit from real-time malware protection.
natakaasd
Mar 8 2007, 04:20 PM
QUOTE Few years ago people will always recommend ad-aware & spybot but since they have become too popular, malware writers have targeted these specific programs; making it the norton/mcafee of the malware protection world. Please quote some malware that targets Spybot S&D OR Ad-Aware. I am eager to know. From what I know, Lavasoft and Safer-Networking are slowly "retiring" from the anti-malware field because they are not progressing fast enough. Definitions are issued too slow and are inadequate. I don't remember malware knocking these two by targeting them. Correct me if I am wrong. Spyware Terminator is fine, but I somehow removed it for a reason I can't remember anymore (as it was done so December Last Year). No offense and Cheers!
havuk
Mar 8 2007, 09:59 PM

Sorry if I misunderstood some of you by saying both programs are targeted. It is more of a social engineering thing, make a copy of those programs but doing the opposite thing. Rogue/Suspect Anti-SpywareA lot of these programs copies and even steal the database of Spybot & Ad-aware making it their own, some even put spyware themselves. Gullible users will never know what hit them if these so-called anti-spyware cleverly change the database of spybot & ad-aware. Us advanced users know how to deal with this but what about the majority of them who just click click click? Sad to say but that's the price of being famous. p/s oh britney why?
natakaasd
Mar 9 2007, 09:29 AM
Now since you clear the dust, I admit I was unaware of Spybot & AdAware knock-offs.  Now, I understand what you mean by targeted. Mentioning Norton instead makes me misunderstand as malware written to "harm" the software itself. Well, users who just click and don't think, I wouldn't comment. Tired of commenting  Cheers!
scorps
Mar 12 2007, 02:49 PM
how about AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5.0.50 ??? t's ok or not??
bean_man
Mar 12 2007, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(scorps @ Mar 12 2007, 02:49 PM) how about AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5.0.50 ??? t's ok or not??  Of course it's ok.... AVG antispyware=Ewido. But do check on the download fine print. i was caught by suprise on the fine print for AVG free antivirus v7.5 on the limitations. This post has been edited by bean_man: Mar 12 2007, 04:01 PM
scorps
Mar 21 2007, 10:48 PM
what is the recommended/the best Software for remove flood or spam in one network...? can share with me??
adriankhoo153
Apr 5 2007, 03:24 PM
Got a question here. Do Lavasoft adaware a prevention or cure? I mean can adware prevent spyware or rather just scan and delete it only? How bout Window Defender? Is it a prevention?
natakaasd
Apr 5 2007, 03:34 PM
Ad-Aware WITH Ad-Watch is Prevention + Cure. Ad-Aware ONLY is a Cure.
Windows Defender = Prevention + Cure IF you enable the Real-Time Monitoring Option. Else, it is Cure.
Simple Q, Simple A.
Cheers!
adriankhoo153
Apr 5 2007, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Apr 5 2007, 03:34 PM) Ad-Aware WITH Ad-Watch is Prevention + Cure. Ad-Aware ONLY is a Cure. Windows Defender = Prevention + Cure IF you enable the Real-Time Monitoring Option. Else, it is Cure. Simple Q, Simple A. Cheers! Thank dude
id86
Apr 7 2007, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(scorps @ Mar 21 2007, 10:48 PM) what is the recommended/the best Software for remove flood or spam in one network...? can share with me??  what do you mean by flood or spam in network? can give some example?
intune
Apr 17 2007, 01:26 AM
I personally use EWIDO.. its great and scanning n updates are best so far.
id86
May 2 2007, 06:16 AM
QUOTE(intune @ Apr 17 2007, 01:26 AM) I personally use EWIDO.. its great and scanning n updates are best so far. the new name is AVG anti spyware... yup,agree with you.great tools
quintessential
May 3 2007, 11:53 PM
comodo has released the new antimalware product already. http://www.comodo.com/boclean/boclean.html?entryURL=
afosz
May 6 2007, 12:04 PM
How about Windows Defender?
quintessential
May 9 2007, 03:46 AM
QUOTE(afosz @ May 6 2007, 01:04 PM) How about Windows Defender? it's pretty good since it has real-time protection, other than spyware terminator. you only have to worry about microsoft wga thingie.
syafthegeek
Jun 9 2007, 04:48 PM
I love spyware terminator, adaware and spybot S&D
super macgyver
Jun 9 2007, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(syafthegeek @ Jun 9 2007, 04:48 PM) I love spyware terminator, adaware and spybot S&D u really need tat lot anti-spyware ?
myitlab.net
Jun 11 2007, 02:42 PM
super macgyver
Jun 15 2007, 02:35 AM
Lavasoft Ad-Aware 2007 Professional Edition 7.0.1.3 is released now.
What's New in Ad-Aware 2007 Pro: • Redesigned Engine - Benefit from superior program flexibility and more accurate scanning methods with all-new program architecture. • Improved Code Sequence Identification (CSI) Technology - Boost your privacy protection with precise detection of embedded malware, including known and emerging threats. • The Scheduler - Set automatic scans and updates to fit your personalized needs. • Incremental Definition File Updates - Save precious time and resources with smaller update files resulting in faster download times. • Ad-Watch RegShield - Improved protection against attempted registry changes, a favorite target for many forms of malware. • Ad-Watch Connect - Open a new channel to identify keyloggers and identity theft attempts with this convenient snapshot of programs actively connected to other networks. • TrackSweep - Control privacy by erasing tracks left behind while surfing the Web on Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Opera, with one easy click. • Hosts File Editor - Take control of your Web navigation by blocking advertisement sites, reversing browser hijack entries, assisting with parental controls, and creating navigation shortcuts. • Multiple Browser Support - Choose Internet Explorer, Firefox, or Opera with expanded browser support. • New Straightforward User Interface - Effortlessly maneuver the complexities of malware detection and removal with our new user-friendly interface.
cyew86
Jun 17 2007, 05:40 PM
what with the aawservice.exe running in the background? what it does? taking up 20MB of RAM, same as NOD32 Kernel, wth? i tot Ad-Aware 2007 does not run in the background?
babymage88
Jun 17 2007, 06:45 PM

I feel like Ad-Aware 2007 hog out abit of the system resource lerr.. tested aldy... ya why the aawservice.exe running on the background... i using free edition...
coathanger007
Jul 8 2007, 05:22 PM
fiqir
Jul 10 2007, 06:51 PM
now i'm using Ad-aware and Avg anti-spyware
tan_pang
Jul 10 2007, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(fiqir @ Jul 10 2007, 06:51 PM) now i'm using Ad-aware and Avg anti-spyware  same with me  QUOTE(babymage88 @ Jun 17 2007, 06:45 PM) I feel like Ad-Aware 2007 hog out abit of the system resource lerr.. tested aldy... ya why the aawservice.exe running on the background... i using free edition... i also aledi try the Ad-Aware 2007, and i also dissatisfied with the system resource issue i think the aawservice.exe running at behind is for the automatic update...
rockdaman
Jul 23 2007, 04:21 PM
i am using a chinese software. From my experience it is most powerful and provide real-time protection. It is free too. http://www.360safe.com/
AMDAthlon
Aug 12 2007, 07:11 PM
SUPER Anti Spyware very good.This is lessly used in MY but very good.Available in Free and Professional Edition($$) Link: http://www.superantispyware.com/I recomend this if u got Kaspersky Anti Virus with this anti spyware.Works perfectly
Irenelim
Aug 25 2007, 02:47 PM

what happens if u use too much anti-sypware at the same time ?
yamato
Aug 25 2007, 11:45 PM
this is what im using: COMODO BOClean
Skylinestar
Aug 26 2007, 09:55 AM
IMO, spyware doctor is still the best
fiqir
Aug 26 2007, 08:40 PM
now using spyware terminator
outdoorxplorer
Aug 28 2007, 09:38 PM
Anyone tested Norton AntiBot?
gtoforce
Aug 31 2007, 05:41 AM
what about nod32? heard its as good as bit defender and kav
Yukaeshi
Sep 25 2007, 10:24 PM
I have a combination of Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0, Spybot Search & Destroy and Ad-Aware 2007 as well as running on Windows Vista. I was told by a person in the Sony Style shop that Spybot and Ad-Aware isn't necessary since Vista has its built in Windows Defender, in fact, installing Spybot and Ad-Aware would increase the amount of spy/malware instead  How true is this?
SUSsynz
Sep 26 2007, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Sep 25 2007, 10:24 PM) I have a combination of Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0, Spybot Search & Destroy and Ad-Aware 2007 as well as running on Windows Vista. I was told by a person in the Sony Style shop that Spybot and Ad-Aware isn't necessary since Vista has its built in Windows Defender, in fact, installing Spybot and Ad-Aware would increase the amount of spy/malware instead  How true is this?  it wouldn't increase the amount of spyware, but the usage of ram. furthermore, you're running on Vista which consume higher resources, so end up will just lagging the system. perhaps u should enable protection from any 1 of them while keep the others for scanning purpose when necessary This post has been edited by synz: Sep 26 2007, 12:54 AM
Yukaeshi
Sep 26 2007, 01:19 PM
Thanks for the clarification  My system doesn't feel laggy to me though, but I will take your advice into consideration. Thanks a lot again!
SUSsynz
Sep 26 2007, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Sep 26 2007, 01:19 PM) Thanks for the clarification  My system doesn't feel laggy to me though, but I will take your advice into consideration. Thanks a lot again!  it lies on the specs of your pc anyway. reducing programs that run in the background may lead to even better performance indeed
xcutelilgal
Oct 4 2007, 04:39 AM

CA Anti-Spyware for the Enterprise formerly known as eTrust PestPetrol http://ca.com/us/products/product.aspx?ID=5222
Irresistible
Oct 15 2007, 03:19 PM
Any Conflict if I turn on Windows Defender real time, and I also enable Spyware Doctor real time protection & AVS real time at the same time?
This post has been edited by Irresistible: Oct 15 2007, 03:20 PM
natakaasd
Oct 15 2007, 05:20 PM
Not suggested, though you can try. Preferably, reduced the amounts of Real Time Scanners.
Cheers!
wayfeel
Nov 6 2007, 02:47 PM
funny nobody mentioned the formidable self acclaimed best anti spyware...Spy Sweeper 5.5
i used to use S& D spybot but it keep detects n cleaned the same spywares over n over....whenever i scan....it really suck imo....no real time in the first place...just cure =.=
while adaware has adwatch 2007 which is not bad, real time....but i did try tht under spysweeper catches more cookies (not critical tho) than any other anti spywares....it claimed 100% detection (in its website n top ten review anti spyware) n stay one notch ahead of all anti spyware....its very good imo....quite comprehensive shield scanner ....
i tried superantispyware Professional....yeah, the professional version....i dono why i uninstall it,hv realtime scanner but i feel sthg incomplete....myb i was wrong but i feel the resource hoggin n tray icon not nice lol....adwatch n spysweeper very cool tray icon lol
so currently i running ad watch 2007 n spy sweeper shield at the same time, real time, doesnt crash....i used to hv bitdefender 2008 n kaspersky 700125 running at same time too but i uninst kas halfway, leaving only bitd now...when real time, operate only one....if scan, use both to scan
dw, os on my centrino 1.5 still running smoothly, probly result from serious tweaking ...hehe...two heads better than one
This post has been edited by wayfeel: Nov 6 2007, 02:55 PM
tan_pang
Nov 6 2007, 03:04 PM
Spybot S&D do have real-time protection it is call TeaTimer, the protection for your registry entry
wayfeel
Nov 6 2007, 03:18 PM
hi tan pang,
ic....actually last time i use SDS long time d, i didnt update it lol....but imho, many sfotwares , anitvirus n firewall even has registry guard...ie kaspersky 7 so i think is no big deal abt teatimer *if registry guard is all it does....
Added on November 6, 2007, 3:24 pm i wanto add adwatch n aawservice eats very high mem usage ooo....
This post has been edited by wayfeel: Nov 6 2007, 03:24 PM
natakaasd
Nov 6 2007, 03:33 PM
Please be aware that having a guard does not mean it is everything. Cookies are in fact not important. You can use CCleaner for them. You said Spybot detected the same Spyware again, and again, and again... What was it? Did you report to Spybot's Customer Support? I am very sure they will try their beast to help you. Please do not be tricked into having a false sense of security. Constant Vigilance is needed. Cheers!
tan_pang
Nov 6 2007, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Nov 6 2007, 03:18 PM) hi tan pang, ic....actually last time i use SDS long time d, i didnt update it lol....but imho, many sfotwares , anitvirus n firewall even has registry guard...ie kaspersky 7 so i think is no big deal abt teatimer *if registry guard is all it does.... Added on November 6, 2007, 3:24 pmi wanto add adwatch n aawservice eats very high mem usage ooo.... I don't know about other software for registry entry protection... but for the Adwatch and Adaware memory usage you said just now... I agree... and because of its slow update too, I have delete it from my computer This post has been edited by tan_pang: Nov 6 2007, 03:35 PM
wayfeel
Nov 6 2007, 03:39 PM
kaspersky 7 ,bitdefender has the registry guard
puppet
Nov 23 2007, 02:16 AM

i just got this new very good for specific stubborn spyware, trojan, hijacker, etc... that keep annoying my taskbar with fake alert popup when click they ask to buy... where the most popular Lavasoft brand free Ad-Aware SE cannot delete it... after trying some brands still fail... this one the free version works SUPERAntiSpywarehttp://www.superantispyware.com/
sellihcA2005
Nov 30 2007, 08:44 PM

BO Clean Anti-Malware Version 4.25 by the developers of Comodo Personal Firewall. http://www.comodo.com/boclean/boclean.htmlWorth a try and best of all it's free too.
impreza_2007
Dec 3 2007, 11:45 PM
can try spycatcher express 2006  ..
singchaii
Dec 13 2007, 10:16 PM
I dun understand something. I'm using ad-adware personal edition. No matter how many time I scan, It dun have any effection. Once I use spyware doctor, i got around 300++ spyware. Ad-aware personal edition useless??
super macgyver
Dec 13 2007, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(singchaii @ Dec 13 2007, 10:16 PM) I dun understand something. I'm using ad-adware personal edition. No matter how many time I scan, It dun have any effection. Once I use spyware doctor, i got around 300++ spyware. Ad-aware personal edition useless?? sum antispyware also define cookies as spyware ler.
singchaii
Dec 14 2007, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 13 2007, 11:32 PM) sum antispyware also define cookies as spyware ler.  ya.. I find out, all is cookies that spyware doctor get..
natakaasd
Dec 14 2007, 12:22 AM
Cookies are NOT HARMFUL. No worries, no sweats.  They are only Online "Logs". Just delete them and you will be safe. People only fuss about them due to Privacy Issues, other than that, 0% Danger. Cheers!
Kisayami
Dec 17 2007, 10:24 PM
what is a good anti-virus to windows 2003 server?
senang_giler
Dec 23 2007, 09:04 PM

just using kaspersky internet security la..... or antivirus smart security....
complete protection for ur comp....
use loooowwww memory......
impreza_2007
Jan 1 2008, 01:00 AM
can try avira antivir personaledition classic  ..
paradox3696
Jan 1 2008, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 14 2007, 12:22 AM) Cookies are NOT HARMFUL. No worries, no sweats.  They are only Online "Logs". Just delete them and you will be safe. People only fuss about them due to Privacy Issues, other than that, 0% Danger. Cheers! If losing a privacy is not important enuff, then by all means, u might think of linking all your personal details to include health status (could affect your employment, insurance rates- AIDS, and other serious illnesses) to your Smart ID Card or ATM card or cerditcard. I cant imagine that. The worst part about cookies in the net is that it collects all the information about u, what u like (porns), what u dont like, what your preference are, etc etc. Just like someone is following every moves of yours with video camera. Anyone would be scare of that. By the way, thanks for telling me the forum rules. CHeers
natakaasd
Jan 1 2008, 10:36 PM
I would not know whether the last sentence was added with cheek or not, I will not pursue it.
Privacy is up to the user. If the person was to be anonymous, by all means, delete the cookies. simple.
Cookies are used for your Web Mail too. Without cookies, Ignore Gmail, Yahoo Mail and the lot.
~Cheers!
Veron88
Jan 22 2008, 10:27 AM

my 1st choice----> spyware doctor i had try ad-ware......a lot but i tink spyware doctor is the best.. SD has a good scan engine.... after the scan your pc juz clean..
chika138
Jan 22 2008, 10:49 PM
i jz found this oceanside adware spyware remover. downloaded d trial demo, n full version 1 yr oni USD 5. any1 try it b4?
hkpoh
Feb 14 2008, 11:22 PM
natakaasd,
from what I known u r using ad-aware SE version, can u update ur pattern?
Digifriend07
Feb 16 2008, 03:23 AM
Anyone tried comodo boclean?
arinsms
Feb 27 2008, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(Veron88 @ Jan 22 2008, 10:27 AM) my 1st choice----> spyware doctor i had try ad-ware......a lot but i tink spyware doctor is the best.. SD has a good scan engine.... after the scan your pc juz clean.. spyware doctor use too much resource...try superantispyware
korn
Mar 2 2008, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Nov 28 2006, 02:16 AM) i wana ask..which one is better?... Ad-Aware SE Professional or Ad-aware 6 I'll stick to the Ad-Aware SE, the free one hehe.... Ad-Aware SE my choice for spyware removal....
impreza_2007
Mar 6 2008, 03:48 PM
can try new freeware..hazard shield  ..
super macgyver
Mar 10 2008, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(impreza_2007 @ Mar 6 2008, 03:48 PM) can try new freeware..hazard shield  .. u try with threatfire yet?
impreza_2007
Mar 11 2008, 01:44 PM
i have try threatfire (pcmag editor choice)..so far so good..  ..hazard shield review freeware in pcworld  ..
eXPeri3nc3
Apr 9 2008, 04:26 PM
*edited* sry wrong info
This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Apr 9 2008, 04:27 PM
super macgyver
Apr 9 2008, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(mfaiz89 @ Apr 9 2008, 04:20 PM) isn't that internet security instead?
Digifriend07
Apr 10 2008, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Apr 9 2008, 11:01 PM) isn't that internet security instead?  Yup!! Antivirus+antispan+firewall...Though the firewall didn't score high in matousec.com leak-test...
natakaasd
Apr 10 2008, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(hkpoh @ Feb 14 2008, 11:22 PM) natakaasd, from what I known u r using ad-aware SE version, can u update ur pattern? This is one answer that is long overdue.  I no longer use Ad-Aware SE. I feel that the program is overbloated and is not performing. It has been dropped from my recommend list of Anti-Malware Programs. My current updated recommend list for Anti-Malware Programs: 1. Spybot S & D (Forever strong. LOL) 2. Spyware Terminator (This was dropped once - Relegated.  . Now, it is back on my list again!) 3. SpywareBlaster (Prevention is sometimes better than Cure) 4. AVG Anti-Spyware (Due to its Legacy EWIDO Scanning Engine.) ~Cheers!
bean_man
Apr 10 2008, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Apr 10 2008, 12:09 AM) Yup!! Antivirus+antispan+firewall...Though the firewall didn't score high in matousec.com leak-test...  erm.. from insider sources that i know says that ESET is aware and are working with matousec to see what exactly went wrong. perhaps they may fare better in the next test....
impreza_2007
Apr 21 2008, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(Veron88 @ Jan 22 2008, 11:27 AM) my 1st choice----> spyware doctor i had try ad-ware......a lot but i tink spyware doctor is the best.. SD has a good scan engine.... after the scan your pc juz clean.. can try free edition spyware doctor but dont have much option like full ediiton  ..
willychai
Apr 25 2008, 12:48 AM
i just install Ad-Aware SE but when i try to update the version then i cant update it and it say Updating Error..
How do i solve this problem?
thx in advance...
mfaiz89
Apr 29 2008, 04:47 PM

just use Eset NOD32 or Smart security... it include with antispyware... no need to install a lot of program in one pc...
super macgyver
May 2 2008, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(willychai @ Apr 25 2008, 12:48 AM) i just install Ad-Aware SE but when i try to update the version then i cant update it and it say Updating Error.. How do i solve this problem? thx in advance... u can just shift to spybot which is more efficency.
cyew86
May 3 2008, 12:56 AM
i have personally tried spyware doctor, i dunno abt u guys, but that piece of crap sucked up all my system's resources. i could not even get the start button to work and task manager cannot be brought up to kill off the application. what i did was, right click on the taskbar icon, waited for about 5 minutes, then the context menu popped up, and clicked shut down. friggin 5 minutes just to get a context menu to come out!!!! after it is shut down, the task manager and the start menu all popped out
super macgyver
May 3 2008, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2008, 12:56 AM) i have personally tried spyware doctor, i dunno abt u guys, but that piece of crap sucked up all my system's resources. i could not even get the start button to work and task manager cannot be brought up to kill off the application. what i did was, right click on the taskbar icon, waited for about 5 minutes, then the context menu popped up, and clicked shut down. friggin 5 minutes just to get a context menu to come out!!!! after it is shut down, the task manager and the start menu all popped out  which version u using? heard tat it was the most powerful antispyware so far.
cyew86
May 3 2008, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ May 3 2008, 09:34 AM) which version u using? heard tat it was the most powerful antispyware so far.  the latest version, i guess it's good for new PC with good hardware, but just wouldn't work on old PC like mine  have u tried it personally?
impreza_2007
May 3 2008, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2008, 04:56 PM) the latest version, i guess it's good for new PC with good hardware, but just wouldn't work on old PC like mine  have u tried it personally? now i try the latest version spyware doctor free edition (starter edition n ver 5.5 - in circle in pic below) n so far so good..nothing anything happen with my button or task manager cannot open..or after pc shut down, the task manager and the start menu all popped out..mm..
cyew86
May 3 2008, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(impreza_2007 @ May 3 2008, 06:23 PM) now i try the latest version spyware doctor free edition (starter edition n ver 5.5 - in circle in pic below) n so far so good..nothing anything happen with my button or task manager cannot open..or after pc shut down, the task manager and the start menu all popped out..mm.. maybe it's no good on my old PC then This post has been edited by cyew86: May 3 2008, 07:22 PM
impreza_2007
May 4 2008, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2008, 08:22 PM) maybe it's no good on my old PC then  mm..it ok..u can try another antispyware if like to install..like spycather, spybot, n another software freeware  ...u can try searh in google.com n try taip software antispyware freeware n enter..u can get more link freeware antispyware  ..up to u  ..
cyew86
May 4 2008, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(impreza_2007 @ May 4 2008, 10:26 AM) mm..it ok..u can try another antispyware if like to install..like spycather, spybot, n another software freeware  ...u can try searh in google.com n try taip software antispyware freeware n enter..u can get more link freeware antispyware  ..up to u  .. using NOD32 ESS now, it go easy on my aging rig
gengenrinni
May 23 2008, 02:25 AM

QUOTE(willychai @ Apr 25 2008, 01:48 AM) i just install Ad-Aware SE but when i try to update the version then i cant update it and it say Updating Error.. How do i solve this problem? thx in advance... coz... now ad-aware SE switch to ad-aware 2007 / 2008(beta) ady.. that y u cant update by ad-aware SE.. the lastest update ur ad-aware is 2007 DEC.!!! u just try ad-aware 2007/2008 or spybot .. really not bad !
TechnoDude94
May 26 2008, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2008, 12:56 AM) i have personally tried spyware doctor, i dunno abt u guys, but that piece of crap sucked up all my system's resources. i could not even get the start button to work and task manager cannot be brought up to kill off the application. what i did was, right click on the taskbar icon, waited for about 5 minutes, then the context menu popped up, and clicked shut down. friggin 5 minutes just to get a context menu to come out!!!! after it is shut down, the task manager and the start menu all popped out  There's no use saying that the piece of software is not good, it could be due to some other programs sucking up your resource or maybe your rig is too old and underpowered? I'm not insulting or offending anyone here. Just my 2 cents.
super macgyver
May 27 2008, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ May 26 2008, 10:42 AM) There's no use saying that the piece of software is not good, it could be due to some other programs sucking up your resource or maybe your rig is too old and underpowered? I'm not insulting or offending anyone here. Just my 2 cents.  he is telling the true as many ppl also had complaint unless u just upgrade ur system.
TechnoDude94
May 27 2008, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ May 27 2008, 05:49 PM) he is telling the true as many ppl also had complaint unless u just upgrade ur system.  You mean that a lot of people complained that their systems lag when using Spyware Doctor? Depends on the specs. Minimum 1GB RAM with proper settings and tweak and I doubt it'll lag.
super macgyver
May 28 2008, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ May 27 2008, 06:45 PM) You mean that a lot of people complained that their systems lag when using Spyware Doctor? Depends on the specs. Minimum 1GB RAM with proper settings and tweak and I doubt it'll lag. had u ever tried it on ur pc yet?
TechnoDude94
May 28 2008, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ May 28 2008, 01:39 PM) had u ever tried it on ur pc yet?  Nope but I doubt that'll lag because if you have the proper tuning then it wouldn't be so bad. With 1GB to 2GB RAM it wouldn't be so bad would it? I'm gonna download it.
mfaiz89
Jun 9 2008, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 4 2008, 07:39 PM) using NOD32 ESS now, it go easy on my aging rig  ya, i agree with you...
Vaiz
Jun 10 2008, 03:04 AM

I've read and checked all the anti-spyware infos on the net and newspaper, and i already downloaded SpyBot Search & Destroy and Ad-Aware 2008. Now i need some serious and useful reviews on these two anti-spyware software before i install in on my system. Anyone please, thanks a lot.
~Curious~
Jun 11 2008, 11:48 PM
i've been using spybot for awhile now,seems ok-can monitor the registry so i guess u can know wad's going on
but recently,the keylogger update can't be incorporated into the software wor,wad shud i do neh
Skylinestar
Jun 14 2008, 08:49 PM
I've tested Spyware Doctor on XP with sempron 2GHz and 1GB ram. makes my pc very slow.
fiqir
Jun 16 2008, 09:27 AM
i just using spyware terminator
havuk
Jun 22 2008, 03:06 AM

My PC have 2GB RAM and Spyware Doctor alone used 200+ MB of memory. Didn't feel any lag but for an antispyware to suck up so much juice, hell even Firefox didn't use that much ram. I'm not surprised it slowed down many underpowered PC.
Sorry, I uninstalled it and never to be installed again.
songbo
Jun 22 2008, 10:35 PM
which anti-spyware is the best??
chika138
Jun 23 2008, 02:12 PM
i would still say spyware doctor starter edition (free) is the best yesterday my old desktop's internet explorer (1gb ram) got bothered by some chinese website's spywares keep popping up even without IE on i installed spyware doctor from google pack (slightly older version) and 6 types of spywares in total of 118 infections caught and cleaned (including trojans. ad-aware and spybot only detect tracking cookies most of the times) and tata, my computer is free from infection again!! fast scanning. can be scheduled. recommended! and oh ya it only takes up 6mb of my ram only a bit lag during scheduled scan
This post has been edited by chika138: Jun 23 2008, 02:20 PM
fiqir
Jun 23 2008, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 02:12 PM) i would still say spyware doctor starter edition (free) is the best yesterday my old desktop's internet explorer (1gb ram) got bothered by some chinese website's spywares keep popping up even without IE on i installed spyware doctor from google pack (slightly older version) and 6 types of spywares in total of 118 infections caught and cleaned (including trojans. ad-aware and spybot only detect tracking cookies most of the times) and tata, my computer is free from infection again!! fast scanning. can be scheduled. recommended! and oh ya it only takes up 6mb of my ram only a bit lag during scheduled scan i just install spyware doctor starter edition. i just knew that my PC was infected by high rating spyware. thanks google
chika138
Jun 23 2008, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(fiqir @ Jun 23 2008, 05:38 PM) i just install spyware doctor starter edition. i just knew that my PC was infected by high rating spyware. thanks google  i thot u thanking me, yahoo. Cuz yahoo is what my college mates call me haha. u can schedule scan so that spyware doctor can scan regularly.
fiqir
Jun 23 2008, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 09:50 PM) i thot u thanking me, yahoo. Cuz yahoo is what my college mates call me haha. u can schedule scan so that spyware doctor can scan regularly. thanks anyway, but i prefer manual scan
chika138
Jun 26 2008, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 02:12 PM) i would still say spyware doctor starter edition (free) is the best yesterday my old desktop's internet explorer (1gb ram) got bothered by some chinese website's spywares keep popping up even without IE on i installed spyware doctor from google pack (slightly older version) and 6 types of spywares in total of 118 infections caught and cleaned (including trojans. ad-aware and spybot only detect tracking cookies most of the times) and tata, my computer is free from infection again!! fast scanning. can be scheduled. recommended! and oh ya it only takes up 6mb of my ram only a bit lag during scheduled scan bit off topic. 6118 came out in magnum special prize i asked my parents to buy but no 1 bought. So gik sum(sakit hati) here comes another function of anti-spyware, give 4d prediction. lol
songbo
Jun 30 2008, 04:08 PM
other than spyware doctor ler? my fren using and i don like it le..
eXPeri3nc3
Jun 30 2008, 04:54 PM
Try SuperAntiSpyware then.
punkyswat
Jun 30 2008, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 30 2008, 04:54 PM) Try SuperAntiSpyware then. free software
fiqir
Jul 1 2008, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 30 2008, 04:54 PM) Try SuperAntiSpyware then. just found one trojan horse.. nice software
jack2
Jul 2 2008, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 02:12 PM) i would still say spyware doctor starter edition (free) is the best yesterday my old desktop's internet explorer (1gb ram) got bothered by some chinese website's spywares keep popping up even without IE on i installed spyware doctor from google pack (slightly older version) and 6 types of spywares in total of 118 infections caught and cleaned (including trojans. ad-aware and spybot only detect tracking cookies most of the times) and tata, my computer is free from infection again!! fast scanning. can be scheduled. recommended! and oh ya it only takes up 6mb of my ram only a bit lag during scheduled scan Spyware doctor starter edition is so good ah? What is the different between google pack one and the one download from Spyware doctor web? Does Spyware Doctor scan and detect in real time?
chika138
Jul 2 2008, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 2 2008, 09:35 AM) Spyware doctor starter edition is so good ah? What is the different between google pack one and the one download from Spyware doctor web? Does Spyware Doctor scan and detect in real time? i think no difference, just google pack's version may lag behind a bit la, sometimes not the latest no, i don't think it's got real time protection but 1 thing it's incompatible with kaspersky. u try first lo, different ppl may have different opinion and preference
tan_pang
Jul 2 2008, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jul 2 2008, 09:56 AM) i think no difference, just google pack's version may lag behind a bit la, sometimes not the latest no, i don't think it's got real time protection but 1 thing it's incompatible with kaspersky. u try first lo, different ppl may have different opinion and preference Found this on the official website... QUOTE Trial Limitations: The trial offers time unlimited real-time protection (free spyware blocking), but does not remove threats detected during on-demand scans, updates may also differ to those supplied to registered users.
mfaiz89
Jul 7 2008, 03:40 PM

how about Threat Fire...?
any comment...
Digifriend07
Jul 7 2008, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(mfaiz89 @ Jul 7 2008, 03:40 PM) how about Threat Fire...? any comment... The main principle in threatfire is prevention. Based on their mass storage of community protection database, your computer will be protected from various spyware or trojan from penetrate, which whitelist or blacklist is determined from. And there's also on-demand scan for rootkit, and to run "on-demand virus scan"... So far I'm using it, there's no complain and yet already prevent a trojan from installing bassmode.dll to my system32 folder. Quite impressive but not as good as real HIPS protection + the database...
mfaiz89
Jul 7 2008, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Jul 7 2008, 05:30 PM) The main principle in threatfire is prevention. Based on their mass storage of community protection database, your computer will be protected from various spyware or trojan from penetrate, which whitelist or blacklist is determined from. And there's also on-demand scan for rootkit, and to run "on-demand virus scan"... So far I'm using it, there's no complain and yet already prevent a trojan from installing bassmode.dll to my system32 folder. Quite impressive but not as good as real HIPS protection + the database... owh i see... i'm using threat fire too, just a few day ago... so far ok la...
foongchinboon
Jul 8 2008, 02:50 PM
my IE7 infected virus that keep on pop-up a lot of new tab window. which software can solve this problem?
Erica[Jin]
Jul 16 2008, 03:31 PM

I tried AVG8, but it's not very good. Seems lk Avast better.
chika138
Aug 4 2008, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 8 2008, 02:50 PM) my IE7 infected virus that keep on pop-up a lot of new tab window. which software can solve this problem?  try spyware doctor 1st not virus i think, just spyware
Joshua_0718
Aug 7 2008, 10:32 AM
Now no one no longer using ad-aware already? Wanted to download the ad-adware 2008 plus but it doesn't allow. Saying our country is not available yet.  Btw, does KIS is more than enough? Since KIS has anti-malware? Or malware and spyware is totally different? This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Aug 7 2008, 10:34 AM
Digifriend07
Aug 7 2008, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Aug 7 2008, 10:32 AM) Now no one no longer using ad-aware already? Wanted to download the ad-adware 2008 plus but it doesn't allow. Saying our country is not available yet.  Btw, does KIS is more than enough? Since KIS has anti-malware? Or malware and spyware is totally different? Spyware is subset of malware... All kind of dangerous codes are consider as malwares
SUS[AM]
Aug 9 2008, 05:27 PM
Which on is the gud anti spyware that is freeware?
chika138
Aug 10 2008, 12:15 AM
QUOTE([AM�) ,Aug 9 2008, 05:27 PM] Which on is the gud anti spyware that is freeware? spyware doctor IMO i really don experience the goodness of SUPER antispyware as many claimed btw i'll always spend about rm40 to get a license of KIS for a less worried yr ahead
ankiesiau
Aug 21 2008, 05:42 PM

how about Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.25 Multilanguage? Home page: http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
SPASTICZ
Aug 25 2008, 12:12 PM
can try Kaspersky Internet Security 2009. it protects u from sypware and adware. besides tat, it has a self-protection from malware.. more than secure dy i think.. haha.
Kuhan
Sep 3 2008, 06:11 PM
Just wanted to share my finding here  . Yesterday after doing some surfing *cough* (if you know what i mean  ) I found that my browsing speed was slow. I noticed that it took 3-4 seconds to load my homepage(www.google.com), which was always instant, files that i could download at rates of 50kbps from rapid share became 5kbps. My instinct were to run my Avast antivirus, but nothing was detected, so I knew it could be spyware. Today I ran Spybot S&D, it detected 3 infections. I thought that was all but i was wrong when I ran ad-aware, ad-aware detected 178 infections. After running ad-aware browsing speed was back to normal. But after ad-aware I ran SUPERAntiSpyware, and it detected 45infections ad-aware missed. So i think it would be safe to say SUPER Anti Spyware is what i would suggest. Added on September 3, 2008, 6:16 pmOne more thing, windows defender is useless. First thing I tried, detected 0 infected files. This post has been edited by Kuhan: Sep 3 2008, 06:16 PM
GrandElf
Sep 11 2008, 08:50 AM
just wanna ask something here.....recently my firefox browser loading speed of website is becoming more n more slower than usual.....n this happen after my bitdefender license was expired when i was away from my computer...I have already install back a new antivirus (ESET NOD32) and quickly scan my computer for infected spyware or virus but it showing 0 infection...but still my firefox browser speed didnt recover at all as well as my IE7....so are my computer being infected by spyware or virus??do i need an anti-spyware? pls help....thanks
super macgyver
Sep 14 2008, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(GrandElf @ Sep 11 2008, 08:50 AM) just wanna ask something here.....recently my firefox browser loading speed of website is becoming more n more slower than usual.....n this happen after my bitdefender license was expired when i was away from my computer...I have already install back a new antivirus (ESET NOD32) and quickly scan my computer for infected spyware or virus but it showing 0 infection...but still my firefox browser speed didnt recover at all as well as my IE7....so are my computer being infected by spyware or virus??do i need an anti-spyware? pls help....thanks  nod32 is not that infective as before, u can try use avast or kaspersky to scan ur pc under safe mode, after that, u install spybot antispyware to scan through ur whole pc again.
havuk
Nov 5 2008, 03:58 AM

After messing around I personally put the ranking now like this:
1. SuperAntiSpyware 2. Malwarebytes 3. Ad-Aware 2008
spybot & spyware terminator detection is so poor it's sad.
prevention is better than cure so my ranking for protection:
1. Comodo BOClean < user friendly 2. ThreatFire < too sensitive but still good
there's this beta version of Avorax Shield, quite good but still in beta. hope it be stable soon.
ooo yeah don't forget hijackthis hehe
chika138
Nov 26 2008, 03:48 PM
threatfire is a system hog to me and not evy1 knows how to use hijackthis
i prefer spyware doctor as my anti-spyware jz that my KIS not compatible with it so it's not installed in my laptop
Angel of Deth
Nov 26 2008, 03:57 PM
Try BullGuard Internet Security for 60 days...Gamer's Edition also available, same as Internet Security but with gaming plug-in..BullGuard currently used BitDefender Anti-virus and anti-spyware engine..it have firewall too.
chika138
Nov 27 2008, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Nov 26 2008, 03:57 PM) Try BullGuard Internet Security for 60 days...Gamer's Edition also available, same as Internet Security but with gaming plug-in..BullGuard currently used BitDefender Anti-virus and anti-spyware engine..it have firewall too. how's the performance le?
TechnoDude94
Nov 30 2008, 01:46 PM
SuperAntiSpyware Pro FTW!
spikeee
Dec 7 2008, 01:07 PM
we should have a poll that allows LYN to vote which is the best spyware tool. Added on December 7, 2008, 1:08 pmsorry whoops ignore my comment This post has been edited by spikeee: Dec 7 2008, 01:08 PM
CallMeMonkey
Dec 7 2008, 07:12 PM
kaspersky + spywareblaster is the best IMO
kaspersky has already built-in antispyware so any other AW program wont be needed.
-Torrz
Dec 7 2008, 07:25 PM
Kapersky or you can try SUPERad aware
TechnoDude94
Dec 8 2008, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(-Torrz @ Dec 7 2008, 07:25 PM) Kapersky or you can try SUPERad aware SuperAntiSpyware Pro should be sufficient for an independent Anti-Spyware program.
spikeee
Dec 8 2008, 12:57 PM
actually i think a lot of times it's not just about the efficiency of the scan rates of the scanners. it's a balanced ratio between its' resource utilization as well.
have you guys tried malwarebytes anti-malware?
TechnoDude94
Dec 9 2008, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(spikeee @ Dec 8 2008, 12:57 PM) actually i think a lot of times it's not just about the efficiency of the scan rates of the scanners. it's a balanced ratio between its' resource utilization as well. have you guys tried malwarebytes anti-malware? Yes, I've tried Malwarebytes Anti-Malware but I still prefer SuperAntiSpyware Pro for it's less taxing utilization of resources.
xelnamikaze
Dec 16 2008, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 9 2008, 08:47 PM) Yes, I've tried Malwarebytes Anti-Malware but I still prefer SuperAntiSpyware Pro for it's less taxing utilization of resources.  dont AV provide Anti-Malware features?
TechnoDude94
Dec 17 2008, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 16 2008, 07:00 PM) dont AV provide Anti-Malware features? Not necessarily AV solution provides anti-spyware/anti-malware. As for me, I'm using Norton Anti-virus '09, SuperAntiSpyware Pro, Zone Alarm Firewall Pro and Windows Defender.  PS: I'm damn paranoid.
Shin1022
Dec 29 2008, 02:37 AM
i'm paranoid too, preiviously my PC has AVG antivirus, AVG antispywaare, Spyware doctor, spybot search and destroy, and ad-aware for protection...haha..
mac still the best..hehe
TechnoDude94
Dec 30 2008, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(Shin1022 @ Dec 29 2008, 02:37 AM) i'm paranoid too, preiviously my PC has AVG antivirus, AVG antispywaare, Spyware doctor, spybot search and destroy, and ad-aware for protection...haha.. mac still the best..hehe Dude, please show us a screenshot of all the listed antivirus programs in one single/same OS.  If you can, then you'd be the Godfather (  ), I've tried installing Spyware Doctor, Spybot Search and Destroy and Lavasoft Ad-aware and all I got was conflicts.  So, I'd really like to see how you pull it off.
eXPeri3nc3
Dec 30 2008, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 30 2008, 02:50 AM) Dude, please show us a screenshot of all the listed antivirus programs in one single/same OS.  If you can, then you'd be the Godfather (  ), I've tried installing Spyware Doctor, Spybot Search and Destroy and Lavasoft Ad-aware and all I got was conflicts.  So, I'd really like to see how you pull it off. Lol I tried SnD and Adaware before. Not sure bout Spyware Doctor. I know Spybot got live monitoring la, Adaware got meh? I can confirm you this two won't conflict at least
xelnamikaze
Dec 30 2008, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 30 2008, 03:50 AM) Dude, please show us a screenshot of all the listed antivirus programs in one single/same OS.  If you can, then you'd be the Godfather (  ), I've tried installing Spyware Doctor, Spybot Search and Destroy and Lavasoft Ad-aware and all I got was conflicts.  So, I'd really like to see how you pull it off. had the same experienced too .. simply cannot use all 3 software at one time QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 30 2008, 01:37 PM) Lol I tried SnD and Adaware before. Not sure bout Spyware Doctor. I know Spybot got live monitoring la, Adaware got meh? I can confirm you this two won't conflict at least  Spyware Doctor is the problem..
TechnoDude94
Dec 31 2008, 03:05 AM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 30 2008, 12:37 PM) Lol I tried SnD and Adaware before. Not sure bout Spyware Doctor. I know Spybot got live monitoring la, Adaware got meh? I can confirm you this two won't conflict at least  Yes, if not mistaken, the paid version of Lavasoft Ad-aware has got real-time protection.
xelnamikaze
Dec 31 2008, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:05 AM) Yes, if not mistaken, the paid version of Lavasoft Ad-aware has got real-time protection. well .. my antivirus does the job so that i don;t need to use Ad-aware on my pc.
TechnoDude94
Dec 31 2008, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 31 2008, 01:01 PM) well .. my antivirus does the job so that i don;t need to use Ad-aware on my pc. Well, even though I've got NIS '09 installed, I still have SuperAntiSpyware Pro installed.
-Torrz
Dec 31 2008, 03:23 PM
Ad aware free also got I think. Cuz if you open Task Manager you'll see Ad aware.exe???
ssiapf
Dec 31 2008, 04:59 PM
hi, i think my pc is been affected now by virus cos now my avira antivir personal -free antivirus is turn off whenever i start my pc, using xp now. Not using any other software, only got avira
I want to start protection now, which free software can i use? include spyware and malware even i don't know what they are.
xelnamikaze
Jan 1 2009, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(ssiapf @ Dec 31 2008, 05:59 PM) hi, i think my pc is been affected now by virus cos now my avira antivir personal -free antivirus is turn off whenever i start my pc, using xp now. Not using any other software, only got avira I want to start protection now, which free software can i use? include spyware and malware even i don't know what they are. well .. for me avira personal is the best freeware antivirus out there.. try uninstalling it and reinstalling it back.
ssiapf
Jan 4 2009, 09:13 PM
i just download their latest one and format my hdd within this months and install, i heard that virus could also affect video file too? Can avira remove them?
xelnamikaze
Jan 5 2009, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(ssiapf @ Jan 4 2009, 10:13 PM) i just download their latest one and format my hdd within this months and install, i heard that virus could also affect video file too? Can avira remove them? how should we know what virus attacked your video file? try and see for yourself ^^
yasushi
Feb 28 2009, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(ssiapf @ Dec 31 2008, 06:59 PM) hi, i think my pc is been affected now by virus cos now my avira antivir personal -free antivirus is turn off whenever i start my pc, using xp now. Not using any other software, only got avira I want to start protection now, which free software can i use? include spyware and malware even i don't know what they are. I remember an old and bizarre bug with avira were the umbrella didn't "open" (the av isn't started) could only solve reinstaling avira maybe its note a virus
mythminded
May 22 2009, 02:39 AM

Using Malwarebyte's .... very nice, simple, fast. Great detection, can be updated frequently...
For free!!
Emo_Boy
May 26 2009, 01:43 AM
how to delete subseven and prorat 2.0 spyware...
impreza_2007
Jun 3 2009, 02:44 PM
now my pc have spyware blaster, spyware doctor, a-squared free, avira personal edition, comodo personal firewall..but in startup have on only avira n comodo firewall..
if wanna update i on one by one n wanna scanner also one by one..
Skylinestar
Jun 3 2009, 10:12 PM
i was visiting msn lifestyle page.....while going to page 7, 8...antivir pops up warning me of potential threat http://lifestyle.msn.com/your-look/everyda...05114>1=32002any anyone with other types of antivirus pls try it? or is it just false warning? This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jun 3 2009, 10:13 PM
gengenrinni
Jun 25 2009, 03:45 PM

try vipre anti virus + anti spyware .. -high speed and less memory hungry -combined with world greatest anti spyware ( CounterSpy) -wont lag in your P3 pc
MYN92
Jun 28 2009, 07:00 PM

how about ad-adware?
ableze_joepardy
Jul 4 2009, 02:14 AM
hi.. plz suggest a good low resource anti spyware for me... ad aware 2007 lags like helly in my netbook... thx in advance...
fenzodahl512
Jul 4 2009, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jul 4 2009, 02:14 AM) hi.. plz suggest a good low resource anti spyware for me... ad aware 2007 lags like helly in my netbook... thx in advance... Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware.. Google for it..
gengenrinni
Jul 7 2009, 01:58 AM

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jul 4 2009, 03:14 AM) hi.. plz suggest a good low resource anti spyware for me... ad aware 2007 lags like helly in my netbook... thx in advance... spybot also not bad la..
ayumiya
Jul 16 2009, 03:32 PM
what about a-squared free? I hear it's very good, but it take space.
Anyone used Spyware Doctor before?
If compare those two, which one is better?
gengenrinni
Jul 16 2009, 11:29 PM

Avira are better than a-squared free..
and spyware doctor + anti virus are available in lowyat cycom .. only rm30 for 3 user with 1 year license
Added on July 16, 2009, 11:30 pmAvira are better than a-squared free..
and spyware doctor + anti virus are available in lowyat cycom .. only rm30 for 3 user with 1 year license
This post has been edited by gengenrinni: Jul 16 2009, 11:30 PM
yshiuan
Aug 7 2009, 01:54 PM
wanna ask something, Ad-aware better or Spybot better? my sis's anti-virus expired d. plan to install Avira and 1 more anti-spyware.
dy/dx
Aug 7 2009, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jul 4 2009, 02:14 AM) hi.. plz suggest a good low resource anti spyware for me... ad aware 2007 lags like helly in my netbook... thx in advance... etrust pest petrol
quintessential
Aug 9 2009, 11:08 PM
UnknownH
Aug 19 2009, 09:06 PM
spybot search and destroy?
SSJBen
Aug 28 2009, 12:47 AM
Torn between CounterSpy and SpySweeper at the moment. Which is the better anti-spyware solution?
I've heard some nasty things about SpySweeper though...
UnknownH
Aug 29 2009, 10:18 PM
is there any anti spyware that can update offline?
whopperblack
Oct 18 2009, 02:57 AM

Window Defender
raikko5
Oct 31 2009, 07:52 AM
i still with PC Tools Spyware Doctor with AV
KakiGamer69
Nov 14 2009, 08:09 PM

I use 4 layers of spyware...
1. SpywareBlaster Free Edition
2. ThreatFire
3. SuperAntispyware
4. Spybot search & destroy
all good combo!
joelietz
Jun 9 2010, 05:40 AM
Spybot doesn't seem to do much anymore, strangely. I'm really impressed with Emsisoft Anti-Malware 5.0 though. I couldn't believe all the problems that that program found on my computer when other software that I'm running finds nothing (including Spybot). QUOTE(UnknownH @ Aug 19 2009, 09:06 PM) spybot search and destroy? my dream dvd duplicatorThis post has been edited by joelietz: Jun 9 2010, 05:41 AM
CleverDick
Jul 9 2010, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Aug 29 2009, 10:18 PM) is there any anti spyware that can update offline? No...
Faivon
Sep 28 2010, 12:18 PM

What do you think is the best anti spyware? I've tried Spybot. It use quite a lot of memory and it's pretty sluggish but the performance is good.
T09
Sep 28 2010, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Faivon @ Sep 28 2010, 12:18 PM) What do you think is the best anti spyware? I've tried Spybot. It use quite a lot of memory and it's pretty sluggish but the performance is good. superantispyware + malwarebytes anti malware combo
leyley
Nov 22 2010, 12:24 PM
Spyware Terminator 2.8.1.188 & SuperAntiSpyware 4.45.1000
wanna be hi-tech
Feb 13 2011, 10:11 PM
whats the best trojan remover that works well with AVG free....of course ...a free trojan remover.....pls give some suggestions guys..(one that works well with AVG)..hopefully doesn't mess up my system...thx
T09
Feb 20 2011, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Feb 13 2011, 10:11 PM) whats the best trojan remover that works well with AVG free....of course ...a free trojan remover.....pls give some suggestions guys..(one that works well with AVG)..hopefully doesn't mess up my system...thx  jz install superantispyware + malwarebytes antimalware as on-demand scanner, both r gd antispyware compliment wit AVG
sonicstream
Mar 30 2011, 08:07 PM

I see this Anti-Malware is not added. Here: Malwarebytes' Anti-MalwareI guaranteed you, it is the best in the world for me. Fixed stubborn virus and security problem that even a PAID version of so-called "BEST ANTIVIRUS" can't fix.
T09
Jul 3 2011, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(sonicstream @ Mar 30 2011, 08:07 PM) I see this Anti-Malware is not added. Here: Malwarebytes' Anti-MalwareI guaranteed you, it is the best in the world for me. Fixed stubborn virus and security problem that even a PAID version of so-called "BEST ANTIVIRUS" can't fix. i second tat
cooly
Oct 13 2011, 07:32 PM

anti spyware wont conflict with anti virus?
T09
Nov 13 2011, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(cooly @ Oct 13 2011, 07:32 PM) anti spyware wont conflict with anti virus? no, they r gd to works 2gthr, jz make sure u don install 2 antivirus in a single system, as it wil cause conflict.
havuk
Feb 14 2012, 03:59 AM

Malwarebytes is also my favourite, along with TDSS Killer from Kaspersky.  Many spyware nowadays comes from fake antivirus, sad
de|phantom
Feb 24 2012, 11:23 AM
babymage88
Jan 2 2013, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(sonicstream @ Mar 30 2011, 08:07 PM) I see this Anti-Malware is not added. Here: Malwarebytes' Anti-MalwareI guaranteed you, it is the best in the world for me. Fixed stubborn virus and security problem that even a PAID version of so-called "BEST ANTIVIRUS" can't fix. I agree with ya Malwarebytes anti malware is very good for scanning for me just incase if some paid product or free product miss the detection Malwarebytes will do the job detect then remove.
silverstorm
Aug 24 2013, 06:42 PM
im tryin to use OLD software which was backdated few years ago.. it was nice n frenly, of cos .. done de job well compare to new version or upgrade version.. too bad, de developer doesnt support update anymore :*(
popice2u
Oct 15 2013, 10:59 PM
the one that really remove spyware must pay......
kding2
Feb 4 2014, 10:33 PM
Is there any decent adware remover to use? I mean, some of the adware removers are good but these usually have trial days...
#aten
Mar 1 2014, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(kding2 @ Feb 4 2014, 10:33 PM) Is there any decent adware remover to use? I mean, some of the adware removers are good but these usually have trial days... malwarebytes antispyware is top antimalware nowadays http://www.malwarebytes.org/mwb-download/install but do not choose the Pro version
perfectgrowwell
Nov 11 2015, 02:51 PM

Hello! Lowyat members. Just want to let you know we are one of the authorized software reseller in Malaysia. Please visit our online store Perfect Grow Well Enterprise. Our aim is selling genuine software online. We provide another choice for you to make and try to serve you better.
ahhann
Jul 29 2017, 12:30 AM
normally, just do backup regularly on your data and practice safe surfing. Format is the best and most secure way of clean save.
havuk
Aug 1 2017, 02:49 AM

1. https://www.malwarebytes.com/2. https://www.superantispyware.com/This post has been edited by havuk: Feb 1 2020, 03:29 AM