8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

megadisc
post Jun 6 2013, 09:00 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(goldconnection @ Jun 6 2013, 08:03 PM)
I don't know what industry you're in.  But with 5 years experience, 3K is a bit underpaid.  Consider a Singapore fresh business grad got average $4,000 and median $3,500 according to the latest survey conducted by their government.

I also have 5 years experience here in Malaysia.  After working a while in KL, I have used to certain things and if you ask me to think of leaving here, meaning leaving my family and friends behind, it is a bit awful.

But I'm also quite fed up about this election results  sad.gif  I see bleak future for Malaysia. If good opportunities from overseas come, I think I will have no hesitation to work there and settle down there before I can't. The notion of seeing my future generation suffer here and being deprived of education is even more awful.
fresh grad already 3.5 K ???? omg ...that's amazing ...

2omolo got another interview ...but no experience in pplastic moulding industry ...

die lah babe.
megadisc
post Jun 6 2013, 10:08 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(LilyBud @ Jun 6 2013, 10:02 PM)
Thanks for the info  notworthy.gif

I am in medical industry. dip in medical & deg in management. My pay in Msia is nearly 4k. I still able to send money home. In Msia, I can rent a whole apartment with RM 1k, in Sg with SGD 900 I can only rent a masterbedroom
I didn know 5 years experience can get so much.

@goldconnection I was so disappointed with our gov that I decided to leave. But leaving the freedom of driving around and and my dog and my dear friends kinda kills me.

It really makes me wonder how come so many ppl wanted to go into Sg??I the prospect of working in Sg better?? Dilemma!!!I have to reply them asap d.. HOW??
depends on your priosties ???

family or career ??? no bf ????
megadisc
post Jun 7 2013, 07:25 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 6 2013, 11:56 PM)
Btw, anyone working at CBP?
nope not me
megadisc
post Jun 9 2013, 06:24 PM

4,349 posts

this is super helpful
was considering getting a bite

but need to get the motor driving license 1st leh then convert to sg wan

also how ?

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)
enermax,

marine telco in Petronas ICT , i guess for MMHE pasir gudang?
since you already moved to Johor and stay with your parents, then it is easier to decide , as you had moved from KL > JB already.
Well, u have decided already laugh.gif

its a good offer if 1:1 and even better if the Britain co even give u CPF encashment, which you can save to UT for long term as EPF saving.

like keelim said, mentally and physically prepared for daily commuting in/out SG via Woodlands. Also be mentally and physically prepared working here as its not the same as working in malaysian environment in petronas/mmhe/iperintis.

Hope your EP approved without problem.

anyway, answering your question with my little exp of commuting. Lester1987 has more details.

Cost wise : MY bike vs SG bike
MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Petrol can fill in MY Ron95
Pakai till bike kaput or 20 yrs ++
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif
Kapcai EX5 cheap to buy and maintain.

SG Bike
No VEP
ERP paid as per gantry charged
Petrol still can fill MY Ron95
Pakai till 10yrs (if new) or buy used renew COE later (S$2k)
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
Kapcai price is 1:1 MY price. whistling.gif
megadisc
post Jun 9 2013, 08:00 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jun 9 2013, 07:22 PM)
had been submitted quite numbers of applications in jobstreets but none of them replied.  cry.gif
yeah ..we both in the same boat , ship and sampan ... blush.gif

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 07:16 PM)
Do I still need to convert my MY driving license to ride my MY bike in SG?

Or just converte the license if one day I buy SG bike.....

Need explanation on this friends..
yeah me want to know too ...

or we jsut get MY bike then leave it in singapore ....or must bring back ...???? whistling.gif
megadisc
post Jun 10 2013, 10:19 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 08:22 PM)
megadisc, u are so lazy and kept on putting value comments to kick up your post count. good luck on your job hunting.
thanks anyways ...

i think ..

just saw a motorcycle accidnet this morning , there goes my plan to get a bike ...
megadisc
post Jun 12 2013, 12:25 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 12 2013, 12:09 AM)
dude... u missed out income tax, that's a huge deduction..  icon_idea.gif

the work permit , no tax wan leh ..

lies  doh.gif

it can work leh, since the phone has internet ...that'already keeps u bz most of the time ..

megadisc
post Jun 12 2013, 02:04 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 12 2013, 01:50 PM)
I HIGHLY DOUBT any company - that doesn't even have an email domain and uses yahoo freemail to receive job applications - can offer anything worth looking at.
yeah so agree with u

quite UN-proffessional ...
megadisc
post Jun 13 2013, 09:25 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 12 2013, 10:16 PM)
Hi all, I have a question here..

So I was hunting for a job in singapore and applied some jobs thru Jobstreet.. some of the applications are under direct company application while some are under recruitment company.

So there was a person from recruitment company called me up for an interview and this noon I had my interview session with him.. The interview went smoothly and he introduced the job position (company background, benefits, allowance + OT etc) that I have applied for.

Then at the end of the interview, the interviewer said he will send my CV to the company and it's up to the company whether they'd like to interview me again or not..

So with the help of recruitment agency, do you think the chance of me being called up will be high?  hmm.gif

I have been sending applications since 2 weeks+ ago and today was the first interview  sad.gif
omg ...what a waste of time . Recruiter hasnt even send the resume to the company yet .

megadisc
post Jun 14 2013, 09:30 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 14 2013, 09:09 AM)
Hopefully i stand a higher chance through recruitment agency >< am really desperate for a job

yeah me too ...

just checking the pass requirements

Q1 Employment Pass : Professionals, Managers, Executives or Specialists

Young graduates from good institutions could qualify if they earn at least $3,000

S Pass : Mid-level skilled workers (e.g. Technicians)

Fixed monthly salary = $2,000

megadisc
post Jun 14 2013, 11:33 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:25 AM)

Share with you rental rate i paid
2008 $420 common room inclusive utility and internet. Stay with owner. Walking distance to JE MRT.
2009 $550 common room inclusive utility and internet. Stay with owner. Previous owner give the room to his relative. (Stay here 3 month as the next room not available yet. The owner raise from $500 to $550. 2 days before we move it). Walking distance to JE MRT.
2009 $600 Master room with bath room. PUB shared around $100/month. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till owner sold the house.
2011 $600 Master room with bath room. PUB shared around $100/month. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till owner increase rent to $900.
2012 $550 Common room. PUB around $80. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till my HDB ready
2013 ----- My own HDB !!!!!.
congrats on getting your own place ...must be worthwhile ...
megadisc
post Jun 16 2013, 10:20 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 16 2013, 05:18 AM)
Couldn't agree more on this. LOL!!!
yup ...agree wif u too ...

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Jun 15 2013, 10:48 PM)
I completed one week working in sg. I haven't collect my pass yet. I can strongly feel that racist cultural in my company!
sorry to hear that ...
megadisc
post Jun 18 2013, 12:27 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(light traveler @ Jun 18 2013, 12:16 AM)
is it not advisable to travel from jb to sg by car everyday?
car travel is fine , just allocate some time ...

it will save u more traveeling in spore.
megadisc
post Jun 19 2013, 10:23 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 19 2013, 10:14 AM)
Ya free for PR  wink.gif .

Save time for unnecessary trouble. They cannot charge you one, maybe waste few hours of your time.
but still need to take SG driving exam ??? and bring the JPJ letter to convert ???
megadisc
post Jun 23 2013, 01:27 AM

4,349 posts

psi under 100 liao
so air quite ok
megadisc
post Jun 23 2013, 11:37 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Mido575 @ Jun 23 2013, 09:40 PM)
how is the haze in sg?
going to be worsts...

the number of hotspots just doubled... shocking.gif
megadisc
post Jun 25 2013, 12:33 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 24 2013, 11:47 PM)
Hi taikos.. *raise hand*
ill need to have a meeting with dunno who and who before confirmation of my application. The process takes about 2 weeks to a month. (much longer time)

Anyway, I might be worried too much but do you think I still stand a chance of getting the job? As what my frens said, my chance of securing the job is much much higher as I made it to the second interview after all. What say you?
congrats

confirm sure get since laready 2nd stages
megadisc
post Jun 25 2013, 12:51 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 25 2013, 12:40 PM)
Yup... in Starbuck while having latte... coz the Norway director said that he prefer unorthodox way of interview... but thank god... akhirnya I got the job...

The bonus is I can stay closer with my parents as they in Johor now...

Fresh graduate get job in SG... engineering field... is very good for you... it will boost up your resume and career flow...
congrats to u bro

welcome to sg

now can celebrate.
megadisc
post Jun 25 2013, 03:54 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(zyrl @ Jun 25 2013, 03:29 PM)
Anyone noe what is the parking rate at JB Sentral area?

Now MBJB towing motorbikes around that area liao...
open air carpark is rm9 per day
not sure about jb sentral parking though

megadisc
post Jun 26 2013, 01:05 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 26 2013, 12:42 AM)
Well, gf never intro any to me.. lol.. ok I gonna pm either of them and see what brows.gif is.. lol
good lcuk to u then ...can work and get gf too

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0855sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:07 AM