Working in Singapore V14

yhoong12
post Jul 17 2013, 04:54 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(blazinphoenix @ Jul 17 2013, 04:46 PM)
They offer me via linkedin.. in that case i just wait for offer then. smile.gif Hopefully is not so low. Don't want to be taken advantage of just because im malaysian.
Maybe you can ask them what they offer you. not sure about headhunt process, but sometime take initiative can add mark.good luck!!
yhoong12
post Jul 17 2013, 05:45 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Jul 17 2013, 05:36 PM)
headhunter or hiring Co offered you? it makes lots of difference
Alot different? i thought normally is headhunter do the hunting job on behalf of hiring Co? what is the different?mind share? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 22 2013, 10:45 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Jul 22 2013, 04:18 AM)
Hi guys, do u rent ur room first then go find job in Singapore?
or find job first then rent room later?
Been plan to work in Singapore

For those who live in jb, how early u guys wake up to go through custom?
Rent a room required a pass. but even if you find a room for rent just using passport(not sure can use passport to rent onot), will be quite financial burden for yourself as you never know how long you need to get a job.
find job first is much more better and only travel down for interview when required.
yhoong12
post Jul 22 2013, 11:19 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jgamer @ Jul 22 2013, 11:08 AM)
I see, thankfully i will be staying in my mother friends house during job hunting for few days
Do u found ur job thru job agency, online job finder or newpaper?

For ppl who live in kl, how u managed to find a job and settle in Singapore?
Well, job hunting range can from a few days until a few month, doubt that few days is enough. u working or graduate soon?
i found my job thru online job market then only arrange to come down for interview.

why only ppl live in kl? everyone is the same regardless where you live. find a job and settle down is similar for eveyone.
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2013, 02:51 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Jul 23 2013, 01:46 PM)
You are right, I read that 6 months period thingy, but my employer had in fact applied this  pass in X June 2013 and on the first page of the IPA, it clearly stated "this IPA is valid until X August 2013", but we both are aware that I can only start to work in September, so the plan is now to finish up the pass thing by August and start working in September 2013.

and if possible, I don't want to spend two working days in SG to wait for the pass issuance, so I'm curious that can I enter SG with white card X and pass the white card X details to my SG employer, come out from SG without making the white card X invalid. Anyone has had that experience?  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
You should double check with you SG employer ma... if i m not mistaken, IPA consider it as temporary pass, and your white card will stapled on the IPA, just show the CIQ should be ok.
yhoong12
post Jul 23 2013, 05:21 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Jul 23 2013, 03:44 PM)
I guess they are also not entirely clear on this as this is also their first time. Anyway, shall try going in with white card and exit with by using IPA later, see if ICA accept that.
Going in using white card and pass to employer, then they staple it together and give back you IPA with white card stapled on it should bring no issue when you exit.
yhoong12
post Jul 26 2013, 03:38 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(br0ther9630 @ Jul 26 2013, 12:48 PM)
hey there, apart from using sites such as jobstreet etc, what are other ways to get a job in sg?

and how long does it take for them to reply to your application usually?
direct apply to the company, find a friend work in sg to refer you to their company, find sg headhunter. so much way to find job, stay in sg and find from newpapers(not advisable as will burden your finance)

how long? if too long then you dont want to apply? if very short you only apply?
job hunting is like lottery, you never know when you will get it, unless you possess skill that is very unique.
sometimes maybe you get one already, then the next one come to you. life is like that cry.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 26 2013, 03:40 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jul 26 2013, 01:18 PM)
If you are staying in JB for the sake of saving the rent money only then it is not a wise decision. I posted this before, you can use your travelling time to earn much more than your SG rent. You can calculate what is your per hour pay, then do some maths and see how much money you wasted travelling to work. Penny wise, pound foolish. A day or two of OT is more than enough to pay for the rent in some case. The left over time you can spend enjoying your life.

I can only understand why people choose to cross the border daily for the few reasons such as staying with family across the border, staying in own property with the comfort of own home, die die want to stay in JB for the love of Malaysia, and too much free time...
I think the most main reason is that the rental here is too expensive, so they die die also want stay at JB where with same amount of money, you can rent a landed unit.
yhoong12
post Jul 29 2013, 08:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 28 2013, 09:04 AM)
there're 2 places, we call small toh guan and big toh guan... got to find out the address though.. those kind of hdb coffee shop

Mind to share more about big toh guan and small toh guan? where is this big toh guan and small toh guan? i know where is toh guan, just want to know this big and small only. tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 29 2013, 10:08 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(hamliomusica @ Jul 29 2013, 09:23 AM)
Hmm..because the landlord mention something about the custom authorities maybe will query on my whereabout/stay in SG if overnight and very frequent. So, just afraid they might trace that i'm staying short term in the hdb.

So, if I just simply give them a backpacker's motel address, should be ok right? Lol
hmm, when you fill in white card sure u need to fill in the address, i think normally they will ask whose unit is that, maybe you can say is friend house, last time when i come interview, i also say like that, no issue for me. Your gf landlord charges you is consider off book one so is untraceable, so i think is ok, just your owner want to take pre-caution step to prevent any legal issue happen, but this is just my 2 cent

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jul 29 2013, 10:09 AM
yhoong12
post Jul 31 2013, 09:55 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(hamliomusica @ Jul 30 2013, 11:24 PM)
hmm guys, for example, now I have accepted a job offer in SG, however its not up to my expectation. Would leave a bad reputation if I were to apply for another job while serving my probation and if I get another offer, just leave during probation?
You accepted a job but it does not up to your expectation, in term of job scope? should not be salary ba since you accepted the job.

will leave bad reputation on your resume because when you apply for another job, people tend to ask why you leave the current job, if you tell them job does not up to your expectation then they also scare that same thing will happen after you join tem,unless you tell them you jobless at the moment.

yhoong12
post Jul 31 2013, 10:06 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(gepochai @ Jul 31 2013, 09:38 AM)
Hi peeps, i'm in the midst of getting a job in singapore. Currently working in Malaysia. Interview process seems to be going well, and now only i start to panic!!!
I have no idea what to expect!!??!?! and suddenly i feel so lost!!!!

what are the taxes like? should i stay in jaybee or in spore? living expenses feel very high! if no car will it be a huge hassle? should i sell my current car now since i wont be able to use it?? OMG!!!

i did a lot research on google, and followed quite a few links from the first thread. but still quite blurred.
Lol, changing a new environment is like when you started to work after you finish study, is just the same, start everything from zero.
lets see,

Jaybee or Singapore? you need to calc ocst for everything based on where you work, where you plan to stay if you choose JB, travelling time and cost, Stay in JB, if you want to drive to work in SG, calc the cost as well.Stay in Jb of coz need car la, life much more easier
then if you choose to stay in Singapore, where you want to stay, room rental abit varies based on location,live in singapore not necessary need car, public transport is good, just travelling time longer, but if you stay near your workplace, noneed travel very long what.

sell car? what if when you go back your hometown, you dont have a car to use? do you get what i mean? tongue.gif
yhoong12
post Jul 31 2013, 11:47 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(gepochai @ Jul 31 2013, 10:44 AM)
thanks for your reply, i wanna sell my car cause i got 2 car here in KL. and if i make singapore my preferred place to work then really no point keeping 2 cars. the other car is my wife's one. and if i go singapore, i'll bring my waifu along of cos.

i'm not sure how much it will cost for me to drive to work from JB. the office seems to be in raffles place. kinda down south.
anyway, i haven't got offer yet pun. see how la. if got offer only worry. now worry also no use.

thanks for info!!!
LOL....then it shouldnt be worry, it should be planning.

plan first is always better than worry later.
yhoong12
post Aug 1 2013, 12:49 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Aug 1 2013, 09:19 AM)
finally received the national population and talent survey EZ Link card yesterday.. after so many months.
Which survey is this? the one for EP holder?
yhoong12
post Aug 5 2013, 08:49 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Aug 4 2013, 02:45 PM)
so is advisable to get a room without the owner staying in the house? saw a utility room nearby braddell MRT, S$450 including utilities(water,electricity), and all Malaysian tenants. is that a good place?
I stayed in a house without owner and all malaysian. for me, there is afew issues which i cant take it, the cloth hanging area always occupied, cleaniness of the house is worse and since the house cleaniness sucks, therefore bedbug issues !! mad.gif
yhoong12
post Aug 5 2013, 02:16 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Aug 5 2013, 12:01 PM)
Bedbug is not related to cleanliness, main spread is air travel from the luggage. I get that a lot even house got maid.
what you means by air travel from luggage?
you get alot bedbug even the house got maid, you still staying there? blink.gif
yhoong12
post Aug 6 2013, 10:27 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Aug 5 2013, 07:21 PM)
Bedbug don't normally go into the house unless it was brought back from outside. Planes, hotels etc. Normally I get it when I come back from travelling, luggage being mix around with others in the bottom of the plane. My housemates seldom travel so I am the main suspect hehe. Try note the next time you got bedbug attack, any of your housemates travel overseas or not. Very annoying bug.
Oh, but last time what i see is that the bedbug had nested on their bed, that why i decided to move out on that time, luckily i runaway fast, if not i going to suffering alot..haha
now i am totally free of bedbug issue, that make me a happy man...haha
bedbug is not just annoying, it also very hard to get rid of. last time i am so worry if it will follow me to my new rented room. rclxub.gif
yhoong12
post Aug 6 2013, 05:15 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Aug 6 2013, 05:08 PM)
Hi guys, i am not sure if this is the right place to ask

i am staying in tampines and would like to go to east coast park, what will be the easiest and cheapest way?

My thought is MRT from Tampines -> Eunos, then take cab from Eunos MRT exchange to East Coast

Any other better option?
Use gothere.sg
it provide you all option and included all fees.
yhoong12
post Aug 16 2013, 11:30 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 15 2013, 11:44 PM)
did alot comparison liao..

Bus 2 way at Rm113

Airasia currently got promotion, so to-fro will be Rm153 inclusive all charges

considering plane only takes 1 hour ==>total 2
bus 5 hours each ==> total 10.

The 8 hours that i can save definitely work the extra Rm40. Way to go air asia
Is quite funny to ask something that you already have answer for it..lol
yhoong12
post Aug 22 2013, 09:19 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Hi all,

Just asking is it advisable to change job in IT field before getting PR? how is the job market for IT recently?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0506sec    1.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:16 AM