Working in Singapore V14

crazy25kid
post Jul 29 2013, 04:29 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jul 29 2013, 03:57 PM)
I am very happy to receive the HDB approval letter for my purchase of a resale unit. Finally I can have my own place! the expected handover date is in mid September smile.gif

And tomorrow I will be registering P1 for my son under Phase 2C.

Will be more than happy to share the process (both HDB resale and P1 registration) when they are complete smile.gif
congrats
looking forward to the process sharing icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 30 2013, 09:49 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 29 2013, 09:56 PM)
oko k

i did but kinda of confusing coz my fren said cannot aisay ...

plan to get motor licesnse

then start converting ...

@cdc/com.sg

good idea ...

is that ok ???

or just convert then add motor license ???

ur existing license does not allow u to ride a motor?
so if you get your motor license now in m'sia, i do not think it is applicable for conversion
iinm, u need to get the license 6 months prior to your long term pass/visa (your PR...or probably EP)
that is why they require the slip from JPJ

crazy25kid
post Jul 30 2013, 12:14 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(adam.tan @ Jul 30 2013, 10:35 AM)
Guys, I have few questions in mind. I'm now staying in Malaysia being that I've stay in Sg for 60days/90days. However my WP has already approved and I've already done my medical checkup and passed it on to my employer . The thing is my company has not buy an insurance package for me and yet my WP has not been officially being approved by MoM. I can only enter Sg on the 1st August 2013 to continue with the application.

Now if I were to resign from my company, is there any procedures I need to be aware of? I still haven't got my WP yet.

i do not understand the bolded part
ur pass is either approved or not approved...what do you mean by officially? sweat.gif sweat.gif
if you have an IPA, your pass is APPROVED...even if your card is not issued yet
for the insurance package, it is a perk from your employer so nothing to do with MOM.
you can also proceed after you start work, unless your job is high risk and there is a possibility of you injuring yourself within the first few days of work, then maybe you should get it before starting

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 30 2013, 12:17 PM
crazy25kid
post Aug 1 2013, 10:23 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 1 2013, 10:11 AM)
Owner's are NOT ALLOWED rent out their 1bedroom HDB.

says who?

crazy25kid
post Aug 1 2013, 02:18 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 1 2013, 02:05 PM)
Read these guidelines?

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10323p.nsf/w/...nMktRentOutRoom

Eligibility Conditions: Flat Owners

1. You are allowed to sublet your bedrooms if you own a 3-room or bigger flat.
No prior approval from HDB is required for subletting of the bedrooms. However, flat owners who sublet bedrooms in their HDB flats will have to register with HDB within 7 days of doing so. They are also required to notify HDB when they renew or terminate the subletting of bedrooms, and when there are changes to their subtenants' particulars.
Flat owners must comply with HDB’s subletting rules and regulations.

2. Owners of 1 and 2-room flats are not allowed to sublet their bedrooms.

Did you read the title?
It clearly states subletting of ROOMS.
If it is a 1 bedroom unit (1 and 2 room flats in SG basically means 1 bedroom)...what room will you be subletting with you still staying inside?
For this case, it is under subletting the whole flat.
Read properly...there is a link for whole flat sublet on the left.

crazy25kid
post Aug 1 2013, 02:37 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 1 2013, 02:29 PM)
Oh yes sorry...saw wrongly, my faulty...but from what I know these 1 or 2 bedroom HDB are for the elderly people, and the surrounding environment isn't that good/conducive.

i thought it was more towards singles while elderly usually dual key unit. laugh.gif laugh.gif
cause now single singaporeans can bto those type (i read demand > supply) laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Aug 5 2013, 10:32 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 4 2013, 10:28 PM)
geez....

did u know this ??/

New Singapore citizens and PRs must convert their foreign driving licences within 3 months of obtaining citizenship or PR status. - See more at: http://www.ecitizen.gov.sg/Topics/Pages/Dr...h.Xg9eGALH.dpuf
i did not know that
but it was updated 17 jul 2013...hopefully i can still convert
my btt is next week...very demotivated to ready cause a lot of them are known for someone with a license. sweat.gif sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Aug 7 2013, 09:31 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 7 2013, 06:59 AM)
Then take a cab. Wanna chase girl don't be so cheapskate.
this is off topic but wat da heck laugh.gif laugh.gif
it is not wise to splurge excessively
i understand it is an "investment"...but even if you are successful, there is a shortcoming
u have set the bar a bit high
my advise is try not to be to extreme before and after during the period of courtship...just be yourself
taking public transport can show that u may be more of a scrooge but it may also shows that u handle ur finance better laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Aug 14 2013, 11:05 AM

1,424 posts

^ Low crime rate does not mean no crime.
This is the misconception by a lot of people causing them to lax of their sense of security and then mishaps happen.
The alleged attempt kidnapper is very bold indeed to continue pursue after being noticed shocking.gif shocking.gif
crazy25kid
post Aug 16 2013, 11:17 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2013, 08:17 AM)
You're being silly and putting unnecessary pressure on yourself to go for the FIRST room you see. What if it's a borderline crappy room cos it's dirty smelly far whatever? You might feel like aiya just sign la otherwise I wasted my entire trip coming down here for nothing and then end up f*cking yourself for a year. Just come down when you start work and stay with a friend/relative/budget hotel/backpacker lodge for a couple weeks and then slowly comfortably look for a better room IMO.

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
i beg to differ. My employment starts on the first and i only have 2 weeks left to go. And most cheap rooms around 500$ are snapped out within days. My plan now is to arrange multiple viewings on the day itself, arrive very early morning and depart at midnight. The 1 day time window should be enough i guess. I dont have to carry luggage for now because, my company will be sponsoring my flight the day before employment starts. Arrive last minute and backpack with thousands of dollars in my pocket is a nono regardless how good the security is. And too bad i have no friend here.

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 16 2013, 10:38 AM)
thats wat i thought also.. or ill just go on sat sun.. or maybe i will just backpack for 1-2 nights in case for these scenarios lol. But feel kinda unsafe since i will be bringing deposit money as well.. If really no choice then hotel only.

i agree wif rexona
last time, i came down with my wife during a long weekend.
we arranged viewing before coming down and basically camped at the tampines interchange the whole day...taking bus to the places we arranged viewing and back, wait for next viewing. laugh.gif laugh.gif
i recommend more than 1 day of viewing so that u do not regret...minimum stay is usually 6 months, u wan to suffer mental stress becuase of rushing?
regarding the money issue...that can be discussed
last time, we gave the deposit only (1 month)...agent fee and rental advance was only paid when my wife move in.
u can use this as a gauge on how understanding the owner is...i mean, if u are staying with the owner, this would be crucial.
agents will most likely have no problem waiting...they just want the money.
on top of that, it is safer here than back home...but i admire ur sense of staying vigilant.

another option is taking the midnight bus on friday...reaching here early morning on sat
view as many as u can....if u found a very good 1, sign on sunday
else, continue viewing on sunday morning and decide the best and sign in the afternoon and go home in the evening or night.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 16 2013, 11:19 AM
crazy25kid
post Aug 21 2013, 02:14 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(maniack @ Aug 21 2013, 12:13 PM)
thing is, i already got an offer at SG but my current company at MY havent released me yet.. so before i make a request for the work permit

is it true that after my work permit has been approved i need to start working at SG within 30 days..

appreciate your point of view and information sharing

no such thing
if they want you, request them to proceed with the application of work pass.
once u see the IPA (if u do not trust it, you can check on the website with the details), then only resign.
work pass application can go both ways...if you resigned and it does not get approved, what are you going to do?
offer letter alone is of no use if u are not allowed to work in Sg
crazy25kid
post Aug 26 2013, 10:26 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Aug 26 2013, 06:48 PM)
It's quite common, in fact i think cabbies prefer to receive payment by NETS and EzLink - don't need to dig for small notes and coins. There is an admin fee of $0.30 for payment by EzLink, not sure whether it's the same charge for NETS though.

i thought ezlink only applicable for SMRT cabs only
nets will have 10% admin charge if i am not mistaken
crazy25kid
post Aug 27 2013, 09:53 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Limster88 @ Aug 27 2013, 12:51 AM)
Hi all, I just got the in principle approval for my S Pass recently and will be starting to work in SG next month.

I have 1 noob question..... HR has asked me to bring along my Short Term Visit Pass to facilitate the issuance of your work pass on my first day. Can I ask what is the short term visit pass? Is it the white card?

yes...white card

crazy25kid
post Aug 27 2013, 06:26 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Aug 27 2013, 06:13 PM)
I have used EzLink for Comfort as well.

really did not know that.
cause all this while, i only see the tap thingy in smrt cabs laugh.gif laugh.gif
good to know that in case i run out of cash...and 30cents surcharge is hell lot cheaper than 10%. laugh.gif laugh.gif

anyway...latest news
New Permanent Residents who want to buy resale flats will have to wait three years after receiving their PR status.

sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 27 2013, 06:26 PM
crazy25kid
post Aug 27 2013, 10:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 27 2013, 09:20 PM)
time to renounce my PR and move to JB riao, non elite like me damn hard to save up the $200k I'd need to downpayment on a decent condo.

i already having problem with deposit for hdb...how to fork out for private

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 27 2013, 09:57 PM)
IF this is true, it really spoiled my plan to buy a resale hdb next year as my wife just got her PR this year..... mad.gif

hmm.gif or one PR with 3 years is sufficient??

haha...i was planning next year too
there goes my plan.
crazy25kid
post Aug 27 2013, 10:17 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 27 2013, 10:14 PM)
for entry level condo actually not really that much difference geh ... new launch get the developer to 'absorb' the absd, and don't have COV tongue.gif
define entry lvl
crazy25kid
post Sep 5 2013, 11:02 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2013, 10:02 AM)
Assume 450k 4-room flat, 20% d/p = 90k, almost 8% ABSD = 36k, COV = 20k, misc = 4k ... tadaaaa 150k.
Well ... I'd say it's a difficult time to come over as a junior hire, and you might well find yourself with a huge downgrade in living standards and wondering what the heck all the fuss is about.

ABSD is 8%? I thought 5% only or you included other stamp duties

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 5 2013, 10:51 AM)
20% d/p out of which 15% can be taken from CPF. In my case ABSD was paid by the bank. I didn't have to come out cash for the ABSD. COV mine was 35k..but 80% move in condition....just repainting n some minor repairs.
3-room at B Batok...SGD345k....cash needed was less than 90k.....

Erm...why did the bank pay the ABSD? Or you meant it was covered in the loan?

crazy25kid
post Sep 5 2013, 11:29 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 5 2013, 11:09 AM)
well yeah...covered in the loan...but my loan amount was still 80% of final transacted price..then some additional funds for the lawyer fees n etc etc/stamp duty/ABSD

ooo...hehe.
newbie in property buying, did not know it can be included in the loan.
crazy25kid
post Sep 10 2013, 04:31 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 10 2013, 04:25 PM)
But in reality I do not have to incur those expenses. Hence, better to stay in Malaysia I guess?  smile.gif

But in reality, your parents are not immortal also.
Better to start being independent at an earlier stage I guess?
crazy25kid
post Sep 11 2013, 12:03 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 11 2013, 11:58 AM)
Not true. I did send out a few applications out. Just asking in terms of saving wise between Malaysia and Singapore (dollar to dollar comparison)

but like what rexona mentioned...if u wan to compare savings, u need apple to apple too.
remove the reliance on your parents and re-compare ur savings

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0570sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:46 PM