11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 17 2013, 10:15 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

5 simple things Singaporean workers must keep in their minds - See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/commentary/...h.z0F7iT4Y.dpuf

If you have been working in Singapore for a while, some of these information might not come as a surprise for you. But for those who are just joining the workforce after graduation or starting out work in Singapore as a foreign talent, these 5 interesting facts may offer you a glimpse of what to expect at your workplace!

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 19 2013, 12:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Jun 18 2013, 01:11 PM)
anyone here converted MY driving license to SG without cancel the MY driving license?
me, no prob at all... renewed b4 rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 19 2013, 12:29 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

so smelly... zzz, how's it at your place?

since sunday, the haze has been very bad, visibility is bad... smell is bad... zzzz

Singapore Smog Is Worst in 16 Years as Forests Burn in Asia

Why banks are pressured to hire Singaporeans for senior front-office roles

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2013, 12:45 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 19 2013, 10:40 PM)
I have got an interview tmr.. Hope to join you guys working in SG soon!  smile.gif
all the best to you rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2013, 12:47 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

Staff benefits not valued highly by Asia-Pac employees: Survey

MORE Asia-Pacific employers are zooming in on staff benefits as a carrot to retain or woo talent in a highly competitive market.

Yet, a significant proportion of employees appear to undervalue these benefits, according to a recent survey by consulting firm Towers Watson.

"The findings raise troubling questions about the effectiveness and value derived from these strategies," said Mr Matthew Jackson, Towers Watson's Asia-Pacific director of benefits optimisation, in a statement.

The 2013 Asia-Pacific Employee Benefit Trends Survey found that four out of 10 employers in the region are spending more than 20 per cent of their payroll on providing staff benefits, such as an-nual leave, medical insurance and gym memberships.

The biggest spenders are employers in Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines.

Singapore employers appear to be lagging, with 42 per cent spending less than 20 per cent of payroll on benefits while 33 per cent spend 20 to 40 per cent.

Just over half said their benefits were not valued highly by employees, with 15 per cent feeling they were not valued at all. That calls for a different strategy than a one-size-fits-all benefits portfolio, said Mr Jackson.

Another factor explaining the lack of appreciation of such benefits could be a lack of engagement with staff on these plans. The report found 31 per cent do not communicate with employees when it comes to their benefits.

Employers also need to recognise diversity. "Different employees have different needs. Flexible benefits are a great way to do this, as it enables employees to pick and choose benefits that appeal to them," said Mr Andrew Heard, Towers Watson's managing director, Asia-Pacific, Benefits.

A quarter of employers in Singapore and Malaysia do not have a well-articulated plan on benefits, way behind employers in mainland China and Taiwan.

Benefit strategies play a key role in talent management strategy. "For the majority, it's no longer a 'nice-to-have', but a 'must-have'," the report said.

The survey was conducted between February and March among 1,066 employers in the region.

- See more at: http://business.asiaone.com/news/sme-centr...h.GwXO1kWu.dpuf
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2013, 08:21 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Jun 20 2013, 12:54 AM)
do i need anything from the side of msian government to work in singapore?
i got "you tak suka, you keluar!!" from the msian gov... a big kick in the butt

QUOTE(trio @ Jun 20 2013, 03:37 AM)
@alaskanbunny thank you for the help!

I finally found a room by advertising myself in easyroommate instead of looking through ads/agents. Highly effective. Tips for future newcomers. I will be moving to sg next week. Hope to see you guys around there biggrin.gif
welcome to the club rclxms.gif pm mackiddo or dodorant or jitsiong for sg club membership.. free and full of privileges.. rclxms.gif

btw, congrats to jitsiong rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2013, 08:23 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

btw guys, sgd:myr at 2.51 drool.gif after moneychanger's cut.. if u can get 2.49 lemme know notworthy.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 21 2013, 08:17 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Feizai2013 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:13 AM)
Online show 2.52 ... Thanks to Naji gor  rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 20 2013, 09:35 AM)
Any company got work-from-home policy due to haze?
got... big company nia

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Jun 20 2013, 10:29 AM)
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 20 2013, 10:21 AM)

i got "you tak suka, you keluar!!" from the msian gov... a big kick in the butt
welcome to the club  rclxms.gif  pm mackiddo or dodorant or jitsiong for sg club membership.. free and full of privileges..  rclxms.gif

ahahahaha. but i dont need any documentation done from the gomen right?

i think u need to go settle ldhn / tax lor... i nvr paid tax in msia b4 so i dunno icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 22 2013, 08:15 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

7 tips for success every Singaporean must know right now

In Singapore, it's safe to say that everyone aspires to create a successful career or business. But what many do not realise is what it takes to be successful-- starts from “within”--yourself.

Gaining higher self-awareness, constantly learning and improving yourself will help you to work towards a successful career or business.

Here are some tips that can help you to work on your personal mastery:

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 22 2013, 10:18 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Jun 22 2013, 10:22 AM)
all provider offer almost same price
free incoming call, certain amount of free sms and free local call +2gb around 40sgd.

coverage should be the same,
but singtel said to give better data speed and coverage

try to get discount, better rate or some perks by subscribe during IT fair,
provider give 10%, 20% discount for certain companies also, do check it out.
almost but there's usually a 5-10% difference between them..

coverage is a tricky question now, as there's coverage for 3g and 4g as well as line quality and bandwidth also..

yeaps.. during IT fair or corp discount...

do visit http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/home for a lot of their reviews... examples

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/product-fea...rsities-edition

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/product-fea...lans-comparison

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jun 22 2013, 12:50 PM)
Anyone can share method by transferring a large amount of money (about RM250k) from Malaysia to Singapore? If anyone wonder why transfer so much, it's for down payment to buy property in SG.

I know one of the method is TT and the rate will follow bank's rate (so might lose few thousand SGD). Any other better way?
i was asking around too... if u r in sg, u can bring cash to money changer and they can remit it to you acct with their ex-rate which is typically better than banks... dont know whether is it possible for msia in your case

QUOTE(inferno89 @ Jun 22 2013, 04:14 PM)
Hi, all sifu sifu. I am just recently graduated and interviewed by a recruitment firm on a engineer position in singapore. However the recruitment firm charged me for 50% of the basic salary upon successfully job placement for the recruitment fee. Isit reasonable?
well, it is a commercial decision then, if you decide not to accept.. then u will lose the opportunity... if you decide to take it, then you have to pay.. as long as it has been agreed in advance and also payment to them only after you get your first month salary to ensure they dont run with your money without a job...

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Jun 23 2013, 01:20 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 23 2013, 03:36 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(kylee700 @ Jun 23 2013, 01:24 AM)
i graduated 2 years ago and have roughly 3 years of experience in the hospitality industry,tried to apply with many hotels in spore,about 3 weeks already still no news.do you know what is the average waiting time to be called for an interview for my industry?or any industry in spore in general?shouldn't be tough to get a working visa for malaysian in spore now i hope?
should be easy.. i think cause of salary... a lot of those in hospitality especially lower lvl jobs are taken by pinoy, indo n certain extent from indo-china... better climb d ladder in msia a bit first then come over..

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 23 2013, 01:27 AM)
psi under 100 liao
so air quite ok
today is much better rclxms.gif

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jun 23 2013, 10:08 AM)
Oh then need to find a reliable Money Changer in Msia. But considering the risk of losing the entire 250k if the Money Changer is doing hanky panky stuff. I might go for Bank's TT even the exchange rate lower which will cost about SGD 2k+.
Yes it's legit. Initially I thought you mean bring in the money without declaring it. You are right, I remembered is 30k, every time pass by the custom got the board written need to declare if bring more than SGD 30k. But security is one
TT rate is flat. I had checked Maybank's TT is RM27 but the spread for exchange rate is 7 cent. I do checked Maybank's Forex through their website.
Yea, security is part of our concern. I had checked the spread for Maybank, is about 7 cent (2.55 vs 2.48). So about SGD2K+ lesser compare to Money Changer.
i ask yeah 4.1 before.. he say if u remit wif money changer in sg, most likely safe coz it is regulated by MAS, in msia i am skeptical coz a lot of them are liek thugs wif their ex-rates.. especially those in johor..

dont do it all at 1 shot.. spread ur risk.. i think it is usd 10 equivelent then u gotta declare..

tt rate depends on the bank.. and spread is by basis points or %... use

http://www.oanda.com/currency/converter/

i think o.5% spread is reasonable for money changer through remittance, cash i think 0.6-0.75%, as for banks 1% for tt and cash is even wider...

QUOTE(keeystar @ Jun 23 2013, 02:49 PM)
hi all, will be working in singapore soon and company located at beach road.
need recommendation or suggestion regarding the accommodation area. where is the suitable location for me? im more concern bout the overall neighborhood environment and budget around 600-700 for single room. thanks.
suggest you go east of bugis for green or esplanade if circle... maybe 4-8 stations away..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 23 2013, 11:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mido575 @ Jun 23 2013, 09:40 PM)
how is the haze in sg?
bad...

QUOTE(keeystar @ Jun 23 2013, 09:41 PM)
thanks for your suggestions.
the expenses around esplanade expensive? dont wish to spend much on food since the rental isnt cheap...
exp also i believe... but as u stay i am sure u can find some eateries that suits your budget

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Jun 23 2013, 10:20 PM)
To all taiko here...

I got a question from my friend who intends to get a job in Singapore. He has over 10 years experiences in accounting and finance and is one of the Senior Management staff in listed company. However, he has never worked in Singapore.

Some of his concerns are as follow:

1) Would it be challenging for someone like him to get a job in Singapore since his overseas experiences is zero (only have Malaysian company experience)?

2) If he get a job, is it likely that he will get a lower ranking position or lower salary since Malaysian is experience is not considered “in par” with Singaporean?

3) What are the main challenges when switching from Malaysian working cultural to the Singaporean’s?

Thanks for contributing. rclxms.gif
1.) there's always a learning curve.. if he's capable, he surely can do it..

2.) that depends on the position he's applying... generally if he can present himself well, he would be fine... as a lot of senior mgn in big coys are not singaporeans..

3.) well, here work life is more hectic.. your output is clearly monitored for productivity and no time wasting is expected... discipline got to be high n no hangky panky stuff will be tolerated... u perform u will be well rewarded, if u dun then too bad... rmb that being listed in bursa is diff from sgx, sgx rules n regulation is very strict, unlike bursa where a lot of cronies are playing wif prices...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 25 2013, 01:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jun 24 2013, 11:18 PM)
Is it possible to get a single room in whampoa at around SG500? one agent was trying to push his unit at yew tee.. saying that over here is more expensive lar, and other nonsense... dun really like his attitude... lc and simply jacking up the prices for a lousy HDB 

now exploring bradell...
why you look down on hdb dwellers, especially yew tee cry.gif a lot of us staying at yew tee u know sad.gif

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 24 2013, 11:47 PM)
Anyway, I might be worried too much but do you think I still stand a chance of getting the job? As what my frens said, my chance of securing the job is much much higher as I made it to the second interview after all. What say you?
dont need to think so much, just go wif d flow.. no point thinking so much, it wont help your chances also... think bout how to prepared for the next stage would be better... wif hr, it is always salary negotiation and benefits..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 26 2013, 12:09 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 25 2013, 02:19 PM)
yohooooo..

HR just called me and they have decided to hire me..  thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  drool.gif

thanks to taikos that have given me some enlightment.. notworthy.gif
congrats... do join our club.. pm mackiddo or deodorant for free membership and tips on where to find brows.gif

u r welcome... rclxms.gif glad to have 1 more msian...

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 25 2013, 02:22 PM)
Work location? Semicon engineer right? Same like Valex...
valex aka yeah 4.1" is now in oil n gas ler doh.gif

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 25 2013, 02:39 PM)
my working location is in pasir ris.. yea.. semicon engineer in general.. will rent a room with my gf gua since her working location is also nearby EW line..
she working for SIA by the way icon_rolleyes.gif
SIA stewardess? drool.gif

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 26 2013, 12:10 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 25 2013, 03:25 PM)
I sell RM for 2.5 last few days in Gelang Patah, Johor.
sell myr means get sgd?

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Jun 25 2013, 07:27 PM)
do people who work in SG usually apply for the PR?
yeaps, those that plan to stay for good..

QUOTE(Go_up @ Jun 25 2013, 09:29 PM)
i work in singapore pandan / penjuru there.
next monday start work, i wan find a room in boonley @$450 okay?
must ask valex, he's the daikor there... rental please pm him..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 26 2013, 12:35 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 26 2013, 12:22 AM)
free membership on this club? lol.. where to find brows.gif is?  rclxub.gif

yup.. SIA stewardess  icon_rolleyes.gif
is brows.gif la.. join then u will know rclxms.gif

wooo... laugh.gif must have lots of other stewardess frens thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 28 2013, 10:41 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 28 2013, 09:52 PM)
So geng!!!
Meaning like from RM5k then they offer u SGD 7.5k?
IT manager dude, you think she was making rm10k only?

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Jun 28 2013, 10:31 PM)
do u mind sharing ur pay info? 50% increment on one-on-one conversion? hmm.gif
please dont insult her...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 28 2013, 11:57 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 28 2013, 10:45 PM)
I'm not, just asking about the scenario...
so if RM10k, then come sg get SGD15k?
is that the case?
that's my question...
yea... sgd 15k more like it.. no wonder she dont hangout with us anymore.. prefers to go aus every weekend

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Jun 28 2013, 11:14 PM)
Nothing to do with insult... More on curiosity...  smile.gif
dont worry, you're forgiven..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 29 2013, 02:44 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 29 2013, 12:27 AM)
Look at your gpa first if you are fresh graduate, then your achievements like book prize, awards and medals those kind of thing. I think my CAP help a lot in getting my first job here after graduate, after that people don't even ask where I graduated from... So sad.
what's CAP?

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 29 2013, 12:31 AM)
Sabah boleh!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
not sarawak? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 1 2013, 12:12 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Jun 30 2013, 04:08 PM)
HI all, i have just graduated college from a university in the US and i am planning to apply for a job in Singapore. However, friends who graduated overseas told me that they all had a hard time getting a job there and eventually went back to Malaysia. Can someone enlighten me on this? How difficult is it to get a job in Singapore for a fresh graduate? I heard that the Sngaporean government has now a policy on limiting the intake of foreigners into the job market. How true is that? Thank you in advance!
i would suggest you stay back and work in the states... u have 18 months right? wif ur student visa

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jun 30 2013, 11:57 PM)
can I give Mom spm slip result instead of the original cert? I never take my cert from my school
dont think u can... d slip is ntg

u can always go get the cert now

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0647sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:18 AM