Working in Singapore V14

LiangZhuge
post Sep 12 2013, 06:11 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Sep 12 2013, 05:54 PM)
I have no problems being nice. I'd like to think that I'm a pretty nice guy by anyone's standards. But its hard when someone is not taking you seriously. I'm pretty serious when it comes to my career.

I can only hope that I can be as lucky as you.
Perhaps you should ask the recruiter / head hunter what's the package like together with the job scope, etc before going to the interview. Save both your time and the company / recruiters.

From my experience with recruiter/ head hunter , there was no $$$, benefits discussion during the interview with the company (be it HR, director, etc). The $$$ discussion was done via the recruiter/ headhunter (which I think they get a cut from the company if you are hired). The interview with the company is more like a get to know you session and if either party still want to continue forth with the recruitment.
LiangZhuge
post Sep 30 2013, 11:17 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 30 2013, 10:46 PM)
Wow... u r so lucky. when do u get ur pr? Few years back or recently? U r engineer or accountant? How do u get it so easily? Can advice me?
Depends also on your occupation, if Singapore needs your skill set you can even get it less than 1 year (in 2012, teacher).

Remind me again why you want to apply for PR ? wink.gif
Apart from CPF, and if you have kids (school, etc), able to stay in SG without a job, I don't really see the point.
LiangZhuge
post Sep 30 2013, 11:43 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 30 2013, 11:32 PM)
Any type of permit or pass needs to be renewed. PRs have no renewal requirement (REP Reentry Permit is a related but separate matter). And more and more, you will see the permit and pass holders bearing the brunt of any govt pandering to the misguided sentiments of their citizens. As a PR, you are relatively more shielded from such short sighted measures.
ahhh, job security, but then again if you are really a FT (or think you are), there should be no worries smile.gif

But then again with the new rules and changes about PR in the last few months, I don't think PR are any shielded (of course better compared to work pass) if the government need to appease their citizen more which I don't blame them.
LiangZhuge
post Sep 30 2013, 11:48 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 29 2013, 01:16 PM)
Fixed, lol.

Let's do the math for 'normal' people. Singapore median income last year according to MOM was $3,000. Hubby + Wife = $6,000, of which $4,800 masuk poket, $1,380 (including employer portion) goes to CPF OA. Of $4,800, assume that $1,800 is bare minimum expenses. So the couple's savings available for housing purchase is $3,000+$1,380 per month, or $52,560 per year. In order to own a 1.6mil condo, assume 20% downpayment, 8% BSD+ABSD = roughtly $460k. Loan is $1.28mil, monthly repayment $4,295.

X6, xDrive35i (A) Price: $425,800, Down Payment $212,900 (Maximum 50% loan), Installment $3,882/mth.

So in best case scenario the couple needs to save close to 13 years to buy that condo and X6, and in all that 13 years they need to live frugally, have no kids, no holidays, no entertainment, etc icon_idea.gif ... and after they make the purchase, they still can't pay the monthly installments needed of $8k icon_idea.gif
Don't forget the 1/3 loan limit rule introduced recently, so technically to life that lifestyle one should have a household income of $24k (8k * 3) a month. Even without the car, you will need $12k+ from your calculation. Even more if the figure is nett after CPF deduction.

Over leveraging I must say. laugh.gif
LiangZhuge
post Oct 1 2013, 12:28 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 30 2013, 11:56 PM)
To avoid things like this?

http://www.onenewspage.com/n/Asia-Pacific/...t-Singapore.htm

"When Filipino Edwin Macaraig tried switching jobs this year, he did not expect his application for a new Employment Pass (EP) to be rejected by Singapore's Ministry of Manpower (MOM) - twice."

And to be (officially, at least) considered for any job positions first before any foreigner?

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...sionals-2013092
Another slot in HP is now up for grabs.

Time to queue to apply for PR then ... or not (for me that is) laugh.gif

0.0520sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:14 PM