16,825 posts

"Do you want to come to my house, and play with my Wii?" blink.gif
corez
post Apr 28 2006, 08:20 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

No matter what the name is I will still buy it and everything wif Mario inside.

Below is a quote from the IGN 'Wii' Forum

Firstly, all of you associating Wii with anything sexual need to seriously grow up! If you actually refer to a pexxx as a "wee" or "weewee", then you're clearly way too immature to understand the marketing behind the decision to call it Wii. Now, I'm not saying I do, but I do see many merits for the change from Revolution to Wii.

1) The fact that the name is not a word is a GOOD thing. Nintendo is trying to expand the target age group for this next system and having a non-descript name such as Wii, they have avoided any sort of preconceived ideas/expectations consumers may have of what this system is/should be. It has a sense of mystery to it, and I personally love that.

2) Not using the name Revolution is good since the name Revolution could potentially be outdated within the next few years. Yes the initial concept of the controller is "revolutionary"... but will it still be considered revolutionary a couple years from now when Sony copies the design and makes a similar peripheral for the PS3? What we think is cool or different now could very well be commonplace 3 years from now, which would make a name like Revolution pretty much obsolete.

3) The name Wii is not only creative, but to me, has an aura of maturity about it. Names like GameCube and Gameboy sound like toys. Names like Xbox or Xbox 360 are blatantly poor attempts to appeal to the "extreme" culture many of today's teens have adopted.

4) Walkman? iPod? Google? Wega (Sony TVs)? VAIO? Tell me those aren't "goofy" sounding names, and tell me they were/are not wildly successful! Many of the names given to consumer electronics are non-sensical and probably for good reason. A name that makes no sense in the first place is less likely to become "old" after a few years of being on the market, whereas, and name that initially tries to sound "cool" would probably have very little staying power.

5) The logo for the Wii is really cool..nice elegant typeface The allusion the "ii" make to 2 people playing together is clever... again, it's creative and fun and more importantly, it conveys Nintendo's marketing strategy very well... appeal to a wider audience than any other game system and bring together hardcore gamers and non-gamers alike.

6) I think the Wii logo would look pretty slick etched onto the top of a glossy white system.
Quote Ends

This post has been edited by corez: Apr 28 2006, 08:21 AM
slickz
post Apr 28 2006, 08:28 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

"oh no! so sorry I broke ur wii" tongue.gif

"oh, do u mind holding my wii for a while?"

"Wah! we play with my wii for so long!"

"I wonder why is my wii so hot?"

"Where did my wii go?"

"Oh no! He stole my wii!" tongue.gif

"hey come over! I got two girls playing with my wii now!" rclxms.gif

"Ma, can u buy me a wii?"

"He failed in his studies because he played with his wii too much" tongue.gif

This post has been edited by slickz: Apr 28 2006, 08:34 AM
nub
post Apr 28 2006, 09:03 AM

265 posts

enough with the penis jokes already, they're getting so lame.

i find wii quite cute, actually.
marauderz
post Apr 28 2006, 09:35 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

5 stages of Grief

Denial
Anger
Barganning
Depression
Acceptance
RoyMcAvoy
post Apr 28 2006, 09:44 AM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

hahaha...
look like someone watching scrubs too much... sweat.gif
anyway i love the name... wiiiiiiiiiii
zaphod42
post Apr 28 2006, 10:21 AM

107 posts

Wii , for me it looks like Nintendo hit a jackpot in terms of advertising. I mean come on , anyone who is interested will be talking about Wii.

I personally might not like it , but i've been talking about it the whole day.

Wii shall take over the world !!
fariz
post Apr 28 2006, 10:27 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

*stomp* *stomp* *clap*

Wii wiill wii wiill rock u

sing it!

greyshadow
post Apr 28 2006, 10:34 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Official Theme Song of Wii
[Music from Wii are the world playing]
Wii are the world, Wii are the children
Wii are the ones who make a brighter day
So let's start playing

There's a choice Wii are making
Wii are saving our own lives
It's true Wii will make a better day
Just you and me

Wii are the world, Wii are the children
Wii are the ones who make a brighter day
So let's start playing

There's a choice Wii are making
Wii are saving our own lives
It's true Wii will make a better day
Just you and me

Wii are the world......

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Apr 28 2006, 10:35 AM
SUSSetsunahq
post Apr 28 2006, 10:45 AM

128 posts

Wiiiiiiiiiiii

it is really a kid console now rclxub.gif
TSthaisxs
post Apr 28 2006, 10:46 AM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(Setsunahq @ Apr 28 2006, 10:45 AM)
Wiiiiiiiiiiii

it is really a kid console now rclxub.gif
kid console ???????
Whack him guys !!!!!!!

SUSSetsunahq
post Apr 28 2006, 10:49 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Apr 28 2006, 10:46 AM)
kid console ???????
Whack him guys !!!!!!!
Suet
post Apr 28 2006, 11:24 AM

Spank Whore :D
1,188 posts

OK, Thai...

PI-PIAK!!!

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Apr 28 2006, 10:46 AM)
kid console ???????
Whack him guys !!!!!!!
mobiusone
post Apr 28 2006, 11:48 AM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

meh..the name sucks

it should be

WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

pictur related

nub
post Apr 28 2006, 11:49 AM

265 posts

well for those "hip" guys who were hoping for a cool name of course they think it's lame(go back to your psp why dontcha).

for us that don't mind, wii is actually a pretty catchy name.

nintendo wii.
N Wii.
and we?
kyagami
post Apr 28 2006, 12:57 PM

xxDiGiCorExx
1,955 posts

envy N Wii
Pr1me_Minister
post Apr 28 2006, 03:56 PM

314 posts

At first, I think "what Nintendo thinking!? shocking.gif mad.gif ". then after long thought, it sounded very cool, very (dare I say it) Apple. Like corez said, the logo will be very nice if etched onto the console, just like DS Lite.

Wii will Revolutionize gaming forever.

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: Apr 28 2006, 04:56 PM
sihumchai
post Apr 28 2006, 04:16 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

OMG, that's so farnee!! ^^
clemong_888
post Apr 28 2006, 05:09 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

hahaha. funny poster.
zio
post Apr 28 2006, 05:25 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Wii..Wii...that is the lamest marketing crap I have ever heard.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0184sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:16 PM