My Harddisks Cooling System, wanna ask for opinion

exergy
post Apr 28 2006, 04:13 AM

6,079 posts

fantagero, thats an interesting method you got there.

there are several problems of course. it would work, so long as there is a temperature difference, heat would be transfered [ie. cold air cools the right side of the HDD, the right side is cooler than the left, so heat from the left side moves right]. it would be terribly INefficient. there is too little surface area [as someone mentioned above]. if im not mistaken, the majority of the heat in a HDD is passed through the sides and not the top/bottom plates, so id assume fixing heatsinks to right side to work?

you thought of this to try to 'fix' the dust problem. unless you have a fully enclosed [or close to fully enclosed tongue.gif] subsystem, the intake fan is bound to blow air all over the place. some of that airflow is bound to get further into your casing, carrying dust along with it. in an enclosed environment [ie. a tunnel], you'd only need one fan, either at the front or at the other end.

i really find the idea of a fully IN-OUT 'chamber' interesting! but at the end of the day, i think fan filters are just most practical!
gerrard capashen
post Apr 28 2006, 04:54 AM

Quarry Executive
3,377 posts

if u afraid of ur samsung HDD will spoilt.. just added HDD cooler wit setup that already shown to u..
Scavengers
post Apr 28 2006, 06:38 AM

380 posts

smuggled from 2uk3y

can this be any help? or does it lead to bad things to my precious
if it is a bad airflow i'm creating, cud someone point another alternative spot fer my spare fan. who knoes it cud go under 35c. thankies

xetajones
post Apr 28 2006, 08:44 AM

Connecting Brains
586 posts

If you wanna get to lower temp of the CPU. Just get a wind tunnel and dedicate it to the CPU. Just like the hawker ventalition fan one to suck it all out. As most heat are produced by the CPU it does cool down the casing. Make sure the the input air is cool and get a higher speed fan for the input.
mADmAN
post Apr 28 2006, 10:31 AM

10,530 posts

the fan sucking in is fine....

for sucking out i think it would be easier to put a fan on the side panel right after the hdds. so whatever hot air from the hdd can be sucked out right after it comes out...
vip
post Apr 28 2006, 11:12 AM

.:Trader |和平| Member:.
2,404 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 28 2006, 12:45 AM)

ya i love this casing air circulating system.... this is izzit called BTX casing?
TSfantagero
post Apr 28 2006, 12:01 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ Apr 28 2006, 02:14 AM)
meaning...? rclxub.gif
u mean air movement?
the heat movemnt from left to right

QUOTE(Silon @ Apr 28 2006, 04:13 AM)
fantagero, thats an interesting method you got there.

there are several problems of course. it would work, so long as there is a temperature difference, heat would be transfered [ie. cold air cools the right side of the HDD, the right side is cooler than the left, so heat from the left side moves right]. it would be terribly INefficient. there is too little surface area [as someone mentioned above]. if im not mistaken, the majority of the heat in a HDD is passed through the sides and not the top/bottom plates, so id assume fixing heatsinks to right side to work?

you thought of this to try to 'fix' the dust problem. unless you have a fully enclosed [or close to fully enclosed tongue.gif] subsystem, the intake fan is bound to blow air all over the place. some of that airflow is bound to get further into your casing, carrying dust along with it. in an enclosed environment [ie. a tunnel], you'd only need one fan, either at the front or at the other end.

i really find the idea of a fully IN-OUT 'chamber' interesting! but at the end of the day, i think fan filters are just most practical!
ive thinking getting an air filter.... but hey, in the town where the sell normal black fan for rm13.. it's impossible to get it here... i dunno if can get at hardware shop biggrin.gif
haahaa i'm think using house mouquito net.. but that will be funny

QUOTE(gerrard capashen @ Apr 28 2006, 04:54 AM)
if u afraid of ur samsung HDD will spoilt.. just added HDD cooler wit setup that already shown to u..
i got one hdd cooler.. the prob is.. cant fit my casing.... plus, it will blow many dust to my hdd surface...
that's why i create the air tunnel.. so the air can go in and go out....
actually, the blow out fan are slower than blow in....
bout 1000rpm and 4000rpm...

will try to create a nu plan..... wait
TSfantagero
post Apr 28 2006, 12:20 PM

2,723 posts

See post # 1 tongue.gif
thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 28 2006, 12:39 PM
ableze_joepardy
post Apr 28 2006, 12:24 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

fanta.. why u dont put the red blow in fan as same level as the blue blow out fan? u put like that i think the cool air will be sucked out by the green blow out fan before it touched the HDD.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ableze_joepardy: Apr 28 2006, 12:25 PM
TSfantagero
post Apr 28 2006, 12:33 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Apr 28 2006, 12:24 PM)
fanta.. why u dont put the red blow in fan as same level as the blue blow out fan? u put like that i think the cool air will be sucked out by the green blow out fan before it touched the HDD..  sweat.gif
will answer this, this petang....
hav to go to friday prayer tongue.gif

updated the 1st post.....
nelza_ax
post Apr 28 2006, 05:40 PM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(gerrard capashen @ Apr 28 2006, 04:54 AM)
i think dat hdd cooler wont help much..the fan is sux...so slow.. tongue.gif ..

@fanta...
post ur casing pic here..will be more easy for other forumer to give their opinion?

Hiwatari
post Apr 28 2006, 06:20 PM

Think u're good enuff 2 beat me?
1,214 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 28 2006, 12:01 PM)
the heat movemnt from left to right
u mean left-right of the hdd?
normal 4 metal parts since metal spreads heat all over them
TSfantagero
post Apr 29 2006, 02:27 AM

2,723 posts

so.. this the DIY ducting
the hdd bracket.. no space to put the hdd cooler.. huuhuhh
the blow out fan... (from the 1st method)
from this picture.. u may assume that: i'm using nice sleeved psu and nice rounded ide cables tongue.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif wut a mess

so... can u all help me to cool down my hdd ????

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 29 2006, 02:29 AM
becham
post Apr 29 2006, 02:43 AM

soon to be dad
802 posts

so i guess..put on both the right side fans to blow in..

and the rear & left panel fan to blow out~

this should be ok.,
radioactive
post Apr 29 2006, 12:09 PM

1,857 posts

Ok oso la...boleh tahan....by the way...how many hdds do u have? its best of u space them max apart and it will be cooler ade without any fans....i used to place a 3.5 in front of the hdd but now after spacing no need ade....temp hovers nicely between 35 and 40
2uk3y
post Apr 29 2006, 12:14 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(becham @ Apr 29 2006, 02:43 AM)
so i guess..put on both the right side fans to blow in..

and the rear & left panel fan to blow out~

this should be ok.,
yeah so far i think that is the best way thumbup.gif

btw what is that plastic infront of ur fan ???? what for ??? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by 2uk3y: Apr 29 2006, 12:23 PM
TSfantagero
post Apr 29 2006, 12:45 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(radioactive @ Apr 29 2006, 12:09 PM)
Ok oso la...boleh tahan....by the way...how many hdds do u have? its best of u space them max apart and it will be cooler ade without any fans....i used to place a 3.5 in front of the hdd but now after spacing no need ade....temp hovers nicely between 35 and 40
u mean the cooper cooler???
i got 2 hdd/s the top and the bottom.. thecenter is for floopy.. unfortunately cant remove it. as the floppy hole is permanently at the fron panel...

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 29 2006, 12:14 PM)
yeah so far i think that is the best way  thumbup.gif

btw what is that plastic infront of ur fan ???? what for ???  unsure.gif
that my DIY ducting...
is that rite.. ducting. i saw it in ur garage sales...
bend it using hard plastic.. tongue.gif

according my fingertip termometer... the heat at the right side are lower than the left side.. still hot.. but less hot than b4,..
ehm.. hav to try diff method...

thanks for the idea man.. thumbup.gif
tongyam
post Apr 30 2006, 03:36 PM

perfect
686 posts

put ur hdd on bottom/base of casing
syazli7
post Apr 30 2006, 05:12 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 29 2006, 12:45 PM)
u mean the cooper cooler???
i got 2 hdd/s the top and the bottom.. thecenter is for floopy.. unfortunately cant remove it. as the floppy hole is permanently at the fron panel...
take out the floppy drive la.. less people using floppy these years

i took it out edi, summore increasing my casing weight load since it all steel, take it out, u have more air space between ur harddisks.
TSfantagero
post Apr 30 2006, 05:24 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(syazli7 @ Apr 30 2006, 05:12 PM)
take out the floppy drive la.. less people using floppy these years

i took it out edi, summore increasing my casing weight load since it all steel, take it out, u have more air space between ur harddisks.
thanks for the idea man...... notworthy.gif
i've thought of this b4.. but afraid if i might use it..
can i just use usb floppy for laptop ?? tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0194sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:55 PM