Perfumes for Guys v3

anige
post Mar 6 2014, 10:40 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Mar 6 2014, 12:36 AM)
Alamak... Niche ma.. Somemore bro really into Rose scent..
While i'm digging in Leather,Tobacco,Cocoa scent wink.gif
Still I'm open to any nice scent around...
Waaaa! I also like leather and tobacco. Used to like cocoa but not so excited anymore. What's your fave leather/tobacco frags?

SOTD: Guerlain Sous le Vent
anige
post Mar 6 2014, 02:44 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Mar 6 2014, 01:14 PM)
Tuscan leather and polo romance silver
So Polo Romance Silver is tobacco?

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Mar 6 2014, 02:32 PM)
I'm not too crazy about leather but if birch tar is considered as leather then it'll be Lonestar Memories by Tauer Perfumes. My favorite tobacco is London by Burberry.
I've been told about London but have yet to really test is. Must remember. London.

QUOTE(marver @ Mar 6 2014, 01:19 PM)
Hahhaa... Tuscan Leather (Leather), Bond No 9 So New York (Cocoa), & Perry Ellis Black 360*(Weareable Tobacco).

How abt you Anige?  rolleyes.gif
Bond No.9 I love ny for all is a nice gourmandy cocoa but i only tested it on paper last time.
For leather I like Olfactive Studio Chambre Noire (for now at least, later I dunno, HAHA!)
Haven't found a tobacco that wowed me but have enjoyed some smokey, incensey ones lately thanks to t0n3. This is still new to me so cannot comment yet. Hahahahahaha!
anige
post Mar 12 2014, 09:52 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Mar 11 2014, 02:09 PM)
Angie, I've just posted your decants/samples. Tracking# has been PM'ed to you.

waaaaa... so many... damn! I need to dig, dig, dig!
THANK YOU! rclxms.gif
anige
post Mar 13 2014, 08:42 PM

108 posts

S(moking) S(amples)OTN: Imaginary Authors Memoirs of a Trespasser and Lonestar Memories. Both smoky but so diff! MoaT reminds me a lot of Cuir Beluga. Smoky smoky vanilla. LM is all dark and lethal. Burning dark woods laced by a swirl of burning bitter medicinal root. Thanks t0n3 for LM. Tauer has been a very interesting house for me!!!
anige
post Mar 17 2014, 11:15 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Mar 17 2014, 08:37 AM)
how does  it compare to the iris in infusion d iris of prada? The best iris scent so far my nose has ever sniffed is still Chanel's Bois de Illes.
I've never notice the iris in BdI. I should look out for it next time...

SOTD: Hermes L’Ambre des Merveilles.
t0n3, have you tried this? If not you MUST!!! I kinda forgot about this one and honestly, never paid much attention to it. But decided to just spritz away to use up the last few drops just to clear up space. It is all amber + patchouli + vanilla = smokiness. I think the patch takes away the excessive sweetness one would expect from an amber + vanilla combo. And despite all the heavy, hard-hitting notes, it feels light, like a little cosy, cloud around you. And there is also a hint of salt in the background, which makes me think of a salty dessert. I KNOW there is a dessert like this out there but I cannot remember what it is... blink.gif

edit: I have to add, even though I said dessert, this scent is not in the gourmand group to me. very oriental and NOM!

This post has been edited by anige: Mar 17 2014, 11:17 AM
anige
post Mar 20 2014, 01:25 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Mar 19 2014, 11:57 PM)
Happy shopping!

Thanks Angie for the swap. I got more than I asked for. Thank you so much!

Immediately I put on Dior Mitzah on my wrist. Here's my 1st impression of it. Does remind me of Ambre Sultan a bit. Same amber with herbal/spicy note toned down and added rose.

Really glad it finally reached!!! So is Mitzah better??? whistling.gif LOL! I hope you have fun trying the lot!
anige
post Mar 20 2014, 10:56 PM

108 posts

S(amples)OTN: Midnight in Paris & Opus VI thanks to t0n3! First time ever trying both and loving MiP! It's a nice powdery herbalicious scent! Reading Fragrantica, I see comments of how similar it is to Bvlgari Black and I can see why folks say that. MiP is definitely easier to wear than BB and not so in your face. It starts out quite masculine but tones down to a fresh, relaxing, powdery scent. Opus VI, I'm just glad the oud is not loud. Only when you sniff it up close can you smell it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by anige: Mar 20 2014, 10:59 PM
anige
post Mar 24 2014, 09:20 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Mar 24 2014, 04:16 PM)
Angie, another leather for you to try.
LOL! So many other leathers I haven't tried yet! I will def add this to my long list of must try!!!
SOTN: Guerlain Vetiver. Edward, was it you who said this smells like an old gentleman? I really love it! It's a clean and fresh Vetiver that can do no wrong. One day I will hunt down the vintage version!!! I must compare with Encre Noire because it seems similar but I enjoy this so much more!!! I love Vetiver!!!
anige
post Mar 24 2014, 09:26 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Mar 22 2014, 10:44 AM)
Guys... Finally got to get a very peaceful Saturday morning after 3weeks of hectic schedules and still pending a lot ppl their decants 😭

Sorry la.. Will get them done n out by Monday...

And I got tons of samples and decants to try... But not enough skin to try on...

Having said that, I just wanna briefly share some of my first impression, I think most of u all know is rose galore lol

Frederic Malle portrait of a lady - patchouli rose done excellent with compliment from red berries, spices n incense...

PG26 Isparta - raspberry rose, tart sweet and rose. Girls will like it, not for me... It is linear and resembles the top of portrait of a lady

HdP Rossam - double A A4 paper soaked in rose water

Not all girls like rose + sweet stuff! Lol! biggrin.gif
Cannot imagine the smell of A4 paper + rose water! hmm.gif
But love all your reviews!!!
anige
post Mar 25 2014, 10:22 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Mar 24 2014, 11:28 PM)
That was my SOTD. It's a premiere workhorse scent for a guy. It's earthy vetiver with tobacco and nutmeg along with a citrus accent. Sharp and tart, yet oddly comforting and classy with the tonka base. Its one of my faves as well. In fact I love it so much that I finished a 125ML bottle and my new 100ml only has around 20% left.
Wow! That's a lot of VETIVER! laugh.gif But I totally understand!

QUOTE(lene002 @ Mar 25 2014, 08:06 AM)
Guerlain Vetiver Pour Elle is pure gorgeous.
Lene, dunno why, I'm not too crazy about this one...

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Mar 25 2014, 09:57 AM)
Haha u wanna try Rossam ? I got 2 vials...

[attachmentid=3903695][attachmentid=3903696]
errr... i scared sweat.gif
anige
post Mar 28 2014, 02:09 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Mar 27 2014, 11:25 AM)
my humble frag collection. post yours.

Curious! Which Guerlain is in the bee bottle and the other 2 Guerlains are? Do you have the older Guerlain Vetiver Joey? Before the silver cap?
anige
post Mar 28 2014, 02:14 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Mar 28 2014, 02:11 PM)
The Bee Bottle is Mouchoir de Monsieur. I used to own the ribbed bottle for vetiver before i finished it. The difference is minimal. the ribbed bottle version has more  citrus and less tobacco.
Ahhh, ok ok, never paid attention to the citrus/tobacco... will keep my nose tuned in to those next time... I see the 'vintage' edc selling for crazy prices on ebay... but so curious about how it actually smells 20 years ago! tongue.gif
anige
post Apr 7 2014, 05:43 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Apr 6 2014, 03:41 PM)
SOTD : Sous le toit de Paris By Atelier Cologne. (Sample)

Did a usual 5shot tis time.As i feel Atelier fragrance cap as natural cologne with 18% Essence Concentration.
Well,For the opening notes i got a strong but not harsh Violet leafy scent perfectly blend with citruses,Thus vy refreshing.. As i simply detect the citruse freshness are from Africa Geranium rather Bergamot,As there's a rosy type flora lurking on the background..
After a 5min dry-down,Haitian Vetiver comes out and play together.While a bit disappointed point is i hardly get Leather note...
Overall i would put a " BUY " Tag.

Start to admire Atelier hard work and their commitment and passion on building their brand.

sadly this one didn't work on me at all. glad you like it though!!!

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Apr 6 2014, 06:01 PM)
SOTD - Lonestar Memories by Tauer Perfumes
Although I've not been to the American West or Australian Outback, first thing came to my mind was leather horse saddles probably due to my fond childhood memories of horse riding at carnival. It's a smokey birch tar and myrrh with a touch of labdanum. Does have a little L'Air du Desert Marocain DNA to it. Didn't like it at first but slowly grew on me and bought a full bottle of it. It's so addictive. You have to like birch tar to like this. It has moderate projection and good longevity on my skin. If your love is in the vein of Cuir de Russie by Chanel (Gold Standard of leather scent according to perfumeposse), definitely give this one a try.

Tauer is currently my favorite indie niche perfumer follows closely by Josh Meyer from the house of Imaginary Authors. I like unique and challenging scent but not to the point it's unwearable. Some of their creations are full bottle worthy in my book.

ini gambar damn nice!!!

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Apr 7 2014, 05:00 PM)
Falling Into The Sea by Imaginary Authors (sample)
It basically smells like tropical grapefruit juice to me with a hint of short-lived bergamot at the top. It smells so delicious I almost wanna drink it. I'm normally not a citrus/fruity person but Imaginary Authors has changed my perspective on it with this, Mosaic and The Soft Lawn thus far. It's also quite unique in my book. It has moderate projection and good longevity on my skin.
when i have money i will get tauer and IA's sample sets...
anige
post Apr 8 2014, 12:19 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Apr 8 2014, 11:51 AM)
Question: Do you wear womens'  perfume ? If yes, state the fragrance
LOL! Can I do it the other way round?

"Do you wear men's fragrances?"

"Yes, especially if it's centred on vetiver! For example, Sycomore, Guerlain Vetiver, TdH and Montale Red Vetiver (which is similar to TdH but way stronger, however once my decant runs out, I won't get no more, I lost a bottle in the mail and I have crossed it off my list! vmad.gif)

SOTD: No 5 EdC (I get vetiver here you know, sometimes when I stick my nose to my arm! LOL!) Oh I don't mean the sillage is bad or anything, you can smell the EdC for sure but when you sniff up close, you get a breakdown, sort of. smile.gif
anige
post Apr 8 2014, 02:52 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Apr 8 2014, 12:43 PM)
It's now or never. Our MYR is getting stronger these days.

I thought you had the IA sample set otherwise I would've reserved mine for you. It's being reserved for joey86 for an upcoming swap.
no worries la. now no money. broke. just waiting for some splits to close and that's it. strict no-buy rule enforced! LOL!

QUOTE(lene002 @ Apr 8 2014, 01:31 PM)
Perfumes has no gender  biggrin.gif

I wear men perfume i.e Versace Dreamer
I agree with you Lene! Perfume has no gender. Just wear what you want as long as it makes you happy. icon_rolleyes.gif
anige
post Apr 8 2014, 02:55 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Apr 8 2014, 02:12 PM)
SOTD: Guerlain Coriolan

juniper, immortelle on a leather and chypre base. unique and  masculine and almost niche like. Also a rare scent as well.
Oh, this sounds interesting... Is the longevity and sillage good?
anige
post Apr 10 2014, 12:14 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Apr 10 2014, 12:08 PM)
Perfume Haul
Just picked it up from post office this morning. Let me introduce to you guys the newest member in my Classic English department.

rclxms.gif English through and through
anige
post Apr 17 2014, 10:23 AM

108 posts

SOTD: Robert Piguet Bandit + one spritz of Cuir Ottoman

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0665sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled