5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Perfumes for Guys v3

anige
post Jan 28 2014, 12:00 PM

108 posts

SOTD: Le Labo Vetyver 46 & Parfums de Nicolai New York. In an attempt to stay away from white florals, I don't know if Le Labo is the right choice. I'm not very sure but I think it is the combination of guaiac wood and cloves that is coming on a bit too strong. I've notice that at times guaiac wood works for me and other times, it doesn't. New York is not too bad, smoky with a lavender and herbs in the background.
anige
post Jan 30 2014, 11:22 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jan 29 2014, 09:24 AM)
SOTD: Mouchouir de Monsieur

From Guerlain:
In the early 20th century, dandies launched the fashion for fine batiste handkerchiefs. Delicately scented, they became their must-have accessory, while elegant ladies hid their gaze behind a black veil. Jacques Guerlain mischievously took his inspiration from this seductive attire to create "Mouchoir de Monsieur" in 1904 for the wedding of one of his friends.

In the early 20th century, dandies wore perfume in a discreet and refined way, starting the fashion of delicately perfumed handkerchiefs of fine batiste. With a nod to this indispensable accessory and the turn-of-the-century's emblem of good taste, Jacques Guerlain created one of the very first men's fragrances in 1904. Mouchoir de Monsieur marries citrusy freshness and the vivaciousness of aromatic notes with the subtlety of a fougère accord nuanced with delicately powdered wood.
My take:
Classic english scent built on the base on Jicky. Starts off with a nice, herby green lavender blended with bergamot before going into a complex, beautiful powdery concoction of vanilla, iris, citrus and sandalwood with some subtle hints and whispers of civet. One of my favorite scents that will always remind me of gentlemen of a bygone era. The sandalwood in here is authentic smelling and very refined. Super classy. It's like class in a bottle. And the bottle is beautiful and classy by itself too!
This sounds awesome Joey, is this your own bottle? NICE!
anige
post Jan 30 2014, 11:23 AM

108 posts

Happy Chinese New Year Eve everyone! I'm looking forward to the break even though there's still work to do! Today it's FM Vetiver Extraordinaire for me!
anige
post Jan 30 2014, 11:26 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Jan 28 2014, 05:51 PM)
Not sure how other seniors here do it as I'm still very new to this kinda thing but this is how I learn my favorite notes :-
(1) Sniff actual thing
(2) Compare and identify

Spices and herbs are cheaper to buy and have easier access to. For example, I have coriander seed, cardamom (spices) and bay leaf (herbs). My local ColdStorage has vanilla pods from Madagascar I can sniff. I also have essential oils of frankincense (Boswellia Carterii) and myrrh (Commiphora Myrrha) both from Somalia by Neal's Yard. I also bought sample of Labdanum 18 by Le Labo (for Labdanum obviously) and Saffron Sample Set from SurrenderToChance which consists of Red Oud by Montale, Safran Troublant by L`Artisan Parfumeur and Rose Kashmirie by Les Parfums de Rosine. When sampling, make sure the note you wanna find out is prominent/major player and not well-blended. You could refer to fragrantica for scent's info. You could also read odor profile on fragrantica to find out the characteristics of a note.

Maybe some of my examples given are a bit hardcore, you could just try reading odor profile on fragrantica and use compare and identify method. Happy sniffing smile.gif

Oh! I should do that! I THINK I like coriander as a note but I'm not very sure. Must go check out the real thing. BTW, what do you think are the best incense perfumes around?
anige
post Feb 4 2014, 12:37 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Feb 3 2014, 05:32 PM)
Thanks. Photography was my hobby before I discovered perfume appreciation. I get burnt out easily. Don't be surprised if you see me gone from this perfume thread and ended up only at [WTS] thread.

SOTD - Grand Cuir by Parfums Retro (Sample)/Fresh Impact by Adidas
I get fresh pine mixed with birch tar and lavender. To my untrained nose, all the other notes are well-blended I hardly able to pinpoint individually so I'll just quote what's written on card :-

"A leather with soul. Part One: A Leather Soul with notes of cistus-labdanum, clary sage and birch tar rectified. Part Two: A Multi-Dimensional Floral Heart with notes of orange-flower, geranium, lavender, violet leaf, carnation and rose. Part Three: Accents with notes of cinnamon leaf oil and tarragon. part Four: A Comfortable, Relaxed Base with notes of pine moss, musk, sandalwood, patchouli and rosewood oil."

Overall smell is actually quite good and unique with quality.

Fresh Impact for my shoulder workout just now. I'll be sampling Aoud Leather by Montale later this evening. Right off the bat, it's 99% identical with Golden Boy by Dueto Parfums.

Another perfume collection show off. Racquets Formula by Penhaligon's. My classy English scent. Would you care to join me for a cup of tea and scones?

WOW! Great shot man!!!

Curious about Grand Cuir, how unique is it? Unique as in strange like Bvlgari Black or Chanel Cuir de Russie? Or something else altogether?
anige
post Feb 12 2014, 10:56 AM

108 posts

SOTD: Oriza L. Legrand Chypre Mousse. This scent gets me compliments, well at least from my two colleagues who knows I'm into fragrance. I don't know why though. It's very green. Like freshly cut grass. Then as you move along into the day, the early morning freshness gives way to a dry, smoky phase, as the sun saps up all the morning dew. It is an easy scent to wear. And different from what you will get today. This house has taken century-old recipes to give the perfumes a modern twist. It has a real vintage vibe that I love and I really do love most of the line-up.
anige
post Feb 12 2014, 03:19 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Feb 12 2014, 11:12 AM)
U make it sound so niceeeeeeeeer than green irish tweed... Must resist poison lol

U got it from monica?
It IS nice!!! LOL! You can order sample set of the whole line from the Oriza L. Legrand site. Free postage. Here's the link!
http://www.orizaparfums.com/boutique_en.html
Only 9 euros ler!!! :PPPPPP
There's a patch scent, lovely carnation, sweet honey, this green scent, another green-floral scent, what else? Hmmmm... a rootbeer-ish scent to me. Yup. Something for everyone! Oh wait! No rose though! LOL!

This post has been edited by anige: Feb 12 2014, 03:51 PM
anige
post Feb 12 2014, 05:38 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Feb 12 2014, 03:56 PM)
Sample set a steal la... €9 for 8x2ml sprays

U really poison.. I already order 1 set lol... Looking forward for ur thoughts on jardins d'armide
Aiyah! So fast you ordered! One address can order 2 sets. I want another one! LOL!

If you like honey you will love Jardins d'Armide. I think most of you guys here don't mind strong scents. But this one is a bit too sweet on me. So I can only wear if the weather is cool or on rainy days! If not, I'll feel suffocated. LOL! Hmmm... even better than TV!!! (Just kidding)
anige
post Feb 12 2014, 05:39 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(jarcmercier @ Feb 12 2014, 04:45 PM)
Thanks for sharing !  rclxms.gif

But i thought the shipping cost to Malaysia is 7 euros ?
Jarc, last time I ordered, shipping was free. I only paid 9 euros. Is it still free Edward???
anige
post Feb 12 2014, 05:41 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Feb 11 2014, 08:11 PM)
lol... finally Malaysia got something which is cheaper edi lol...

MFK retail here is cheaper than luckyscent (excluding shipping) and more a less same price with MFK estore smile.gif

OUD.. Luckyscent $300, MFK EUR195, Isetan RM880
OUD trio... Luckyscent $375, MFK EUR272, Isetan RM1250
Lumiere Noire PH.. Luckyscent $175, MFK EUR105, Isetan RM500

So in conclusion... no markup from france price smile.gif
Ok, set la. RM500 for Lumiere Noire not too bad mar... Lots of other scents that are pricier. Beli Beli Beli!
anige
post Feb 13 2014, 12:23 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(lene002 @ Feb 13 2014, 08:20 AM)
brecourt 3 samples free....next sample 1euro only....hehehehe
Oooooh! Haven't tried that house before!
anige
post Feb 13 2014, 12:30 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Feb 12 2014, 07:56 PM)
unfortunately nope... add EUR7 lol but still a fairly good deal...
OH NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry to hear that they've added shipping charges! Darn! The house was totally new to me but since I'm a sucker for packaging (anything old and vintage~y is cools!), that's why I got the samples set.

whistling.gif Anyway, today I'm wearing Oeillet Louis XV from Oriza L. Legrand. It's a spicy carnation with honey running steadily in the background. It's floral and sweet and delicious! Makes my mouth water.... *drools*! This is one of my favourites apart from Relique d'Amour, which by the way has terrible longevity! Less than an hour!!! BUT I REALLY LOVE IT!!! SO HOW??? cry.gif
anige
post Feb 13 2014, 12:33 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(lene002 @ Feb 13 2014, 12:27 PM)
only had avenue montaigne last year,didnt impressed me much. go ahead buy  rclxms.gif
im still on no buy cry.gif 2months already
I think I'm on a no-buy for a few months now but somedays I just can't take it, so I sign-up for one decant. Then, another. Then, control. Then go see what people are swapping or selling for cheap! LOL! It's really hard! I TOTALLY understand! STAY STRONG! biggrin.gif
anige
post Feb 13 2014, 12:38 PM

108 posts

Out of curiosity, where do you guys store your scents? As you know it's been freaking hot lately. I worry about my babies. sad.gif Do you leave the air-con running whole day? Or maybe I should get a wine chiller (but it's not cheap! and I can buy another bottle or two for the price...) icon_question.gif
anige
post Feb 14 2014, 10:43 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:26 PM)
Federic Malle drink anyone?

This would be perfect but we'll have to tint the glass! LOL! I'd like an underground wine chamber too. It'd be so cool!
anige
post Feb 14 2014, 10:44 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Feb 14 2014, 10:30 AM)
Well my wife surprised me with this on Valentine's Day:

She knew that i was a little disappointed for not being able to have a pit stop at NY due to the snow storm so she contacted her sister who is residing in Singapore to get me this. It was produced and bottled only yesterday.

Well, the thing is this bottle is still seated in Singapore. I will have to either wait for my in-law to fly back, or me flying down to bring this precious home.

Happy Valentine's Day and Chap Goh Meh everyone!
Happy Valentine's Day! So sweet of your wife! What did you get for her???
anige
post Feb 17 2014, 05:38 PM

108 posts

SOTD: Miller Harries Fleurs de Sel. This stupid hot weather is making me pick fresher scents. At least this one has a salty vibe. Maybe tomorrow I should wear Sel Marin. More salt! More salt! SO HOT! NEED RAIN!!!
anige
post Feb 18 2014, 05:12 PM

108 posts

SOTD: Rochas Eau de Rochas. Nice fresh basil herbal goodness.
anige
post Feb 18 2014, 05:14 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Feb 17 2014, 10:15 PM)
Weather really hot... i really missed my heavy hitters T_T

Tml out appointment whole day somemore... dun care pakai MFK Lumiere Noire PH

Finally managed to find a constant bulk supplies for 5ml decant sprays... time to re-organize split and decanting my collection.. price will be greatly revised after learning from decant gurus in FB how to run splits for local community...

Hope can get all your support ya.. sharing is caring tongue.gif

Yay.. the split board is up... its on my siggy.. the same list is also on my FB Group - Malaisie Groupe Scindé de parfum

Purpose is to continue poison the community with my *shy* limited collection as well as to raise fund for my future acquisitions...

if this is going well, i might going to do new bottle split once i can get hold of 10ml, 20ml and 30ml decant bottles
Can you get like 2/3ml spray bottles too??? Mana beli ya?
anige
post Feb 19 2014, 02:49 PM

108 posts

SOTD: Olfactive Studio Flashback, perfect for the hot weather. It's really refreshing! Starts off with a green apple note and now vetiver is coming out to play. I think I need more of this! Of all the 5 (currently) offerings from this house, I LOVE 3 of them! So good!!! (And all their scents are unisex!) Any guy can wear them just fine!!! wink.gif
Also, because of this hot weather, I'm re-discovering my other scents that are perfect for the heat. But I really miss the rests. sad.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0633sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:33 PM