○ Galaxy Nexus V23 ○, The Nexus lineage

mizynee
post May 22 2013, 03:44 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 22 2013, 04:38 PM)
That screen not that bad actually. See whether you want to change. This looks like something dropped on top of the screen. Not too heavy, right at the edge. A cup/glass?

Fixing it takes around Rm500. See whether you think it's worth it. I will suggest you to get another phone instead. This one still boleh pakai as spare right? Or even get a 2nd hand Galaxy Nexus pun RM700+-.

Unless you wanna risk to replace just the front frame (which is almost a mission impossible). It's available online for less than RM100 but the possibility for you to replace just the frame (glass) without damaging the display (Super AMOLED HD) is almost 0. The screen module itself is around 600RMB on Taobao around RM400 on Ebay

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/LCD-Display-Tou...=item2c6eeabbe8

and this is the frame only

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Replacement-Out...4#ht_500wt_1139

see the price difference doh.gif

But Super AMOLED fused display panel and glass/digitizer together. You need really really good skill (with hot gun??) to separate the frame and the panel.
Btw... New Galaxy Nexus is just 1400RMB in China doh.gif
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=15500035660
+1
QUOTE(springfall @ May 22 2013, 04:39 PM)

Still can use, still can drive,

Live like a BOSS!
the phone landed with the screen facing the floor.. doh.gif
considering now.. too many bad things happen..
my mind also in a mess..

IwanAGP
post May 22 2013, 03:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mizynee @ May 22 2013, 03:44 PM)
my mind also in a mess..
No casing?
springfall
post May 22 2013, 03:51 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 22 2013, 05:47 PM)
No casing?
looking at the damage, seems like no.
the damage took really close to the edge.
if the case were there, there would be slight raised and eat into the phone, making the damage less close to edge

why the sp soo far in the screen

This post has been edited by springfall: May 22 2013, 03:53 PM
IwanAGP
post May 22 2013, 03:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ May 22 2013, 03:51 PM)
if the case were there, there would be slight raised and eat into the phone, making the damage less close to edge

But the impact macam is caused by a fine point, maybe sphere in shape. If straight fall I don't think can cause crack like that.
mizynee
post May 22 2013, 04:12 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 22 2013, 04:47 PM)
No casing?
yup, naked without casing.. blush.gif

QUOTE(springfall @ May 22 2013, 04:51 PM)

no idea.. last time fren get from ebay.. gooding clear type sp.. blush.gif

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 22 2013, 04:58 PM)
But the impact macam is caused by a fine point, maybe sphere in shape. If straight fall I don't think can cause crack like that.
when Nexus slip from my hand, landed beautifully with 360 turning.. the next thing is the screen as picture.. doh.gif
IwanAGP
post May 22 2013, 04:28 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mizynee @ May 22 2013, 04:12 PM)
yup, naked without casing.. blush.gif
no idea.. last time fren get from ebay.. gooding clear type sp.. blush.gif
when Nexus slip from my hand, landed beautifully with 360 turning.. the next thing is the screen as picture.. doh.gif
doh.gif Then why your friend is involved? You borrowed him/her?

Too bad sad.gif

2 days back, I was awaken by a sound 5.30 in the morning. Something hitting the metal shelf beside my bed. Guess what... It's my nexus.

It landed face down after hitting the shelf. But I got casing on. So... Nothing happened.
mizynee
post May 22 2013, 04:31 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 22 2013, 05:28 PM)
doh.gif Then why your friend is involved? You borrowed him/her?

Too bad sad.gif

2 days back, I was awaken by a sound 5.30 in the morning. Something hitting the metal shelf beside my bed. Guess what... It's my nexus.

It landed face down after hitting the shelf. But I got casing on. So... Nothing happened.
we were q-ing waiting for seats during lunch time.. i had my nexus in my hand whatsapp-ing.. he was telling some interesting stories.. so excited till he accidentally swipe my hand and there goes my nexus.. rclxub.gif
tokman
post May 22 2013, 04:41 PM

60 posts

anyone know where can i buy extended battery for Galaxy Nexus?

IwanAGP
post May 22 2013, 04:43 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mizynee @ May 22 2013, 04:31 PM)
we were q-ing waiting for seats during lunch time.. i had my nexus in my hand whatsapp-ing.. he was telling some interesting stories.. so excited till he accidentally swipe my hand and there goes my nexus.. rclxub.gif
laugh.gif I can understand that.

Lesson learnt:
1) Don't stare at your phone all the time
2) Use your phone with a casing

QUOTE(tokman @ May 22 2013, 04:41 PM)
anyone know where can i buy extended battery for Galaxy Nexus?
Now most "hit" one is polarcell. Ebay, RM53. Free shipping from Germany.

I never try. Got few users bought it. Ask for their review.

It's just 1900 mAh vs stock 1750. No extended case needed wink.gif
si perfeck!
post May 22 2013, 07:07 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 22 2013, 09:50 AM)
i think there is a very underestimated rom out there.... everyone know ATOM and its very fast buttery VANIR by team VANIR... and i used slim, atom, PA, and go back to ATOM due to the buttery....

Yesterday, I am boring, and i go for the ORIGINAL VANIR ROM. and then pair up with SKL250 AK. and i could say that ... this is the first time i expeirence a lagless galaxy nexus even after ton of apps installed. and widget placed. Not sure about battery life and i think battery life is not because of rom... its because of governor setting, usage and also 4.2.2 2-3 screen on time. battery life become not an issue when u use ur phone and feel SUPER SMOOTH... u guys should try it.
is this the correct link for original vanir rom boss??

http://www.emccann.net/VanirRelease/v4.2.2...FILE_LIST_.html
bugb34r
post May 22 2013, 08:09 PM

Pablo Honey
1,843 posts

QUOTE(si perfeck! @ May 22 2013, 07:07 PM)

Not this?

http://www.emccann.net/VanirRelease/v3.0/_FILE_LIST_.html
fcuk90
post May 22 2013, 09:27 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(mizynee @ May 22 2013, 03:44 PM)
my mind also in a mess..
still can use .. biggrin.gif lucky it is not dead
lee82gx
post May 22 2013, 09:30 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(mizynee @ May 22 2013, 03:10 PM)
anyway my colleague ready to pay for the screen repair or subsidi if i change a new phone..

another bad news for me..
hsemate call, said 1 fella drive motor crash into my saga outside my hse..
headlight cracked, foglight gone..[attachmentid=3451232]
Very bad bay...sad for u bro.

http://www.ipmart.com/main/product/Origina...php?prod=345288

Seems like the display is really expensively fused with the glass...

If you're in Penang area I can offer free service for you. But at RM400 bucks its just not worth it.

Or u can look for faulty phones
nickcct
post May 22 2013, 10:05 PM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

QUOTE(si perfeck! @ May 22 2013, 07:07 PM)

Yes. For nightly http://www.emccann.net/nuclearmistake/Vani...FILE_LIST_.html
bugb34r
post May 23 2013, 12:09 AM

Pablo Honey
1,843 posts

Not impressive enough. sad.gif

springfall
post May 23 2013, 12:13 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ May 23 2013, 02:09 AM)
Not impressive enough. sad.gif

maps and android os still takes more than mine.
greenify, mod the settings, throw stuff away whistling.gif
bugb34r
post May 23 2013, 12:15 AM

Pablo Honey
1,843 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ May 23 2013, 12:13 AM)
maps and android os still takes more than mine.
greenify, mod the settings, throw stuff away whistling.gif
It's 4.2.2, what can you expect? sad.gif

I did use greenify, and hibernate the maps, but it keeps coming back. Wonder why. hmm.gif
springfall
post May 23 2013, 12:33 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ May 23 2013, 02:15 AM)
It's 4.2.2, what can you expect?  sad.gif

I did use greenify, and hibernate the maps, but it keeps coming back. Wonder why.  hmm.gif
maps= system apps.
check the settings, remove what u dun nid.
i dun drive here, so i reduce the reporting of location and make it use the triangulation to know my location through cell towers.
only when specify when i turn on gps then it will use that.

also tiba can move apps out of system, a bit unstable perhaps but it helps.

or u can choose to totally disable it and enable it when needed brows.gif

but yeah 4.2.2 doh.gif
IwanAGP
post May 23 2013, 12:40 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ May 23 2013, 12:33 AM)
maps= system apps.
check the settings, remove what u dun nid.
i dun drive here, so i reduce the reporting of location and make it use the triangulation to know my location through cell towers.
only when specify when i turn on gps then it will use that.

also tiba can move apps out of system, a bit unstable perhaps but it helps.

or u can choose to totally disable it and enable it when needed brows.gif

but yeah 4.2.2 doh.gif
I memang totally disable my maps.

Today departed from my hometown back to KL.

Spent 30mins with my phone in the boarding room whatsapp/Fb msg

Spent 30mins just listen to music on the plane

Spent 45~1 hour music+word search

Spent 1 hour on the skybus

Battery left 2X% but is dropping fast since it's below 30% d.

Data on when I'm not on the plane tongue.gif

*Disclaimer: I believe digi got no coverage up there since it can't even cover nicely down here*
mizynee
post May 23 2013, 10:23 AM

895 posts

thinking to get a 2nd Nexus 4.. price offer 1k.. good deal?
or straight go for the new Nexus 4, price 1299..

125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:32 PM