125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

○ Galaxy Nexus V23 ○, The Nexus lineage

duabijitelur
post May 11 2013, 12:20 AM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

walao u guys so fast biggrin.gif congratz ts on new thread!
brutalsoul
post May 11 2013, 12:22 AM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

v23?? congratzzz
im_not_stupid
post May 11 2013, 01:11 AM

1,083 posts

so fast v23.. congratz!
shirley_andy
post May 11 2013, 01:14 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

shirley_andy reporting in
haziqmck7
post May 11 2013, 02:51 AM

1,696 posts

cgratz on new thread...gnex still going strong rclxms.gif
bugb34r
post May 11 2013, 04:46 AM

Pablo Honey
1,843 posts

I'm thinking to jump ship soon. :S
nickcct
post May 11 2013, 07:02 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

AK thread seems moved to droid-hive. Anyone who wish to download the kernel, have to register before u download.
kuance
post May 11 2013, 09:45 AM

899 posts

actually i feel sad and happy at the same time... i am happy because the so-called "lower grade" s2, we as NEXUS... are alive to v23... and heck, we got one amazing freaking phone.

I feel sad because, it marks a near end of our Nexus' life. One by one getting jump ship to s4, or nexus4, htc one, butterfly, or any fonepad there is. but i wont jump until something amazing. And i am expecting something from the Nexus 5 or maybe the Phone X? Sometimes I felt lonely... ppl around me talking about lumia 920 camera, speed demon s4, or the amazing screen from sony bravia engine.

After all, its just a phone. when it comes to speed... regardless of operating speed or accessing app speed. we are top notch. After living awhile with those awesome custom rom... I have suddenly become very rely on those feature...namely, the navring, the pgm, transparent nav and statusbar. and some additional apps like glovebox, keep, chronus clock, and all this to make sure my screen are as clean and yet i access my apps in ALMOST INSTANT! I hate comparing... and i know we shouldnt. but i am sorry to say that... iPhone definitely wont be able to fire up apps as fast as i am.

My last word, I hope that this thread can keep on going... until 4.3 were out... and we get more heat here... then we enjoy our device... UNTIL nexus.. and hopefully we all jumpship together.. : )

CHEERS to all NEXUS user. we have made a good choice in the beginning.
IwanAGP
post May 11 2013, 09:56 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 09:45 AM)
actually i feel sad and happy at the same time... i am happy because the so-called "lower grade" s2, we as NEXUS... are alive to v23... and heck, we got one amazing freaking phone.

I feel sad because, it marks a near end of our Nexus' life. One by one getting jump ship to s4, or nexus4, htc one, butterfly, or any fonepad there is. but i wont jump until something amazing. And i am expecting something from the Nexus 5 or maybe the Phone X? Sometimes I felt lonely... ppl around me talking about lumia 920 camera, speed demon s4, or the amazing screen from sony bravia engine.

After all, its just a phone. when it comes to speed... regardless of operating speed or accessing app speed. we are top notch. After living awhile with those awesome custom rom... I have suddenly become very rely on those feature...namely, the navring, the pgm, transparent nav and statusbar. and some additional apps like glovebox, keep, chronus clock, and all this to make sure my screen are as clean and yet i access my apps in ALMOST INSTANT! I hate comparing... and i know we shouldnt. but i am sorry to say that... iPhone definitely wont be able to fire up apps as fast as i am.

My last word, I hope that this thread can keep on going... until 4.3 were out... and we get more heat here... then we enjoy our device... UNTIL nexus.. and hopefully we all jumpship together.. : )

In my situation, most friends switched to Android/iPhone in the past 12 months. Those who changed earlier went for S2 or Single Core Samsung/HTC. Those who changed more recently all went for Note 2 and S3. These phones are still quite capable. I think most of them will get stucked with S3, won't go higher for at least another 12 months. Who knows?

After another 12 months, I'll be working or continuing my master. Things may be different from what I thought.

Anyway, it's just to say... Not everyone will upgrade. At least some of us here still find GNex very capable. Maybe can't catch up in Graphic and Camera performance but UI smoothness, it's hell a lot better than all the phones from same generation.

Well... Unless you got a deep pocket or you got a lot of free time, you can switch phone whenever you like.

What I mean "you got a lot of free time" means you can monitor the sales thread and look for those who is selling their newest smartphone (don't like or wanna try another flagship- eg: Bought S4, used for 2 weeks, tried HTC One, find HTC One better, Sell S4 buy HTC One), you can just take their unit and keep on trading. Maybe just 2k++ at the beginning. But you can only do so with a spare phone. Monitor market price and sell it out before it starts dropping. This takes a lot of time but it entitles you to play phone-hopping without losing money. Some ppl can even earn a little by doing so.
Like a trader, but don't trade to earn a lot. Spending time in the second hand market, a lot of time.

Sometimes you can get a phone and sell it out the next second for 50 to 100 higher. Sometimes you miss the time to let out and probably lose 50 to 100. Really takes a lot of time. No time to do so and no own car for COD else it should be enjoyable to have this kind of hobby laugh.gif
kuance
post May 11 2013, 10:09 AM

899 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 11 2013, 09:56 AM)
In my situation, most friends switched to Android/iPhone in the past 12 months. Those who changed earlier went for S2 or Single Core Samsung/HTC. Those who changed more recently all went for Note 2 and S3. These phones are still quite capable. I think most of them will get stucked with S3, won't go higher for at least another 12 months. Who knows?

After another 12 months, I'll be working or continuing my master. Things may be different from what I thought.

Anyway, it's just to say... Not everyone will upgrade. At least some of us here still find GNex very capable. Maybe can't catch up in Graphic and Camera performance but UI smoothness, it's hell a lot better than all the phones from same generation.

Well... Unless you got a deep pocket or you got a lot of free time, you can switch phone whenever you like.

What I mean "you got a lot of free time" means you can monitor the sales thread and look for those who is selling their newest smartphone (don't like or wanna try another flagship- eg: Bought S4, used for 2 weeks, tried HTC One, find HTC One better, Sell S4 buy HTC One), you can just take their unit and keep on trading. Maybe just 2k++ at the beginning. But you can only do so with a spare phone. Monitor market price and sell it out before it starts dropping. This takes a lot of time but it entitles you to play phone-hopping without losing money. Some ppl can even earn a little by doing so.
Like a trader, but don't trade to earn a lot. Spending time in the second hand market, a lot of time.

Sometimes you can get a phone and sell it out the next second for 50 to 100 higher. Sometimes you miss the time to let out and probably lose 50 to 100. Really takes a lot of time. No time to do so and no own car for COD else it should be enjoyable to have this kind of hobby laugh.gif
Totally agree with what you say, phone-hopping hobby is not actually so fun for those with budget. and i admit that for me such a geek, nexus is the most raw phone i've ever had. I own the iphone 3gs, the s2, and play a lot of s3... and i can say that nexus is DAMN RAW. you cook it your own style, and you taste it your own way. Like i said just now, my homescreen as clean as only a round analog clock. but yet, i access whatever popular apps (browser, fb,insta,gallery, camera,calculator, whatsapp, guitar tuning apps) in just a matter of SECOND. because its my own way.

Anyway, i understand that not all be able to jump ship. but i really expect a lot from nexus 5 and i am looking forward to change if my budget allow. maybe by that time. i will ROOT+custom rom to the most stable extend on my nexus, and sell to my local colleague for maybe rm400-rm600? hahaha...
IwanAGP
post May 11 2013, 10:15 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 10:09 AM)
Totally agree with what you say, phone-hopping hobby is not actually so fun for those with budget. and i admit that for me such a geek, nexus is the most raw phone i've ever had. I own the iphone 3gs, the s2, and play a lot of s3... and i can say that nexus is DAMN RAW. you cook it your own style, and you taste it your own way. Like i said just now, my homescreen as clean as only a round analog clock. but yet, i access whatever popular apps (browser, fb,insta,gallery, camera,calculator, whatsapp, guitar tuning apps) in just a matter of SECOND. because its my own way.

Anyway, i understand that not all be able to jump ship. but i really expect a lot from nexus 5 and i am looking forward to change if my budget allow. maybe by that time. i will ROOT+custom rom to the most stable extend on my nexus, and sell to my local colleague for maybe rm400-rm600? hahaha...
I probably won't sell it. Just let my bro have it or something. Next time I may start trading if I got the time brows.gif

Btw, the homescreen thing, actually can be done by all phones. Just whether they wanted to do it. If you go for popular devices, they'll have just as much ROM as a Nexus can have. They have them based on AOSP and some based on manufacturer's ROM. However, most of the users chose to stay with stock. It's their choice, don't blame the phone tongue.gif

Nexus is just easier, and meant to be flashed brows.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: May 11 2013, 10:16 AM
kuance
post May 11 2013, 10:23 AM

899 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 11 2013, 10:15 AM)
I probably won't sell it. Just let my bro have it or something. Next time I may start trading if I got the time brows.gif

Btw, the homescreen thing, actually can be done by all phones. Just whether they wanted to do it. If you go for popular devices, they'll have just as much ROM as a Nexus can have. They have them based on AOSP and some based on manufacturer's ROM. However, most of the users chose to stay with stock. It's their choice, don't blame the phone tongue.gif

Nexus is just easier, and meant to be flashed  brows.gif
ahhahaa.. "meant to be flashed" ... like its born to be torture and abuse.... whistling.gif
IwanAGP
post May 11 2013, 10:26 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 10:23 AM)
ahhahaa.. "meant to be flashed" ... like its born to be torture and abuse....  whistling.gif
There are ppl that use it fully stock without unlocking bootloader. They don't need it.
We need it tongue.gif

Lot of features offered in custom ROM I can't live without. Ask me going back to stock ROM, I'll suffer for quite a long period of time. laugh.gif
kuance
post May 11 2013, 10:40 AM

899 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 11 2013, 10:26 AM)
There are ppl that use it fully stock without unlocking bootloader. They don't need it.
We need it tongue.gif

Lot of features offered in custom ROM I can't live without. Ask me going back to stock ROM, I'll suffer for quite a long period of time.  laugh.gif
Anyway, yesterday installed Liquid Smooth + AK 243SKL. Overall very fast, offer all the feature i need. and one thing is that... there is some wakelock. my phone not idle since last night... must be something fishy... gonna observe awhile first... i did a clean flash over my previous atom. wipe system, data, cache, dalvik....

wondering why ... wink.gif
duabijitelur
post May 11 2013, 11:27 AM

1,951 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 11 2013, 10:26 AM)
We need it tongue.gif

Lot of features offered in custom ROM I can't live without. Ask me going back to stock ROM, I'll suffer for quite a long period of time.  laugh.gif
yeah this , i duno how i can use stock rom XD
i think its impossible d
kuance
post May 11 2013, 11:49 AM

899 posts

guys... anyone can share his setting for PGM on slide2wake? i still cant get a good value... putting the phone in my pocket still often trigger it open. and only when i feel the heat.. then i realize...

maybe there is some magical value there to set?? lol
duabijitelur
post May 11 2013, 12:14 PM

1,951 posts

start 20 1200
stop 700 1200
threshold 200
timeout 2500

so my sliding position is bottom of the screen
u can also play with it a bit

if u wanna know the location, u can go Developer Options > Enable Pointer Location then u can see the x and y
IwanAGP
post May 11 2013, 12:27 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 11:49 AM)
guys... anyone can share his setting for PGM on slide2wake? i still cant get a good value... putting the phone in my pocket still often trigger it open. and only when i feel the heat.. then i realize...

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ May 11 2013, 12:14 PM)
start 20 1200
stop 700 1200
threshold 200
timeout 2500

so my sliding position is bottom of the screen
u can also play with it a bit

if u wanna know the location, u can go Developer Options > Enable Pointer Location then u can see the x and y
Mine

Never trigger my phone in my pocket with this setting.

Wake: Swipe bottom up from center
Sleep: Swype right to left on the navbar. But I got my Recents button Longpress as power. Normally use that one instead of PGM to sleep.
springfall
post May 11 2013, 12:52 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 11:45 AM)

unless u jump around me and toss up free AUD dollars, i will be stuck in this thread
for another few years whistling.gif

QUOTE(bugb34r @ May 11 2013, 06:46 AM)
I'm thinking to jump ship soon. :S
buy new battery change ship doh.gif
springfall
post May 11 2013, 12:55 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(kuance @ May 11 2013, 01:49 PM)

threshold & timeout is the key to keeping it sleeping in the pocket.
try making a very impossible straight line threshold and a lower time out.
and i also like to make the 'drawn line' from end to end as pocket can't make a full straight line.

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:02 PM