TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 01:44 PM, updated 5y ago

7,044 posts

What is Ingress?
From Wikipedia:
Ingress is a near-realtime augmented reality massively multiplayer online video game created by NianticLabs@Google and released for Android devices. The game has a complex backstory that Google is revealing piece by piece.

Players of the game belong to one of two factions, “Enlightened” (represented in green) and “Resistance” (blue). Players attempt to enclose regions of territory on Googlemaps of Earth with virtual links between virtual portals; these maps are displayed on the players' own smartphones, laptops and tablets (which function as mobile game consoles), with territory gained designated as "control fields".

The ultimate goal of the game is for one’s faction to control the largest number of “Mind Units”, the estimated number of humans within the regions of territory controlled by the faction. The game is suitable for ages six and up, and has attracted an enthusiastic following in cities worldwide.

Screenshots

Some related websites:
http://www.ingress.com/
http://www.nianticproject.com/

Android download:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...project.ingress
Note 1: Invites are required to get into this game. Best to just apply from either one of the two websites above.
Note 2: I dun have any invites yet... So my apologies to those who PMed me. I'll update when I have invites I can send out.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: May 13 2013, 10:05 AM
TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 01:44 PM

7,044 posts

should we list out who is in which faction? are you with...

ENLIGHTENED or RESISTANCE

This post has been edited by mydragoon: May 10 2013, 02:21 PM
TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 01:45 PM

7,044 posts

(reserved for future use)
lucifah
post May 10 2013, 01:56 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

send me an invite

this game is very intriguing
TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 01:59 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ May 10 2013, 01:56 PM)
send me an invite

this game is very intriguing
you can either apply from the niantic project/ ingress website... or i need to invite thru email... in which case, need you to PM me your email address. biggrin.gif

update 1: checking out the in-game chat. can see there are quite a number of Malaysians already on this.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: May 10 2013, 02:03 PM
lucifah
post May 10 2013, 02:01 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 10 2013, 01:59 PM)
you can either apply from the niantic project/ ingress website... or i need to invite thru email... in which case, need you to PM me your email address. biggrin.gif
it's lucifah @ gmail.com

thanks bro~
Blues89
post May 10 2013, 02:14 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

hmm...sounds interesting...
but this game need constant data plan?- -
TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 02:19 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ May 10 2013, 02:14 PM)
hmm...sounds interesting...
but this game need constant data plan?- -
i believe you data plan coz when you attack the nodes, etc... i guess it needs to reflect that you captured it.

just turned off my data plan... and ya, getting a "no data connection" error. i guess when you dun have data, your options in the game will be limited. my data still off but i just collected XM.
Blues89
post May 10 2013, 02:21 PM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

hmm...i cant really enjoy this game then...but it really looks interesting...
google nvr fail to amuse us biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post May 10 2013, 02:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ May 10 2013, 02:21 PM)
hmm...i cant really enjoy this game then...but it really looks interesting...
google nvr fail to amuse us biggrin.gif
i guess you can still try to download and capture any portals near your house (assuming your house got wifi)... office too if your office got wifi.

i'm scanning my office area and... two portals detected already captured... cry.gif

later tonight go home and hope no one conquer anything yet... biggrin.gif

ya, i just got my invite last night and just started this morning.
TSmydragoon
post May 13 2013, 09:54 AM

7,044 posts

This is last week's weekly Ingress report...

it's actually quite fun. i actually found myself driving around my area during the weekend looking for portals. then a few local seniors game me some advise, etc... and it's kinda exciting seeing how the areas are being captured.

would be nice if later we can have factions here... and perhaps plan a Malaysia thingy... biggrin.gif

to get into the game, you need invites. you can get them from the two websites on Post #1.
effectz
post May 25 2014, 06:28 PM

1,107 posts

Y this thread stagnant?
TSmydragoon
post May 26 2014, 10:40 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ May 25 2014, 06:28 PM)
Y this thread stagnant?
no idea...

but i know many of the guys just use Google+ and Hangout for discussion, etc...

i've personally stopped playing due to time constraints. but it was fun when i was playing it... running around, capturing portals, learning from some of the sifu... smile.gif
fujkenasai
post Aug 9 2016, 02:38 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 26 2014, 10:40 AM)
no idea...

but i know many of the guys just use Google+ and Hangout for discussion, etc...

i've personally stopped playing due to time constraints. but it was fun when i was playing it... running around, capturing portals, learning from some of the sifu... smile.gif
I heard that this game affects where poke stops are being located in pokemon go thats y in countries where ingress is popular there are much more pokestops
TSmydragoon
post Aug 9 2016, 02:52 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 9 2016, 02:38 PM)
I heard that this game affects where poke stops are being located in pokemon go thats y in countries where ingress is popular there are much more pokestops
iinm, they are using back the data from Ingress for Pokemon Go.

so ya, places where Ingress players submitted as portals, well... that's where you can find gyms and stops. and sadly... a lot of these places... weird la... roadside shrine, exercise area at playground... graffiti on some roadside... **pengsan**

degraw1993
post Aug 9 2016, 04:06 PM

1,892 posts

I noticed my friend also play this. It's like a pokemon go but you have to conquer the base. Quite fun gt multi stops
fujkenasai
post Aug 9 2016, 04:33 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 9 2016, 02:52 PM)
iinm, they are using back the data from Ingress for Pokemon Go.

so ya, places where Ingress players submitted as portals, well... that's where you can find gyms and stops. and sadly... a lot of these places... weird la... roadside shrine, exercise area at playground... graffiti on some roadside... **pengsan**
ok...so i have to use this game to make pokestops n gym near my house brows.gif

but what about pokemon spawning area n types of pokemon?

what data do they use?
TSmydragoon
post Aug 9 2016, 04:59 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 9 2016, 04:33 PM)
ok...so i have to use this game to make pokestops n gym near my house brows.gif

but what about pokemon spawning area n types of pokemon?

what data do they use?
not sure if they will refresh data in Pokemon Go or not...

anyway, better to chat here regarding PG: https://forum.lowyat.net/PokemonGO

as for type... i guess it depends on the geographical nature of the place -- next to river/ lake, mountain area, city area... forest, nature park
fujkenasai
post Aug 9 2016, 07:14 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 9 2016, 04:59 PM)
not sure if they will refresh data in Pokemon Go or not...

anyway, better to chat here regarding PG: https://forum.lowyat.net/PokemonGO

as for type... i guess it depends on the geographical nature of the place -- next to river/ lake, mountain area, city area... forest, nature park
cos most people in that place do not know about ingress...

i see thanks
l0ttatang
post Nov 1 2016, 04:43 PM

48 posts

smile.gif just bump into this thread ..

the craziest thing ENL Malaysia have done.. for Merdeka Day smile.gif Attached Image
effectz
post Dec 28 2020, 10:05 PM

1,107 posts

BUMP. Now it's ingress prime.
TSmydragoon
post Jan 2 2021, 04:08 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 28 2020, 10:05 PM)
BUMP. Now it's ingress prime.
i wonder how many here still playing?