Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

Agito666
post May 14 2014, 01:28 PM

11,861 posts

hmm want ask what is best budget portable headphone for travel in KTM and LRT train

my rig: mainly HTC M7 phone (with poweramp player), or PC stock soundcard unsure.gif
usage: music on traveling , sometimes movies or gaming in late night or when someone drilling nearby, then i had to use headphone
file format: MP3..... sweat.gif
genre music: chinese classic like terresa teng, sometimes japanese enka songs, Kung Fu hustle OST sometimes, initial D those euro beat , kill la kill OST sometimes, anime J-pop.... rclxub.gif

headphone type: prefer light for travelling , also able to block most of the sounds from train so i can watch movie in train.

i was using in ear bud from sony one (can hang on ear that type) and for longer time of the usage it is somehow slip out from my ear, i also dont like to use stock ear bud from bluetooth tags/ phone because it can't hang on my ear.

i also own ATH Pro5V and it is very tight and the sponge is too small till many years endurance and finally i swap with shure's with larger sponge then problem solved, but still tight for cracking my skull lol.

budget i think maybe: 200-300 myr unsure.gif
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 02:26 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ May 14 2014, 02:14 PM)
headphone or IEm? yawn.gif Well i use Jvc s500 for ktm,which works fairly good,its just that issue with comfort as i wear specs and having a big head so ya. It might differ. The S500 isolation was quite good,when on half bar which was pretty loud, passenger nearby cant really hear anything (Might be the engine of ktm covering it up.) CNT(Carbon nanotube) is like an all rounder for me. so ya, CNT FTW XD
using IEM (called in-ear bud from sony catalog unsure.gif ) for long time till the rubber come out oil already lol..
not really sure ATH brand nice or not for that unsure.gif

but what i want find is headphone because i don't want my ear get cucuk by IEM anymore XD

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 14 2014, 02:27 PM
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 03:12 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ May 14 2014, 02:55 PM)
Well i still used my Sony MDR Ex310SL (IEM,4 years old XD) old model though, Maybe try ATH XS5 i havent test it out before but they said more like a basshead headphone.  biggrin.gif  Just suggesting maybe other sifu's can recommand you other brand XD
my one is this, bought since ipod touch 2nd gen era. (exclude the bluetooth dongle )

by the way overear headphone for travel is good? rm 300 is not enough budget?
i have been thinking if pay so much for light weight travel headphone that expensive more than ATHpro5v that i paid for rm 270 that time.... it is feeling like paying a rm4k gaming laptop while my rm 2.7k desktop still can perform better than that. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 14 2014, 03:13 PM
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 03:38 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ May 14 2014, 03:23 PM)
Wat is that Sony sbh20? Im using it too haha.. maybe try check this brand rha ma750i.. I have no idea what's the quality like as I never use before haha so ya.  smile.gif
ya SBH 20, the ear bud one is MDR-EX52
nah not really want IEM anymore since my ear got a lot wet ear wax (even i cleaned it, it will produce a lot when i put something in it) and wear it for long time it will push it away unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 14 2014, 03:40 PM
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 04:00 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(dingdong985 @ May 14 2014, 03:51 PM)
just wondering if anyone experience the same, i got few headphones, but after 1 year plus, issue start coming where the first layer of the wrapper (more like pvc(leather) to me) start to peel off. Both my Sony and Audio Technica face the same issue. is this common? and is there any solution?
the headphone is real good, hope to keep with it sad.gif
go buy a new wrapper. smile.gif
can detach one...

something like this
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 04:12 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(dingdong985 @ May 14 2014, 04:06 PM)
wow cool. thanks for the suggestion. but where can get the wrapper? any idea?
i got my from jaben... i replace with Shure's earpad on ATH pro5v because stock one is too small also out of stock, i change bigger one so can cover whole ear.
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 04:32 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(dingdong985 @ May 14 2014, 04:28 PM)
oh...need to replace whole pad instead of jz the wrapper ah?
okok...might go jaben to have a look on wat can do
ya list your model number or just bring to there and let them see and ask and see what tehy have, maybe if you not like the stock one you maybe can get other size that solve your problem

for my case i used this ATH headphone the original pad is too small and because it is tight in same time, i can't wear it for hour and my ear will be very pain for long time usage...
Agito666
post May 14 2014, 04:51 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(dingdong985 @ May 14 2014, 04:38 PM)
yeah same to me. but big earpad which cover the whole ear quite hot. so need to c wat can do abt it smile.gif
thanks a lot for ur suggestion. then i no need waste money for a new in-ear earphone
here is how my headphone looks like and detach the sponge. so no need worry about that and just do it. (i used to be sceptical too and was thinking to buy a new one lol)
Agito666
post May 15 2014, 10:16 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ May 15 2014, 09:49 AM)
I've haven't tried a lot of over ear headphones..... I'm currently using ATH pro5mk2, which I initially bought for travel use. On hot days I don't feel like wearing it out (gets heated up quite fast, and still using stock pads..) so I got ATH IM-50 for 2/3 of the headphone price but it feels like the sound quality is a bit better in some ways. IM 50 has a punchy bass and yet clear vocals. Highs are also good, but sometimes feels recessed or overpowered by the mids and the lows/bass. But this is perfect for anime OSTs  rclxms.gif
Try out Beck soundtracks as well  brows.gif
ah haha ATH pro5v2 i also got it like many years ago till the stock pad worn off the leather skin for long long time and i nearly want to get a new one XD

but that one only can be use in indoor since the wire is very heavy sweat.gif

hmmm ath im-50 is IEM, nah i don't want IEM sweat.gif
Agito666
post May 15 2014, 03:37 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ May 15 2014, 02:26 PM)
Just wondering,I have Google search but still dun understand a single abt thing DAC or Amp and what's the use of using it. Anyone can explain it? Just dun get it why people use those for their headphone.  blink.gif
i'm not using it but i think it is like equalizer in music player... DAC is Direct to Analog Converter.
people using it not for their headphone only... more like for music.

pretty much like how you adjust your colour preference on your monitor so everyone have their own taste for music, some like more clarity, some more like bass, some more like mid tone bla bla bla you got it.

unsure.gif
Agito666
post May 15 2014, 09:52 PM

11,861 posts

want ask some generic question, since i easy access with LRT and KTM, is midvalley radio shack is a good place for buying portable headphones? (and test)

or lowyat? or KLCC?

or buy via online? but online i cant test the headphone like how i bought my Pro5v and it is very tight sad.gif

also generic brand like Sony is generally good for what range? philips? ATH? Senheiser ?

how about those steel series headphones?
Agito666
post May 15 2014, 11:43 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ May 15 2014, 09:53 PM)
Bro E1 has a shop in Sungei Wang.
what us that "bro E1?" shop name or forumer name?? unsure.gif

QUOTE(Stefan How @ May 15 2014, 10:01 PM)
Do you mind walking 5km? From subang KTm to SS15? XD You can test there Jaben i mean, they selling headphone there too.
i hear Jaben got in NU sentral, not sure got open already or not...
well that was where i went to with my friend's trip for getting a headphone, that time i bought my first spare part for the ear pad ..
Agito666
post May 18 2014, 02:07 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ May 18 2014, 01:42 PM)
Jaben new place at NU Sentral. 1 minute walk from kl sentral monorail, KTM and lrt. No need to walk 5 km tongue.gif
already open the shop?
Agito666
post May 20 2014, 12:32 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 19 2014, 11:57 PM)
The award winning SoundMAGIC P30  nod.gif

i still finding kaki to go with me to check got other option or not.. since my ear is not that good XD
by the way P30 the ear cup same size as ES7? ES7 cant cover whole ear for me unsure.gif
Agito666
post May 20 2014, 11:24 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ May 20 2014, 11:20 AM)
Top up a bit for it, highly recommended for its price.

Or save up for the M50x smile.gif
m50x cost like rm600++ shocking.gif
but then M50x is portable headphone? looks nice...
Agito666
post May 20 2014, 02:35 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ May 20 2014, 12:52 PM)
Yeah..Thinking of going straight to M50x but that's like 2x my budget  shocking.gif

How's the comfort with both of them? my current superlux makes me sweat and ears hot.

Additionally looking at Grado sr60i but not sure what to expect with open back headphones..
Don't think its very portable. It looks huge.
i more mind on cable side hehe (short and thin maybe? since i using Pro5v there), other than that maybe lighter weight...

============

oh ya i hear there is ATH headphone got bluetooth option if you detach wire?? unsure.gif
i hear from colleague today, he also not sure, he just said he saw a people using that in plane only...
Agito666
post May 20 2014, 10:56 PM

11,861 posts

i was reading the meaning sound stage of the headphone...

so IF sound stage is large, what will the genre of the headphone will be? if narrow sound stage??

EG: more bass? more mid? lesser noise isolation:??
Agito666
post May 20 2014, 11:48 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Problem @ May 20 2014, 11:28 PM)
Neither, sound stage does not define what genre or sound signature of a particular loud speaker/headphone. You can have something with a wide soundstage with all bass,mids, highs properly tuned but can also have wide sound stage with terrible bass,mids, highs.
If you're still unsure, try testing from

https://www.goldenears.philips.com/en/challenge.html#

under spaciousness (stereo width), it should roughly give you an indication what is sound stage
ya that is what i read.
i mean if headphone properties is narrow sound stage, what characteristic it usually is?
if wide?

lets say like a "sport car, normally body is very low" those characteristic i want to know unsure.gif
Agito666
post May 21 2014, 12:19 AM

11,861 posts

owh , i ask that because i random surf around sales thread got 1 seller put the sound stage characteristic on headphone....
Agito666
post May 21 2014, 12:06 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ May 21 2014, 11:57 AM)
A wide soundstage gives you the feeling that that you're listening to the music in a nice big open arena. A narrow or closed soundstage will make you feel like you're in a 12' by 12' box listening to the band play. In that same box you're sitting in. Lol.
i know soundstage means... so back to question...

wide soundstage headphone normally is big ear cup? big driver? close can? unsure.gif

0.0303sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:44 PM